Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Glynn House Inn
Inn
61 followers|310,788 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“Wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 starsReviewed 3 days ago NEW
The Glynn House Inn was the perfect location 
for our weekend getaway. Glenn was the 
perfect host, sharing the history of the Inn, 
as well as the town of Ashland.
The room was very clean, well and tastefully 
appointed. The gas fireplace was great.
We loved the porch, and the peaceful, 
quiet...just what we were looking for! Our 
breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious!
We can't way to return!!
https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews- g29729-d79113-r345645660-Glynn_House_Inn-
Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“Charming and delightful retreat!”
5 of 5 stars
I cannot say enough great things about the Glynn House Inn. I booked an overnight stay with my husband for a winter weekend retreat (Glynn House staff also arranged a guided snow mobiling tour for us in the mountains, which was fun!) and after reading all the great reviews on TripAdvisor, our expectations were exceeded. Glenn and his wife are both wonderful hosts and in addition to our charming accommodations for the night, they also gave us a delicious dinner recommendation at a nearby restaurant that was truly outstanding. The breakfast in the morning was a particularly wonderful treat with raspberry muffins fresh from the oven. We would love to return and will be recommending this location to others!
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r343374399-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars  Reviewed 3 days ago
Excellent experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Glenn gave great recommendations for activities and eating establishments in the region, helping us design the perfect winter sports / classic New England vacation. Loved the fireplace and Jacuzzi. Incredible hospitality, engaging conversations, delectable muffins, cozy atmosphere.

Green Features: They recycle, and you can choose whether or not to have your towels washed each day.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r339491898-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“Love this Inn”
5 of 5 stars
Reviewed 1 week ago
Hey! Everyone, given the chance, should go to this inn! It's quiet, very well maintained, beautiful, and has a delicious breakfast in the morning. The surrounding town is also quiet and beautiful, and has a great guitar shop and an even greater lake. How nice to be in eerie central New Hampshire ! Very Twin Peaks. Would recommend.
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r334112222-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Twelve Days of Christmas features over one hundred talented  from across New Hampshire and includes students of Eastern Ballet Institute, Concord Community Music School’s Purple Finches Children’s Chorus, live musicians, and aerial dance artists. Complementing the vivid choreography and costumes will be a spectacular eighteen-foot, light-up pear tree with a dancing partridge in her nest, as well as everyone’s favorite holiday tunes. From the “Partridge in a Pear Tree” to the “Twelve Drummers, Drumming,” this is a unique holiday performance not to be missed! Don’t miss The Twelve Days of Christmas at the Capitol Center for the Arts December 11.
The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region – offers guests and exceptional experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday too. Reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. Venture away from the Inn and enjoy antiquing, art galleries, boating, fine dining, fishing, golf, hiking, historic sites, skiing, snowmobiling, ‘tax free’ shopping and scenic drives along tranquil country roads. Visit the Glynn House website http://www.glynnhouse.com for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
61 people
Mihaela Anca Buture's profile photo
John Becker's profile photo
1BB Club's profile photo
The Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed and Breakfast Inn's profile photo
Lori Dusenberry's profile photo
Boravy ish's profile photo
De Oude Huize Yard Guest House's profile photo
BnBFinder's profile photo
Bed and Breakfast Adele Emme's profile photo

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
Valentine's Day is Coming!!!
Marriage Done Right: How do you love your partner? Show the ways! One of the great suggestions (Get a babysitter for the kids. “Kidnap” your spouse and take her or him to a bed and breakfast for an unexpected night of romance.)
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“I Wish I Could Give it More Stars”
5 of 5 stars   Reviewed 2 days ago NEW
Glynn House Bed and Breakfast was a dream come true for me. The house is beautiful on the inside and out and both home owners were extremely kind and helpful. The food they cooked was wonderful and they had a wide range of amenities. They had DVD options, board games, travel guides, everything to make the trip more enjoyable and easier. They were also able to give us thoughts and ideas of what to do in the area for the time frame we were working with and the weather conditions. I was able to go hiking and eat at local restaurants. Overall, I had an amazing time and I only stayed for one night with a friend. I can't wait to come back!!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r337402442-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
“"Excellent Anniversary Stay"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday
Had a wonderful stay again with Glenn and Pam. Stayed here three times and the stay is always so relaxing and comfortable! Breakfast was amazing called Glenn to have Eggs Benedict for breakfast and they prepared it for us which was great. The other couples there ordered the same because it was there favorite also!
http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r333272394-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 
Ski Loon, Waterville + Ragged and Save! The thermometer is glynnhse winterstarting to dip. Winter is coming – probably sooner than any of us expect. Our ski resort partners – Loon Mountain, Ragged Mountain and Waterville Valley – all expect to open prior to the end of November. Get your skis, board and snow gear ready for another great season. The Glynn House will be offering guests terrific ski and stay packages with lift ticket discounts up to 40% lower than box office prices. Ski resorts are all less than 25 minutes from the Inn.
