Cover photo
Verified local business
Mai-Kai Restaurant
Asian Restaurant$$$
6 followers|3,459,511 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3599 N Federal Hwy Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
3599 North Federal HighwayUSFloridaFort Lauderdale33308
$$$Asian Restaurant, Seafood Restaurant
Asian Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Banquet Hall
Polynesian Restaurant
Live Music Venue
Since 1956, we have captivated people with our warmth and magical aura. The Mai-Kai authentically recreates a Polynesian Village, complete with tiki torches, a thatch roof, tropical gardens, waterfalls and museum quality artifacts.  The exciting Islander Revue is performed nightly by native Polynesian dancers in colorful hand sewn costumes. The Hawaiian wedding dance will seduce you, and the Samoan Fire and Knife dance will leave you speechless. The Revue is a favorite of all ages
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
179 reviews
5 star
73 reviews
4 star
42 reviews
3 star
26 reviews
2 star
18 reviews
1 star
20 reviews
Festive local landmark serving up Chinese fare, tropical drinks & a Polynesian floor show.- Google
"Delicious food, delightful tropical drinks, amazing show."
"Expensive, very Gilligan's Island / Goonies feeling to it."
Featured by Zagat
Ft. Lauderdale's Best Restaurant Decor
See more from Zagat
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Have them in circles
6 people
Ginger Fernaldi's profile photo
Luisa Aguero's profile photo
The Cooking Masters - Kitchenware Cookware Store's profile photo
Marta Casanas's profile photo
Ralph P.'s profile photo
All reviews
Tyl Lu's profile photo
Tyl Lu
in the last week
I went here last night with friends for the sushi buffet and tropical happy hour mix drinks. I have to admit after reading some reviews complaining about the "sanitation" that I may be biased because I love the outdoors, grew up in Hawaii, and like nature so I found the jungle/pirate outside decorations awesome! The drinks were strong and tasty and the food was well done for a buffet style. I hope to go back soon.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. I am glad that you did not let other reviews deter you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We are glad you found everything 'ono! Thank you for the 5 star review. Mahalo
Salvador Taegar
2 months ago
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We appreciate the return business. Since you joined us for dinner without the show, I wanted to mention we offer some nice specials for that dining area. Please find them on our website: click on the special's tab. Normally, there is not a wait for dinner without the show. I am curious to learn the date of your visit. Also, I would like to know what items were ordered. I would like to follow up on the portion size and ensure our recipes are being followed. My email is: Our children's menu is on the high side. But, it does include the main course, dessert, a drink served in a fresh pineapple, a lei and a coloring book. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments, your return patronage is appreciated. If I may be of service with a future reservation or anything else, please contact me. Mahalo
Denia Batista
4 weeks ago
Terrible establishment. Smells old and musky and extremely unsanitary! I don't even know how they are allowed to sell food! We drove 44 minutes from Miami to this establishment. What a disappointment. We were seated outside for our 9:30pm reservation, right by they waterfall. The table behind us had just left when all of the sudden I see a RAT (yes a huge disgusting RAT) run from behind the plants of the waterfall onto the table to eat remaining scraps. We ran off and inside were we told our waiter and we simply left. We were disregarded as if it was no big deal. Not one apology, accommodation or anything. It's unfortunate that I have to mark at least one star. Because trust me it's not even worth that one. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME COMING HERE. COMPLETE DISREGARD FOR SANITATION!
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 weeks ago
My apologies for your experience. I was on duty last night and nothing was reported. The staff member that you spoke with should have immediately reported the incident to management. I am sorry you left before we had the opportunity to apologize and attempt to insure your comfort and the sanitation of our establishment. Every day after we close, we have a cleaning crew that spends hours cleaning and sanitizing the entire establishment. We have exterminator services that set bait boxes throughout our outdoor garden area. Our facility is over 50 years old and does have some age related issues. But we are diligent in cleaning, sanitizing and repairing on a constant basis. It is extremely difficult to control everything outdoors and I am very sorry that your evening was ruined because of this incident.
