Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
First & Last Tavern
Italian Restaurant$$
Today 11:30AM–10:45PM
1 follower|723,677 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
220 Main St Middletown, CT 06457
220 Main StreetUSConnecticutMiddletown06457
$$Italian Restaurant, Bar
Italian Restaurant
Bar
Family Restaurant
Pizza Restaurant
Restaurant
Today 11:30AM–10:45PM
Saturday 11:30AM–10:45PMSunday 10:30AM–8:45PMMonday 11:30AM–8:45PMTuesday 11:30AM–8:45PMWednesday 11:30AM–9:45PMThursday 11:30AM–9:45PMFriday 11:30AM–10:45PM
Menu
The philosophy of the restaurant has always been simple, “Pizza, Pasta, Ambiance”. From our family to yours we welcome you to the First & Last of Middletown.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
3.2
29 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
6 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
5 reviews
Family-owned restaurant & bar offering brick-oven pizzas & other Italian fare in spacious surrounds.- Google
"He was an excellent bartender/server, as is Patti."
"Lo and behold, here comes the waitress in from outside smelling like an ashtray."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
Ascending Marketing Solutions's profile photo
All reviews
SereniTEA's profile photo
SereniTEA
3 weeks ago
********There was only a couple tables there, it was empty. So, no I absolutely will not take that apology. No one even said sorry for the 20 minute wait or the additional waiting we had to do with the slow service (It took another 50 minutes for food!!) or even addressed us as customers and said "Sorry, there will be a bit of a wait." No asking is "everything okay" or "do you need refills" none of that!!!! Could you imagine?? When I say standing around, I mean not busy at all. I have worked so much customer service it literally was the worst experience I have had from a restaurant ever. I know how to do all that work and how long it takes thank you very much!!!! We also had the only group of people with black people in it!!! ********** They seated about 5 other different groups of people before my party was seated. They were not one large party, it was individual groups of people, individual tables. Never went back again. Poorest service ever in Middletown! As well as the prices not being reasonable, you might pay these prices in LA. All the people giving this place 5 stars and the ones that get seated over other people. I have never seen a place with so many workers that just stand around and do NOTHING, it wasn't b/c they were under staffed either. Even if we had been last, they had enough workers to get all 6 groups seated in 3 minutes. And that's if we had been last. We waited a good 20 minutes. Hence why this 1 star rating is so long, lol.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi SereniTEA, We apologize if you had a bad experience. Sometimes we have to seat smaller parties before larger groups to ensure we maintain an even flow throughout the restaurant. As you could imagine, seating too many parties too fast will ultimately backup the kitchen. It goes without saying that it is a difficult juggling act and we always try our best to accommodate the rush of people at our door, especially on a overly-busy graduation night like the one you were at. Sorry you won’t be coming back. I'm sorry we were not able to make you leave happy. And hopefully people who read your review understand that it was a beyond busy night (graduation night, one of the busiest nights of the year).
Stacey Shapiro's profile photo
Stacey Shapiro
5 months ago
I haven't been to First & Last Tavern - Middletown much since Mark the bartender left. He was an excellent bartender/server, as is Patti. Most of the other staff has kept me and my father waiting for drink refills and are no where to be seen when you need something. Many of the staff hang around the front of the restaurant smoking, which is quite unattractive. Tonight I took my father there again for the first time in months. I wanted another glass of wine, and the waitress was no where to be seen, so I went to the bar myself. I had to again go ask another waitress for another soda for my father. Then again, the waitress was no where to be found, so I went to the host station so that I could pay my bill. Lo and behold, here comes the waitress in from outside smelling like an ashtray. She then had the nerve to ask if I was being taken care of! It is more important for the workers in your establishment to be outside smoking then to properly wait on their customers. We will not be back ever again.
• • •
Todd Berman's profile photo
Todd Berman
9 months ago
This restaurant does not compare top the locations in Hartford and Avon. I got the antipasto salad for lunch and it wss very small for a $10 salad. Some lettuce, two slices of tomato, a small pile of chickpeas, one slice each of ham, salami and capicola, two small slices of egg and two olives. Also it come with tasteless dressing (it may have just been oil and not dressing at all from what I could tell). I don't think we will be coming back again.
Steve Pfalzgraf's profile photo
Steve Pfalzgraf
3 years ago
Second experience... Just as bad as the first... First time was kitchen issues with food arriving at different times. This is a rookie mistake as far as restaurants go. The second time was a tap that did not get changes for 20 minutes.
Timothy Munsell's profile photo
Timothy Munsell
2 months ago
Good beer selection. However the food is overpriced and not great.
kenneth patelli's profile photo
kenneth patelli
a year ago
So. I actually really like it when the servers don't overwhelm you and interrupt your dinner every 30 seconds. The staff are always friendly without being overbearing and the food is amazing. I order the chicken Milanese pretty much every time to split with my lady and we usually get another main dish to try out. The fried mozz is yummy. everything always tastes fresh, right down to the root beer! I normally don't write reviews, but I got a little sad when I saw one of our favorite places is getting pooped on by everyone and I'm really not sure why. One piece of advice. don't sit in the McHugh booth. that's our favorite and we would like you to leave it for us :)
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Kenneth, thank you so much for the kind words and the pat on the back. It means a lot. We really appreciate people taking time out of their busy day to say nice things. We look forward to seeing you in the McHugh booth soon!!
Steffany Nicastro's profile photo
Steffany Nicastro
a year ago
Eaten here twice in the past month. First time Service was poor (Waited more than 20 minutes before we were even asked about drinks). Food was not on par with Hartford location or even previous visits to Middletown. We chalked it up to a new waiter and a busy night. Went back a few weeks later and same issues. Waiters/waitresses talking and milling around in back, long waits for service. Food was average at best. Management appears to have changed recently and it just has gone down hill. Even bar service was sub-par. Very disappointed. This used to be one of our favorites. I guess we'll head down main street to Krust or Esca now. I won't be going back anytime soon.
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Steffany, I am sorry to hear you had a poor experience at the tavern. I really appreciate you letting us know. I know your visit was a few months ago, but I can assure you we have addresses many of your concerns. We have since made many enhancements to our service and menu. As a best practice, it's really helpful for us if we are alerted to problems when the customers are in the restaurant. This way we can address the problem in real-time and help to make your experience an enjoyable one. Hopefully you will give us another try in the future.
Gregg Radell's profile photo
Gregg Radell
a year ago
The food was really much better than I expected it to be. I am a meatball Sub Snob and their's was one of the best I have ever had. Everyone in our group enjoyed their food, portions were plentiful, and staff was friendly. They even had the courtesy to securely return my credit card to me which was accidentally left at the table (too many draft beers?). Highly recommend.

Stream

First & Last Tavern

Shared publicly  - 
 
Another reason why date night starts at First & Last Tavern
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
1 person
Ascending Marketing Solutions's profile photo

First & Last Tavern

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our famous calamari tossed with garlic and cherry peppers. YUM!!
 
220 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457
1
Add a comment...