Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Mai-Kai Restaurant
Asian Restaurant$$$
14 followers|4,482,471 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3599 N Federal Hwy Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
3599 North Federal HighwayUSFloridaFort Lauderdale33308
(954) 563-3272maikai.com
$$$Asian Restaurant, Seafood Restaurant
Asian Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Banquet Hall
Caterer
Polynesian Restaurant
Live Music Venue
Menu
Since 1956, we have captivated people with our warmth and magical aura. The Mai-Kai authentically recreates a Polynesian Village, complete with tiki torches, a thatch roof, tropical gardens, waterfalls and museum quality artifacts.  The exciting Islander Revue is performed nightly by native Polynesian dancers in colorful hand sewn costumes. The Hawaiian wedding dance will seduce you, and the Samoan Fire and Knife dance will leave you speechless. The Revue is a favorite of all ages
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Visit this place
Make a free reservation with OpenTable
Find a table
Write a review
Review Summary
3.8
229 reviews
5 star
108 reviews
4 star
44 reviews
3 star
28 reviews
2 star
19 reviews
1 star
30 reviews
Festive local landmark serving up Chinese fare, tropical drinks & a Polynesian floor show.- Google
"Our favorites were the shark bite, zombie, jet pilot, and deep sea diver."
"My wife had a pepper beef plate that was really nice too."
Featured by Zagat
Ft. Lauderdale's Best Restaurant Decor
See more from Zagat
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
14 people
poe thuyu's profile photo
Adeline Brunneau's profile photo
B.Hunter G.Korejwo's profile photo
Denhulagal's profile photo
Brenda Abdoul's profile photo
Pia Dahlquist's profile photo
Luisa Aguero's profile photo
Marta Casanas's profile photo
Art Design's profile photo
All reviews
Jose Luis's profile photo
Jose Luis
a month ago
Great food and good drinks mashed with a very impressive show and excellent service. Our server, Ryan, along with the rest of the staff, was on point throughout the entire night. The entire staff, from the valet, host, bartenders and servers to the performers on the show, showed a legitimate joy and interest in doing their absolute best for a great guest experience. Quite frankly its probably the best service I've ever encountered in a restaurant. Awesome job to all the staff. Cannot recommend this place enough.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. We truly appreciate your terrific review. All the staff does work very hard to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. It is nice to hear when we succeed. We will be sure to put a copy of this review in Ryan's employee file. Again, thank you for the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Daniel Moiguer's profile photo
Daniel Moiguer
a week ago
I've got married there in 1980 and it was an unforgettable evening back then. I went back last week with my wife for a very special occasion and we ate and saw the poor show within 50 minutes meaning that we did not enjoy the dinner nor the show. Food arrived cold and got even colder. No way to eat and take photos and enjoy at the same time. The service was poor because waiter and metre constantly pushing and rushing to get you out that place. I travel the world and being too many different events of it's kind, but Mai Kai is the worst nightmare ever. I will write up on Trip Advisor and all the social media about this terrible experience. I thought I was going to enjoy a pleasant dinner and after that enjoy a beautiful show as it was back then. Instead, I left in the worst state of mind and embarrassed in front of my wife. By the way, I can't understand the dress code. I wore a suit and my wife a fine dress. When I saw people in shorts and beach sandals, I asked myself if I was in a jungle. How can you people allow that when you promote offer such a classy environment. Mai Kai should be ashamed of them selfs.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. I apologize for the disappointments. I was able to locate your reservation on April 21. You had made your reservation via the internet through Open Table. I'm sorry that you didn't call us directly, so we could have explained the timing issues with a 7:30 reservation for the 8:00 show. We start seating guests at 6:00, so there is enough time to enjoy dinner before the show. You had requested a table with a direct view of the show. We held your table until you arrived at 7:45. There is no way to hold up the show, so unfortunately your food was served during the show. My apologies for making you feel rushed, that is not our intention and we will speak to the staff involved. Also, we do suggest business casual attire for all guests. Because many of our guests are on vacation, we try to be as accommodating as possible with all. We appreciate your comments, they will help us focus our efforts. If you would like to discuss anything further or if I may be of help in the future, please contact me at: dbrodis@maikai.com
Daniel Diaz's profile photo
Daniel Diaz
3 weeks ago
4/13/16 We had another wonderful night at Mai Kai. The appetizers, crispy fried calamari and the Hawaiian shrimp were done to perfection. The Pad Thai that Alex recommended was awesome. As always the best trained wait staff anywhere Roxanne our server in the lounge was excellent and very attentive as was out waiter Alex. I didn’t get the maître d outsides name but he was very professional and a wonderful host. 11/26/15 Back again !!! This was our 4th thanksgiving at Mai Kai in a row. We love the turkey and ham combo. Mike was a very attentive and professional waiter. Thanks for the great night and we will be back again soon. 10/28/15 The food and drinks are consistently delicious!!! Great place to spend a relaxing evening! The food was perfect and the price so reasonable. We came on a Wednesday and took advantage of the free sushi and pot stickers. The waiter Bryant A was wonderful! I strongly recommend the Zombie! One will do the job! We make this a must go to place every time we have company from out of town! The view is amazing!!!!!!!We ordered a variety of things off the menu and everything was great, especially the Szechuan surf & Turf!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your loyal patronage and the kind words. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us as much as your past visits. We will be sure to put a copy of your review in the above mentioned employee's files. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Jeff Bannow's profile photo
