Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Early Mountain Vineyards
Vineyard
Today 11AM–5PM
6 followers|1,266,998 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
6109 Wolftown-Hood Rd Madison, VA 22727
6109 Wolftown-Hood RoadUSVirginiaMadison22727
(540) 948-9005earlymountain.com
Vineyard, Event Venue
Vineyard
Event Venue
Wedding Venue
Winery
Today 11AM–5PM
Wednesday 11AM–5PMThursday 11AM–5PMFriday 11AM–5PMSaturday 11AM–5PMSunday 11AM–5PMMonday 11AM–5PMTuesday Closed
Menu
Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
25 reviews
5 star
15 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
1 review
"Beautiful main tasting room, great views and excellent friendly staff"
"Excellent place to visit! wine and food are outstanding!"
"Great atmosphere serving wines throughout the region!"
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Ann Lam's profile photo
Ann Lam
a month ago
Absolutely beautiful facility. They had the best rosé and chardonnay I've ever had from a Virginia winery. I went for the first time on Friday, and we met the CEO in the parking lot. He was so nice, I decided to come back on Sunday for brunch.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for your visit! We're so thrilled you had a great experience.
S Blackwell's profile photo
S Blackwell
4 months ago
Came here after getting a recommendation from a local B&B we were staying at. The winery is gorgeous, and everything started out great. We got 2 flights, and a local cheese and meat sampler. Delicious. What made us decide on a 1 star review was the service. It was that bad. Our server was the blonde woman with the British accent. She brought us our flights, and we basically never saw her again. The tables all around us were served promptly and professionally, however we were left with an ever dwindling bottle of water on a 100° July day wondering were or server was so we could order some food and drink. This was even after I ordered the flights saying, we'll have the flights and cheese sampler for starters, then we'd like to order some food. The server at the tables around us was constantly at tableside, asking if anyone needed water, or would like to even try another flight. I actually had to go inside the winery looking for our server. Finally finding her, I asked if the cheese sampler was enough to share between 2 people, as it's $24, roughly the price of 2 of their entrees. First she said no, then when I said well OK, I'll look at the menu to decide on something else, she suddenly changed her mind and said it was definitely enough for 2 to split. OK, I ordered it. I got 2 slices of cheese, a dollop of ricotta, and slice or two of apricot with a basket of bread. Don't get me wrong, it was absolutely delicious, and I don't ever mind paying for quality, but it was not for 2 people. At $24, it was barely enough for 1, and our server said it was "definitely" enough for 2. And that's not even the end of her terrible service. After we finished our wine, water, cheese, everything, and were sweating out in the sun, we couldn't find her to ask for the check. After what seemed like ages, she appeared after clearing another table. We asked for the check, and she was gone again. We saw her again maybe 10 minutes later to run food to another table, but not to give us the check as she just walked back inside after. Thank God we happened to have 2 water bottles with us and that there was a water fountain inside. Finally, she came with the check, and then stood right over us as we were selecting her tip on the iPad they use for payment at the table. She honestly stood there watching us, looking at what tip we wanted to select. When we tried to politely and casually make it known that we would like a moment without her hovering there, all she did was move to the other side of the table. Who does that? So, to wrap it up, great Vineyard, great wine and food and view of the grounds while you eat. But if you sit down and you get this server, just leave, your time and money are better spent elsewhere.
• • •
Monti Knode's profile photo
Monti Knode
6 months ago
Great wines, really liked the Five Forks. Perfect location and facilities, tastings and flights are well assembled....really look forward to our next visit!
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Thanks, Monti. We look forward to your next visit too! Cheers.
Nikki West's profile photo
Nikki West
a year ago
It's been just over a month since our wedding and I so want to go back and do it all over again! It was a fairytale. We had looked at about 5 other venues before EMV. BUT I had already seen pictures of EMV and had my heart set on it, so the other places really didn't stand a chance. We drove down from Annapolis Maryland to check out the vineyard and I had mentally signed the contract as we drove up before we even parked. Everything from the manicured lawn with beautiful flowers, the vastness of the vineyard and the rolling hills, to the stone and brick on the main building, was enough for me... Then you walk inside and you're done..."where's the contract!?" It's 5 stars in every area (except value). To be clear, the place is absolutely amazing and breathtaking and the service you'll get from Maggie and Delores is top notch and incredibly professional and super responsive (and we asked a ton of questions via email - all answered right away), but the price tag is quite steep. With that said, if you have the budget to go for it, you won't be disappointed. We heard from several quests at our wedding that it was the most beautiful wedding they had even been to. Of course, as a bride who worked for over a year on this day, that was music to my ears, and the location is largely what made the wedding as beautiful as it was.
• • •
Austin Graff's profile photo
Austin Graff
5 months ago
On the way back from Charlottesville and DC, my wife and I relied on Yelp for a good winery. Early Mountain Vineyard is just off the highway so we decided to stop here for a quick tasting. Despite a 4 star rating on Yelp, we were super disappointed. It's $10 per tasting, which is decent in the DC area. However, the staff were the least friendly I've ever met at a winery. The guy doing our tasting was super cold and didn't interact or give us any history behind the wine. He would literally pour the wine and tell us the name and then frown and walk away. It was so bizarre! The wine itself wasn't good. The standout was the Rose, but even that wasn't the best. Two things that were positive: The space is beautiful and looks the most like a Napa Valley winery. That's probably why people gave it good reviews on Yelp. They also give you a free wine glass, which was nice! Despite that, I still give it 2 stars on Yelp.
• • •
Claire Rann's profile photo
Claire Rann
8 months ago
Can't really speak to this place wine-wise--we each got a glass of the Five Forks white blend, and it was fine, nothing special. In terms of customer service, though, I was pretty disappointed. I took a coworker here for her birthday, and our boss very kindly called them a couple of days before and asked them to set aside a gift card for us to pick up upon our arrival. We came in and went straight to the tasting table to nab the card, and had to wait for someone to attend to us, despite it not being super busy. When a woman finally noticed us, we explained what we were looking for, and she looked at us like we were nuts, asked another colleague who reacted similarly, and then suggested we check at the other bar. The email from our boss had been very specific about where the card was, but we headed over to the other bar any way, only to be told that it was definitely at the main tasting bar. So, we headed back, and, after explaining what the others had said, they proceeded to wait on 3 more people--NOT ones who had been in line or anything before we came up, but just couples who wandered up while we were waiting to be helped--before bothering to check around for our gift. Finally, one of them stopped waiting on other customers, smacked her forehead, and loudly exclaimed my coworker's name--"Oh yeah! It's right here!" and handed us the card, which had been behind her the entire time. Apparently this was the same woman who had taken the order two days prior, yet moments after our request shared skeptical glances with her coworker. If this is how they handle a simple gift card, I can't imagine how they manage weddings. Charlottesville has an abundance of vineyards that consistently demonstrate excellent customer service--Loving Cup and Glass House, for instance--I won't be returning to this one.
• • •
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
We're so sorry you had an unpleasant experience here, Claire. We've spoken with our employees and have taken steps to make sure there is better communication about such things.
Stan Schulman's profile photo
Stan Schulman
3 months ago
Beautiful main tasting room, great views and excellent friendly staff
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks, Stan. We hope you visit again soon. Cheers!
Paul Graves's profile photo
Paul Graves
a year ago
Wine is colorful and full of character. The food is well prepared; portions are small. Location is beautiful. Service was inattentive and slow.

Stream

Early Mountain Vineyards hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.