Al P
a month ago
Had not been to the Mai Kai for quite a few years now, visited the restaurant last week with a party of 10 and I'm sorry to say we were very disappointed. Appetizers served in the bar were way over-cooked and stunk of old grease. When we went to the dining area, we apparently got a new "waiter-in-training" (George) as he was rather confused the whole time and was soooooo slow. At least 30 minutes between appetizers and entrees being served, then he screwed up the dinner order of one of our guests by bringing her the wrong item. He did not bring her the correct meal for another 30-40 minutes, which by that time everyone else in the party was finished. He apologized profusely and said he would "comp" her meal for the inconvenience and bring her a special dessert at no charge. When we got the bill (which was also screwed up), nothing was deducted from from it. Another gentleman in a white jacket was now involved in trying to straighten things out and he started to get a bit rude and curt towards the end. The service (in the dining area) was terrible, it took us over 3 hours from start to finish just for dinner. It's a shame but the Mai Kai isn't what it used to be. Food was nothing spectacular, even the bathrooms were in need of some TLC. Don't know if we'll ever go back there, too many other nice restaurants to choose from in the area.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. Unfortunately, we failed on your behalf. I am very concerned by your review and I appreciate you bringing it to our attention. I apologize that you received such poor service and I am sorry that we did not have better follow through that evening. It would be of great help if you could forward me your date of visit and the reservation name. My email is: Our culinary staff takes pride in preparing every dish to order using only fresh ingredients. Proper service would have ensured your satisfaction with your selections. I appreciate your input in helping us build a stronger team. Again, I apologize for the poor experience. Looking forward to hearing from you.
Justin Epperson's profile photo
Justin Epperson
a week ago
I knew what I was getting myself into after reading the reviews on this place, but went anyway for a friend's birthday dinner. $3 self parking. Overpriced mediocre food. Cool drinks, but overpriced. The show should be free for the money you pay for drinks and dinner (and parking). Even with the $22 Groupon "savings" the dinner for 2 (cheapest entrees selected), with 1 drink each, show, and tip ended up costing me around $90 out of pocket. Also, they've been shut down at least twice for failed health inspections. Mai-Kai needs to select one of the following three options so that people don't / won't hate them: Option 1: - Discontinue self-parking charge. - Hire better chefs with better flavor and execution skills. - Reduce food and drink prices reasonably. - Charge $5-8 per person for the show, instead of $13.95. Option 2: - Bring in Chef Robert Irvine from Restaurant: Impossible and have him slap some real sense into this greedy establishment. Option 3: - Cease to exist.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. I am sorry for your disappointments.
Carolin Colon's profile photo
Carolin Colon
2 months ago
Did not work for me but glad I tried it. If you haven't seen a Polynesian show and enjoy family activities with the kids this place could work for you. Family atmosphere, NOT a place for a date. The dinner area was ridiculously cramped-up and overcrowded, the show was lame when compared to professional dinner shows in Hawaii and the food was sloppy. I did like the nice and quiet tropical decoration in the back of the restaurant.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. Your comments will help us build a stronger team.
Chris Finke
a month ago
I have been there numerous times and always enjoyed it.. I was reading some reviews and thought that I would share my thoughts because some of the negative reviews are unwarranted. Anyone who says it is over priced is wrong. You get what you pay for. I've had steak at the Mai Kai which was better (and less expensive) than Ruth's Chris. Also, the best fish that I ever had was at the Mai Kai. It was a grouper with a Thai Ginger sauce (I think). I don't remember exactly how it was made because it was a few years ago but it was amazing. I've tried about 10 different entrees from their huge menu and I enjoyed them all. Also, the service is the excellent. It is hard to find a restaurant today where you'll receive excellent service from the second you pull into the driveway. The valet is free. There is a greeter at the door, the Maitre D will assign your seats and the host will seat you. Then when you get to your table, you have more people servicing you than any other restaurant you'll find. They don't skimp out on service which is very hard to find in most businesses today. About the drinks, they are not cheap but they are very good and the presentation is very nice. If you want to get a cheap dinner and mediocre service then go somewhere else. If you want a dinner experience, go to the Mai Kai.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you Chris for a wonderful review!
mike jones
3 months ago
Great show Hulu Dancers were beautiful and guys were awesome Food is glorified Chinese take out food..not the worst not the best either Service was great, James our server was a real pro, and made the evening fun One and only complaint was one lady server who kept blocking everyone's view while the show was going on. People were getting really frustrated! I wanted to tie her to a chair until the show was over Not sure it was a rookie mistake or she was doing too much I would have preferred to have a couple of drinks and the show and I would have been happier Plan on a 150-200 dollar night. Good live entertainment is becoming harder and harder to find It might not be the show for millennials...but baby boomers who grew up in the 60s and 70s will appreciate it.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and posting a review. We are glad to hear that James took good care of your party. We will be talking to the other server, that is a rookie mistake. The entertainers loved your review. Mahalo


Have them in circles
6 people
Ginger Fernaldi's profile photo
Luisa Aguero's profile photo
The Cooking Masters - Kitchenware Cookware Store's profile photo
Marta Casanas's profile photo
Ralph P.'s profile photo

Mai-Kai Restaurant hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.