Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Hotel
8 followers|378,470 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Christopher Amato from Holland, Mi had a fun morning fishing onboard Pip's 36 today with his friends & family. Capt Bob Kidwell & mate Roy Boston got them on some Snapper & this nice Red Grouper.
1
Add a comment...
 
Nick Ojeda (pictured right) from Washington D.C aboard our 29-ft Topaz Express "Papa Pip's" with Captain Doug Kelley and Roy Boston (pictured left). Looks like the day is starting off right!
1
Add a comment...
 
Here's a good picture of Kelly Puig catching Yellowtail Snapper yesterday by the Seven Mile Bridge with her hubby and Capt. Doug Kelley. Way to show the guys how it's done, Kelly.
1
Add a comment...
 
This pelican showed up at our dock today with a fish hook in its mouth and trailing fishing line. Dockmaster, Matt kept it occupied with ballyhoo scraps while we called the Marathon Wild Bird Center. A few minutes later Kelly came to the rescue.
1
Add a comment...
 
It's a sunny 72 degree day here at Captain Pip's. Don't you wish you were here?
1
Add a comment...
 
Check out these Flag Yellowtail Snappers. Great job Capt.  Doug Kelley Florida Keys Charter Fishing.
1
Add a comment...
In their circles
371 people
Have them in circles
8 people
Fisher Charters-Guides's profile photo
KEYBAR's profile photo
Cheryl Bragg's profile photo
Ben Shay's profile photo
Tom Davis's profile photo
Cheryl Bennett's profile photo
 
The Hightower family from Madison, NJ have already had a very busy morning catching plenty of Snapper onboard Papa Pip's with Capt. Bob Kidwell & mate Roy Boston. We see some tasty dinners coming up for them!
1
Add a comment...
 
The end of another lovely day.
1
Add a comment...
 
Check out Todd Puig and Captain Doug Kelly's catch! Way to go guys.
1
Add a comment...
 
Our guest, Todd Puig from Jupiter Florida went out with Captain Doug Kelly on a 22ft Cape Horn and what a catch! Caught 2 Yellow Jack, 10 Mangrove Snapper, and 10 Porgie's so far... Great job!
1
Add a comment...
 
Phillip Beatty & his son Matt from Roswell, GA had a fun day today fishing onboard Papa Pip's with Capt. Doug Kelly & mate Roy Boston. They caught a 5 ft shark, Mangrove Snapper & Yellowtail Snapper. Here's Phillip with one of his Mangroves. 
1
Add a comment...
 
