Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Black's Barbecue
Barbecue Restaurant$$
Today 10:00 am – 8:30 pm
1 follower|212,342 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
215 N Main St Lockhart, TX 78644
215 North Main StreetUSTexasLockhart78644
(512) 398-2712blacksbbq.com
$$Barbecue RestaurantToday 10:00 am – 8:30 pm
Monday 10:00 am – 8:00 pmTuesday 10:00 am – 8:00 pmWednesday 10:00 am – 8:00 pmThursday 10:00 am – 8:00 pmFriday 10:00 am – 8:30 pmSaturday 10:00 am – 8:30 pmSunday 10:00 am – 8:00 pm
Menu
Oldest in Texas, Same Family, Since 1932
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
189 reviews
5 star
114 reviews
4 star
38 reviews
3 star
12 reviews
2 star
8 reviews
1 star
17 reviews
Family-run Texas institution since 1932 dishing brisket, ribs & links in a homey, unfussy setting.- Google
"Moist brisket and giant beef rib...YUM!"
"Great smoke flavor, very tender brisket Pork ribs meat falls off bone."
Featured by Zagat
Austin's Best Cheap Eats
See more from Zagat
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
WeLikeBarbecue's profile photo
All reviews
Albert B
3 weeks ago
Tried the pork ribs, brisket and jealepeno sausage. Everything Very good! Sides rice beans mashed potatoes green beans just as good. All the way to the dessert, pecan cobbler. Drove here from San Antonio, worth the drive. Will be back.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Albert, Thank you for coming out to Black's and for letting us know about your time with us! We really appreciate the feedback. Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon here at Black's BBQ! - Barrett Black
Scott S's profile photo
Scott S
2 weeks ago
I managed 8 classic Central Texas joints in 4 days: Franklin, Louie Mueller, Cranky Franks, Smittys, Blacks, Kreuz, City Market, and Harmons. Blacks was by far the best in Lockhart and 4th place on the list overall. Moist brisket was beautiful with a perfect rub and bark. Very juicy. Beef sausage, however, was completely disgusting; extremely dry like a casing full of granola, LOL. The jalapeno and cheese sausage, however, was a work of art. The beef ribs? Oh my. Absolute perfection in every single way. The staff at Blacks in Lockhart were warm and friendy. The cook that day came over and we had a good chat. Didn't offer to replace that horrid beef sausage but what can you do? Overall rankings: 1st place: Franklin Barbecue, Austin 2nd place: Cranky Franks, Fredericksburg 3rd place: Harmons, Cibolo 4th place: Blacks, Lockhart 5th place: Louie Mueller, Taylor 6th place: Kreuz, Lockhart 7th place: Smittys, Lockhart 8th place: City Market, Luling
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi Scott, Thanks so much for coming out to Black's and for the detailed feedback. We really appreciate it. I wish we would have replaced the sausage for you. We want everyone to love everything they have. We'll remind our crew of how to handle situations like this. Thank you again! and we hope to see you back at Black's sometime again soon. - Barrett Black
Jason DeReese's profile photo
Jason DeReese
2 months ago
I can't believe this place has good reviews. I have never met a more rude staff in my life. I showed up with a great attitude hoping to try some good Texas Bbq. They were out of everything except for brisket and saugage, which I excepted but then I was overcharged. The brisket that was dry and overheated for too long. It had that dark brownish color after you slice it. To top it off, they charged me 31.00 for a pound of brisket. When I went to find out why, the cashier conveniently lost the reciept and the manager said I was the only one crying about it and I should have gone to Bill Millers! Frustrated with no resolution, I just left. I hope that their place catches on fire and burns to the ground.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hi Jason, we are very sorry for your bad experience. Nothing you described is how we do business, and we appreciate you letting us know. Which location did you dine at? We would really appreciate your help in ensuring this never happens again. Thank you! - Barrett Black
Chad Lear's profile photo
Chad Lear
3 months ago
Ok, my rating of three stars is really being nice. I've never been to Lockhart before now im actually in my car after eating there 5/24/15. Today was s beautiful day in hill country, I'm from dallas (plano), I'm in town to visit my fiancé who is in prison here in this XgreatX town. (Let's hope I don't get rolled for throwing my cig out the window it's that bad (copwise)(there everywhere these days). Well this town has alot of bbq and tourism. The line was pretty swift the staff was nice, the sides were mediocre (may have been canned), the meat was almost all fat, I was going to ask for a refund but the place was so busy I couldn't find anyone without being rude. I wish I would have tried the sausage it looked really good but I was hoping all would have been good. Ticket cost was for one person, with a shiner, 3 heavy fat ribs two slices of heavy fat brisket and potato salad and beans $23 and some change. Honestly I think dickies bbq is better. Sorry blacks but maybe you should come over to my house and I'll cook some bbq that would remind yall what Texans eat. God Bless Texas
