Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Plum Garden
Chinese Restaurant$$
Today 11AM–9PM
2 followers|630,537 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3917 Main St McHenry, IL 60050
3917 Main StreetUSIllinoisMcHenry60050
$$Chinese Restaurant, Asian Restaurant
Chinese Restaurant
Asian Restaurant
Caterer
Family Restaurant
Fine Dining Restaurant
Today 11AM–9PM
Wednesday 11AM–9PMThursday 11AM–9PMFriday 11AM–9PMSaturday 11AM–9PMSunday 11AM–8PMMonday ClosedTuesday 11AM–9PM
Menu
Home of the HONG KONG CHICKEN!!! Family Owned and Operated since 1965, We are celebrating our 50th year in business in 2015!  We offer Dine in, Carry Out, and a full service bar.  Like us on Facebook!  www.facebook.com/plumgardenrestaurant
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.5
48 reviews
5 star
18 reviews
4 star
10 reviews
3 star
5 reviews
2 star
7 reviews
1 star
8 reviews
Chinese eatery serving traditional fare & cocktails in a red-&-black space with traditional accents.- Google
"I ordered the lunch portion of sweet and sour chicken and a cup of soup."
"One of the best Chinese food."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
2 people
31 North Banquets & Catering's profile photo
Window Wizards Inc's profile photo
All reviews
WI Guy's profile photo
WI Guy
2 months ago
This is not your typical generic Chinese restaurant. Most Chinese restaurants are generic, mass produced food. Plum Garden is different. Plum Garden is the real deal, home made Chinese food. Prices are reasonable for the area, the food is outstanding, portions are huge, and the atmosphere is classy. There is nothing else like it in McHenry County. The food rivals (if not better) then many higher end Chinese restaurants in Chicago and trust me when I say I've been all over. I'd like to highlight the egg rolls as the best I've had in a very long time. The Hong Kong chicken was excellent too. Give it a try, you'll dig it.
• • •
TheRgregor455's profile photo
TheRgregor455
4 months ago
One of the best Chinese food. Try the Hong Kong Chicken.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much! We love our Hong Kong Chicken too! mmmm!
Annonimous ly's profile photo
Annonimous ly
3 months ago
I LOVE this place. So good! Go here Chinese lovers!
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much for the kind words! :) We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us!
john sullivan's profile photo
john sullivan
a year ago
Wow. Was finally able to check out the new dining room since they remodeled last year. Amazing! Food was fantastic as always. Hong Kong Chicken, Egg Rolls, Steak Kew and General Tszo's Chicken are my favorites. Owned by the same family since 1965. We need to support special places like these. Loved it!
Josh S's profile photo
Josh S
9 months ago
Came here for years loved it. The lunch special was what i came here for at least twice a month. The eggrolls i loved. But now not so much. They expanded the prices went up the service went to shit i waited this last time for 20 mins just for my soup it wasnt busy and during lunch. I kept telling myself that i wont come here again and then a month goes by and i thought ok maybe its that one time was just bad give it another shot. Nope. This is the last. The eggrolls do not come with the lunch anymore? Are you kidding me? That was the biggest sweetener to the lunch. The food is not the same anymore the quality went down and the prices went up. Such ashame for what used to be so good before they expanded. What a bad choice. The seats lined up on the wall of the expansion hurt to sit on them. The seam pokes at your legs. This was once one of my favorite spots to go to within the city and now a 5.95 chinese fast food take out lunch is better quality.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hi Josh! We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience with us :( We just wanted to let you know that we have brought back our Egg roll with all of our lunches! Also we have put A LOT of work into not only upgrading our dining room since the last time you were here but also improving our food quality to the same high standard you have come to know and love! We hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance to cook for you in the near future! Thanks for your feedback - Your PG Family :)
George E's profile photo
George E
11 months ago
Been going here for most of my life, use to be good, not going back anymore last chance failed horribly 3 strikes your out. The prices keeps going up and the quality continues to decline. Their egg rolls went from having goodness inside them and now mostly cabbage, you are lucky if you get more than 2 shrimp in the dragon soup, or in the fiesta rice. It seems like all they care about is the $$ and not the quality. My money will be going to the the competition. Perry you need to rethink your business plan or get out of the business, the people of McHenry and surrounding areas have been very good to you and your family and this quality is unacceptable. You need to be consistent with your food, or PG will fail.....
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hi George! We were so sorry to hear about your recent disappointing experiences :( We took a look at our Dragon Soup and Our Egg Rolls and we are happy to report that both our back up to the PG High Quality Standard you have come to know and love! Our Dragon Soup now comes with (5) pieces of Shrimp and our Fiesta Fried Rice has gotten even Bigger! We absolutely appreciate all of your years of supporting our family restaurant as we have been honored to cook for you and your family throughout the years as well! We hope you can find it in your heart to give us another chance to cook for you in the near future. Thanks again- Your PG Family :)
Michael Heaven's profile photo
Michael Heaven
9 months ago
Best Chinese food I have ever had. Food tastes great. The variety of ingredients in the food is great. Staff is friendly.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you so much Michael! We are so happy you enjoy our restaurant! We hope to see you soon! -Your PG Family :)
Kim Mecham's profile photo
Kim Mecham
2 years ago
My co-workers love this place... But I have no idea why! The chicken is always overdone, dry and chewy. The egg rolls though a decent size have no flavor. Today I figured I'd give it one more shot since I really wanted some egg drop soup. I ordered the lunch portion of sweet and sour chicken and a cup of soup. They forgot the soup... Which is the only reason I ordered lunch with the rest of the office. The chicken was again over done and chewy... I can't even bit the large chunks apart let alone cut them with the flimsy knife they pack for you. Do yourself a favor... If you have time go out to Buffalo Grove and go to Yen Yens for Chinese food. I am so done with Plum Garden.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hi Kim! We were so sorry to hear about your experience with us :( Sounds Awful! We wanted to let you know we have made some HUGE improvements since the last time you visited and would LOVE the chance to cook for you again and to see what you think! Thanks!- Your PG Family :)

Stream

Have them in circles
2 people
31 North Banquets & Catering's profile photo
Window Wizards Inc's profile photo

Plum Garden hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.