Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Coral Bay & Park Apartments
Apartment Building
Today 8:30 am – 5:30 pm
1 follower|128,798 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3309 Cowley Way San Diego, CA 92117
3309 Cowley WayUSCaliforniaSan Diego92117
(888) 667-5972coralbayapts.com
Apartment BuildingToday 8:30 am – 5:30 pm
Monday 8:30 am – 5:30 pmTuesday 8:30 am – 5:30 pmWednesday 8:30 am – 5:30 pmThursday 8:30 am – 5:30 pmFriday 8:30 am – 5:30 pmSaturday 8:30 am – 5:00 pmSunday 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
Only blocks from beautiful Mission Bay and nestled along Tecolote Canyon, Coral Bay offers a dynamic combination of location, lifestyle and value for the active San Diegan! You'll love the convenience of easy freeway access, nearby shopping, dining and entertainment!

Coral Bay's timeless architecture set in a park-like atmosphere compliments with its desirable coastal setting. Enjoy San Diego's perfect climate and year-round sunshine by our sparkling Olympic-size lap pool, Whirlpool spa, tennis courts, picnic-style barbecue areas or the generous sunbathing areas!

Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
1 person
Aileen  Thompson's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
2.4
22 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
4 reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
7 reviews
1 star
8 reviews
"The laundry facility is not kept up very well."
"THE AMENITIES: The pool is dirty, full of kids, and also full of urine."
"The laundry facilities are somewhat inconvenient."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Bruce Leeroy's profile photo
Bruce Leeroy
a month ago
Rip-off, No Parking, and MOLD everywhere (keep reading...) THE RENT: A 2 bedroom doesn't sound bad at around $1450/m but you are also required to pay an extra $40/m for renters insurance, and they also tack on water to your rent. So it realistically ends up being about $1600/m. Once your lease ends, they will jack your rent up another $50 every year. THE LEASE: When you visit, they show you a model apartment next door to the leasing office. It has nicely painted walls, no popcorn ceilings, high end furniture and decors, ceramic tile flooring, and looks like something out of a magazine. If you ask if you can see your actual unit, they say no because there are tenants in it. Then they make you sign a 30 page lease, but read it carefully because you are basically agreeing to living in a mold farm. Once you get your keys, you will find that your actual unit has vinyl tile, popcorn ceilings, and moldy bathrooms with a fresh coat of white paint slapped over it. PARKING: It is impossible to find apartment parking after 4:30pm, and impossible to find street parking after 5:30pm. Weekends are just bad all day long. You will park your car about 20 minutes away everyday after work. Also be careful where you park or else you will get towed. The tenants cannot parallel park, so expect lots of dings and dents on your car. A parking garage will cost you another $100/month. THE APARTMENT: Once you get the keys and go to your place, you will find that even if you live on the 1st floor, you still have to climb about 7 steps. It is not handicap accessible at all, and this also makes moving difficult. Once you go inside your new apartment, it reeks of fumigation and there are dead roaches on the floor. You can smell the MOLD in the bathrooms, since they never remove it and instead just paint right over it. This place is a health and safety hazard, should be shut down. The walls are also paper thin, so you will basically hear your neighbors getting it on to Barry White every nigh. You will also hear their TV and their dog barking non-stop. Oh don't worry, they can hear you also. PETS: It seems that nobody puts their pets on a leash at Coral Bay. In the year that I've stayed there I've seen several Pitbulls and Rottweilers roaming around without the owners in site. People rarely clean up after their pets, so don't walk on the grass or you will need some new shoes. THE AMENITIES: The pool is dirty, full of kids, and also full of urine. Nobody uses the basketball or tennis courts. The gym is small, but it has a huge window on the front, and is conveniently located right inside the Clubhouse. So every time there is an event int the Clubhouse, you have an audience watching you work out. THE STAFF: They are trained to be very friendly so that they sucker you into signing a year lease. Be careful and stay away!
