Shared publicly  - 
 
Now it looks like Google Plus was/is already integrated with Google Reader. Clicking on "Options > View this shared item in Google Buzz" goes to a posts page in Plus with comments that sync back and forth between Plus and Reader. Which is exactly what we've been asking for viz. Reader/Plus integration.

So they did what we wanted, then they buried it in a Buzz menu and didn't tell us, and now they're removing it from Reader altogether? Maddening!

This supports the theory that this is a political move, not a technical one, in order to bolster Plus' sagging membership (http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/google_plus_traffic_drops_1269_gains_erased.php )
and force thousands of happy sharebros to relocate into their new service.

Screenshots of this effect are now at https://plus.google.com/107397735779828096052/posts/SWCgajAdYkz
+Alan Green +Larry Page +Francis Cleary +Leah Libresco +Garrett Guillotte
3
2
Alex Chaffee's profile photoPeter Somerville's profile photoMihai Parparita's profile photoLora Guillotte's profile photo
8 comments
 
Alex, please remove this screen-cap of a non-public discussion. Thanks.
 
I am curious about your feeling that it's a non-public discussion. I was able to read it merely by following Leah in Reader, which anyone could do. I don't know you and you don't know me but we were there in the room together; to me that felt more public than private but I'm happy to respect and accede to you feeling the inverse.

This feels like the awkward semi-public/semi-private feeling that Circles are supposed to address... Do you think Circles do that?
 
Oh and by the way I'm about to go take a replacement screen cap of this very post :-)
...rats, no can do. Probably cause I created this from inside G+ instead of inside Reader or Buzz.
 
I now have a "Buzz" tab in by G+ profile. Below that tab, and before the posts appear, it states:

This tab is only visible to you.

Google Buzz is going away, but your posts are yours to keep

In a few weeks we'll be retiring Google Buzz. At that time you won't be able to create any new posts, but your existing content will remain accessible in two important ways:You can view it on your Google profileYou can download it using
Google Takeout
 
+Mihai Parparita yep, i got that, i was just pointing out that there was nothing technical preventing them from doing the same thing, especially since in fact they already had, through transitivity R=>B and B=>P therefore R=>P. I think seeing seeing Reader shares in Plus and seeing Plus comments on those items back in Reader and was all and only what the community was asking for. Instead we got... sharemageddon.
Add a comment...