Look what one of our regular guests, Charlie Morse and his girlfriend, Katie, just caught. They are staying with us and fishing out of one of our rental boats. Charlie hails from a small town (population 200) in the frozen wilds of Montana. Nice change for him, right?
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1410 Overseas Hwy Marathon, FL 33050
1410 Overseas HighwayUSFloridaMarathon33050
(305) 743-4403captainpips.com
Hotel, Boat Rental Service
Hotel
Boat Rental Service
Canoe & Kayak Rental Service
Marina
Enjoy clean, comfortable accommodations with beautiful open water views and unique tropical charm. In the heart of the Florida Keys.  Choose from motel-style guest rooms, efficiencies and one- and/or two-bedroom apartments.  Paddle board and kayak rentals on site. Newly remodeled.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
In their circles
371 people
Have them in circles
8 people
Fisher Charters-Guides's profile photo
KEYBAR's profile photo
Cheryl Bragg's profile photo
Ben Shay's profile photo
Tom Davis's profile photo
Cheryl Bennett's profile photo
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
$99
Book at priceline.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $111 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
3.5
9 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
4 reviews
Hotel with features such as unassuming rooms, direct beach access, a fishing dock & boat rentals. - Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Sebastian Rojas's profile photo
Sebastian Rojas
2 months ago
This place should be called Captain Thief's boat rentals. Dishonest, unprofessional and irrational behavior from top to bottom. STAY AWAY. It's better to pay a few extra bucks to deal with professionals instead of these low life clowns.
David Millis's profile photo
David Millis
9 months ago
Unpleasant. Please make sure if you cancel your reservation in advance they give you an email of confirmation. They will hang up on you if you call them and discuss any issues and prove your innocents. I was a repeat customer and will never try and rent a boat from this organization again. The owner will not call you either if they suggest it or if you ask for him to. Horrible business ethics. The customer is not appreciated. Filing a complaint.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
This customer made a boat reservation with us & then forgot to cancel it. We held the reservation for him during the busiest time of the year, & called him repeatedly to check when he didn't come to get the boat. He finally called us back & had rented a boat elsewhere. We should have charged the whole boat rental but we did not. Instead we kept the deposit & told him that he could use it for up to 1 year. The staff & the owner spoke to him about this. He was not happy with the outcome unfortunately, but we were more than fair.
Alejandro Carvajal
2 months ago
If you have such a great costumer service how long you took a year to respond to a review . STAY AWAY from this place. This place place should be call Captain Thief .Gas gauges were not working and we end up paying $150 just in gas.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Our boats are always completely full of fuel when someone rents them. When they return the tank is filled back up and they are charged for that fuel. The amount of fuel used is NOT dependent upon a cell phone app! Apart from how much distance they drive, it depends on how many people are on the boat, and also how much "stuff" they take with them. More weight on the boat means more fuel used by that particular group of people. Our fuel price is very competitive with every other on the water fuel station. Often people think that the price on the highway should be the price for fuel on the water. That just is not the case. We pay more per gallon for the fuel, as does every other on the water fuel station. Anyone renting a boat washes their boat when they return it, we tell everyone that when they pick up their boat. We're sorry that this renter did not enjoy their boat rental with us last year (2014). Almost everyone else does enjoy their time on the water with us. We hope that anyone reading this review will check our other reviews on Trip Advisor, and our rooms reviews on Expedia & Booking.com. That will give you a much more accurate picture that this single review.
Rod Taylor
2 years ago
My family and I plan our vacation for the keys every year, and we start by checking the availability of captain pips. Everything was wonderful. I thought the lady at the front was a sweetheart. always great service from the dock hands to the bar tender at the restaurant. Looking forward to seeing everyone and feel as if I was apart of their family again in the spring. I give this place 5 starts all day everyday. we're bringing friends this year too!
Eric Morin's profile photo
Eric Morin
8 months ago
Lovely. Great reception, very pleasant and smiley people. Great room, super clean. The entire site is very typical of what you can imagine of the keys with those fishing boat across the bay, the very typical restaurant. ..I love this place
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Marcos Jimenez's profile photo
Marcos Jimenez
2 months ago
I rented a boat about two months ago and currently looking for other places to rent one and I'm looking at the current reviews and its funny the way they promote their business . This company is a joke , lady in the front (white hair) very sarcastic, she treats you as if you were stupid . WORST PLACE EVER !!!! .
Matt Sanborn's profile photo
Matt Sanborn
a year ago
Rented wave runners, I was out an hour my mother is older and flipped and they helped her back in. People were nice and for both our runners the total was $78. Good for wave runner rentals!
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
We appreciate you're taking the time to leave us a review. We may have helped your mom back in when she flipped her wave runner but we actually didn't rent them to you! That would have been the folks over at the restaurant next door. We are always happy to help if someone is in distress though!
A Google User
4 years ago
The female manager was rude on the phone and in person. When I pay over $250, I expect friendly service. Would not rent boat again from them just based on that. She also complained about my coupon because I forgot to give it to her until we were leaving. Charged me 5 bucks to use a diving flag, without telling me. Boat was ok. Service crap. Wound take business elsewhere.
Response from the owner - 2 years ago
We're sorry you felt our manager was rude on the phone. We try very hard to provide friendly, helpful service with each customer interaction. We are happy to honor all valid coupons. It is normal for the coupon to be presented at the time of rental, so that all charges can be entered correctly. We apologize for the confusion in this incident. We do rent our dive flags for $5 per day. We are sorry you were not aware of the charge. Captain Pip's has been renting boats in the Florida Keys since 1998. We have a solid base of satisfied repeat customers, who will only rent from us. We invite prospective customers to view more reviews on Trip Advisor.