Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Coral Bay & Park Apartments
Apartment Building
Today 8:30AM–5:30PM
1 follower|389,971 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
3309 Cowley Way San Diego, CA 92117
3309 Cowley WayUSCaliforniaSan Diego92117
(888) 667-5972coralbayapts.com
Apartment BuildingToday 8:30AM–5:30PM
Tuesday 8:30AM–5:30PMWednesday 8:30AM–5:30PMThursday 8:30AM–5:30PMFriday 8:30AM–5:30PMSaturday 8:30AM–5:30PMSunday 10AM–4PMMonday 8:30AM–5:30PM
Only blocks from beautiful Mission Bay and nestled along Tecolote Canyon, Coral Bay offers a dynamic combination of location, lifestyle and value for the active San Diegan! You'll love the convenience of easy freeway access, nearby shopping, dining and entertainment!

Coral Bay's timeless architecture set in a park-like atmosphere compliments with its desirable coastal setting. Enjoy San Diego's perfect climate and year-round sunshine by our sparkling Olympic-size lap pool, Whirlpool spa, tennis courts, picnic-style barbecue areas or the generous sunbathing areas!

Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.2
33 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
5 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
9 reviews
1 star
15 reviews
"Maintenance was good about fixing and attempting to fix problems."
"It is not handicap accessible at all, and this also makes moving difficult."
"I had a one bedroom with my wife and only one parking pass."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
1 person
Aileen  Thompson's profile photo
All reviews
Tyler Brotherton's profile photo
Tyler Brotherton
in the last week
Don't be fooled by this place. Like most people, location is convenient to most parts of SD, and on the surface, apartment seemed updated (carpet, paint). In all the places I have lived over the years, this had to have been one of the worst. Like other reviews, wondering "where to start." 1. PARKING - It is seriously a joke. They "give you a parking pass" which guarantees absolutely nothing. There is not enough parking provided for even the minimal amount of residents. I work a normal 9 - 5, and there was a 4 week span I never got to park within 3 blocks of my apartment. Even worse, was you would hesitate going anywhere, because if you get home after 10pm, you will have a 10 min walk minimum. 2. Plumbing / Waste - This seems a common place from what neighbors and other reviews have mentioned. So, over and over the pipes build up and you will be guaranteed to have sewage in you bathtub, sinks, etc. We even had one of the maintenance guys (friendly) mention to us the pipes are horrible here, so he would recommend never letting anything into the sink... like nothing. 3. Laundry Facilities - I don't know how much money I've lost on these. They are constantly broken (no, literally the unit next to me has 4 washers, and 1 has worked in the year I've been here). If you ask Coral Bay Staff, they tell you "Its owned by a private third party, so you will need to call them." - Firstly, I can understand subcontracting out a laundry company, but you STILL need to make sure they perform the most basic of maintenance. And, as you could guess, if you call the other party, they seem nice, and will "send someone" which seems to still have not arrived at my laundry unit. 4. The office (leasing) Staff - Recently, they have decided to update all their online system (fine). In doing so, deleted all rental payment information, and caused tenants to lose option to pay online (fine, although you are going against your own contracts). We rarely use checks, so went and bought some, paid rent (we are done now, right?). Went to pay rent online the next month. Online system wouldn't work. Called. No answer. Left message. Tried re-creating the apartment log in. No longer recognized my unit. Called office next day. No answer. Left Message. No call back. (keep in mind, office is open 9 - 5:30 and I was working during those hours). Finally get off early to talk with them. They explain they had lots of errors, but since I was there they would re-enroll me. Great! Oh, by the way we are charging you $100+ in late fees. But WAIT - I tried to pay, but couldn't (via, you not supplying online payment per my contract), and called 4 times, left 2 voicemails, and got no calls back. Needless to say, talked to staff, then the manager Kisa Kruse, and all pretty much shrugged their shoulders, said "Our bad, but we won't waive a late fee." To conclude, even if you are drawn to a slightly lower price and location, keep looking! It's been a nightmare 1 year living here!
