Profile

Cover photo
Kenneth Ford
Works at Self Employed
Attended University of Rhode Island
Lives in North Carolina
31 followers|6,970 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos+1's

Stream

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
“We congratulate ESA on their successful landing on a comet today," says John Grunsfeld, astronaut and associate administrator for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate in Washington, about the successful comet landing by the European Space Agency’s Rosetta mission. "This achievement represents a breakthrough moment in the exploration of our solar system and a milestone for international cooperation. We are proud to be a part of this historic day and look forward to receiving valuable data from the three NASA instruments on board Rosetta that will map the comet’s nucleus and examine it for signs of water.
 
“The data collected by Rosetta will provide the scientific community, and the world, with a treasure-trove of data. Small bodies in our solar system like comets and asteroids help us understand how the solar system formed and provide opportunities to advance exploration. We look forward to building on Rosetta's success exploring our solar system through our studies of near earth asteroids and NASA's upcoming asteroid sample return mission OSIRIS-REx. It’s a great day for space exploration."
 
For information about our role in the Rosetta mission, visit: http://rosetta.jpl.nasa.gov/  
To learn more about our asteroid sample return mission, OSIRIS-Rex, visit: http://science.nasa.gov/missions/osiris-rex/
77 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...
 
ESA's Comet Landing
#CometLanding
http://www.ustream.tv/nasajpl2

Wednesday Nov. 12, 2014 (1400 UTC, 9:00am ET, 6:00am PT)

NASA's live coverage of the European Space Agency (ESA) Rosetta mission's scheduled landing of a probe on Comet 67P.

ESA's Philae Lander is scheduled to touch down on Comet 67P at 1535 UTC (10:35am ET/7:35am PT). A signal confirming landing is expected at approximately 1605 UTC (11:02am ET/8:02am PT).
<b>ESA's Comet Landing Nov. 12, 2014 6 a.m. PT (9 a.m. ET, 1400 UTC)</b> Live coverage of the European Space Agency (ESA) Rosetta mission's scheduled landing of a probe on a comet. NASA's live commentary will include excerpts of the ESA coverage and air from 6-7 a.m. PST (9-10 a.m. EST). NASA will continue carrying ESA's commentary from 7-8:30 a.m. PST (10-11:30 a.m. EST). ESA's Philae (fee-LAY) lander is scheduled to touch down on comet 67P/Ch...
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Randy Halverson (dakotalapse.com) captured the footage from April-Nov 2013 in South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming. 2 Canon 5D Mark III and 1 Canon 6D cameras were used to create this compilation.
1
Add a comment...
 
Orbital Sciences' Antares Rocket EXPLODES on Launch!
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
1
Add a comment...
Have him in circles
31 people
Dre 030's profile photo
JMBOK Academy's profile photo
Raffaella Grassi's profile photo
Peter S's profile photo
The Planetary Society's profile photo
Carol Pinchefsky's profile photo
freda kwakye's profile photo
nasir ali's profile photo
Astronomy Cast's profile photo

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
NASA Statement on GAO Decision to Deny Commercial Crew Contract Protest
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
The image shows Comet 67P acquired by the Philae Lander during descent on Nov 12, 2014 14:38:41 UT from a distance of approximately 3 km from the surface.

http://orbiterchspacenews.blogspot.ch/2014/11/touchdown-rosettas-philae-probe-lands.html
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Correction: This story has been updated to clarify that while NASA was considering a mandatory laser communications payload for the next Discovery mission, the payload was never actually a requirement. WASHINGTON — NASA on Nov. 5 released the final solicitation for its next Discovery-class ...
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
Aurora Flyover | International Space Station | HD Video 1080p
Aurora australis and aurora borealis (northern lights) as viewed from the International Space Station. Auroras are caused by charged particles entering the atmosphere from above causing ionization and excitation of atmospheric constituents as they collide with the earth's magnetic field. 

This video was compiled using time lapse footage shot from the International Space Station obtained courtesy of the Earth Science and Remote Sensing Unit, NASA Johnson Space Center.

Credit: Selmes Films
Release Date: Nov 2, 2014

+Phil Selmes 
+Johnson Space Center 

#NASA   #Space   #ISS   #Aurora   #Borealis   #Australis   #Earth   #Atmosphere #Science   #HD   #Video #1080p
13 comments on original post
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Orbital Sciences' Antares Rocket Explodes on Launch
1
Add a comment...

Kenneth Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Newsweek: The Dirty Secrets Behind the Race to Put a Man on the Moon
1
Add a comment...
People
Have him in circles
31 people
Dre 030's profile photo
JMBOK Academy's profile photo
Raffaella Grassi's profile photo
Peter S's profile photo
The Planetary Society's profile photo
Carol Pinchefsky's profile photo
freda kwakye's profile photo
nasir ali's profile photo
Astronomy Cast's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Project Management Consultant
Skills
PMI Certified Project Management Professional (PMP #1651299)
Employment
  • Self Employed
    Project Management Consultant, 2009 - present
  • NASA
    Engineer/Manager, 1972 - 2009
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
North Carolina
Previously
Rhode Island, Florida, California, New Mexico, Virginia
Links
Other profiles
Story
Introduction
I’m a Rhode Island expatriate living Huntersville, NC. My wife, Diane, & I have two grown children. Shawn and Heather.
Soon after graduating from the University of Rhode Island (URI) in 1971 I moved to Cape Canaveral, Florida. I’ve worked for NASA as an Electronics Engineer in Florida, California, and New Mexico. While in Florida I received MBA & MS degrees from Florida Institute of Technology (FIT). In 1987 I moved to the Washington, DC area as a Program Manager.
I retired from NASA after 36 years with the agency. In 2009 we moved to Huntersville, N.C. I'm now an  independent Project Management Consultant, and certified Project Management Professional (PMP).
Education
  • University of Rhode Island
    BS/Electrical Engineering, 1967 - 1971
  • Florida Institute of Technology
    MBA, 1982 - 1984
  • Florida Institute of Technology
    MS/Engineering Management, 1985 - 1987
  • Boston University Corporate Education Center
    Project Management, 2012 - 2013
    Certification in Project Management Foundations of Project Management Principles of Project Management Comprehensive Project Management
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Apps with Google+ Sign-in