Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
HomeStars
Media Company
Today Open 24 hours
152 followers|121,266 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Dale P Kirkhus's profile photo
 
Thank you checking house for areas that require tuckpointing
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our CEO Nancy Peterson talks about the business of reviews in The Globe and Mail today! 
With 50 employees and current annual revenue at close to $5-million, the company has grown 50 per cent year over year for the past three years
4
1
Bin There Dump That's profile photo
 
Don't worry, we don't hate you! - Luke
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
 
HomeStars takes the Ice Bucket Challenge for ALS
3
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
152 people
Search Engine Marketing's profile photo
Bob Geran's profile photo
Mark Donovan's profile photo
Marcel Mackay's profile photo
Sophia Kazoglou's profile photo
Design Sanduiche's profile photo
Daniel McDonagh's profile photo
Pauline Duhart's profile photo
Bryan Hayes's profile photo

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
 
HomeStars CEO +Nancy Peterson discusses what we do to protect review writers "How libel chill is quashing negative online reviews" 
3
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
2
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

HomeStars

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
49 Spadina Ave Toronto, ON M5V 2J1 Canada
49 Spadina AvenueCAOntarioTorontoM5V 2J1
+1 416-488-0312homestars.com
Media CompanyToday Open 24 hours
Monday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hoursThursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hoursSaturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hours
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.4
27 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
16 reviews
"I am not a picky homeowner."
"I do work for a window company but we don't pay HomeStars."
"I've noticed this for other review based websites."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
152 people
Search Engine Marketing's profile photo
Bob Geran's profile photo
Mark Donovan's profile photo
Marcel Mackay's profile photo
Sophia Kazoglou's profile photo
Design Sanduiche's profile photo
Daniel McDonagh's profile photo
Pauline Duhart's profile photo
Bryan Hayes's profile photo
All reviews
EMF RELIEF
4 months ago
Don't go there guys! I am a small contractor and I signed up for there premium service paying them a monthly service and it has been nothing but headaches! First they could not set my page up properly and it took months to fix as they associated with another company that was just wrong. Next they were supposed to contact some of my customers to some help add some reviews and 4 months later it still has not happened. After that, they do not appear to be adding reviews that my customers have been adding themselves? As a result I on page 10 for waterproofing, in my area, despite paying them a monthly fee. What am I paying, for aggravation? Lastly, all attempts to get the situation remedied, emails and voice mails have gone unanswered... truly unprofessional! Do yourself a favour, run!!!
• • •
Irina Bidro
3 weeks ago
The only purpose of HomeStars is to get paid. They would do anything to make you pay for the listing on HomeStars. After you paid they would do anything to keep you happy. Or read it as - they would do nothing to keep you paying. So the vast majority of all reviews are probably fake, posted by business owners themselves for themselves. And HomeStars does nothing about it. Some companies have more than a thousand reviews on HomeStars and less than 20 on google +. Which is a 100 fold more reviews on HomeStars vs google+ for the same company!!!! Isn't it because google+ cuts the fakes out and HomeStars does not? Customers or clients, do not trust companies listed on HomeStars. They could be the opposite to what you are looking for.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi Irina, we do work hard to keep our customers happy. However trusted, authentic reviews are our top priority. Our mission is to help homeowners find the best companies to hire, in turn the reputable contractors reap the rewards. I understand why you are suspicious of online reviews, there are many websites that are plagued by fake reviews. That's why we have a dedicated team who work everyday to check and read every review that comes into HomeStars before it gets posted to ensure the review is from a real customer. From your review I can't tell who you are in order to reach out to address your concerns, please feel free to contact us at contact@homestars.com if you have further questions. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address these important questions about authentic reviews. Sarah Steele - Customer Success Manager.
Brian CND
a month ago
BE ALERTED ---- The website claims that they post review only from the real customers of the business. But I did a review for a company. I gave it a good mark. But, no one from homestars has ever contacted me about the proof of the transaction. I really really doubt that the reviews posted on this website are all from real transactions. Some of the business owners have many relatives and friends of the relatives. You know what I mean... It's very likely the best reviewed companies are not really the best in reality. I am dealing with another best reviewed company from their website. They are obviously not as good as it is in the reviews. And this company is owned by someone who obviously have many relatives here in Canada. Their workmanship is far from state-in-art as many so-called customers said. I am not a picky homeowner. When a professional try to use clip to put 2 cabinets (MDF board) into position and just screw it into position, you can hardly believe their work is reliable. MDF board cannot sustain the tension with just 4 small screws. I challenged them and they seem understand eventually. So, keep an eye on what company you are working with. high score in homestar may means nothing.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
I am sorry Brian CND, that you had a bad experience with a contractor you hired that had a good rating on HomeStars. I hope you will take the time to provide your feedback and write a review. Regarding your concern that you wrote a review, and no one asked you for a proof of transaction - this does not occur for every review. Validation requests are randomly done, or when something is suspicious. Happy to hear your suggestions for anything we can improve. Our mission is to help homeowners connect with the best contractors based on the most trusted content. Kind regards, Nancy Peterson - founder.
Kumar Gautam
2 months ago
they are rude and very unprofessional one of their saleman called me thinking we are from somae other transport company and then hang up all they want is your money thats it