• • •
jesus lopez's profile photo
jesus lopez
6 months ago
no complaints at all. any wear and tear the coral bay staff fix it for you at no cost. I lived at coral bay for 4 years. I always have been helped and treated good. thanks to all coral bay staff and Lynette. respectfuly.
jimmy terwilliger
a year ago
I lived here for about a year. No major complaints. However the building I lived in has a roach and a termite problem. Maintenance was good about fixing and attempting to fix problems. I am moving out because after my year lease they want to increase the monthly rent for no apparent reason. With the roaches and termites I see no incentive to continue to live here for more money. 2 stars beacause it could be worse...
Dan LaSusa's profile photo
Dan LaSusa
4 years ago
Before I moved here all of these super low reviews really concerned me. I moved here anyway...and now that I have, I'm not sure exactly why this place is rated so low? First off, I do NOT work for Coral bay...I'm just a resident and have been here for almost 2 years. I'm also not sure if there are older parts of the complex? Is this place perfect? no...but it's not any worse than an average apartment. PROS: - The property is well maintained - I personally have never waited more than one day for a work order to be completed - lots of grassy areas for walking your dog - lots of laundry rooms - decent sized pool (though it DOES get busy over the summer, but it's public!) - parking, while not GREAT...is better here than other places I've lived in San Diego. If you're moving from someplace that has lots of space and plenty of parking...welcome to parking in San Diego :) - Rent isn't "cheap" but not crazy expensive for living 1 mile up the hill to mission bay - the office staff has always been friendly and helpful CONS: - Let's talk about rent again. This is the first place I've rented in San Diego that I'm getting charged for Trash, Water and Sewer. It's not super high, but bumps the rent bill up and many other places these services are included. - I also think if you don't have a dog, you can find other places that are just as nice, or nicer...for less. - the walls are on the thinner side, again...I've seen worse...I've seen better. It's not terrible, but with a noisy neighbor I can understand that complaint. Then again...even nice quiet walls with the "wrong" kind of neighbor...can be a pain. Welcome to the joys of apartment living. - I REALLY don't like how far away everything is. This might be nice if you're married or have a family...but I'd like to be a little closer to some sort of nightlife. - off leash dogs - this isn't so much an issue with the complex itself, but rather people (residents) that only care about them self. (for some reason it always seems to follow, the smaller the dog...the more inconsiderate the owner. mostly.) - poop in the grass. Coral Bay makes available plenty of dog poop receptacles as well as free "poop bags" so I can't really fault Coral Bay for this...many of the residents just don't care. As you see...many of the items on my "Cons" list have less to do with the complex and more to do with uncaring neighbors/residents. Not a pro or con, just something to note. When you go to re-sign your lease, Coral bay allows you to go month to month. I'm mixed on this. On the plus side, I think it's great they even let you DO month to month...many places require longer leases. However, if you WANT to go month to month...it's VERY expensive (if I remember right, I was quoted over $1500/mo) So yeah...if you want to keep your rent reasonable...you need to sign a longer lease, which is kind of a bummer. I hope this was helpful and helps to balance out some of these all negative reviews. I'm not sure where these other reviewers were from, or where they lived prior...but it seems like maybe their expectations were a little too high? While San Diego isn't the worst rental market in the country....it's not cheap to live here...and you pay more for just an "average place." Welcome to living and renting in SD :)
• • •
Tori Orman's profile photo
Tori Orman
3 months ago
I moved in last Sunday to a 1 bedroom apartment and was told I have 72 hours to get my walk through paperwork back to them, so I abided by that request. As I walked through the apartment there are numerous issues such as the exhaust fan not working, mold and rotting in the bathroom sink, kitchen drawers not on tracks, none of the pilot lights were lit (took 2 visit from them to get this complete...). I have had to submit multiple work orders since no one is communicating and things are being marked as "complete" when it really hasn't been fixed. I was out of town all weekend and gave them PTE but yet nothing was fixed, again...They called me this morning asking me if they can enter today, after explaining several times they do not have PTE without my dog being out of there. This is all after me going out of my way to make special arrangements for someone to watch my dog so they can go in and fix what needs to be fixed and yet no solution. So far I am very disappointed in the quality of living they that have thus far lacked for the price they are charging for this apartment. Also, if you are looking to move in, make sure you see the actual apartment, NOT the model apartment as that is upgraded and my apartment is not, nor was I told it was not upgraded so a lot of things are missing that a normal apartment would have such as electrical plugs in the bathroom and hallway. Their maintenance and admin team need better communication and documentation so that those who don't do their job are held accountable. Thus far no one has Coral Bay shows no accountability for their mistakes. I would not have moved in if I knew it would be hell the first week..
