Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Ravenwood Castle
Bed & Breakfast
38 followers|992,699 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
April Game of the Month

This month's Game of the Month is one of my favorite worker placement games, and takes place in one of the biggest cities in all of the Forgotten Realms.

Join us for a game and take your place as a Lord of Waterdeep!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/04/07/april-game-of-the-month-lords-of-waterdeep
In April's Game of the Month, take on the role of one of the secretive Lords of Waterdeep!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
Visit our decorative hedge maze in this week's Legends & Lore - Pan's Labyrinth!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/03/24/legends-and-lore-pans-labyrinth
This week's post sees the return of Legends and Lore, our column featuring mythological tidbits associated with Ravenwood Castle!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
Our March Game of the Month created an entire genre - one of our favorite genres in fact - the deck builder.

Join us for a game of Dominion!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/03/10/march-game-of-the-month-dominion
Our March Game of the Month is the grandfather of the deck building genre, and remains a great game. Earn the most victory points and claim a Dominion!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
This weekend marks the start of our convention season. In addition to our two on site shows, we're hitting the convention trail. Check out the schedule for a convention near you, and stop by and say hello!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/02/24/road
Ravenwood Castle and The Malted Meeple are hitting the road and visiting some great game conventions. Check out our schedule, and visit us On the Road!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
Celebrate International TableTop Day!

Join us at Ravenwood Castle or The Malted Meeple on Saturday, April 11th and celebrate International TableTop Day. A great way to spend quality time with friends and family!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/02/10/knights-round-tabletop-day-2015
Join us April 11th for International TableTop Day! Enjoy a day of board games with friends old and new!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
Join us in helping sick children through the Power of Play!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/01/27/hoop-stick-power-play
The third annual Hoop & Stick is just around the corner. Join us in helping to improve the lives of children in hospitals through the Power of Play!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
38 people
Jessica Hayth's profile photo
John Pisano's profile photo
Erin Mills's profile photo
Kimberly Warner's profile photo
Damien Wilker's profile photo
Crystal Long's profile photo
Flying Frog Studio's profile photo
Dustin Spriestersbach's profile photo
steve vihtelic's profile photo

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
This week's Room Spotlight features one of our favorite cottages - the Clock Tower!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/03/31/room-spotlight-the-clock-tower
This week's blog post shines the Room Spotlight on one of our favorite cottages in the Medieval Village - the Clock Tower!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
Con in the Castle is back for it's third year!

Join us and Christopher Badell from Greater Than Games for a fun filled weekend of gaming!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/03/17/con-in-the-castle-greater-than-games
We're thrilled to announce the third annual Con in the Castle, and another amazing Guest of Honor!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
This weekend saw our third annual Hoop & Stick charity convention. We had a blast, played some great games, and managed to raise a sizable amount for children's hospitals. All in all a successful weekend!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/03/03/hoop-stick-2015-wrap
We've just wrapped up our annual charity convention Hoop & Stick. With your help we raised $7,715 for children's hospitals, and had a great time doing it!
1
Dustin Spriestersbach's profile photo
 
Had a blast!  It was a lot of fun. :)
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
YOU decide where to send the Ravenwood Detective Agency in this sequel to last year's popular Choose Your Own Adventure!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/02/17/choose-adventure-sequel
What kind of murder mystery would you like to see the Ravenwood Detectives tackle? This week's blog post once again asks YOU to Choose Your Own Adventure!
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 

Our February Game of the Month throws a wrinkle into the typical dungeon adventure. Set off on an epic adventure as a fearsome, ferocious..... mouse? Enjoy multiple sessions of cooperative storytelling in Mice & Mystics, by Plaid Hat Games. 

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/02/03/february-game-month-mice-mystics
1
Add a comment...

Ravenwood Castle

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Final Mystery of the 2014-2015 Season!

When given the choice of your own adventure, you chose Evil Fairy Tales. Join us April 17th & 18th for an exploration of the darker side of the Brothers Grimm!

