Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Luxury Hotel
10 followers|1,822,022 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Christopher Amato from Holland, Mi had a fun morning fishing onboard Pip's 36 today with his friends & family. Capt Bob Kidwell & mate Roy Boston got them on some Snapper & this nice Red Grouper.
1
Add a comment...
 
The end of another lovely day.
1
Add a comment...
 
Check out Todd Puig and Captain Doug Kelly's catch! Way to go guys.
1
Add a comment...
 
Our guest, Todd Puig from Jupiter Florida went out with Captain Doug Kelly on a 22ft Cape Horn and what a catch! Caught 2 Yellow Jack, 10 Mangrove Snapper, and 10 Porgie's so far... Great job!
1
Add a comment...
 
It's a sunny 72 degree day here at Captain Pip's. Don't you wish you were here?
1
Add a comment...
 
Look what one of our regular guests, Charlie Morse and his girlfriend, Katie, just caught. They are staying with us and fishing out of one of our rental boats. Charlie hails from a small town (population 200) in the frozen wilds of Montana. Nice change for him, right?
1
Add a comment...
 
The Hightower family from Madison, NJ have already had a very busy morning catching plenty of Snapper onboard Papa Pip's with Capt. Bob Kidwell & mate Roy Boston. We see some tasty dinners coming up for them!
1
Add a comment...
 
Nick Ojeda (pictured right) from Washington D.C aboard our 29-ft Topaz Express "Papa Pip's" with Captain Doug Kelley and Roy Boston (pictured left). Looks like the day is starting off right!
1
Add a comment...
 
Here's a good picture of Kelly Puig catching Yellowtail Snapper yesterday by the Seven Mile Bridge with her hubby and Capt. Doug Kelley. Way to show the guys how it's done, Kelly.
1
Add a comment...
 
This pelican showed up at our dock today with a fish hook in its mouth and trailing fishing line. Dockmaster, Matt kept it occupied with ballyhoo scraps while we called the Marathon Wild Bird Center. A few minutes later Kelly came to the rescue.
1
Add a comment...
 
Phillip Beatty & his son Matt from Roswell, GA had a fun day today fishing onboard Papa Pip's with Capt. Doug Kelly & mate Roy Boston. They caught a 5 ft shark, Mangrove Snapper & Yellowtail Snapper. Here's Phillip with one of his Mangroves. 
1
Add a comment...
 
