Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Once Upon A Child Rapid City
Children's Clothing Store
Today 9AM–8PM
7 followers|136,018 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
We pay cash on the spot for your gently used clothing, furniture, equipment and toys! No Appointment necessary.
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
705 Mountain View Rd Rapid City, SD 57702
705 Mountain View RoadUSSouth DakotaRapid City57702
Children's Clothing Store, Shoe Store
Children's Clothing Store
Shoe Store
Toy Store
Today 9AM–8PM
Saturday 9AM–8PMSunday 12–5PMMonday 9AM–8PMTuesday 9AM–8PMWednesday 9AM–8PMThursday 9AM–8PMFriday 9AM–8PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
17 reviews
5 star
9 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
1 review
1 star
4 reviews
Chain operation that buys & sells gently used items for children, including clothes, shoes & toys.- Google
"Such a wide selection of great, quality items and great prices to go with it!"
"Store was well kept and staff was everywhere."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Heather Hoge's profile photo
Heather Hoge
2 months ago
I will never sell to or buy from this store again. I brought some items in to sell yesterday and I was told they were "damaged or stained". The funny thing is that they were items I had purchased from Once Upon A Child that had never been washed or worn. If they weren't good enough to buy then why were they sold to me in the first place? Also, when I got home, I noticed a sleeper that I had purchased yesterday had a huge hole in it. There was one nice employee working yesterday otherwise everyone else either ignored us or was very rude. They seem very unhappy with their jobs. I will buy new clothing for only a few dollars more and have a much better experience and quality of products.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hi Heather. My name is Lindsy and I am the owner at Once Upon a Child. I am so sorry for your experience in the store this last week. It would frustrate me to purchase damaged product and for that I am so sorry. We never intend to purchase such product, but unfortunately we do make mistakes. We would gladly return your sleepwear and would are open to discussing further options with you in person for your hassel. We love our employees and do our very best to create a positive environment for both employees and customers. We have an employee meeting this weekend and I will present your review to the team so that they understand the importance of sorting quality product while still providing valuable customer service. We appreciate your feedback and take it to heart. I hope we can provide a better experience for you in the future.
Angel Thompson's profile photo
Angel Thompson
2 weeks ago
Lots of choices. Not too bad price. Really crowded. Wouldn't actually recommend bringing your kids.
Carla Cooke's profile photo
Carla Cooke
5 months ago
Clothes are organized by size and color. Makes selection easy. Store was well kept and staff was everywhere. All items were in good condition still. I bought a bassinet that was in excellent condition. They have clothes up to 14-16 year olds, used shoes, and toys. I loved the the organization, cleanliness, and assistance from the staff. I plan to go back. If there is any changes, I will definitely update this review.
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
We appreciate the very kind and thorough review of the store. We will strive to keep providing you the service and merchandise you deserve while shopping at once upon a child. Thank you for taking the time to review the store. Your opinion greatly matters to us. We hope to see you again soon.
Dance Arts's profile photo
Dance Arts
a year ago
Totally excellent customer service! Each time I bring in gently used items from my sweet son's closet and toy chest. They are so friendly and always help efficiently, professionally and with clear communication. A great resource in our community!
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Thank you for your kind review! We appreciate you as a customer and hope to see you again soon!
Ashley Jensen's profile photo
Ashley Jensen
a month ago
Love shopping there but I brought clothes in from last winter that my son outgrew and was told they were too old/faded and out of season. I've seen clothes in the store in worse condition. Went to buy a cute outfit for my unborn daughter and it had stains all over the front. Kids are messy and I understand that, you should lower your expectations of kids clothes. If I wanted new I would go to the actual store. I'm buying used, so you should be a little less picky on what you take. Especially telling me they were faded.. hello do you people not wash clothes? Every thing fades after being washed. I won't waste my time there bringing in clothes.. Or shopping. I'll go to salvation army. Thanks for the shopping and trading experiences before though.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Ashley! Thanks for letting me know about your experience. I am very sorry to hear that your selling experience was not what you had hoped for. It is never our intention to have stained or otherwise compromised product on the floor. On an average day we sort +/- 120 containers of product which amounts to thousands of pieces that we look through daily. We strive to provide the best product to our customers but yes, we are human and we do make mistakes while sorting. If you have questions or would like to ask a manager to look through your items, we would be more than happy to do so for you. We very much appreciate that you took the time out of your busy day to bring product in to sell. I know with little ones your time is precious. Again, I am sorry for your experience and we hope you will give us a second chance.
Janelle Beebe's profile photo
Janelle Beebe
6 months ago
I love selling and shopping at OUAC. Every time I have brought my items in... clothes, toys, and equipment they have paid cash on the spot for mostly everything that was clean and stylish. It's so great for me to be able to put that cash towards larger sizes for my kids, and I can always find cute stuff with how well it's organized. The staff is great & I am always greated when I come in.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
We always love to see you Janelle! Thank you so much for your very kind review. :) See you soon!!
Paula Edson's profile photo
Paula Edson
a year ago
This was such a pleasant experience to discover this store! It is well-organized and the selections are incredible. They have a wide selection of shoes, boots, sandals and clothes for all seasons. I had several questions and the staff was more than willing to help me with all that I needed. I shopped for things for my grandchildren and found a sleepsack and a carseat cover with so many to choose from. I found the store to be neat and so colorful! They have a great choice of books and toys. I actually found more to buy than I came in for, but I was able to shop for things for future birthdays for my grandchildren. I know I will be visiting this store again and again!
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Thanks for your visit to the store Paula and thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon! Take care of those grand-babies. :)
Pepper King's profile photo
Pepper King
a year ago
I stood at the cash register while three girls looking through clothes ignored me. Then, I moved down to the other register where another customer was being helped. The cashier got done with that customer and proceeded to do other things before helping me. While all this happened, other customers were helped right where I was standing in the first place. In other words, customer service was extremely bad. My daughter was told the shoes were 70% off when she asked before we got in line. Finally, I am ready to checkout and was told the shoes were 40% off and I told her my daughter was already told 70% off and she proceeded to tell me the shoes are 40% off instead of asking who told my daughter they were 70% off. Terrible, terrible service. Today, 8-15-15, went in to buy the puzzle for my granddaughter that was $9.99 a couple weeks ago only to find it has gone up to $19.99. I asked about the price and was told those must have been the used ones I was looking at. Really, because I could clearly see on the puzzle that a new price sticker had been put over the old one and it was the same for the other puzzle that was just like it. I said the ones I looked at had the wrap around them and was told they wrap the used ones too. Does the wrap they use have the same advertising on it as the new ones? Definitely learned my lesson this time. I will not go in there again.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
I am so sorry for your less than desirable experience this weekend while shopping at the store. I had all employees that worked on Sunday read your review and communicated to them the importance of good customer service. I thank you for your feedback as we are always looking for opportunities to improve the customer experience . My name is Lindsy, and as the owner I welcome you to reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss the matter further. Thank you again for offering your feedback.