Loon Mountain Facts
Loon grabbed a Top 10 spot in the 2012 Ski Magazine reader poll, and the resort was also named the most accessible in the East. Loon has 61 trails, six terrain parks, eight tree skiing areas plus 20 KM of groomed Nordic Skiing and snowshoeing trails. The snowmaking trail coverage is 99%.
Waterville Valley Facts
Waterville Valley is a unique winter New Hampshire destination nestled in a natural snow pocket in the White Mountains and surrounded by 4,000 footers. Waterville has 50 trails, five glades, six terrain parks plus 70 KM of groomed Nordic Skiing and snowshoeing trails. The snowmaking is exceptional.
Ragged Mountain
The Spear Lift triple chair has been replaced by a high speed quad this summer. Great news for those who enjoy this very special mountain. Ragged has 55 trails, three terrain parks plus a number of great tree skiing options. The snowmaking trail coverage is 85%,
Book your winter recreation holiday early and save. Reserve your preferred guest room directly with the Inn. Pay for your stay of three or more evenings 90 days prior to arrival . Receive a 15% discount off seasonal rates. Book a stay of two evenings and save 10%. Don’t forget – Inn guests also enjoy terrific lift ticket and trail pass savings.
The romantic Glynn House Inn – situated in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region – offers guests an exceptional winter recreation experience. A full gluten free breakfast menu is always available. Bring your four-footed canine pal on holiday and reserve one of five pet friendly rooms. In addition to skiing and riding, guests can enjoy a range of other winter recreation activities including snowmobiling, winter zip-line, dog sled tours, sleigh rides, ice fishing and ‘tax free’ shopping. In room therapeutic massage is available in most guest rooms. Visit the Glynn House website http://www.glynnhouse.com for additional information about the Inn and local activities.
1
Add a comment...

The Glynn House Inn

Shared publicly  - 
 

“Excellent base for leaf peeping”
 Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Stayed with Glenn & Pam for 6 nights - had intended only to stay 4, but our Roosevelt suite was so good it would have been difficult to improve on it anywhere else. The Carriage House has lots of history and is beautifully furnished - lovely comfy bed and super bath. Such a good base to explore the lakes and mountains - Glen always at hand to offer good advice on what's possible on a day tour, from ski lifts to Squam Lake 'Golden Pond' boat trips.
Having done B&B myself, I can honestly say that Pam's breakfast is generous and excellent!
The only disappointment was not seeing a bear or a moose, despite lots of warning signs

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g29729-d79113-r326458603-Glynn_House_Inn-Ashland_New_Hampshire.html#
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
59 Highland St Ashland, NH 03217
59 Highland StreetUSNew HampshireAshland03217
(603) 968-3775glynnhouse.com
Inn

Nestled in the heart of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Lakes Region, the historic iInn offers elegant surroundings, delicious food, unrivaled service and genuine hospitality.  The Glynn House Inn is a charming circa 1895 Victorian offering 12 spacious guest rooms and one self-catering apartment. Amenities include WiFi, private baths, luxurious furnishings, fireplaces, air conditioning, DIRECTV, DVD players and iPod Radios. Seven of the rooms also offer double whirlpool baths. A delicious, multi-course gourmet breakfast is served at individual tables in the Inn’s gracious dining room. A full gluten free menu is always available. Guests also enjoy afternoon refreshments plus complimentary wine and cheese each evening. Visitors wishing to bring their four-footed canine friends are welcome to book one of five pet friendly rooms. In room therapeutic massage is available in most guest rooms. 

Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
61 people
Mihaela Anca Buture's profile photo
John Becker's profile photo
1BB Club's profile photo
The Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed and Breakfast Inn's profile photo
Lori Dusenberry's profile photo
Boravy ish's profile photo
De Oude Huize Yard Guest House's profile photo
BnBFinder's profile photo
Bed and Breakfast Adele Emme's profile photo
Make a Reservation
5-star hotel
$159
Book at Expedia.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $173 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.0
9 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
1 review
1 star
1 review
Traditional, upscale rooms in a 1896 Victorian house featuring a wraparound porch & afternoon wine.- Google
"The Inn is nicely situated, well appointed, and clean (one of my must haves."
"My wife and I visited our Grandson and attended a Mother's Day brunch..."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Charles Ramsey's profile photo
Charles Ramsey
4 months ago
September marked our 4th visit to The Glynn House Inn. My wife and I have been "Inn People" for decades and have a handful of Inns that we frequent. Without a doubt, The Glynn House is our favorite. Glenn, Pam and Ingrid, the Innkeepers, go out of their way to make each visitor's stay a delight. They are attentive to every detail and insure a wonderful Bed & Breakfast experience. (I go on a diet after visiting The Glynn House as Pam does an outstanding job of making breakfasts that are to die for---have you tried her home-baked muffins?????). There is a great selection of rooms and suites and the Guest House is Pet Friendly, a must for us!! We fancy the Apartment (Lincoln Suite) for extended stays as it has a kitchen that is fully equipped and a gas grill on the terrace for summertime cookouts. There are a selection of outstanding restaurants within an easy drive in Meredith and Plymouth. So don't just sit there! Pick up the phone. Call Glenn. Book a room!
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
The reviewer spent almost 20 evenings at the Inn during 2015. Repeat visitors return again and again because their experiences as guests exceeds their expectations. The reviewer has stayed in a couple of our suites, one of our bedrooms plus our self catering apartment. They bring their dog and select one of our popular pet friendly rooms. Food is clearly important to the reviewer, as it is for many of our guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Lionel Houde's profile photo
Lionel Houde
7 months ago
My wife and I had a perfect honeymoon and the Glynn House was the hub of it all, with great conversation, breakfast, and local recommendations. Just a little advice: don't arrive early, and do have a modicum of manners so you can realize the staff's efficient and often humorous interactions are all meant to accommodate. This inn is not a dumping ground for arrogant tourism, so if you enjoy treating innkeepers like undocumented help, do be ready to find yourself on the receiving end of a well deserved verbal Vulcan nerve pinch.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
We're delighted the reviewer and his new bride experienced the perfect honeymoon at the Glynn House. For those with scheduled necessitating an early arrival, please call in advance. Operational requirements often make prohibit us from permitting early check in, but we can always take luggage and provide local information. Late arrivals can be easily accommodated too. Please let us know if you're running late, or know you won't arrive until well past check in. Thanks so much for selecting the Glynn House for your honeymoon.
Michael Bading
a year ago
My wife and I had the opportunity to spend our 5 year wedding anniversary at the Glynn House Inn. We were greeted promptly and taken to the Adams Suite which already had wonderful accommodations for our elderly dog: a bed, water bowl, and food bowl with treats. This meant a lot to us since she is like our child. We were shown how to use the fireplace and tub, and told about the binder of information which did become useful during our stay. There are not enough nice things to say about the owners as they are VERY knowledgeable of the area and sites to see with great recommendations. Our biggest issues especially due to the cost of stay are: 1. VERY uncomfortable bed. Not the size, just very uncomfortable. 2. Drainage issue with toilet the first night, and had to wait until after 7 am for a plunger! 3. In the binder of useful information, there is a statement about leaving gratuity for the housekeeping staff claiming they are in high school, paying for college or single mothers… which basically a previous review summed it up well… you pay enough to stay there, and what does it matter what type of person the housekeeping people are? Besides we had a dog, and they were told not to come into the room…. So we asked to leave clean towels outside our room, the first time was fine, the next day we asked the same thing and they actually went IN the room to leave towels. Luckily we took the dog for a walk at that time. 4. Could not use fireplace due to regulated temperature in room (which I understand but really wanted to be able to use it, part of the reason we stayed at a B&B and not a local chain) 5. The book states the A/C is set to 72 degrees… it happened to be higher than normal temps during our stay this time of year and the room was a little humid at 78? 6. Couldn’t use the jetted tub past 10:00pm. I get it…. Other people complained in the past of noise so they stopped it but for us, a long day out on the town we really wanted to relax in the tub and then drink wine by the fire of which we couldn’t do. 7. Hor derves. If you offer hor derves …. And that is a selling point of your stay for the cost you expect maybe something with a little more bite than cheese and crackers with a glass of wine. 8. The breakfast time was also an issue with us. A small place, lots of people trying to eat at the same time… but there were options and the food was very fresh and made to order. 9. People who have pets did not clean up after them on the property which made it very aggravating when taking our dog trying not to step in everyone else’s stuff, when there is a trash can right there! Overall our stay was nice… great to get away and have time to ourselves, no computers or phones just us and our pup. Would we stay again should we pass through the area? We would look at other options for sure, but definitely stop in and say hello to Glenn and Pam!
