Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Plum Garden
Chinese Restaurant$$
Today 11AM–9PM
2 followers|777,720 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3917 Main St McHenry, IL 60050
3917 Main StreetUSIllinoisMcHenry60050
$$Chinese Restaurant, Asian Restaurant
Chinese Restaurant
Asian Restaurant
Caterer
Family Restaurant
Fine Dining Restaurant
Today 11AM–9PM
Friday 11AM–9PMSaturday 11AM–9PMSunday 11AM–8PMMonday ClosedTuesday 11AM–9PMWednesday 11AM–9PMThursday 11AM–9PM
Menu
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
3.6
56 reviews
5 star
24 reviews
4 star
11 reviews
3 star
5 reviews
2 star
8 reviews
1 star
8 reviews
Chinese eatery serving traditional fare & cocktails in a red-&-black space with traditional accents.- Google
"Was finally able to check out the new dining room since they remodeled last year."
"Excellent flavors of the food and awesome hand rolled egg rolls."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Stephy Miehle's profile photo
Stephy Miehle
3 months ago
A little spendy for dinner, but worth it. I've been a Plum Garden fan since I was a little girl, and everyone in my family loves their food. PG was always packed when it was a smaller restaurant and is still popular (but not too full) after the expansion. The Double Dragon (steak kew and Hong Kong chicken) is fantastic and a good balance if you can't choose between proteins. The Hong Kong chicken is best eaten fresh and in-house, though; any time I take home leftovers or do carry-out, the bottom breading of the chicken gets soggy on the vegetables underneath. Still, their breading is perfect: not too thick, not too greasy, unlike some other HK chicken I've had. Their wonton soup is amazing: paper-thin wontons made fresh along with a good amount of pork. My family also loves their Heaven's Nest, Perry's Lo Mein, BBQ Pork, and Mongolian Beef. Their cinnamon rolls are also a great way to end the meal. Try their house plum wine if you haven't; it's not like usual plum wines and is a deep, sweet red-hued wine instead of the lighter plum wine that you usually see. It's a little expensive, but we always splurge on it and have given it as a gift several times too. When I lived far from McHenry, I missed it! They have great lunch specials and also share deals on their site and Facebook. I also appreciate that Jason, their General Manager, takes the time to check up on reviews here and address problems that anyone has during their visits.
• • •
WI Guy's profile photo
WI Guy
7 months ago
This is not your typical generic Chinese restaurant. Most Chinese restaurants are generic, mass produced food. Plum Garden is different. Plum Garden is the real deal, home made Chinese food. Prices are reasonable for the area, the food is outstanding, portions are huge, and the atmosphere is classy. There is nothing else like it in McHenry County. The food rivals (if not better) then many higher end Chinese restaurants in Chicago and trust me when I say I've been all over. I'd like to highlight the egg rolls as the best I've had in a very long time. The Hong Kong chicken was excellent too. Give it a try, you'll dig it.
• • •
Kenneth Jensen's profile photo
Kenneth Jensen
a month ago
Went there for lunch on Tuesday 8 16 Sat at Bar no one waited at me so I Left Horrible Service!
Josh S's profile photo
Josh S
a year ago
Came here for years loved it. The lunch special was what i came here for at least twice a month. The eggrolls i loved. But now not so much. They expanded the prices went up the service went to shit i waited this last time for 20 mins just for my soup it wasnt busy and during lunch. I kept telling myself that i wont come here again and then a month goes by and i thought ok maybe its that one time was just bad give it another shot. Nope. This is the last. The eggrolls do not come with the lunch anymore? Are you kidding me? That was the biggest sweetener to the lunch. The food is not the same anymore the quality went down and the prices went up. Such ashame for what used to be so good before they expanded. What a bad choice. The seats lined up on the wall of the expansion hurt to sit on them. The seam pokes at your legs. This was once one of my favorite spots to go to within the city and now a 5.95 chinese fast food take out lunch is better quality.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Hi Josh! We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us :( We just wanted to let you know that we have brought back our Egg roll with all of our lunches! Also we have put A LOT of work into not only upgrading our dining room since the last time you were here but also improving our food quality to the same high standard you have come to know and love! We hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance to cook for you in the near future! Thanks for your feedback - Your PG Family :)
christina russo's profile photo
christina russo
a week ago
A little pricy but the egg rolls and all the food is to die for!! BEST Chinese food anywhere hands down.
steve liebmann's profile photo
steve liebmann
3 weeks ago
Food is always delicious, and they know how to make a good drink. I always have a good time when I go there.
Dustin Krueger's profile photo
Dustin Krueger
3 weeks ago
I have been going to Plum Garden for years and it's my goto place for Chinese cuisine.
George E's profile photo
George E
a year ago
Been going here for most of my life, use to be good, not going back anymore last chance failed horribly 3 strikes your out. The prices keeps going up and the quality continues to decline. Their egg rolls went from having goodness inside them and now mostly cabbage, you are lucky if you get more than 2 shrimp in the dragon soup, or in the fiesta rice. It seems like all they care about is the $$ and not the quality. My money will be going to the the competition. Perry you need to rethink your business plan or get out of the business, the people of McHenry and surrounding areas have been very good to you and your family and this quality is unacceptable. You need to be consistent with your food, or PG will fail.....
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Hi George! We were so sorry to hear about your recent disappointing experiences :( We took a look at our Dragon Soup and Our Egg Rolls and we are happy to report that both our back up to the PG High Quality Standard you have come to know and love! Our Dragon Soup now comes with (5) pieces of Shrimp and our Fiesta Fried Rice has gotten even Bigger! We absolutely appreciate all of your years of supporting our family restaurant as we have been honored to cook for you and your family throughout the years as well! We hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance to cook for you in the near future. Thanks again- Your PG Family :)

Stream

Plum Garden hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.