Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Carol Rivers
104 followers -
When I'm not writing, I'm thinking writing.
When I'm not writing, I'm thinking writing.

104 followers
About
Posts

Post has attachment
Christmas features in every Lizzie Flowers book. A series of 3 and more to come. Who were London's Eastenders before Eastenders? Read all about them! Lizzie Flowers and the Family Firm an unmissable 2018 fictional family drama.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carol-Rivers/e/B0034OZ23O/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1
Photo
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Molly's Christmas Orphans: Can she save a family this Christmas? The must-read Christmas family saga for 2018
#Kindle top #50 saga Molly’s Christmas Orphans, #paperback #publication today. #Amazon #Asda #Tesco #Morrisons #WHS The must-read #Christmas family saga for #2018 https://amzn.to/2zu3dAu
Photo
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Annie Groves and Rosie Goodwin.

1934: Lizzie Flowers' doomed marriage to Frank Flowers collapses, but she fights back, sacrificing her own happiness to keep the family united. She has been mother and protector to her East End family, the Allens of Langley Street, since she was fifteen and right or wrong, she vows she’s in for the long haul. But when Lizzie buys the infamous dockland’s pub, The Mill Wall, she discovers she’s bitten off more than she can chew. Long-time love Danny Flowers abandons her, a close friend is murdered and her adopted child Polly is threatened. The word on the street is that Lizzie Flowers and her family are finished - but are they?
The fact is, Lizzie is tough and resilient, determined to fight for survival in a dark world of prostitution and protectionists. Without Danny to help her, she calls in favours, refusing to be intimidated and determined to keep her turf clean. But even her friend and ally, the canny south London Irishman, Murphy, is overshadowed by the most infamous crime lord of them all. He’s known as The Prince, but Salvo Vella is far from royalty. His currency is women, trading them like cattle and he will stop at nothing to conquer The Mill Wall.
It’s said that where there is muck there’s money. But when Lizzie’s success comes at a cost of loosing her family and friends, a pact with the devil may be the only way to go.

What reviewers are saying about the Lizzie Flowers series.

Excellent read. Gives a true portrayal of the old East End that my Gran used to tell me about when she lived there. (Kevin)

I love reading this series. Can't wait for Lizzie’s next adventure. Do hope her and Danny get back together but definitely don't trust Frank. Love reading about Lil and Doug and Ethel had a rough patch hope she gets some happiness. 5 STARS and well deserved. A brilliant read by a fabulous author. (Lizzie)

Another well-researched and thoroughly absorbing story from Carol Rivers with good characterisation. Without giving too much away, I particularly liked the suspense and the disposal of the body. (Janine)

AUTHOR'S NOTE: Of all my heroines, perhaps Lizzie relates best to the mother in all of us; fiercely protective of our brood, unyielding and committed to loving, no matter what. But beware those who threaten her family and turf, for the indescribable poverty and hardship she has endured has made her a formidable foe. Lizzie matured over the decades as I wrote her and she constantly whispers in my ear. This third book of Lizzie’s life is her voice as she faces the turmoil in her world. The thing that amazes me is, she simply carries on. Like we all do, through thick and thin. So Lizzie is for you dear readers, a celebration of our womanhood, our boudica spirit. I do hope you enjoy her story. Much love, Carol xx
Photo
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
Like a cracking EastEnders tale? You may enjoy this historical fiction as a standalone or as part of the series of Lizzie Flowers books. Why not give LIZZIE FLOWERS AND THE FAMILY FIRM a punt? https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lizzie-Flowers-Family-Firm-long-awaited-ebook/dp/B07CK7QGVR/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Photo
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
I’m very happy to say that the Amazon ebook of Lizzie Flowers and the Family Firm, the 3rd book in the Lizzie Flowers series, will be published in just a few days time on Wednesday 18th July. Publication has seemed a long wait, but I wanted to make this story very special.

Lizzie’s romance with Danny Flowers hasn’t run smoothly. After her traumatic experiences in The Fight for Lizzie Flowers, (book 2), she has to dig deep to face her most feared adversary of all, a masked man known as The Prince. A misnomer for a very dangerous character indeed! If you would like to read an excerpt, here is the link. https://dl.bookfunnel.com/mmz3bbc510

It was great fun writing this book and especially the baddie. I've been asked if I'll write a fourth Lizzie book. I think I may, since we all know how popular wartime books are. But for now very happy reading and much love to everyone, Carol xx

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lizzie-Flowers-Family-Firm-long-awaited-ebook/dp/B07CK7QGVR/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
LIZZIE FLOWERS AND THE FAMILY FIRM Kindle publication date July 18 2018
PAPERBACK TO FOLLOW SHORTLY AFTER.
Book 3 of the Lizzie Flowers Series.
1934, ISLE OF DOGS EAST LONDON

​Carol's blistering new saga, LIZZIE FLOWERS AND THE FAMILY FIRM.
Pre-order at the discounted price of £2.99

When loved ones die and family is threatened by the most vicious crime lord of them all, Lizzie must take action before it's too late.