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
We're delighted the reviewer selected the Glynn House for his fifth wedding anniversary. We're also pleased that many aspects of their visit met and exceeded their expectations - food, hospitality, decor and the availability of quality pet friendly rooms. Most if not all of the concerns identified, if the reviewer had simply called. Innkeepers take and respond to guest calls 24 hours per day. For example, the fireplace could have been turned on quite easily by merely adjusting the thermostat. A plunger could have been provide. Air conditioning questions could have been clarified. Housekeeping would have been provided both days, if we'd been advised that the reviewer and his wife were going out. Otherwise, we don't know unless we just happen to spot guests and their pet leaving the property together. Finally, we're pleased the reviewer understands guests are asked not to use double whirlpool tubs late in the evening. With regard to housekeeping gratuities, Americans traditionally reward service staff - waitresses, housekeepers, etc - who do an excellent job. Inn guests generally support this transition and are hard working housekeepers appreciate their generosity. Thanks for sharing your experience with others.
Micah Yoder's profile photo
Micah Yoder
a year ago
Stayed here this week and had a great time. The houses and the grounds are beautiful, the hosts are friendly and knowledgeable, and the breakfasts are amazing! You have a choice of breakfast and it's all great. (Well, OK, I had the same sandwich each time but my wife tried different things.) Gripes? Some minor ones. - Toilet issues. Stopped flushing the first night. He fixed it the next day, but it happened again. I know, this kind of thing can happen in older houses so as long as it's not a recurring theme I wouldn't worry about it too much. - Asking for tips. A page in the book basically begs you to tip the maid staff, and generously because they're "mostly college students and young mothers." Took me a bit by surprise because I didn't think you were expected to tip at B&B's. Even if you do, though, why would the identities of the maids affect the tip amount? That implies that older men or women, if doing the same job, would somehow deserve less. I personally believe that service should be included in the price, and they certainly charge enough to pay them well. This isn't a cheap place. So that and implying that some people deserve more than others and it left a bit of a negative taste in my mouth. - Breakfast times. This is the only issue for which I'm deducting a star, from 5 to 4. Breakfast is served from 8:30 to 9:30. In my opinion that is bad for two reasons: 1) If you wake up at 5AM like I often do, having to wait around 3 1/2 hours to get something in your stomach kind of sucks. 2) Many of the area attractions close at 5PM, so having to wait until 9:15AM to get out of the house, especially when your destination is an hour away, takes a big bite out of your day. In my opinion they need to accommodate breakfast from 7-9AM. Bottom line: If you enjoy staying in old houses and the whole B&B experience, you will love this place for sure. Would I stay here again? I certainly wouldn't be opposed to it, but I'm not sure. There are some much less expensive places that are much closer to the White Mountain destinations. But I'm sure they have less charm, so it depends on what you want. Also Ashland (where this is) is closer to the Lakes District destinations. Also about the anonymous guy who left a 1 star review because they wouldn't refund his money - what a doofus! I'm sure his situation sucked, but the refund policy is VERY clearly stated on the site. He should be ashamed for leaving such a worthless review.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Like many previous guests, the reviewer appreciated the breakfasts, innkeeper hospitality, location and service experience. The concern about gratuities is curious. Americans virtually universally appreciate that gratuities for people in service jobs - waitresses, housekeepers, concierges, etc - receive gratuities when they do a good job. In Europe, gratuities are included in the prices. At the Glynn House, we prefer to adhere to the American tradition. With regard to breakfast hours, we're always happy to provide a continental breakfast from 7.30 AM and do so.
