Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Mountain Harbour Bed & Breakfast
Bed & Breakfast
4 followers|148,683 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
9151 US-19E Roan Mountain, TN 37687
9151 U.S. 19EUSTennesseeRoan Mountain37687
(423) 772-9494mountainharbour.net
Bed & Breakfast
Mountain harbor Bed and Breakfast and Hiker Hostel in Roan Mountain Tennessee,  is conveniently located 3/10 of a mile from the Appalachian Trail on Hwy 19E.  The A.T. borders the back of the property. The Appalachian Scenic Trail (A.T.)  It is part of the same national park system that includes Yellowstone, Yosemite, and the Great Smoky Mountains.  It is a public footpath that follows more than 2,100 miles of Appalachian Mountain ridgelines between Maine and Georgia.  The longest, skinniest part of America’s national park system and for Northbound thru hikers this will be the last time the A.T. climbs above 6,000 feet until New Hampshire.  Between Roan Mountain and Hump Mountain the trail crosses several balds.  These balds remain a mystery to scientists and offer amazing views for the human eye.  We welcome hikers and offer a variety of hiker related services.  We are pet friendly and Bristol Motor Speedway is only a short distance away. Come breathe the fresh air, hike the trail, or just relax in a rocking chair on the front porch and enjoy the view of the Bear Branch Creek as it flows by below.  We offer lodging starting with tent sites and beds in our Hostel to rooms in the Bed and Breakfast.  Breakfast is available with all our accommodations.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
4 people
Flinki Wong's profile photo
Des Morgan's profile photo
Mark Craven (WebNitro007)'s profile photo
Smoky Hiker's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
4.6
10 reviews
5 star
9 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
No reviews
1 star
1 review
"Location is perfect for hikers or people wanting to shuttle & do one-ways."
"Could not have been more satisfied with the shuttle service we received."
"The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were very clean with decent wifi."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Gennadiy Kemelmakher's profile photo
Gennadiy Kemelmakher
3 months ago
This place is a true treasure! Owners are very nice people. The B&B is in a charming historic house, with a large fireplace and dining room for guests to socialize (and to pet dogs and cats!). Tasty cooked-from-scratch Southern breakfast is served at 9 am. Bathroom is shared. There is also a hikers hostel in adjacent building: absolutely unique setting on the upper floor of a barn. Inside, you find 4 single beds and 2 queen beds (one of them - in a separate room), 2 showers and 2 bathrooms, wood stove, fridge. etc. And this is not all: there is a tree house by a creek, with a queen bed. There are farm animals, too. You can hike Appalachian right from the property, or ask for a shuttle. Must visit!
• • •
Dakota Llewellyn's profile photo
Dakota Llewellyn
4 months ago
Family was living close by and already had a house full of relatives, so we stayed here a few nights. It's a nice place, very convenient, great food, clean rooms and the hosts gave us a lot of great information about the area. It wasn't handicapped accessible when we were there, which is too bad, because I have an elderly relative who must use a walker who ends up having to stay in Elizabethton because none of the local B&Bs have accessible facilities that we've found. I imagine most of their clients are hikers, since it's so close to the Appalachian Trail, so it's great for them.
• • •
Oakley Cline's profile photo
Oakley Cline
7 months ago
My wife an I planned a hike on the AT recently; our end point was close to Mountain Harbour so We reached out to inquire about staying the night and receiving a shuttle to the start of our hike. Their shuttle rates were not competitive, but they did kindly offer to allow us to leave our car in their parking lot for a fair $5 per night (the surrounding area is known for break-ins.) When in-route to Mountain Harbour, my wife called to let the host know when she was arriving only to find out the person she spoke with failed to note the parking arrangement and could not be reached - they told us there is nothing they could do to help. In most every other business, when the fault is clearly that of the company and not the customer, the company puts in an effort to make it right. This is not the case with Mountain Harbour. I would strongly advise finding other accommodations.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Dear Oakley Cline, We regret that you feel the way you do, all of us here at Mountain Harbour do everything possible to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience with us. We do not not nor ever have required any kind of reservation or prior arrangements for parking. We are not sure as to your actual complaint, as we have an abundant amount of parking to accommodate all our guests. As for our shuttle rates, we are sorry you feel they are not competitive, but we provide a reliable on time service in well maintained and well insured vehicles. Our prices our posted and are well within the industry standards. Again we apologize for your unpleasant experience with Mountain Harbour. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions or other complaints. David Hill General Manager Mountain Harbour (423) 772-9494 welcome@mountainharbour.net
Avery Christian's profile photo
Avery Christian
a year ago
Could not have been more satisfied with the shuttle service we received. The staff was very flexible and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant experience.
S Lew's profile photo
S Lew
8 months ago
An absolutely wonderful place to stay and very hiker friendly.The B&B is exceptional; make sure you get the breakfast- the best $12 you can spend. For hikers, it's at the north end of arguably one of the prettiest sections of the Appalachian Trail (the Roan Highlands). The hiker hostel is a rustic but well appointed converted barn with bunks in a loft and two rooms, complete with electricity and two bathrooms. Great shuttle service. Excellent hosts. This is a place that should and will get your repeat business!
• • •
Paul Wetzel's profile photo
Paul Wetzel
6 months ago
I called to ask about a shuttle for 16 NOV 15 and parking for a couple of days. All of my questions were clearly answered, and I made a reservation. Upon arrival, the hosts were more than accommodating, and made sure that I was at my destination (Dennis Cove) at the time I requested. In our conversation, I mentioned that I was a relatively new hiker, and I was given a few options for getting picked up if I was unable to complete the hike back to MH. I was also given information about other shuttle destinations as far as scenery, views, and difficulty in case I wanted to choose something other than Dennis Cove. Although I didn't have breakfast at MH, the logbook at Mountaineer Falls shelter had plenty of entries telling how awesome the $12 meal was. I will definitely be stopping next year on my AT thru hike.
• • •
Alexander J. Hoffman's profile photo
Alexander J. Hoffman
a year ago
Best B&B experience on the AT! The breakfast was amazing, the rooms were very clean with decent wifi. They have a general store with some supplies attached to the hostel. All staff were friendly and helpful. Do yourself a favor and stop by!
Stephen Fly's profile photo
Stephen Fly
7 months ago
Great services & responsive staff. Location is perfect for hikers or people wanting to shuttle & do one-ways.

Stream

 
Come spend Thanksgiving at Mountain Harbour
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
4 people
Flinki Wong's profile photo
Des Morgan's profile photo
Mark Craven (WebNitro007)'s profile photo
Smoky Hiker's profile photo