Cover photo
Verified local business
Railhead Smokehouse
Barbecue Restaurant$$
Today 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
1 follower|1,077,153 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
2900 Montgomery St Fort Worth, TX 76107
2900 Montgomery StreetUSTexasFort Worth76107
$$Barbecue RestaurantToday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Wednesday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMThursday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMFriday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMSaturday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMSunday ClosedMonday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PMTuesday 11:00 AM – 9:00 PM
Railhead Smokehouse serves legendary barbecue in Fort Worth, Texas. From our chopped beef sandwiches to our pork and smoked turkey, we serve the most succulent and savory barbecue in town.
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
118 reviews
5 star
44 reviews
4 star
38 reviews
3 star
22 reviews
2 star
9 reviews
1 star
5 reviews
Busy counter-serve fixture for ribs, brisket, turkey & sides, plus cold beer & happy-hour deals.- Google
"We are very familiar with flavor profiles and smoked meats."
"Sugar in the half scoop of potato salad rends just flat nasty."
Featured by Zagat
Dallas' Best Cheap Eats
, and 2 other lists
See more from Zagat
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Upload public photo
Have them in circles
1 person
Lori Darlin's profile photo
All reviews
Barbara C
a month ago
My husband and I had heard all they hype and it to us is just that hype. We are very familiar with flavor profiles and smoked meats. And that commercially your spicing typically isn't much more than garlic,salt and pepper to appeal to the majority,The brisket was bland, not enough salt, pepper and garlic.Tender with decent smoke ring. The ribs, however, were dry and bland. The sides were avg, nothing to write home about. The sauce was just sauce. For us, sauce is an accent flavor...not THE flavor. I've been told to try your newer location presumably the food is better there. Perhaps I will some day...but probably not until I'm desperate for moderate Texas BBQ.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 weeks ago
Barbara, I'm very disappointed and surprised to see how let down you and your husband were. This is certainly not the normal customer experience that we hear about, as we take great care and pride to put out very authentic and flavor-packed meats everyday. I will certainly be looking into your concerns, and I truly hope to have you both back some time for the five-star experience that you read about. -Gilbert, Manager
Brent S
3 months ago
Usually sides at a Bbq joint leave something to be desired but here... Beans were some of the best. Potato salad was awesome. Coleslaw was great. Chicken was good with lots of smokey flavor. Wasnt the best Brisket though..a little bland, needed salt but otherwise good. Once you mix with the fantastic bbq sauce it was really good. Fair prices. Quick service.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Brent, I'm so happy to hear that our sides were such a hit with you! I'm sure you'd agree that, when it comes to BBQ, the beans, coleslaw, and potato salad are just as important as everything else. I'm sorry that you didn't find the flavor of the brisket to match up to that of the chicken, but I look forward to having you back again so that we can give you the five-star meal that I know we're capable of. -Gilbert, Manager
Debby Henderson's profile photo
Debby Henderson
5 months ago
5 Stars for the bbq. 3 for the lackluster potato salad. The price of stuffed jalapenos was a little high, but I don't need a whole basket of them.. If I could get a small order, I would, but it's not offered. I just buy the sandwich and drink. The sliced brisket is consistently awesome!
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Debby, I'm so happy to hear that we were able to serve up some five-star BBQ for you. That definitely makes my day. And we will do whatever we can to make sure everything else reaches that five-star rating for you next time. I truly appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again! - Gilbert, Manager
Konrad Von Hochstaden's profile photo
Konrad Von Hochstaden
2 weeks ago
Beer joint that serves BBQ. Not bad, but you can tell they are focused on selling booze more than cooking great BBQ.
Response from the owner - a week ago
Konrad, I'm really glad you enjoy the beer and had a good experience overall. That said, I'm bummed your meal wasn't as great as it should have been. We're all about awesome BBQ, so I'd like to welcome you back soon for a better experience. 'Til next time, Gilbert, Manager
Gabriel Cavazos's profile photo
Gabriel Cavazos
a month ago
It's not amazing, but it's not bad either. As middle of the road as it gets. Although that may not be fair since I'm used to Austin BBQ with the likes of Franklin's and Salt Lick. The chicken was above average, I actually liked the flavor. The brisket was average, just tastes like well... brisket. And I was most disappointed in the ribs. They were very dry, some pieces came off the bone nicely, but mainly it was dry and seemed like the animal it came off of had a fractured rib cage or something. There was definitely some bone in places I didn't expect. One time occurrence I'm sure so I won't knock em for that. But overall if you want something to eat, at least check it out, but don't expect to be blown away.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Gabriel, I'm sorry to see that we weren't able to wow you more. I know there's a lot of BBQ spots in the Lone Star State, and personally I truly believe that we bring it with the best of them. Still, I'm sorry that you didn't walk away with the same impression. I look forward to chance to have you back so you can experience the five-star meal that I know we are able to give you. -Gilbert, Manager
p morrison
4 months ago
The dinner plate: 6 quarter pieces of meat. Brisket and turkey. The brisket was so fatty and gross it was uneatable. Same for the turkey. Fries: the grease used to cook them was so old they stank, Limp, no salt, flat disgusting. Sugar in the half scoop of potato salad rends just flat nasty. Throw in a piece of white bread laid up on the nasty meat. Really soaked up that gross oil good. Big nasty third of a white onion. Cobbler: who knows? might be the one thing that wasnt greasy,gross or old and nasty, but since it didnt make it into the bag, we will never know. Total spent:45.00 Total eaten:None of it. Even the dogs walked away from it. Stay far away.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
I'm very concerned to hear about the condition of the food that you received. We aim to serve everyone the flavorful, fresh meal that I know we are capable of making. Regarding the brisket and turkey, we understand that everyone has different preferences, and so requesting a leaner cut is absolutely something we'd be more than happy to do for you. Still, I appreciate the feedback, and I hope you'll keep mine in mind and give us another chance to impress sometime. -Gilbert, Manager
Justin Soule
a month ago
BBQ sauce was mostly ketchup or tomato sauce. Jalapeño sausage was very gamy. Brisket okay. Full plate but price and quality did not line up.
Sherry Mlakar
6 months ago
We ordered takeout from here today. After they took forever in the take out line this still messed up trying to pay for our orders. Then they forgot half my order and when I called to tell them they placed me on hold and would never answer again. Will never ever return very poor customer service.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
I can definitely understand why this would leave you frustrated, Sherry, and I'm sorry you had so many issues with your takeout order. Despite the impression we left you with, that's really out of character for us, so please know I'll be checking back with the team to chat about it. I really do hope you'll give us the chance to prove how far from the norm this is. - Gilbert, Manager


Have them in circles
1 person
Lori Darlin's profile photo

Railhead Smokehouse hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.