Seth Palo's profile photo
Seth Palo
a month ago
The rooms are very welcoming, quiet and peaceful. The staff is the extremely polite and helpful. The location is great as it is near plenty of shops and places to eat.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We're delighted you enjoyed the Inn and found staff to be welcoming and helpful. Our location, as the reviewer states offers easy access to numerous restaurants and shops. We're situated in the heart of New Hampshire's spectacular White Mountains and Lakes Region. Our location is perfect for outdoor recreation enthusiasts as well as those who appreciate beautiful scenery.
Hugh Cee
9 months ago
My wife and I visited our Grandson and attended a Mother's Day brunch; so, we booked a room for 2 nights and planned a relaxed weekend in the area. The first night we had some difficulties with the air conditioning since it wasn't on and the circulating ceiling fan did not work; but, once I figured out how to climb up and turn on the AC it was okay, so we did not get upset or complain. The breakfast was very good. We also had a very nice Mother's Day brunch at the Common Man in Plymouth; and then returned to our rooms to spend a little time with our senior-citizen dog before continuing our plans to go into Laconia and shop for awhile and then go to dinner. HOWEVER, that's when things changed for the worse, and only got much worse. The air conditioning was off and the circuit breaker was obviously pulled so that it could not be turned on. It was 84 degrees then and heating up to about 90 degrees that day. I spoke with Pamela to make sure she knew that we needed the AC and the air circulation because of the heat and paint fumes. She agreed and said the electrician would be back there to fix this in a half hour. Forty five minutes later there still was no AC or electrician and Pamela said it would be 15 minutes. I told her that we decided to check out and go home. She immediately said that they would charge for the lost day we had reserved. I remembered seeing an earlier review where there was a complaint about a whole lot of things that was posted after leaving and how the innkeeper said that had they known they would have adjusted the bill. I informed Pamela that I would expect an adjustment on the second night's stay; she left Ingrid handle it and Ingrid was "very rigid" and said I spoke with Glenn for 45 minutes at breakfast and made no complaint (obviously I made no complaint since things were fine at that time). I sent a follow-up email upon getting home and reviewed the whole situation. Glenn called the next day but we did not connect, so he left a message that he would call back. He never did and they've charged me full charge. Now, this is a nice B&B, a little over priced, but nice. The people running it though will turn pretty nasty when there is anything to complain about; and, I think they did not treat our matter fairly. As I said in the email I sent; I expected to pay, just not full price for the second day. We left because the room was intolerable without AC and we could not do the things in the area we wanted to do because we could not leave our dog there in that situation. I did not see any point in just sitting and knowing that on Mother's Day the expectation of that electrician ever arriving was marginal.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
We're also troubled when guests have an Inn experience, which is less than perfect. Unfortunately, like all other business entities, things very occasionally go wrong. Although we have excellent relationships with a local plumbing and heating company; licensed electricians, and technology experts; it still isn't possible for any of these people to provide immediate response 24 hours per day. When a problem can't be fixed in a timely manner, we always offer the guest a complimentary evening, or evenings, in conjunction with a future stay.
Christine Pier
a year ago
My husband and I recently visited NH and stayed one night at the Glynn House Inn. The accommodations were perfect and the owners very friendly and accommodating. We unfortunately had to depart the next morning earlier than the scheduled breakfast. Although we were missing the breakfast, the owner made sure we were well fed before we set out on our way. The Inn is nicely situated, well appointed, and clean (one of my must haves).
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thanks so much for sharing your brief Inn experience with other travelers. Early continental breakfasts are always available from 7.30 am for those travelers that need to hit the road before the regularly scheduled breakfast hour. we're delighted the reviewer enjoyed her brief stay with us.
A Google User
6 years ago
I reserved a room less than 2 weeks before we were to stay there. The next day, I received a large medical bill and immediately cancelled the reservation. The following day, my debit card was billed $290 for the room which the manager reported wasn't refundable because my cancellation still fell under the 22 day rule. What kind of place treats it's paying customers this way? I donated a large sum of money involuntarily. TAKE YOUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE!
Response from the owner - in the last week
We understand that unforeseen circumstances periodically prompt guests to change their plans and reschedule and cancel visits. Although our cancellation policy is clearly communicated on the Inn website and everywhere else a prospective guest might find us, we still make every possible effort, to help guests reschedule stays that guests have aborted. We also make every effort to resell cancelled rooms and refund guest deposits. Regrettably, the reviewer decided they were unwilling to reschedule.