Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
John Salt
British Restaurant
Today 12:00 pm – 12:00 am
19,112 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
131 Upper Street London N1 1QP United Kingdom
131 Upper StreetGBGreater LondonLondonN1 1QP
+44 20 7359 7501john-salt.com
British Restaurant, BarToday 12:00 pm – 12:00 am
Monday 12:00 pm – 12:00 amTuesday 12:00 pm – 12:00 amWednesday 12:00 pm – 12:00 amThursday 12:00 pm – 12:00 amFriday 12:00 pm – 2:00 amSaturday 10:00 am – 2:00 amSunday 12:00 pm – 12:00 am
Menu
Google+ URL
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.7
28 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
12 reviews
3 star
4 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
1 review
Cavernous bar-restaurant with weekend DJs, serving a Modern European menu and Sunday roasts.- Google
"As usual, the food was consistently good, as were the amazing cocktails."
"The staff at the bar were helpful and friendly."
9 reviewers
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Darcy Campbell's profile photo
Darcy Campbell
2 weeks ago
I have given a second start just because the venue is very nice, otherwise for the food it would be 1 star. Wow, the worst meal I have had in years. I am not at all a picky eater, but yuck! We ordered the 'buffalo wings', which were not at all buffalo wings, they were barbecued wings, but not in buffalo sauce, instead they were in the strangest marinade I have ever tasted, it tasted like a mix of medicinal, rotten food and a ton of rosemary. They were cooked the right amount, but the taste was so bad we each only ate one and left the rest. We had the mac and cheese which was grey for some reason, not good, but you could eat it. The 'cole slaw', I don't even know what that was, not cole slaw and not edible, just kind of wet cabbage without any kind of sauce or vinegar? The last thing we had was BBQ ribs, we spent £9 on that, had one bite each, the sauce was not good and the meat tasted funny, and I don't think they had been barbecued, maybe just microwaved? They we soggy and under cooked. So yep, the worst food I have had in a few years. Sad as I had been to this place in the past and it had good food. Please sort something out, if you are going to serve American food, at least make sure the person that is cooking it knows what it is. It is one of the easiest types of food to cook, even just buys some bottled sauces so that the food can be eaten if you can't find a proper cook. Huge waste of money on what used to be a nice place to go for lunch. Bummer.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Hi Darcy, I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy the meal, you may be happy to know that we do not think this is acceptable standard of serving food and that we are in the process of changing our menu completely (perhaps the burgers will stay) When our menu is changed id like to invite you to try it on me! SIncerely JS
Alex Davis
3 weeks ago
I had heard the roast was delicious but the roast meats were all smoked, which I really don't like. It didn't make for an enjoyable meal for me, but others might like that! It was some months ago so worth checking again!
Emma keeling's profile photo
Emma keeling
4 months ago
Good vibe. Disappointing selection of drinks.
K Ellis
10 months ago
I experience the worse customer service ever in this bar. I went in for a quiet drink with my husband for our anniversary before going to a gig and I accidentally smashed my glass as soon as the barman had made by drink, and it slipped off the bar. It was our first drink and there was no reason to think it was anything but an accident but the barman treated us like rubbish and there was no sign of a replacement drink. I have never witnessed such pretentious behaviour and I can't get over how they didn't reassure us it wasn't a problem and offer us a replacement. I do not recommend this place and the cocktail wasn't even very nice.
• • •
Steve Bonser's profile photo
Steve Bonser
2 weeks ago
Went there for a birthday party and had a reserved area upstairs. Great venue for a party serving an awesome espresso martini. The staff at the bar were helpful and friendly. Cannot comment on the food but others in the group were impressed.
Response from the owner - a week ago
You may be happy to know we are in the process of establishing a new menu so defintely a reason to come back again soon :) thank you for the review and im glad you enjoyed the espresson martini!
Alex Johnson's profile photo
Alex Johnson
a week ago
Popped in during the daytime with a laptop to do some work. Quiet, very chilled atmosphere & fast wifi
Chris MacEwen's profile photo
Chris MacEwen
a year ago
This is a really cool bar. It's pretty cave like with a high ceiling and a mezzanine level for dining. The DJs they have at the weekends are pretty decent and they're capable of mixing up a half decent cocktail or two. Only downside is that it get's very busy but it's no worse than anywhere else on upper street. A great place for a night out with friends.
Johnny Beverton's profile photo
Johnny Beverton
11 months ago
Style over substance at the John Salt. Bartender serving me looked miserable as she made me a pretty average Bloody Mary, burger was cold and roast was inedible. Ain't cheap either. Avoid.

Stream

John Salt hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.