East End crooks, villains, protectionists, bent coppers, pimps and tarts - they are all here, clamouring to jump from the pages, while Lizzie battles to save her turf and find love into the bargain.

Heard of Charlie Brown's tavern, the East End pub that never died? And the Krays' notorious Blind Beggar? Then step into Lizzie Flowers's Mill Wall - and hold your breath!

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07CK7QGVR
Photo
Commenting is disabled for this post.

Post has attachment
Walthamstow Football club.
Hello dear readers, today will be special for many of you. England is playing Panama in the World Cup 2018. Even those who don't follow football must have noticed the excitement in the air, for our country is represented by a young and contemporary team who are trying their very best to represent Old Blighty. So my pic for today, is of my dad, (aka Danny Flowers) who played professionally for Walthamstow in 1937. He got ten shillings for this Saturday match - making mum one of the first WAGS. So she bought her first pair of new shoes from a real shop and not second-hand from a market stall to wear for the occasion. In her later years she didn't understand what a WAG was, but as it was a 'first' in something that was ok by her. Dad had his hair cut especially in the then modern style (Peaky Blinders) and turned up his collar on the football field. How cool was that? Mum has inscribed the photo in biro (and cellotape which I managed to remove - her trademarks)😃 - "WALTHAMSTOW. BILL. 1937."
Photo
Add a comment...

Post has attachment
British World War 2 Battleships (1939-1945) part of the history of the Royal Navy World War II.
Hi dear readers! What is the question I am most often asked as a writer - this is not difficult to answer. "Where do you get your ideas?"
Better for me to post an example, a photo showing Mum and Dad and Dad's family at Buckingham Palace on the day he was awarded his D.S.C in 1943. Mum said she wore red, but a red that clashed with the velvet seats of the Palace. My nan and Dad’s sister my Auntie Vi stood to the right, his older sisters, my Auntie Alice and Auntie Jess to the left. Dad did a full five year tour of service in the navy during the war, including the Russian conveys and the Sicily landings.
Mum and Dad’s home was bombed during the Blitz of the East End. Dad never showed any fear. He was an unassuming man and appears in my book Cockney Orphan as Vic Champion. Grandad had died just before this event and is the costermonger who appears as Bill Flowers in the Lizzie Flowers books. All my other East End books are linked to family in some way. So perhaps I’ll post more pictures that sparked the stories if you are interested to find out more? Let me know what you think.
This poignant article is by The Daily Telegraph’s ‘Taffrail’ who wrote about Dad’s Sicilian landings of his little fleet of LCI’s led by LCI 179.
“We hung by our eyelids,” began Dad. (Skeels) “And many were miserably sick.
It was worse by far than the long swell of the Atlantic.”
Taffrail continued; At 4.45.a.m. on the day of 179's great experience, dawn was beginning to break and objects on the hostile coast ahead were beginning to take shape. Filled with troops she was on her way ashore with a concourse of other craft. Soon after daylight shells from a coast defence battery were falling unpleasantly close. 179 beached herself and landed her troops, still under fire. Disembarkation was completed by 6.40.a.m. and the ship hauled off. Almost at once she was hit amidships on the port side of the waterline, the shell making a hole about three feet by two and a half feet. She tried to make water so was re-beached. The enemy battery had meanwhile been silenced by a destroyer; but not before the First Lieutenant and four ratings of 179 had been slightly wounded by shell splinters. It was surprising there were no more, as between twenty and thirty shells had fallen within twenty yards and the ship had been peppered all over by splinters. Lieutenant Skeels then set about repairing his ship. As a temporary measure the large shell hole was filled with blankets, duffel coats and fenders, anything they could spare, beg, borrow or steal. It wasn't very satisfactory so they asked another ship to cut them a steel plate and having borrowed a drill tried to heel the ship over to get the hole out of the water. With his ship still on the beach that was found to be impossible. But extemporising a diving helmet for working under water out of a service gas mask, with air supplied by a hand foghorn like an exaggerated bellows, they managed to bolt on the plate somehow. It was while this work was in progress that they found the shell - unexploded - still inside the ship.
"Then we hauled off and took her out for a trial," ended Dad. "It was quite successful; a good deal of water came in but it could be kept under by the pumps. However, to make quite certain, I went alongside a ship and they built us a cement cofferdam inside. Then we went to Malta who took a look at us, but said they'd plenty on their hands, that we would do for the time being and sent us on to Bizerta where we were finally repaired by an American repair ship. Those chaps made a thundering good job of it, welding on the big patch and the 275 small ones. The old ship looked like nothing on earth when they'd finished.”
Next week I'll post the pic for the inspirational real life characters for the Lizzie Flowers Family. XX
https://amzn.to/2LGJgKn
Photo
Add a comment...
Wait while more posts are being loaded