Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Mai-Kai Restaurant
Asian Restaurant$$$
14 followers|4,583,342 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3599 N Federal Hwy Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
3599 North Federal HighwayUSFloridaFort Lauderdale33308
(954) 563-3272maikai.com
$$$Asian Restaurant, Seafood Restaurant
Asian Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Banquet Hall
Caterer
Polynesian Restaurant
Live Music Venue
Menu
Since 1956, we have captivated people with our warmth and magical aura. The Mai-Kai authentically recreates a Polynesian Village, complete with tiki torches, a thatch roof, tropical gardens, waterfalls and museum quality artifacts.  The exciting Islander Revue is performed nightly by native Polynesian dancers in colorful hand sewn costumes. The Hawaiian wedding dance will seduce you, and the Samoan Fire and Knife dance will leave you speechless. The Revue is a favorite of all ages
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
3.8
234 reviews
5 star
112 reviews
4 star
44 reviews
3 star
30 reviews
2 star
19 reviews
1 star
30 reviews
Festive local landmark serving up Chinese fare, tropical drinks & a Polynesian floor show.- Google
"Our favorites were the shark bite, zombie, jet pilot, and deep sea diver."
"My wife had a pepper beef plate that was really nice too."
Featured by Zagat
Ft. Lauderdale's Best Restaurant Decor
See more from Zagat
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
14 people
NEWTON QUEIROZ XAVIER's profile photo
Adeline Brunneau's profile photo
Art Design's profile photo
B.Hunter G.Korejwo's profile photo
Denhulagal's profile photo
Fresh Italian Truffle's profile photo
poe thuyu's profile photo
Ralph P.'s profile photo
Ginger Fernaldi's profile photo
All reviews
Jose Luis's profile photo
Jose Luis
2 months ago
Great food and good drinks mashed with a very impressive show and excellent service. Our server, Ryan, along with the rest of the staff, was on point throughout the entire night. The entire staff, from the valet, host, bartenders and servers to the performers on the show, showed a legitimate joy and interest in doing their absolute best for a great guest experience. Quite frankly its probably the best service I've ever encountered in a restaurant. Awesome job to all the staff. Cannot recommend this place enough.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. We truly appreciate your terrific review. All the staff does work very hard to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. It is nice to hear when we succeed. We will be sure to put a copy of this review in Ryan's employee file. Again, thank you for the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Fernando Portillo's profile photo
Fernando Portillo
2 weeks ago
Place is beautiful. Restaurant is lovely. Food is amaizing. Dinner show is fantastic. You get a little bit of Hawaiian culture. Defenetly a place to bring your date and have a great time... however beware... place is pricy. Dinner for 2 with appetizer and drinks will run you around $100+ (depending if you see the show) but it's worth it.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
E. Harrell's profile photo
E. Harrell
a week ago
If like being in a "dungeon" like tourist trap, then this place is for you. It smells of mildew as well as musty. It had no a\c at the time we were there. They moved us under a fan cramped in a corner. I as well as others in my party, tried to read the menu. It was so dark that you had a hard time. Thanks to the Iphone light we were able to read it. If you go plan on having dinner with the people at each table beside you. Yes that close. Oh and by the way, the drinks at the mildew bar took 35 min. to receive. Our party decided that the event was not worth it and we left before dinner. Drab and Sad... my opinion only!
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thank you for attempting to enjoy an evening with us. I apologize for the disappointments. Your review is very unsettling to me. It would be very helpful to know your date of visit and the reservation name. This will allow me to follow up on your comments. My email is: dbrodis@maikai.com Thank you for your time.
Jessica Day's profile photo
Jessica Day
2 weeks ago
As a Florida native, I'll be the first to call out a tourist trap. The ambiance and decor are FABULOUS (though a bit run down.) The food is okay. The drinks are NOTHING to boast- the souvenir cups, yes. The drink menu has the same basic description for all drinks and 4/5 of them taste almost identical. Not to mention they barely have alcohol compared to the amount of juice. Definitely don't waste your time if you're a beer drinker and just stick to what you know. The food, as I mentioned is okay but definitely way over-priced. For example, the poo-poo platter has 2 or 3 bacon wrapped 1-bite chunks of chicken, 1 eggroll cut in 3-4 pieces and another fried bite sized item (abt 2-3 pcs.) All for $16 and change. Drinks are anywhere from $15 and up. Order a coke in the cocktail lounge and they bring you a tiny cocktail glass filled with ice then, coke. We asked for a larger glass but we were informed it was against policy. Well, I felt no shame having the waitress refill my glass 4 times to everyone else's 1. In reality, you're paying for the decor and access to the garden. If you stay for the show you're paying extra anyways.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. Our tropical drink menu is divided up into different sections, all based on the strength of the drinks. Yes, some drinks are stronger than others. I apologize for the disappointments. Your comments will help us focus our efforts.
Jennifer Ramsland's profile photo
Jennifer Ramsland
3 weeks ago