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi Kumar - sorry you had a bad experience with someone on our team. Best, Nancy
Joseph Miguez
3 weeks ago
Super disappointed with the Homestars website. I had a free listing made several years ago on the site, after being called many many times from their offices, I was promised the world with their services. But, shortly after we had signed up, I noticed it was difficult to get a hold of our account manager, and also notice the leads being produced from the site were few and far between. not only that, but the few that we were getting were a complete waste of time. So i told my account manager I wanted to cease being a part of homestars. I was then told I was locked on for the year, and this was the first i was told about that issue. So, we waited for the year to be up, and when it came around to a year, I told my account manager, we were going to opt out, she then told me a needed to give 60 days notice. that's when I had to send a nasty email, explaining I already told them 6 months prior I wanted to be removed once the year came up. She then told me, I must have told my old account manager, but I didn't tell her. I suppose because I sent over a nasty email, they deleted my account entirely, so for the year I was paying for my listing and the day I choose to stop our premium listing, we get deleted, so basically all our efforts were for nothing.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
I am sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with your membership on HomeStars. Evidently there has been some miscommunication, which I'd like to clarify. I spoke to your Business Success Coach - Heather, who apologies as well for any misunderstanding. It is true we weren't aware of your request to your previous HomeStars rep not to continue your membership past your initial first year term. Once our error was discovered we immediately stopped billing you and canceled your membership. However your listing was not deleted. We do not remove reviews from our site, regardless if a company has a paid membership or not. Your listing can be found here: http://homestars.com/companies/2783833-1st-choice-garage-outfitters . Or simply Google the term "1st Choice Garage Outfitters" and you can easily find it. All the terms of our service are addressed in the Terms & Conditions that our customers review when they activate their HomeStars membership. Heather did attempt to contact you to address your concerns, unfortunately at that time you did not take her calls. I am reaching out to you now via email. If you'd like to discuss, I'm happy to help you. Thank you for your feedback and I wish you all the best. Sarah Steele - Customer Success Manager
William Yates
3 months ago
Very disappointed with this site. After renovating a few homes, I know a lot of businesses that are part of this site but only the site will only post positive reviews. The site has always found something wrong when I have tried posting a negative review or bad experience, which, when renovating homes and using a lot of different services, would be extremely helpful, especially in this business. Also, the site will not post a review if money did not exchange hands, another HUGE flaw. Take all reviews with a grain of salt. The site falls very short of its potential. Made for the businesses, not for the consumer.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi William - sorry you have not had a great experience with HomeStars. Our mission is entirely focused on trusted reviews and I'd like to learn how we can improve. If a negative review is rejected, there should be a solid reason so please let me know if you want me to look into it. We do not however post reviews without a transaction, because a pre-sale experience is very hard to prove. Feel free to reach out to me directly. My email is Nancyp@ our domain. Thanks, Nancy Peterson, Founder.
Ursula McCoy's profile photo
Ursula McCoy
a month ago
Value Windows And Doors - I met general manager Daniel Thomas at the Burlington Home Show and made an appointment with him for a quote to replace my wood framed sliding patio doors and sidelights with a maintenance free vinyl encased unit. The installation team Marcin & Mitch arrived a few days later to take measurements. It took approximately 1 month for the custom made order. Marcin & Mitch took great care in removing the old doors & windows to prevent any damage to my new hardwood floor. I found it interesting and informative watching the transformation from old to new. It was more than I had envisioned. They worked very hard to build the frame and insert the unit just before the rain started. Marcin worked diligently in the pouring rain to complete the caulking. I was very pleased with the quality of the sliding doors and new ceiling to floor sidelights & I especially like the kick lock & ease of door/screen noise free movement! They did a wonderful job and I was impressed with their work ethic, professionalism & attention to detail. They cleaned up well. My new unit looks fabulous and I would certainly recommend this company to my friends.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi Ursula – This review is excellent and reflective of the research you did prior to hiring Value Windows and Doors. You can leave this review on the company's HomeStars listing: http://homestars.com/companies/2846895-value-windows-and-doors?service_area=2034338
Rocky Balboa
3 months ago
Very bad sale rep. Rude and impolite and he wants me to pay $200/month to get a better reputation. Wow! What a scam! They leave bad reviews forever if you dont pay. A company improve in life and i dont want to see a bad comment from 4 years ago.
Response from the owner - in the last week
My apologies that you had a bad experience with one of our sales reps. Also that you seem to have been given misinformation about the HomeStars membership for companies. A membership with HomeStars allows you to post additional information on your company including ways for potential customers to contact you so that more customers that are researching your company's reputation are able to easily contact you. Building a better reputation is up to you and how you treat your customers. What reviews get posted has nothing to do with whether or not you're a paid member. If you receive a negative review from one of your customers it will remain regardless of your participation. If you don't want to engage with your customers online then likely a HomeStars membership isn't for you. However if you have any questions or concerns I'm happy to address them and I would also like to hear your feedback on our sales rep in order to improve our team, please email contact@homestars.com . Thank you for your review, Sarah Steele - Customer Success Manager