Kansas Low Cost Divorce $179 - $449 | Income Based
Kansas Divorce Laws
States can have extensive restrictions on the marriage process, and they can likewise have quite a few regulations on how a marriage comes to an end. While a divorce in general is easier to obtain than ever, it may be more complicated to get out of your Sunflower State marriage than it was to get into it. Here is an overview of the legal requirements for divorce in Kansas.
Kansas Divorce Laws: The Basics
State laws determining the legal requirements for divorce set out the process by which marriages become legally dissolved. Kansas, like many states, has a 60-day residency requirement to file for divorce, as well as a 60-day waiting period between a divorce filing and a court hearing. “Incompatibility” and “the failure to perform a material marital duty or obligation” are the legal grounds for divorce in Kansas. The details of Kansas’s divorce statutes are listed below.
No Fault Divorce Laws
Along with many other states recently, Kansas offers what is known as a “no fault” divorce under the state’s “incompatibility” ground for divorce. In a no fault divorce, you don’t have to prove (or even allege) that your soon-to-be-ex engaged in any specific wrongdoing in order to get a divorce. Instead, you only have to tell the court that you and your spouse are “incompatible,” and there is no use in trying to preserve the marriage.
States also have some alternatives to divorce, like an annulment or legal separation. Each of these processes has its own separate requirements and they only apply to specific circumstances. If you and your spouse have any shared minor children, you should also be familiar with Kansas child custody laws, as well as any state child support guidelines and child support enforcement regulations.