Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort
Indoor Lodging
140 followers|5,340,109 views
AboutPostsCollectionsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
Miami Vice: For when you need something sweet and refreshing

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Miami Vice: Para cuando necesites de algo dulce y fresco
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Did you know that all the cats in our Cat City are vaccinated and get regular veterinary checkups?

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

¿Sabías que los gatos de nuestra Ciudad de los Gatos se encuentran vacunados y reciben visitas periódicas de un equipo de veterinarios?
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Every Tuesday we love to finish our day with sun, Samba and Capoeira

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Todos los Martes nos encanta terminar el día con Sol, Samba y Capoeira
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Who wants to enjoy a cocktail by the beach?

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

¿Quién quiere disfrutar de un coctel en la playa?
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Every Sunday we have our Coconut Party on the best beach in Playa del Carmen

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Todos los Domingos tenemos nuestra Fiesta de los Cocos en la mejor playa de Playa del Carmen
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Our kitchen team loves to surprise us with their amazing work

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Nuestro equipo de cocina sigue sorprendiéndonos con su increíble trabajo
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Sandos Playacar: Happiness is just around the corner

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Sandos Playacar: La felicidad está a la vuelta de la esquina
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Come and celebrate Wedding Wednesday at Sandos Playacar

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Ven y celebra el Miércoles de Bodas en Sandos Playacar
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Who has already tried our delicious Caipiroskas?

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

¿Quién ya probó nuestra deliciosas Caipiroskas?
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
To all the guests arriving today and the ones yet to arrive: Welcome to Sandos Playacar

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

A todos nuestros huéspedes que llegan hoy y a todos los que van a llegar: Bienvenidos a Sandos Playacar
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
Relax and enjoy our All-Playa Experience - Jamaica

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Relájate y disfruta de nuestro All-Playa Experience - Jamaica
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
 
