Cover photo
Verified local business
The Original Tops
American Restaurant
Today 6:30 AM – 11:00 PM
1 follower|330,678 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3838 E Colorado Blvd Pasadena, CA 91107
3838 East Colorado BoulevardUSCaliforniaPasadena91107
American Restaurant, Hamburger Restaurant
American Restaurant
Hamburger Restaurant
Fast Food Restaurant
Today 6:30 AM – 11:00 PM
Tuesday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMWednesday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMThursday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMFriday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMSaturday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMSunday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PMMonday 6:30 AM – 11:00 PM

A Pasadena institution since 1952!  The Original Tops prides itself in quality grub made from honest ingredients.
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
35 reviews
5 star
16 reviews
4 star
8 reviews
3 star
4 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
5 reviews
Circa-1952 quick-serve American for burgers, hot dogs & breakfast in fast-food digs with drive-thru.- Google
"I do not recommend the Kobe Beef Dip. A little dry even with the au jus sauce."
"Best breakfast burritos in Pasadena, and Ive had them all."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Have them in circles
1 person
Jesus Saves's profile photo
All reviews
Jared James's profile photo
Jared James
a month ago
Best breakfast burritos in Pasadena, and Ive had them all. Salsa Verde tops it off. Their junior cheeseburgers with grilled onions are fantastic as well, and you can never go wrong with a side of zucchini sticks. Prices really aren't that crazy if you look at the average fast casual price these days. Ingredients are light years beyond fast food chain garbage. If you're looking for an inexpensive option the junior burgers, breakfast burritos with no meat or breakfast sandwiches without meat are nice options.
• • •
Kenny Chiang's profile photo
Kenny Chiang
3 weeks ago
My favorite breakfast burrito.... Pastrami and egg, plus the awesome green sauce.
steve G.
8 months ago
thanks for the food posioning your place gave our family sunday night
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Hi Steve, My name is John Bicos and I'm one fo the owners of The Original Tops. I want to sincerely apologize for the experience you had the other day. We take great pride in our health standards at Tops and we always make sure we are serving the freshest product. Can you please give me a little more detail on what you had on Sunday night and what time you came in. We served 787 people that day and thankfully have not heard anything else. It truly disappoints us to hear this happened to you. I know it's probably the last thing you want to hear, but if you're willing to come back I would love to treat you to another dinner. Please let me know if you will consider this and I'd be more than happy to send you a gift card. Thank you again fof your feedback. Sincerely, John
Brett Weber's profile photo
Brett Weber
3 months ago
Great food. Worth the wait
J Haha
6 months ago
rude employees... its not like going to in-in-out where no matter how busy they are, the employees are never pushy or rude. I wish every drive thru was like that. Majorly disappointed how i have been coming here for over 25 years and realized the women who have been serving me lately are rude. Came in around 12:30, waited in a long line and got to the order speaker. I atempted to order a tops quesadilla and before i got the last syllable out she starts with WHAT MEAT... i said, what did you say..?. WHAT MEAT DO YOU WANT. first of all... thats not how you ask someone. secondly... she seeme aggravated i replied back asking what meats come on it, (which she ignored) i thought the tops quesadilla had a set meat... I havent had it but I thought it was pastrami and whatever else like the burger.... i never ordered a tops special burger and been asked WHAT MEAT. I understand being busy, but these retail customer service employees should get another job if you dont like taking orders and speaking repetitively all day. I'm a nice person who tips well and has good manners. im just tired of being treated badly. As for the guy complaining about food poisoning below. .. I had some food poisoning when i was maybe 9 years old from here. Me and my step dad split a large chili cheese fry and it felt like aliens were trying to claw out of my stomach. My step dad spent about 3 hours on the toliet. We didnt come back for years after that.
• • •
Alice Ly's profile photo
Alice Ly
10 months ago
Don't get a large fries or chili cheese fries unless you have a whole table (at least 4) helping you. We got a little carried away over the weekend and ordered a shit ton of food for our group of 6. Large Chili Cheese Fries Large Fries Small Onion Rings Small Zucchini Kobe Beef Dip x2 Burger Protein Style x1 Patty Melt x1 Burger x1 We had SO much leftovers. The chili cheese fries were really good but next time getting a small even for 3 people! Regular fries have a crispier In & Out taste to it. I do not recommend the Kobe Beef Dip. A little dry even with the au jus sauce. I've tried their burger and sweet potato fries from another trip and enjoyed them! Oh yea and they have Orange Bang! Water it down though cause that stuff is SWEET.
• • •
Darryl Ford's profile photo
Darryl Ford
a year ago
Crazy good -- but be prepared to wait a bit for your food to come out. The burgers are perfectly grilled, with a nice crisp outer crust. Pastrami is full and juicy. If you like both burger and pastrami go for the TOPS Special. The really pile on the fries so a small is more than enough for two.
Raquel Hunter's profile photo
Raquel Hunter
10 months ago
This is my go to place for French fries. It is one of the original hamburger joints in Pasadena and it will not disappoint.


Have them in circles
1 person
Jesus Saves's profile photo

The Original Tops hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.