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Tori- Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I do want our residents to be proud to call Coral Bay their home, and so I read every review posted about our community. It is important to know where our residents think we missed the mark, as well as where we have done well - so that we can improve Coral Bay for everyone. The unit you rented is in fact a non-upgraded apartment. The non-upgrade apartments rent for less than an upgrade. We make every effort to show the actual unit prior to renting and/or move in, but due to our apartments being in high demand, sometimes we are not able to. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the service requests. These were items that should have been completed prior to your move in date. Once again, we apologize you had a negative experience, and would be happy to discuss any of your concerns with you. You may contact us at any time at coralcanyon@primegrp.com or at (619) 276-1188.
RICHARD BLUMENTHAL
11 months ago
I've lived here for 3 years, and hate it. It is a decrepit over-priced dump with great amenities and maintenance, but it was built as Navy housing in the 50s and is un-insulated and has single pane windows. I live on the second (top) floor so the sun bakes the place and it gets very hot indoors. We pay $1200 for a one bedroom. the walls a paper thin. Parking is as nightmare. There are only 2 cable options. The management is incredibly arrogant. My parking permit was stolen from my car and they refuse to replace it. I Complained. their response was "Just give us your 30day notice and vacate if you don't like it." I'm not renewing my lease. My roommate can find another. I'm outta here.
• • •
Doyle S's profile photo
Doyle S
a year ago
Parking is horrible and poor service with there administration. Read there policy on parking it can be confusing my vehicle has been towed twice and don't rely on their security if you're calling for a noise complaint.
Athena Balistreri's profile photo
Athena Balistreri
6 years ago
In general things started out fine at these apartments, but went down hill. I lived in the apartments for two years. Anytime you asked the management about anything regarding service they always said just come in anytime, however they run bankers hours and they can never do anything for you on the weekends, only during the week. This makes it nearly impossible for any working person to do any business with the office unless you take time off. Parking is atrocious. You are given parking passes based on the unit size however there are not nearly enough spaces so sometimes you have to park on the street a literal ten minute walk form your apartment. There are also bad neighbors found throughout as things were always being stolen off the entry areas of people units. The laundry facility is not kept up very well. The cards fault out often and the machines are not well maintained. Some of the paddles inside the dyers break of and then put holes in your clothes. They also charge you for water trash and sewer as an add on to your monthly billing statement but they are huge water wasters. Many times I would leave int eh morning only to find many cars in the parking lots or on the streets being directly sprayed by the sprinklers and not even being aimed the landscape, and many times sprinklers were broken and spewing water. Service requests are not always responded to as several times I let them know that the lights in the parking lots were not working and the stayed this way for a year until only one light of eight were working then they finally replaced bulbs, otherwise the parking lots were pitch black. I would not suggest moving here if you are looking for responsiveness from the management. They are friendly when you come in but they are not reactive. In general the unit looks nice but these units are not efficient in their design, there are a lot of wasted spaces especially the kitchen. There are only four drawers on the lower cabinetry everything else is upper cabinetry which makes objects hard to reach unless you are really tall. Watch out for extreme charges when you move out they charge for excessive things take pictures.
• • •

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
Aileen  Thompson's profile photo

Coral Bay & Park Apartments hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.