Don't miss this, the final mystery of the 2014-2015 Murder Mystery Season!

http://www.ravenwoodcastle.com/2015/01/20/killers-grimm-april-17th-18th
Given the chance to choose your own adventure, you chose Evil Fairy Tales. Join the Ravenwood Detective Agency and tackle a gang of fairy tale villains!
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
65666 Bethel Rd New Plymouth, OH 45654
65666 Bethel RoadUSOhioNew Plymouth45654
(740) 596-2606ravenwoodcastle.com
Bed & Breakfast, Wedding Venue
Bed & Breakfast
Wedding Venue
Inn
Pub
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair.  Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
38 people
Jessica Hayth's profile photo
John Pisano's profile photo
Erin Mills's profile photo
Kimberly Warner's profile photo
Damien Wilker's profile photo
Crystal Long's profile photo
Flying Frog Studio's profile photo
Dustin Spriestersbach's profile photo
steve vihtelic's profile photo
Make a Reservation
3-star hotel
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
29 reviews
5 star
20 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
1 review
Property offering rooms in a kitschy, Medieval-inspired castle as well as themed cottages & cabins.- Google
"Lovely place, super friendly staff, and great food."
"The cinnamon rolls on Sunday morning are worth the trip alone!"
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Levon Helphenstine's profile photo
Levon Helphenstine
2 months ago
The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed in the King Arthur suite and the room was both beautiful and extremely comfortable. If you like boats games, this is the place for you. They have loads of them and you can freely check them out. In our stay we managed to find 4 different board games that we want to buy now. The food was also amazing. The free breakfast was delicious and varied from day to day. Combine all of this with the beautiful scenery in the surrounding area and this makes for a great place to go to get away. My only complaint was that the alcohol served on premises in their pub was expensive for how much you get.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for leaving such a nice review Levon! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy some gaming while you were with us! If it's not too much trouble, could I ask you to leave us a short review on Tripadvisor as well? It's the best way to share what we're all about with the travelling public! Thanks! http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g50741-d80850-Reviews-Ravenwood_Castle-New_Plymouth_Ohio.html
Andrew Reinhart's profile photo
Andrew Reinhart
3 months ago
We stayed at Ravenwood for a weekend away hiking the trails of Hocking Hills. The accommodations were clean and comfortably. The staff was friendly and welcoming. They had a great selection of games and movies available for free for guests too!
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks for leaving such a nice review Andrew! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy some hiking and gaming while you were with us! If it's not too much trouble, could I ask you to leave us a short review on Tripadvisor as well? It's the best way to share what we're all about with the travelling public! Thanks! http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g50741-d80850-Reviews-Ravenwood_Castle-New_Plymouth_Ohio.html
charles brewer
2 months ago
Years ago we happened to be camping in the Hocking Hills area with our children (about 8 & 9 years old). We passed Raven Wood while out driving. Our youngest girl was so taken by it that she wanted to honeymoon there when she got married & did so in the gypsy cabin. She enjoyed it very much. So when my wife and I were going to celebrate our 40th anniversary in September, we wanted to do something special so we booked for this weekend (Nov 13 & 14). My wife has been getting ill the last week so I took her to the doctor. We found that she has to have her Gaul Bladder removed on Tuesday. For anyone who has had this problem they know how sick you can get. My daughter told me that since the owners were a family owned business they would probably be compassionate and refund all but the first night stay, especially since they had another couple on line to take our place. So I called them and told them of our problem and they said they couldn't refund any of the nights, only the reservation fee of $98.00. I offered to switch to another event after my wife's surgery, no way they said. My wife and I were really looking forward to this and we are not very wealthy and can't do these things very often. I know that they have a 14 day cancellation time limit, but under these extenuating circumstances I really felt like they could have understood especially since they had someone waiting in line for a room cancellation. This has upset us so that we don’t think we can think of booking another weekend or recommend them to anyone else. They’re response to this was, sorry about your luck. I realize that greed is the way of the world I just can’t wrap my mind around it. Anyway I even sent them a copy of my wife’s surgery orders.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Charles, As we said when discussing this with you, we are truly sorry about your wife's health. I am also sorry that you chose to leave such a misleading, and dare I say dishonest, review. I would like to take a moment to clarify a few items for future guests. First, due to the extenuating circumstances we did in fact refund your first night's stay. In fact, we refunded the entirety of your room charges. I do not know why you claim otherwise, or that we would ever say something as callous as "sorry about your luck." Second, there is no $98 "reservation fee", there is in fact no reservation fee whatsoever. The $98 that was refunded was the deposit you had paid for your room charges. Finally, what we were unable to refund was the charge for the event tickets you had purchased. As is clearly stated on the event tickets, they are non-refundable within 30 days of the event. As we explained to you, the tickets include charges paid to third parties in advance of the event. That's why they are non-refundable. While we do our best to behave compassionately, and in fact refunded all charges that would have come to us, we can not refund moneys that are paid to third party providers. Again, I am sorry for your wife's illness and hope she recovers quickly.