Check out these Flag Yellowtail Snappers. Great job Capt.  Doug Kelley Florida Keys Charter Fishing.
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1410 Overseas Hwy Marathon, FL 33050
1410 Overseas HighwayUSFloridaMarathon33050
(305) 743-4403captainpips.com
Luxury Hotel, Boat Rental Service
Luxury Hotel
Boat Rental Service
Rowing Club
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
$91
Book at Expedia.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $103 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
45 reviews
5 star
677 reviews
4 star
311 reviews
3 star
76 reviews
2 star
17 reviews
1 star
2 reviews
Hotel with features such as unassuming rooms, direct beach access, a fishing dock & boat rentals. - Google
"Room amenities included microwave, refrigerator and some kitchen utensils too 2."
"It's a nice place, the rooms feel like home and it has a great atmosphere."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Brandon M's profile photo
Brandon M
a month ago
The rooms were decent, but they have so many rules and staff is too concerned with the charter/rental business rather than helping the renting guests. We stayed for mini-lobster season and the staff told us we could not dispose of the lobster heads in the trash and had to take them out of the marina into the ocean and dump them, which is highly illegal; their reason was because it makes their small marina smell like fish. You have to leave your trailer in a lot which you are not allowed to access, so you have to get your trailer on their time when it's convenient for them. The housekeeping comes by only twice a week. I have no clue what they cleaned. We only found our floor bathroom towel was refolded. I think there are better options out there for the money.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our staff go out of their way to help all of our customers at all times. We do not have a charter business and so are not more concerned with that, or anything else and take care of every customer. Your boat trailer was stored in our yard, along with the many others that came for mini season - many without any notice whatsoever to us. Our staff made sure that everyone's boat & trailer had a place to park, & everyone always had access to their trailers. No-one actually needed to do anything with their trailers though until they were ready to leave. Housekeeping comes into the rooms for our weekly guests on Mondays & Thursdays (plus Saturdays if the guests are here then). They do not clean your room for you while you are here. They change out towels & sheets depending on the day & also leave more paper products.
Matthew Post's profile photo
Matthew Post
3 months ago
Over 30+ years coming here and it use to be 5 stars. Not based on amenities like the new pool but because it wasn't standard resort crap. It use to be this beautiful little bungalow apartments with amazing feel and nostalgia! Not to mention the free boat you got for a week stay! Now the new owner/investor wants double the old rates for a week stay because he needs to recoup his purchase investment!! You have now lost a life long customer!! Use to come once every two years for 30+ years!!! Almost$3000 for a week in off season with the boat now, when it was $1500-1700 just 3 years ago! Bad idea to put in a pool when you have a gulf and an ocean! Let's put it this way I won't come back The new owners have ruined this place!! My son came and that would be 3 generations who came here. It won't happen anymore.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
We are sorry that you do not like all the improvements that have been made to the property. All of our other repeat guests have been thrilled with the updates, including the new pool. People were asking for a pool for many many years. Our pricing is still very competitive. Previously when you stayed with us the boat was not free, it was actually included in the pricing for the room. When someone did not want the boat - the room pricing was incredibly high. The pricing structures now are a lot more reasonable for all of our guests. We are sorry that you will not be staying with us from now on, but we hope that you continue to have a great vacation here in the Florida Keys.
Samantha Trepczyk's profile photo
Samantha Trepczyk
3 months ago
We stayed here for 2 nights on our vacation in Florida, and we loved it. We wished we would have booked the room for longer and stayed longer. The room we were in had a stove, refrigerator, full sink, and all the proper stuff to cook a full meal with. It was a nice touch, especially if you didn't want to go out to dinner or lunch that day. The staff was very friendly and everytime we walked past one of them they always interacted with us. The only disappointing thing that happened while we were there was that they canceled the sunset snorkeling on our last night there and we were really looking forward to it. Next time we make our way down to the keys we will deffinently be staying there!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope that you will come back for another visit at some time. Sorry that we weren't able to get you out on the sunset snorkel - you definitely have to come back for that!
Ryan Jones's profile photo
Ryan Jones
2 months ago
Great crew, great boat. The only thing I didn't like is how crowded the boat was. It appeared to be overbooked, but the reef they take you to, Sombrero Reef, is incredible. Nice snorkel trip for an afternoon.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We do not overcrowd the boat, however. The boat is rated for 47 passengers & 2 crew by the U.S. Coast Guard & we never put more than that. We hope that you enjoyed your snorkel trip & come back again at some time for another one.
Cassie Kirkland's profile photo
Cassie Kirkland
3 weeks ago
Do not ever go to Captain Pips Hideway & Marina! Their customer service and hospitality is some of the worst I have ever ever ever experienced! If you bring a boat and you decide to pay the storage fee and dock up and you have a problem with your boat they will not help you with their 19 boats and 7 jet skis!!! They literally watched a girl paddle on a Seadoo out into the Gulf trying to make it a third of a mile North to a boat ramp and was getting swept out to sea due to the currents but they didn't care cuz they had a beer in their hands! And when you talk to the owner he says due to my insurance my boots can't pull somebody but yet somebody that rented a boat from them pulled us at least into the dock instead of being stranded out on the island what's another third of a mile to a boat ramp! This is not a place to stay if you want great hospitality and great customer service!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
You lost the keys to your jets ski while you were out on the water & were arguing between yourselves, and then proceeded to take it out on our staff. One of our guests towed you in to help you as they found you out in the water. When we said that we could not tow your jet ski to the boat ramp to load it on your trailer you were verbally abusive to all of our staff & even the owner of the resort, who had to call the police. Our whole staff was very polite & nice to you despite your atrocious behavior.
lane underhill's profile photo
lane underhill
a month ago
It's a nice place, the rooms feel like home and it has a great atmosphere. Would be 5 stars, but the free Wi-Fi never worked.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this 4 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry that you had issues with the wi-fi however.
Stephan Stoll's profile photo
Stephan Stoll
3 months ago
Nice apartments, lots of space and beautiful location for watching the sunset. The bad Wi-Fi reception in the rooms was a bummer though.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us this nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & hope that you will come back again at some time for another visit. We are sorry that you had a problem with the wi-fi.
Buzz Kircher's profile photo
Buzz Kircher
5 months ago
Just recently rented a boat from this subpar (business). Had the misfortune of renting a 19' parker that never got up on a plane-quite honestly the slowest powerboat I've paid money to be on. However, to begin this fiasco I was greeted by a sarcastic woman (white hair) who's snarky attitude was not appreciated. Not to mention the criminal like deckhands who had no problem helping my daughter off the boat with inappropriate hand placement…leaving my 80 year old mother to stumble off the boat. To be honest I would not recommend this place to anyone with a family, or anyone ever for that matter. To make better use of your day I would go to an ATM take out an outrageous amount of money and throw it into the Bay. That would be more fun than a day on the water with Captain Pip and his shifty operation.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
We are sorry that you did not like the 19ft Parker. Our 19ft Parker boats are only 1 year old and each has a 115HP Yamaha engine on the back. They are rated for 4 people maximum. If they are over loaded & have everyone on the bow with lots of coolers etc they would have an issue getting up on a plane, but not if they are not over loaded. Our staff are always very polite & nice to our guests, and our dock hands do not place their hands in inappropriate places on any guests. We are sorry if they were not fast enough to help your mother off the boat though.