I was very disappointed with Mai Kai and will not be returning. Went with family to celebrate my birthday and my husbands. The place has a horrible smell as soon as I walked in it was overwhelming of mildew and smoke. I am asthmatic and highly allergic to mold so I was having a hard time breathing the whole time. My 8 year old daughter also couldn't tolerate the smell. It was the first thing she commented on when walking in. Also, the restaurant and bathrooms are extremely dark. It made it very hard for my 84 year old grandmother to get around. I was afraid she was going to fall and get hurt. Everyone was using cell phones to see menus and the cell phone flashes kept going off every few minutes blinding us. The menu was very lacking for vegetarians and gluten free options which on line there seemed to have a huge menu, but going there their drink menu was larger then the food menu. I also had purchased an In living coupon which I was told I couldn't use and according to our waiter was a "bait and switch" gimic. When making the reservation I told them we were celebrating birthdays and using a coupon and they said fine so I don't know what the problem was when there. BEWARE!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. I apologize for your disappointments. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. We have a fire element in the show which unfortunately does produce smoke. The age of the building causes different problems at times, that we address immediately. We keep the lights at a safe level while still trying to create a mood with low lighting. I apologize that your server was not more aware of all the options available to you. Our ala carte menu is printed with vegan and/or gluten free markers on all selections. If you were using one of our more limited package menus, then your server should have offered you these options if requested. We are very busy in our showroom. Many guests do not realize that we have indoor and outdoor dining available without the show. That is why we offered the Living Social coupon. To encourage guests to dine with us for the unique ambience, food and beverages, not just to see the show. It is stated in the rules that the Living Social coupon is only valid for non-show dining. We do offer other coupons in the showroom, so it is important to be clear on the type of coupon. My apologies for the poor birthday experience. I can't help but think that better communication on our part would have improved things greatly. It would be helpful to know your date of visit and the reservation name, this will allow me to follow up on your comments. My email is: dbrodis@maikai.com Again, thank you for your time, your comments will help us build a stronger team.
stacy bazin's profile photo
stacy bazin
in the last week
We went here to celebrate a friend 's birthday. The restaurant was very dark; no one could read their menus without their cellphone lights, not even the waiters and waitresses. Our waitress "Kandy K" was not very hospitable and grew impatient rather quickly with one of the guests in our party because she asked a few questions about the menu. She hadn't eaten anything on the menu so she couldn't tell us what was good and what wasn't and she wanted us to hurry up. The food tasted good but you don't get that much bang for your buck. Lots of smokers who don't care to even excuse themselves because they might be killing you with secondhand smoke but that's outside. Parking was either $3 or $10. $10 for VIP parking where you car would supposedly get to you quicker when picking it up but I I paid the $3 and it came in a timely manner. The show was great, and a lot of fun though. Don't think I'll be going to Mai Kai's again.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. I apologize for the disappointments. I appreciate the detailed comments, they will help us focus our efforts in building a stronger team. Again, thank you for visiting and taking the time to post a review.
Julio Salgado's profile photo
Julio Salgado
in the last week
Horrible atencion al cliente, muy sucio , mal olor en Los banos y espera larga Pa la comida, mucha deception.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Gracias por visitar el Mai-Kai y compartir sus pensamientos. Nos esforzamos por ofrecer una experiencia excepcional para todos los huéspedes. Me disculpo por las decepciones. Sus comentarios nos ayudarán a enfocar nuestros esfuerzos. Translated with Google Translate: Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. I apologize for the disappointments. Your comments will help us focus our efforts.
Silvio Daniel Moiguer's profile photo
Silvio Daniel Moiguer
a month ago
I've got married there in 1980 and it was an unforgettable evening back then. I went back last week with my wife for a very special occasion and we ate and saw the poor show within 50 minutes meaning that we did not enjoy the dinner nor the show. Food arrived cold and got even colder. No way to eat and take photos and enjoy at the same time. The service was poor because waiter and metre constantly pushing and rushing to get you out that place. I travel the world and being too many different events of it's kind, but Mai Kai is the worst nightmare ever. I will write up on Trip Advisor and all the social media about this terrible experience. I thought I was going to enjoy a pleasant dinner and after that enjoy a beautiful show as it was back then. Instead, I left in the worst state of mind and embarrassed in front of my wife. By the way, I can't understand the dress code. I wore a suit and my wife a fine dress. When I saw people in shorts and beach sandals, I asked myself if I was in a jungle. How can you people allow that when you promote offer such a classy environment. Mai Kai should be ashamed of them selfs.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. I apologize for the disappointments. I was able to locate your reservation on April 21. You had made your reservation via the internet through Open Table. I'm sorry that you didn't call us directly, so we could have explained the timing issues with a 7:30 reservation for the 8:00 show. We start seating guests at 6:00, so there is enough time to enjoy dinner before the show. You had requested a table with a direct view of the show. We held your table until you arrived at 7:45. There is no way to hold up the show, so unfortunately your food was served during the show. My apologies for making you feel rushed, that is not our intention and we will speak to the staff involved. Also, we do suggest business casual attire for all guests. Because many of our guests are on vacation, we try to be as accommodating as possible with all. We appreciate your comments, they will help us focus our efforts. If you would like to discuss anything further or if I may be of help in the future, please contact me at: dbrodis@maikai.com

Stream

Have them in circles
14 people
NEWTON QUEIROZ XAVIER's profile photo
Adeline Brunneau's profile photo
Art Design's profile photo
B.Hunter G.Korejwo's profile photo
Denhulagal's profile photo
Fresh Italian Truffle's profile photo
poe thuyu's profile photo
Ralph P.'s profile photo
Ginger Fernaldi's profile photo

Mai-Kai Restaurant hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.