• • •
Norma Cutler
3 weeks ago
DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!!! My husband and I drove an hour and 30 minutes to eat here. We went for lunch. I got the brisket and sausage, and rib with potato salad and coleslaw. He got the chopped brisket sandwich with coleslaw. The so called chopped brisket sandwich was a shredded mess of meat. (They did not chop the meat in front of us. We think this was from a bag) Gross... The brisket was dry the casing on the sausage was tuff and greasy. The sides were obviously from a food service delivery truck. From the reviews we thought we were getting some awesome BBQ. They are very pricy. We left most of our food. The baby back rib was good. But the best part of my meal were the pickles and sweet tea! Stay away still burping up awful stuff they call BBQ. After the fact the locals told us the food quality depends on who is cooking that day.(The locals stay away) Will not go or recommend this place. Should have asked for a refund
• • •
Ray Kramer's profile photo
Ray Kramer
a month ago
Having grown up in the true BBQ capital of the world, K.C., and having worked in Memphis (a close second place) Chicago and North Carolina, I had the opportunity of stopping in Lockhart today. After waiting in line for 30 minutes while people cut in before us and then having no staff to greet us to explain the confusing sign (Step 1: Take a plate Step 2: get your sides.....and OBTW, each side will cost you....and you have to guess what that might be as the sign does not and staff doesn't as they disappear), I got to a totally confused staff - who couldn't explain things such as how much the pork chops were, etc. Once I ordered my half pound of "world best brisket", it was a good quarter pound of overcooked, dried out FAT.....The sauce I won't even mention. Blacks is horribly OVER RATED and living on a hype that isn't deserved. They - and everyone who knows good BBQ - need to know this. While staying here in Austin on work, I have had MUCH MUCH better from several of the local food trucks. And on a drive through Hill Country, absolutely enjoyed the brisket and folks at 303 in Blanco who are not at all pretentious like the folks at Blacks. OVER RATED
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Ray, Thank you for coming out to our place, and being honest about your experience. We really do appreciate it. We're in this business to make people happy and sounds like we really let you down. On behalf of my family and our crew, we are sorry for missing the mark during your time with us. We have already read your review in our leadership meeting and brainstormed ideas on how to prevent an experience like this from ever happening again. We hope the rest of your time in Austin was pleasant, and that you will give us another shot one day. Have a great day and please reach out if there is anything more we should know or if we can help you in any other way. - Barrett Black
Adrienne Mendoza
2 months ago
Visited Black's for the 2nd time over the 2015 Mother's Day weekend. Took my mom, dad and husband's parents on the trip, as well. The barbecue at Black's is simply outstanding. It has become the benchmark against which all other barbecue experiences are measured. We're all now a bit obsessed. We ate at Black's Saturday AND Sunday that weekend. Now we work Lockhart into our travel itinerary, whenever we drive out that way. Moist brisket and giant beef rib...YUM! Skip breakfast and wait for lunch at Black's!
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Wow, we are honored Adrienne. Thank you so much for the high praise. It's folks like you that keep us going and let us keep the tradition my great grandfather started alive and well. Thank you and we hope to see you back at Black's sometime again soon. - Barrett Black
Quanesha Speed's profile photo
Quanesha Speed
a month ago
I am just now leaving Blacks. I am from Dallas so my expectations were high. This BBQ is horrible. The brisket was dry and the ribs looked boiled and they were tough. Not to mention we ordered 2 ribs and they were $10. Clearly they could take some pointers from ANY BBQ joint in Dallas. Now I have waited $20 and my gas.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Quanesha, Thank you so much for coming out to Black's and for your feedback. We are extremely sorry for your experience. Are you still nearby? We of course would be happy to replace or refund your meal. We have very high standards and it sounds like we didn't live up to those with your meal today. Have a safe trip home and I hope we can quickly make this right for you. - Barrett Black

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
WeLikeBarbecue's profile photo

Black's Barbecue hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.