Cover photo
Verified local business
Riva Fish House
Seafood Restaurant$$
Today 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Contact Information
Map of the business location
31 Municipal Wharf Santa Cruz, CA 95060
31 Municipal WharfUSCaliforniaSanta Cruz95060
$$Seafood Restaurant, American RestaurantToday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Tuesday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMWednesday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMThursday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMFriday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMSaturday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMSunday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMMonday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM

What started as a fish market has ended up an amazing dish restaurant and bar. At Riva Fish House, we offer a view with flavor. Dine at our seaside haven on the Municipal Wharf in Santa Cruz today!

When we gave up the fish market for the restaurant, our objective was to turn out the best possible meal at a cost working people with a family could afford.  That didn’t mean something they could handle but under stress.  It meant, and still means, a really good meal and beverages at a really comfortable price.

Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
46 reviews
5 star
15 reviews
4 star
16 reviews
3 star
10 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
1 review
Low-key establishment serves hearty portions of prawns, oysters & other American seafood favorites.- Google
"Great fish and chips, clam chowder and shrimp cocktail."
"We love the fried zucchini and coleslaw."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Rosemary Gonzvar's profile photo
Rosemary Gonzvar
a week ago
I have never tasted seafood that was this fresh not even in San Fran and especially not in Phoenix, AZ where we are from. Locals told us they have calamari to die for... and I agree. Our Linner was great, and served quite quickly with a great hospitality.This will be a staple for us when we come back to Santa Cruz! Thank You for the great experience.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thanks so much, Rosemary! Hope to see you again soon for more fresh seafood. :) -Peter Drobac, Owner
Mik Theo's profile photo
Mik Theo
4 months ago
Most restaurants on the wharf seem a bit sketch. We took a chance with Riva and loved it. We had the snapper frijoles and tilapia VeraCruz. Not fancy dishes but good, comfort fare. Fabulous view and friendly laid-back staff. Definitely recommend.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thanks so much, Mik! I'm happy you enjoyed it, and I appreciate you dropping us a line. Now, I look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Peter Drobac, Owner
Luis Herrera
10 months ago
Love the food! It's amazing! ;) Employees are excellent! Before, they only accepted cash, but NOW they accept debit or credit! =) I love the clam chowder! I always order the calamari with fries or vegetables. But oh my god, their garlic bread is so crunchy and tasty! Love this place! 5 STARS! :)
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
We're glad you love that clam chowder, Luis! As for the garlic bread, we love it too! Have you tried our chipotle cheese garlic bread? (It's not on the menu, but we happily serve it to those who ask. So yummy!) So glad you always love the service, as well. Hope to see you soon for some more calamari. Take care! -Peter Drobac, Owner
Rasmus Eksell's profile photo
Rasmus Eksell
5 months ago
Food was good. View was excellent. But the lack of basic hygiene among the staff and their noisy way of handle the dishes contributes to a lower rating.
Peter Larson
6 months ago
Tasty food. The calamari was indeed great. Top shelf Bloody Mary was just what the doctor ordered. Our waitress was super nice and attentive. Cozy but won't win any awards for decor.
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Peter! Thanks for the awesome review. Hope to have you in again to earn that fifth star, by the way! -Peter Drobac, Owner
Mary Aguirre's profile photo
Mary Aguirre
3 months ago
Delicious fresh seafood.. The view was great, the waitress kept checking on us she was really nice. Can't wait to go back.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks, Mary! See you next time. -Peter Drobac, Owner
Billie Fritz's profile photo
Billie Fritz
8 months ago
"The crab cakes and aoli dipping sauce were amazing. The rest of the meal; however, was mediocre. My mojito made me question whether or not there was any alcohol in it. The open face crab-melt was cold in the center; not a good contrast to having the outside hot. Finally, the side of avocado I ordered was half black and full of fibrous growths from being overly ripe/old.
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
While we really appreciate your feedback, Billie, we're so surprised to hear you were let down. That sandwich should always be warm and toasty, so we understand your disappointment. We hope that our staff was informed during your visit, because we would've loved to replace your dish. Quality, fresh ingredients are so important to us, and we hate that we made another impression. We truly hope to see you again so we can show you what we're really about. Take care and best wishes! -Peter Drobac, Owner
Tristan Hale's profile photo
Tristan Hale
4 months ago
It's standard American fare. The service is nice, and some of the tables have a nice ocean view.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Glad you had a chance to pull up a chair and admire the view, Tristan, but I have to admit I'm a little disappointed to see we were just average for you. I hope you'll give us a shot to deliver a five-star meal in the future! - Peter Drobac, Owner


Riva Fish House hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.