Jeff Bannow
2 months ago
We loved the ambiance, the food, and the drinks. Ended up visiting 3 times during our vacation - twice with the amazing dinner floor show, and once just for dinner. Every visit was class from the moment we walked in the front door - old school hospitality all the way. All the staff seemed friendly, and to be genuinely having a good time. The decor has to be seen to be believed - this place is legit 50s tiki. The drinks are too, most going back to the heyday of tiki cocktails. Our favorites were the shark bite, zombie, jet pilot, and deep sea diver. On the food side, the Peking duck was amazing, as was our ahi poke and lettuce wraps. We sampled a lot of the menu, and weren't disappointed. We'll be back as soon as we can make it. We miss you already, Mai-Kai!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for the great review. The best compliment we can receive is a repeat guest. We are very happy you enjoyed your evenings at the Mai-Kai. Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Jennifer Ramsland's profile photo
Jennifer Ramsland
in the last week
I was very disappointed with Mai Kai and will not be returning. Went with family to celebrate my birthday and my husbands. The place has a horrible smell as soon as I walked in it was overwhelming of mildew and smoke. I am asthmatic and highly allergic to mold so I was having a hard time breathing the whole time. My 8 year old daughter also couldn't tolerate the smell. It was the first thing she commented on when walking in. Also, the restaurant and bathrooms are extremely dark. It made it very hard for my 84 year old grandmother to get around. I was afraid she was going to fall and get hurt. Everyone was using cell phones to see menus and the cell phone flashes kept going off every few minutes blinding us. The menu was very lacking for vegetarians and gluten free options which on line there seemed to have a huge menu, but going there their drink menu was larger then the food menu. I also had purchased an In living coupon which I was told I couldn't use and according to our waiter was a "bait and switch" gimic. When making the reservation I told them we were celebrating birthdays and using a coupon and they said fine so I don't know what the problem was when there. BEWARE!
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. I apologize for your disappointments. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for every guest. We have a fire element in the show which unfortunately does produce smoke. The age of the building causes different problems at times, that we address immediately. We keep the lights at a safe level while still trying to create a mood with low lighting. I apologize that your server was not more aware of all the options available to you. Our ala carte menu is printed with vegan and/or gluten free markers on all selections. If you were using one of our more limited package menus, then your server should have offered you these options if requested. We are very busy in our showroom. Many guests do not realize that we have indoor and outdoor dining available without the show. That is why we offered the Living Social coupon. To encourage guests to dine with us for the unique ambience, food and beverages, not just to see the show. It is stated in the rules that the Living Social coupon is only valid for non-show dining. We do offer other coupons in the showroom, so it is important to be clear on the type of coupon. My apologies for the poor birthday experience. I can't help but think that better communication on our part would have improved things greatly. It would be helpful to know your date of visit and the reservation name, this will allow me to follow up on your comments. My email is: dbrodis@maikai.com Again, thank you for your time, your comments will help us build a stronger team.
Aishah Anderson's profile photo
Aishah Anderson
3 weeks ago
This restaurant is a truly unique place. The ambiance is breathtaking, with its tiki hut style and Polynesian influence. It even has a waterfall and beautiful garden. The drink menu is off the charts and the food is delicious. If your going for dinner stay for the show because it's definitely something you don't want to miss.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. All our staff appreciates the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Mandy Schmidt's profile photo
Mandy Schmidt
a month ago
We had a party of 6 people and were able to have a wonderful meal and see an excellent show. Ivan and Wade were very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed for an enjoyable evening. The night couldn't have been any better! I highly recommend the Walnut Shrimp. Delicious!
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and sharing your thoughts. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. We will be sure to put a copy of your review in Ivan & Wade's employee file. Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star rating! Mahalo
Joshua Stock's profile photo
Joshua Stock
4 months ago
Remember, it's a touch spends, but you pay for the EXPERIENCE at Mai-Kai. Our daughter loved it. The show was a lot of fun. Entertaining for all of us. Food was tasty. Duck curry was good. My wife had a pepper beef plate that was really nice too. Really juicy beef. Service was kind as well.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thank you for visiting the Mai-Kai and taking the time to share your thoughts. We are very happy to hear that your family enjoyed the evening with us. Our culinary team loved your comments! Thank you for the kind words and the 5 star review. Mahalo

Stream

Have them in circles
14 people
poe thuyu's profile photo
Adeline Brunneau's profile photo
B.Hunter G.Korejwo's profile photo
Denhulagal's profile photo
Brenda Abdoul's profile photo
Pia Dahlquist's profile photo
Luisa Aguero's profile photo
Marta Casanas's profile photo
Art Design's profile photo

Mai-Kai Restaurant hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.