Kelly Meyers
a month ago
Ravenwood castle is set in an amazing location and provides a great off the grid (aka no Internet) vacation. The staff is amazingly friendly, the rooms were spacious and uniquely themed, the food( both pub and included breakfast) was delicious.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for leaving such a nice review Kelly! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to disconnect from electronics while you were with us! If it's not too much trouble, could I ask you to leave us a short review on Tripadvisor as well? It's the best way to share what we're all about with the travelling public! Thanks! http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g50741-d80850-Reviews-Ravenwood_Castle-New_Plymouth_Ohio.html
Andrew Tucciarone's profile photo
Andrew Tucciarone
in the last week
My wife, friends and I (6 total guests) were booked to stay at the Silversmith House (a room at Ravenwood Castle) the weekend of 2/5/2016 through 2/7/2016. We were there to participate in the Shadow Stalkers Harry Potter murder mystery. After spending Friday night at Silversmith House, my wife and I found evidence of 3 bed bugs in the upstairs bedroom Saturday morning. We took a photo of one of the bed bugs before flushing it down the toilet. We gave the bodies of the 2nd and 3rd bed bugs to the Ravenwood manager who took them out of our room in a Tupperware container. The manager on site called a pest inspector and helped us run all of our laundry in the dryer (high heat kills bed bugs). After that we checked out of Ravenwood, received a partial refund for not staying Saturday night and left at 10:45 AM. This complaint is being made for 2 reasons: 1. Ravenwood refuses to refund the majority of our payment for the weekend despite providing unacceptable living conditions. 2. Ravenwood still has not treated Silversmith for bed bugs and I believe they are putting future customers at risk. Edit: And I remain disappointed in your lack of concern for a very real problem. 2 of our 6 guests are social workers who have been trained in bed bug treatment. They were both absolutely certain that we had bed bugs in our room. Neither your Housekeeping Supervisor or your Innkeeper had been to any training on bed bugs. I know because one of them said "oh I wish so and so were here because she actually attended a bed bug training." So you'll have to excuse me for trusting 2 trained social workers over 2 untrained hotel employees. As for the "thorough" inspection, I find it hard to believe that the entire Silversmith House could get a "thorough" inspection in half an hour. Perhaps I am complaining to the wrong person. Perhaps it was the licensed pest inspector who performed inadequately.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Andrew, I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay at Ravenwood Castle. I am also sorry that you have chosen to leave a dishonest review. As you are aware, immediately upon you raising a concern, our Housekeeping Supervisor and Innkeeper inspected your cottage in your presence. Although they found no evidence of bedbugs whatsoever, we immediately brought in a third party licensed professional to double check. That professional, who was on site within an hour of the original concern being raised, completed a thorough inspection of the entire Silversmith House, and found no evidence of bedbugs or any other bugs. As was indicated in the inspector’s report which we have provided you, the inspector also verified that the photo you had taken was of a common black beetle. As for the two other items you provided, the inspector verified that they were a partial wing and a partial shell – neither from a bed bug – which appeared to have been brought in on the bottom of someone’s shoe. As I stated in our earlier conversations, I do wish you had been willing to wait the short time it took for us to completely resolve this issue, so that you would have been able to continue enjoying the murder mystery weekend. Your refusal to do so, combined with the threats you made on site and dishonest statements here, are disappointing. To clarify for future guests, we take the cleanliness of our accommodations extremely seriously. We have never had a bed bug infestation at Ravenwood Castle, and take significant preventative measures to ensure that we never do.
Rachel Hall
3 months ago
Staff was super friendly and knowledgeable of hocking hills and local dining. The inn keepers Zack and his wife were awesome. We went for a low key weekend get away. The cabin was nice and cozy. Perfect for our family of three. Castle was nice and enjoyed meals with other guests. Nice beer selection. The only reason we gave it 4 starts is the hot water in our cabin had a foul odor that smelled like sulfur. Rough. Over all great experience!
Eric Mauser's profile photo
Eric Mauser
a month ago
My wife and I stayed the weekend there to celebrate our first anniversary. Overall we had a wonderful time. The staff was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the Spinster cottage, which was clean and well kept. The large selection of board games and DVDs was a big plus. I'm not sure the catered dinners were worth the price ($25/plate). They were good enough, but not $25 good.
Chris Delaney
4 months ago
Had a great time - the folks on site running the place were amazingly friendly and helpful. I wanted to board game with them, but didn't get the chance. Outdoor chess set was really cool, didn't have enough time to hit all the attractions at the Castle (like the basement Pub). Looking forward to going back to this place again for fall leaves or high water season at Old Man's Cave.