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Dear Tyler Brotherton-We are glad you have chosen to live with us here at Coral Bay! We thank you for the time you took to write your review. We apologize that your living experience is not what you expected. Coral Bay is just a few blocks away from the beach which makes our community very desirable. We understand that parking can be a bit of a challenge at times due to our community's popularity. We do offer several options for our residents including our private open parking lot and garages. We advise residents not to throw food down the kitchen sink because it causes the plumbing to clog up and backup. We always encourage residents to reach out to us if they are encountering any type of maintenance problem, so that we can repair the problem immediately. We also offer 24 hour emergency maintenance. Coral Bay has a lease with WASH Laundry. They maintain their machines and clean/inspect them once per quarter. We always ask residents to call them directly for reimbursement and/or to let us know when a machine is down, so we can call for service. We performed some upgrades to our system, thus temporarily disabling the Resident Portal for all residents. We understand it was an inconvenience that the resident portal was down and the payment option was not available, but it is there as a convenience to residents. The lease states “Rent payments must be tendered by check, certified cashier’s check or money order only”. Rent is due on the 1st and there is a grace period until the 3rd late fees are assessed on the 4th. We apologize that when you came in on the 5th we were not able to waive the late fee. Once again, we apologize you had a negative experience, and would be happy to discuss any of your concerns with you. Please contact us at any time at coralbay@primegrp.com or at (619) 276-1188.
Gaby Mayorqueen's profile photo
Gaby Mayorqueen
3 months ago
Update on my experience Me and my husband use to think this was a nice trustworthy neighborhood, but our car was recently broken into! Thankfully nothing major was stolen, but the more we talked to other people they have told us that there car was also broken into. Someone else got his two bikes stolen which he use to leave right outside his door. Be careful everyone! If you don't have a pet, you can definitely find nicer apartments. Pros: -They allow pets(no size/breed restrictions) for 35$ a month -Not a busy area, super quiet area -Has a small dog park -Has a decent gym Cons -Poop everywhere!! I don't understand why! Coral Bay does provide trash bins and doggy bags at almost every block(pro), but no ever uses them. -The walls are very thin so be prepared to hear your neighbors talking when they're outside -The carpets are super cheap, I've lived here for less than a year and they are already coming off -Parking is a big issue at night. They do provide parking lots, but after 7-8 everything's full, even street parking. -Laundromats are pretty small so they are packed most of the time
• • •
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Dear Gaby-We are glad you have chosen to live with us here at Coral Bay. Thank you for taking the time to post your honest feedback. We do want our residents to be proud to call Coral Bay their home, and so we read every review posted about our community. It is important to know where our residents think we missed the mark, as well as where we have done well - so that we can improve Coral Bay for everyone. Coral Bay has 17 laundry rooms conveniently located through the property that are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are a pet friendly community with a dog park onsite and offer 36 pet stations conveniently located through the property. Coral Bay is just a few blocks away from the beach which makes our community very desirable. We understand that parking can be a bit of a challenge at times due to our community's popularity. We offer several options for our residents including our private open parking lot and garages. We would be happy to discuss any of your concerns with you. Please contact us at any time at coralbay@primegrp.com or at (619) 276-1188.
Sergiy Yermak
7 months ago
Don't move here. First I'm going to start woth outside. The garbage bins are awful. Luckily my apartment was right next to one so I had to close my kitchen window not to smell it. Everyday there would be a homeless person next to it. Digging through it. When garbage trucks come, they leave a river of juice behind that smells even worst. Parking. I had a one bedroom with my wife and only one parking pass. Mind that it's not assigned parking so after 8pm you might as well drive a cross to 711 gas station and look for parking down there. If you want an actual assigned garage. That would be 75 dollars a month. Oh and dont forget dog shit everywhere. So only walk on sidrwalks. There is even more to talk about the apartment itself but that would take to long. This people put up a good image but once your in. They are money sucking vampires. Stay away!
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Dear Sergiy- We are glad you have chosen to live with us here at Coral Bay! We thank you for the time you took to write your review, as we are always looking for ways to improve. We understand that parking can be a bit of a challenge at times due to our community's popularity. We do offer several options for our residents including our private open parking lot and garages. We do apologize that your living experience is not what you expected. We always encourage our residents to reach out to our leasing staff with any concerns or comments that our resident's may have so that we can better assist them in any way we can! Please feel free to contact the leasing office at the following number 888.667.5972 and we will be happy to chat with you! Thank you and have a great day!
