Cover photo
Verified local business
Game Over Videogames
Video Game Store
Today 11AM–8PM
5 followers|169,477 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5020 Farm to Market 1960 Rd W Houston, TX 77069
5020 Farm to Market 1960 Road WestUSTexasHouston77069
Video Game Store, GamesToday 11AM–8PM
Friday 11AM–8PMSaturday 11AM–8PMSunday 12–7PMMonday 11AM–8PMTuesday 11AM–8PMWednesday 11AM–8PMThursday 11AM–8PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Write a review
Review Summary
43 reviews
5 star
35 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
2 reviews
"Great service the guys that work here are super friendly and cool"
"Great place and absolutely wonderful customer service!!!"
"Great store with an awsome selection of products."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Lauren H's profile photo
Lauren H
in the last week
Great place and absolutely wonderful customer service!!! Shelby was very helpful! We will definitely be coming back.!
Angela Morrison's profile photo
Angela Morrison
a month ago
This place is great! The guy who was there was very nice and informative. Good prices and lots of variety.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for the review. Customer service is very important at Game Over Videogames so it's great to hear about the service you received. Come back soon and happy gaming.
Abner Alvarenga's profile photo
Abner Alvarenga
a week ago
Has all the virtual games I can't find anymore in stores Atari,nes,supernes,ECT. Great service the guys that work here are super friendly and cool
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thanks for the review. We're glad you're able to find those classic games at Game Over Videogames. Come back soon and happy gaming!
Kelby Dawson's profile photo
Kelby Dawson
3 months ago
Been here many times, always had excellent service and whenever I had run into a problem they always we're persistent on fixing it or helping me with replacing what was broken. 5 outta 5. Best service I've received from a game store in years.
Ducky Duck's profile photo
Ducky Duck
a month ago
Customer service was decent at the lower levels but as soon as the managers had to answer a question it was an emotional ordeal. I just wanted to test the very expensive retro games I traveled out there to purchase in person because I wanted them that day to play with my family during thanksgiving. Unable to test the high end product I only made a twenty seven dollar purchase. This time i leave the store without making a purchase and more unhappy than the last because they were unwelcoming and to hear the same manager as last time complaining on the phone about why he was having a bad day (it's slow, it's raining, were same reasons I was wondering around game stores today) makes me wonder why I came back here at all. Probably a game over for our business but maybe not because I'm a gamer and live this sup culture.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
We understand and apologize for your frustration. As a courtesy, we normally allow for testing of games before purchase if we have the specific console in stock. Unfortunately, at this time, we did not have a N64 in stock to test the items you wanted to purchase. Our return policy allows for defective returns, but we understand not wanting to take the risk especially if you wanted to play the games over the holiday and a store visit requires extensive travel. We thank you for your feedback and hope you revisit the store in the future.
George Gracin III's profile photo
George Gracin III
a month ago
Game Over as a company is a great chain of stores that I've shopped at for many years. This location has never been one for great customer service but after this awful experience I've had, I will not recommend it to anyone. While I was hitting up their stores on Black Friday last month, at this location I happened to spot a crate full of import games that they said haven’t been priced yet. For those who don’t know, games that are not already valued in their computer system has to be verified by their corporate team. There were two games in the crate that I wanted. I asked them when they may know what the price of them would be, they told me to call back within about a week and they should know. So I called them later in the week... no price yet. Waited another week and called again... still no price. Repeat those calls until two days ago when they finally had a price for it. The guy I talked to even knew it was me calling and acknowledged that I’ve been waiting for long. After telling me the price, I knew I wasn’t going to make it to their store until Sunday evening because I had plans all weekend. I asked if they could possibly hold both of the games for one extra day, and the guy told me yes they could and took my name down and all was well. I drove out there from Richmond today after spending the day with my wife, and when I asked about the held games, they seemed a little dumbfounded. They had just finished a rather large trade-in with another customer so I understood. But after waiting for them to get the game for me and talking amongst themselves, they told me that main game I drove all the way out there for had been sold. At that point, my fuse had been lit. Look, I understand the rule is 24 hours but I SPECIFICALLY ASKED it they could hold it for one extra day, since A) I am (or at least I think I am) a loyal customer who’s spent a lot of money and praised Game Over as a company time and time over, especially when people in our hobby tend to bash them B) I’ve been waiting for nearly a month for a price on *two* games and THEY KNEW I’ve been calling weekly asking for them C) I live nearly an hour away from that store. Worst thing is, they kept the other game I asked them to hold back (a Japanese PS2 Music game) in the hold area with my name on it... hmmmm, I wonder... especially when they were asking each other where it was and one of them shakily said “it sold. ... yeah, it sold. He should have been there within the 24 hour hold limit.” The dude who said that didn’t look at me in the face after saying that too. Again, hmmm. They weren't even apologetic over it. One more day of having to hold a game that a good loyal customer has been asking about for weeks shouldn't be a deal breaker. At least in my opinion it shouldn’t be. Most of my anger has subsided and now it’s just disappointment. Oh well, that’s just one less stop in my travels on that side of town and the central Houston location continues to be awesome so my business will just continue with them. This store has never had anything amazing anyway. This was the one time I was super excited to buy something from their location and in one move they blew it for good. Their loss.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for your feedback and support. We completely understand your frustration. The manager and district manager are aware of the situation, and we will reinforce and retrain correct procedure with the staff to ensure this doesn't happen again. We made a mistake and we apologize for your experience. We value our loyal customers and we'd like to attempt to make good on this unfortunate and avoidable situation. Please come into the store/call at (281) 444-4263 (ask for Shelby the Manager), or email We can't replace the game you wanted initially since it was sold, but we'd like to make up for your experience. We appreciate your support and hope this offer can alleviate some of your frustration. Thank you for the review and happy holidays.
Mike G's profile photo
Mike G
3 weeks ago
Neat place, but had to return unplayable games 3 times. First Mario Strikers was unreadable so we exchanged it for Spyro 2 and that game was unreadable too so then we returned again and exchanged it for spyro 3 and that game crashes way too many times. This is frustrating. I'm not sure they check if their games work before selling them...
Response from the owner - in the last week
We understand your frustration. We do out best to test all games and hardware before selling, but with over 10,000 items in stock, some can slip through the cracks. We're sorry for your experience. Our staff will gladly test any game you'd like before you purchase in the future. We hope you revisit us soon and thank you for the feedback.
Wade Walker's profile photo
Wade Walker
3 months ago
Great help. Went in with a 360 that got hit by lightning and they grabbed a new power brick of the wall, opened it without me buying it first, and tried it on my 360 and it worked again.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thank you for the review. Customer service is a top priority at Game Over Videogames so it's great to hear about your experience. Come back soon. Happy gaming.


Game Over Videogames hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.