Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Christopher Webber
131 followers
131 followers
About
Christopher's posts

Post has attachment
Day 25 - Building a Team CLI with Python: One Alternative to ChatOps
Written by: Jan Ivar Beddari ( @beddari ) Edited by: Nicholas Valler ( @nvaller ) Introduction ChatOps is a great idea. Done right, it creates a well-defined collaborative space where the barriers to entry are low and sharing improvements is quick. Because ...

Post has attachment
Day 24 - Migrating from mrepo to reposync
Written by: Kent C. Brodie ( brodie@mcw.edu ) BACKGROUND We are a RedHat shop (in my case, many CentOS servers, and some RedHat as well). To support the system updates around all of that I currently use mrepo , an open source repository mirroring tool creat...

Post has attachment
Day 23 - That Product Team Really Brought The Room Together
Written by: H. “Waldo” Grunenwald ( @gwaldo ) Edited by: Cody Wilbourn ( cody@codywilbourn.com ) There are plenty of articles talking about DevOps and Teamwork and Aligning Authority with Responsibility, but what does that look like in practice? Having been...

Post has attachment
Day 22 - Building a pipeline for Azure Deployments
Written by: Sam Cogan ( @samcogan ) Edited by: Michelle Carroll ( @miiiiiche ) Introduction In my SysAdvent article from last year I talked about automating deployments to Azure using Azure Resource Manager (ARM) and PowerShell Desired State Configuration (...

Post has attachment
Day 21 - Reusable Application Packaging With Habitat
Written by: Joshua Timberman ( @jtimberman ) Edited by: Dan Webb ( @dan_webb ) Introduction Habitat by Chef is a framework for building, deploying, and running any kind of application. Chef’s blog has a good introductory series on the concepts behind Habita...

Post has attachment
Day 20 - How to set and monitor SLAs
Written by: Emily Chang ( emily@datadoghq.com ) Edited by: Ben Cotton ( @funnelfiasco ) SLAs give concrete form to a worthy but amorphous goal: you should always be trying to improve the performance and reliability of your services. If you’re maintaining an...

Post has attachment
Day 19 - Troubleshooting Docker and Kubernetes
Written by: Jorge Salamero ( @bencerillo ) Edited by: Brian O'Rourke ( @borourke ) Container orchestration platforms like Kubernetes, DC/OS Mesos or Docker Swarm help towards making your experience like riding an unicorn over a rainbow, but don’t help much ...

Post has attachment
Day 18 - GPU-enabled cloud farm
Written by: Sergey Karatkevich ( @kevit ) Edited by: Eric Sigler ( @esigler ) Why did we start this project? Our company, Servers.com is here for a purpose. The purpose is to provide you with the quality hosting services, including all the additional tools ...

Post has attachment
Day 17 - Write it down or suffer the consequences
Written by: Heidi Waterhouse ( @wiredferret ) Edited by: Matt Jones ( @CaffeinatedEng ) Is there a terrible, tangled wiki that resembles the brambles surrounding Sleeping Beauty’s tower? Are there three magical and essential post-it notes that would be cata...

Post has attachment
Day 16 - Trained Engineers - Overnight Managers (or, The Art Of Not Destroying Your Company)
Written by: Nir Cohen ( @thinkops ) Edited by: Daniel Maher ( @phrawzty ) Introduction It has been said that managers shouldn’t be appointed randomly. The right people should be thoughtfully selected, should know that they’re changing their career path rath...
Wait while more posts are being loaded