Bruce Leeroy's profile photo
Bruce Leeroy
10 months ago
Rip-off, No Parking, and MOLD everywhere (keep reading...) THE RENT: A 2 bedroom doesn't sound bad at around $1450/m but you are also required to pay an extra $40/m for renters insurance, and they also tack on water to your rent. So it realistically ends up being about $1600/m. Once your lease ends, they will jack your rent up another $50 every year. THE LEASE: When you visit, they show you a model apartment next door to the leasing office. It has nicely painted walls, no popcorn ceilings, high end furniture and decors, ceramic tile flooring, and looks like something out of a magazine. If you ask if you can see your actual unit, they say no because there are tenants in it. Then they make you sign a 30 page lease, but read it carefully because you are basically agreeing to living in a mold farm. Once you get your keys, you will find that your actual unit has vinyl tile, popcorn ceilings, and moldy bathrooms with a fresh coat of white paint slapped over it. PARKING: It is impossible to find apartment parking after 4:30pm, and impossible to find street parking after 5:30pm. Weekends are just bad all day long. You will park your car about 20 minutes away everyday after work. Also be careful where you park or else you will get towed. The tenants cannot parallel park, so expect lots of dings and dents on your car. A parking garage will cost you another $100/month. THE APARTMENT: Once you get the keys and go to your place, you will find that even if you live on the 1st floor, you still have to climb about 7 steps. It is not handicap accessible at all, and this also makes moving difficult. Once you go inside your new apartment, it reeks of fumigation and there are dead roaches on the floor. You can smell the MOLD in the bathrooms, since they never remove it and instead just paint right over it. This place is a health and safety hazard, should be shut down. The walls are also paper thin, so you will basically hear your neighbors getting it on to Barry White every nigh. You will also hear their TV and their dog barking non-stop. Oh don't worry, they can hear you also. PETS: It seems that nobody puts their pets on a leash at Coral Bay. In the year that I've stayed there I've seen several Pitbulls and Rottweilers roaming around without the owners in site. People rarely clean up after their pets, so don't walk on the grass or you will need some new shoes. THE AMENITIES: The pool is dirty, full of kids, and also full of urine. Nobody uses the basketball or tennis courts. The gym is small, but it has a huge window on the front, and is conveniently located right inside the Clubhouse. So every time there is an event int the Clubhouse, you have an audience watching you work out. THE STAFF: They are trained to be very friendly so that they sucker you into signing a year lease. Be careful and stay away!
• • •
Maria Papayianni
a month ago
I have lived in plenty of apartments and countries and this is the hands down worse place I have ever lived in. The main reason why I would strongly encourage you to stay away from this place is its management. They are atrocious! You think you are getting a good deal? Think again... These peoples' business policy appears to be making up charges, so they can charge tenants randomly extra money and take advantage of the fact that most people will not go to court for these random made up charges. Throughout my stay they charged me approximately $400 worth of imaginary charges usually stemming from their incompetent system, but tenants will always end up paying for it. They are also known to not give security deposit back to their tenants. I strongly urge you to stay away from this place!!! Find yourself a healthier place to live!
• • •
Francis Kaggwa's profile photo
Francis Kaggwa
7 months ago
Very poor customer service. Truthfully, the only time one gets excellent customer service is on the day one tours the "model apartments" (which btw are nothing like the real apartment) and agrees to rent. From move-in day onwards, if you have to deal with the leasing office you are screwed. They are not willing to investigate and rectify issues to keep the customer happy. Case in point, considering the number of times people have responded negatively towards the practice of not viewing the actual apartments, any business that cares about customer service would have already addressed this issue by changing this policy. So...I will write negative reviews about this place until everyone I know hears about how bad it is. I do not recommend. I can't wait for my lease to expire.