It's a great day to spend at the beach

#RivieraMaya   #PlayaDelCarmen   #Mexico  

Es un gran día para pasarlo en la playa
 ·  Translate
1
Add a comment...
Sandos Playacar Beach Resort's Collections
Contact Information
Map of the business location
Paseo Xaman Ha Manzana 1 Lote 1 Playacar 77710 Playa del Carmen, Q.R., Mexico
Paseo Xaman Ha Manzana 1 Lote 1MXQuintana RooPlaya del Carmen77710
+52 984 877 4040sandos.com
Indoor Lodging, Beach Resort
Indoor Lodging
Beach Resort
Hotel
Lodging
Resort
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
5-star hotel
$206
Book at CheapCaribbean.com
Booking links sponsored. $206 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.3
319 reviews
5 star
177 reviews
4 star
48 reviews
3 star
19 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
29 reviews
Relaxed rooms and luxe suites, plus multiple free dining options, several pools & 2 tennis courts.- Google
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Crystal Ackerman's profile photo
Crystal Ackerman
2 weeks ago
The resort is beautiful and the service was top notch! All employees truly wanted us to have the best time. My only complaint is the nice restaurants. I loved the options and variety, but each had extremely bland main courses. I wish I could have just gotten all the appetizers I want! Overall, loved the place. Loved all the critters, especially Panchito the donkey!
Stefan Mennes's profile photo
Stefan Mennes
in the last week
Sandos understands the all-inclusive concept. No extra charges for mini bar, room service food, locker, wifi, spa, gym, bicycle use etc. We had a really nice time here. All employees are really friendly. The food in the restaurants (with the big buffet restaurant closed for renovation) was the only drawback. The buffet options are of mediocre quality as could be expected. There is a lot of choice in a-la-carte restaurants. Don't eat at Asianas, it sucks. At the rest: Don't eat the main courses, meats are too dry. We had a lot of appetizers, which are delicious. If you don't have too high expectations of the food in an all-inclusive, you will have a great time at this hotel. Everything else was 5 star greatness.
• • •
Michael Becker's profile photo
Michael Becker
in the last week
Here now, Asianna restaurant was the best dinner so far-really good, we'll go back to that one. Didn't like the Brazilian restaurant (although service was very good, attentive waiters), steakhouse was ok. Italian restaurant was very good too. Big buffet up front by ocean? Skip it. Far better buffets and food in general at Riu Playacar, Iberostar Quetzal/Tucan, Azul 5s and Barcelo. Hopefully their new buffet (when done) will be better. Ate breakfast in the steakhouse, that was good. Breakfast in the big buffet place-no good. No Mediterranean restaurant-they moved the big buffet to that space while building the new one. Room is nice, large, good maid service. Mini bar only got cold (more like cool) every other day or so. Staff is excellent, friendly and helpful. Hanging at the adult pool every day, not crowded and a good bar. Good food grilled every day by the pool bar. Long walk from adult pool to ocean and front pools but plenty of shuttles with friendly drivers running all day. Right after you check in you are directed to your "personal concierge" who is really just there to get you to listen to their vacation club sales pitch. Didn't bother with that. I would say just ask to be shown to your room and don't waste time on that. If you want to join one of these, look at Karisma resorts or maybe Iberostar- Karisma especially good. I hear the club sales staff at Iberostar is particularly rabid, which is why we didn't go back there this time after more than a dozen trips there. No hassles with that at Riu Playacar. Don't want to be bugged with that every time you walk through the lobby. On the same great beach as Iberostar, Riu's etc. Can't beat this beach. Went to Playa Maroma to ride camels on Hump Day! Fun and lots of other things to do there (deep sea fishing, jet skis, speed boats, snorkeling and diving, jet packs, swim w/dolphins, super clean very nice beach, good restaurant). Over all, another in a long line of great anniversary (38 years!) trips. Many thanks to Mary at Countryside Travels in Hartford Wisconsin, she always does a great job!
• • •
victor osorio's profile photo
victor osorio
2 months ago
i was there with my wife my daughter and a few friends , we had a great time .The place is beautiful,the service was excellent all the people there were very nice. by far this is one of the best resorts . the beach is spectacular and all the restaurants are nice we love this place. We want to go back next year !!! gracias Sandos playacar
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dear Mr.Osorio, Thank you very much for your kind words towards our hotel and our staff. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards,
Jordan Elliott's profile photo
Jordan Elliott
a month ago
Just got back to South Carolina from our 5 day stay at the Sandos resort. My brother and his now wife had a beach wedding, which truly was amazing and the setup was perfect in my opinion. We had approximately 25 guest in our party. Every staff member I dealt with was extremely polite and respectful. They keep the entire resort clean and I loved that fact that it wasn't too busy so we really could take advantage of any amenity we liked. The only issue we had, which wasn't too big of a deal, was the distance from the adult only section to the beach. It was at least a 10-15 min walk, so bring some confortable shoes! We want to come back next year! Thank you to everyone in the Sandos staff.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dear guest We cannot thank you enough for adding another great review to our list. We appreciate you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community and we are glad to know that we exceeded most of your expectations during your recent stay at Sandos Playacar Thank you also for recommending our property. We hope to see you again very soon at Sandos Playacar.
Eric Glendining's profile photo
Eric Glendining
in the last week
The service was incredible. We got married here and literally had the most picture perfect wedding. The staff are amazing and super pleasant. Your every need is cared for. The layout is not ideal but they did well given what they had to work with. Be prepared to walk a lot if you upgrade. The resort offers a ton of services and activites to keep you busy your entire stay. Look into what they offer or actually attend your orientation to find out how much that really is. The buffet food was awful, I can't even begin to describe how terrible they were... The a la cart restaurants were amazing. Honestly one of my best vacations ever. Other than the bad buffets I have no real complaints. I would recommend this place to anyone.
• • •
Nicholas Ackerman's profile photo
Nicholas Ackerman
3 weeks ago
Amazing resort. Food is fantastic, drinks plentiful. Multiple pools, including a swim up bar, plus the beach! Staff is helpful, but not intrusive. Highly recommended!
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr.Ackerman, On behalf of the Sandos Playacar family, I thank you for commenting about the experiences lived while in our hotel. Thank you for highlighting the positive attributes you were able to enjoy, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future. Kindest Wishes,
Bruno Goes's profile photo
Bruno Goes
a month ago
During our 5 days trip we only had acceptable service twice (Once by the Gourmet Mexican restaurant staff and once by the Bell Boy). Everything else was horrible. Their attitude was to always say it cannot be done or there was nothing they can do about it. During the check-in we found out that our room was 0.5 mile away from the beach. We asked to move to a room closer to the beach and they said there was none available. We checked their website and it was showing rooms available and when we inquired about it, they would make poker faces and say nothing. The first room they gave us had no toilet paper holder in the bathroom, non working light bulbs and the safe was broken. We called front desk to ask for another room and the attendant said she had no other room available and that there was nothing she could do. When I asked to speak with the supervisor she said he would tell me the same. When I insisted she asked me to go to the front desk because she could not put him on the phone. After insisting one more time to speak with him, he moved us to another room 2 doors down the aisle without asking one single question. Why not do this at first place? The new room thermostat was broken and the A/C would blow non stop. The room temperature would range between 61F to 64F and my wife got a sore throat because of that. The bed was horrible on both rooms. The walk from the room to the beach was ridicoulous and the internal shuttle wait time was 20-30 minutes and it would stop early in the evening. There were lines everywhere and for everything. There were no servers at the pool or at the beach, so we had to walk to the bar to order drinks and wait in line every single time. The service at the restaurants was horrible. I would rate it 0 (only exception was Mexican Gourmet). They are renovating their biggest restaurant and therefore they relocated restaurants around. We were looking forward to eat at the Mediterranean restaurant but it does not exist anymore, even though the brochure in the room and the website still shows it as an option. Every single day some guy would call our room at 8 AM trying to sell us packages to visit places around the area even though we said we were not interested since day 1. Their check-out process is a nightmare. Every single hotel I've been the check-out is automatically done if you have no outstanding payments, but over there we had to go to their "Express Checkout" the night before and stand in line for over 20 minutes. Once it was our turn, they checked their system and said we had no outstanding payment and that was it, then gave us a paper for my checkout next day. That's beyond insane.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for taking the time for leaving your opinion about your latest experience at our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us but we also would like to apologise for any inconvenient that you might have experienced during your vacations with us. Our staff works very hard to make our hotel better every day so that our guests can have their expectations continuously exceeded. We trust that you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you so that you can see for yourself the fruits of our work. Please feel free to contact me before your arrival so that we can prepare your arrival. Warm regards,