• • •
Tim Little's profile photo
Tim Little
8 months ago
Here is the honest truth: The apartment is serviceable. It's expensive, but what apartment in San Diego isn't? The bathroom is a little small, livingroom is spacious, kitchen can get a little cramped, the rooms are decent-sized for a non-family and the closets are also on the small side. POSITIVES: great dog friendly environment, nice landscaping in certain areas, pool and gym are nice and community area is large and able to accommodate a large gathering. NEGATIVES: Overall small apartment, laundry on site is awful in my experience (dryer sucks ass, washer is small and 2 loads are necessary for almost all laundry events and loads are over-priced) dog poop is commonly scattered around, and the biggest drawback by far is PARKING. It is absolutely TERRIBLE. I wish I was exaggerating. There are 2500+ residents in this large community and I would guess there are less than 500 spots. If you arrive home from work after 7:00 pm, good luck finding a spot. You could get lucky, but more often than not, after 7:00 pm (and sometimes as early as 5) you are going to be hunting around for street parking with all of your neighbors and walking a long distance to your place. If you are a person who leaves frequently after work hours and comes back home, DO NOT get a place here unless you have an extra $75 a month for a garage which most likely will be nowhere near your actual apartment. They don't have dedicated garages for apartment locations and sell them to whomever, so the odds of you getting a garage next to your apartment are likely low. Be advised.. I only lived there a year (5/14 - 5/15) and I felt like a prisoner because I knew if I left, I would have to spend 20+ mins looking for another spot.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Dear Tim- Thank you for taking the time to post your honest feedback. I do want our residents to be proud to call Coral Bay their home, and so I read every review posted about our community. It is important to know where our residents think we missed the mark, as well as where we have done well - so that we can improve Coral Bay for everyone. We do apologize that your living experience is not what you expected. We understand that parking can be a bit of a challenge at times due to our community's popularity! Coral Bay is just a few blocks away from the beach which makes our community very desirable. We understand that parking can be a bit of a challenge at times due to our community's popularity! We do offer several options for our residents including our private open parking lot and garages. I would be happy to discuss any of your concerns with you. You can contact me any time at coralcanyon@primegrp.com or at (619) 276-1188.
Tori Orman's profile photo
Tori Orman
a year ago
I moved in last Sunday to a 1 bedroom apartment and was told I have 72 hours to get my walk through paperwork back to them, so I abided by that request. As I walked through the apartment there are numerous issues such as the exhaust fan not working, mold and rotting in the bathroom sink, kitchen drawers not on tracks, none of the pilot lights were lit (took 2 visit from them to get this complete...). I have had to submit multiple work orders since no one is communicating and things are being marked as "complete" when it really hasn't been fixed. I was out of town all weekend and gave them PTE but yet nothing was fixed, again...They called me this morning asking me if they can enter today, after explaining several times they do not have PTE without my dog being out of there. This is all after me going out of my way to make special arrangements for someone to watch my dog so they can go in and fix what needs to be fixed and yet no solution. So far I am very disappointed in the quality of living they that have thus far lacked for the price they are charging for this apartment. Also, if you are looking to move in, make sure you see the actual apartment, NOT the model apartment as that is upgraded and my apartment is not, nor was I told it was not upgraded so a lot of things are missing that a normal apartment would have such as electrical plugs in the bathroom and hallway. Their maintenance and admin team need better communication and documentation so that those who don't do their job are held accountable. Thus far no one has Coral Bay shows no accountability for their mistakes. I would not have moved in if I knew it would be hell the first week..
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Tori- Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I do want our residents to be proud to call Coral Bay their home, and so I read every review posted about our community. It is important to know where our residents think we missed the mark, as well as where we have done well - so that we can improve Coral Bay for everyone. The unit you rented is in fact a non-upgraded apartment. The non-upgrade apartments rent for less than an upgrade. We make every effort to show the actual unit prior to renting and/or move in, but due to our apartments being in high demand, sometimes we are not able to. We do apologize for the inconvenience of the service requests. These were items that should have been completed prior to your move in date. Once again, we apologize you had a negative experience, and would be happy to discuss any of your concerns with you. You may contact us at any time at coralcanyon@primegrp.com or at (619) 276-1188.

Stream

Have them in circles
1 person
Aileen  Thompson's profile photo

Coral Bay & Park Apartments hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.