Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
That Fish Place - That Pet Place
Pet Store
Today 10AM–6PM
405 followers|3,521,498 views
AboutPostsCollections

Stream

 
Dogs and Babies: Introducing Your Pet to Your Newborn | That Pet Blog
1
Add a comment...
 
They Sure do :)
1
Add a comment...
 
How are we out of fish already?
2
1
Nuta Stefan's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
An Astronaut's best friends! Leland Melvin's dogs cover him with puppy kisses in his official NASA photo! http://bit.ly/1njAzsR
1
Add a comment...
 
Pun dog is at it again!
1
Add a comment...
 
I think an early spring is in order!
1
Add a comment...
In their circles
179 people
Have them in circles
405 people
Chloe Lane's profile photo
Martin Tropic's profile photo
fabdog inc.'s profile photo
Dodd Franks's profile photo
Hal Morrison's profile photo
Meena Balendu's profile photo
Tombug Su's profile photo
Worlds Under Water's profile photo
FIshy Joe's Aqua Deals's profile photo
 
the cat knows best :-)
1
Add a comment...
 
I know my dog is just looking for food!
1
Add a comment...
 
I can't get enough Cat Fails!
1
Add a comment...
 
February is Spay and Neuter Awareness Month. Stop animal overpopulation, and make your appointment today!
1
Add a comment...
 
Yes sir!
1
Add a comment...
 
You can sell anything on Ebay!
1
Robert Little's profile photo
 
Lol
Add a comment...
That Fish Place - That Pet Place's Collections
Contact Information
Map of the business location
237 Centerville Rd Lancaster, PA 17603
237 Centerville RoadUSPennsylvaniaLancaster17603
(717) 299-5691thatpetplace.com
Pet Store, Tropical Fish Store
Pet Store
Tropical Fish Store
Wholesaler
Tourist Attraction
Reptile Store
Pond Supply Store
Pet Groomer
Pet Supply Store
Bird Shop
Today 10AM–6PM
Sunday 10AM–6PMMonday 8:30AM–9PMTuesday 8:30AM–9PMWednesday 8:30AM–9PMThursday 8:30AM–9PMFriday 8:30AM–9PMSaturday 8:30AM–9PM
That Pet Place is a family-owned pet business located in the heart of Lancaster, PA. Our 88K sq foot retail store and attraction specializes in supplies for pets, aquariums, ponds, and exotic animals.
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
132 reviews
5 star
84 reviews
4 star
14 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
14 reviews
1 star
13 reviews
"We were looking for a new local marine fish store and That Fish Place is great."
"Got fin rot from here wiped out half my aquarium before I got it under control."
"Now my cichlid tank is not only surviving, but thriving."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
In their circles
179 people
Have them in circles
405 people
Chloe Lane's profile photo
Martin Tropic's profile photo
fabdog inc.'s profile photo
Dodd Franks's profile photo
Hal Morrison's profile photo
Meena Balendu's profile photo
Tombug Su's profile photo
Worlds Under Water's profile photo
FIshy Joe's Aqua Deals's profile photo
All reviews
Diane Davidczuk
4 months ago
I have been a phone order customer for That Fish Place for the past 3 years. The professionalism and concerns for my problems with our Koi pond have been outstanding.I feel comfortable in contacting their office with any small or large problems. Mike was especially helpful when I had a major concern this summer. I will continue to give them a 5 star rating for service-products and price. Diane of Amsterdam, NY
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Wow Diane - thank you very much for taking to post your comment! We work very hard to provide the best customer service we can - so we will most definitely be passing your comment along to Mike. Thanks again!
Kurt Amen's profile photo
Kurt Amen
3 months ago
Heather W is a pioneer in helping her staff to donate time to educational opportunity for the people in her region. I was so impressed with how knowledgeable everyone in the store was. Incredible store with phenomenal staff. Every time I drive through Lancaster, I stop here.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Wow - thanks Kurt for taking the time to post this review - and we will most definitely pass it along to Heather and the rest of the staff. We are extremely excited that everything went so well and our team had a great time too!
Mike Plants
3 months ago
I grew up going to this store for the past 20 + years. We would make the 4 hour drive just to take a number and wait patiently for fish. The fish department has gone down hill and is such a disappointment. 60% of the freshwater tanks and plants were empty! How is that possible?! This store had the best catfish and plecos ever. The only had 2 types of cories in stock and not even common plecos or the basic algae eater in store let alone different ones. There was no line for fish, no one even buying fish, or looking since there were none to see. Even the girl wiping down the glass commented how she couldn't believe management doesn't stock the fish for sales. If you are a cichlids person - you might may be able to find something. But forget it you are interested in community or semi aggressive or oddball fish. Don't waste your time! They didn't even have basic guppies or tiger barbs! There were quite a few tanks covered up that had signs saying "online only". Guess the no longer care about in store customers. At the beginning of the year I was given the excuse of new management. 6 months later what's the excuse? Petco has more Bettas than this store had in all freshwater fish! Bring in someone who can make that fish dept what it once was!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks for your feedback Mike Plants - feedback from our customers is always welcome. We are sorry for your level of dissatisfaction with your recent visit to our retail store, we greatly appreciate the distance that many of our customers travel to visit us. It is true that we do not carry the variety of freshwater fish that we have in the past. There are a couple reasons for this. First, the industry has changed, many of the wild caught fish that were available 20 years ago, are not available today, or are available on a limited basis and are very expensive. Second, the hobby has changed, the demand for the oddball and aggressive fish is low, so we do not stock many of these types of fish. We appreciate that customers had enjoyed looking at all these wonderful fish when they visited the store in the past, we are hobbyists too, and also enjoyed seeing them. The reality is that it does not make sense, nor is it in the best interest of the fish, for it to sit in one of our tanks for months and months. These things being said, - I definitely wanted to check out what you stated about our fish room as it definitely had me concerned. A few things - - Even after a busy weekend (I checked on the Monday after your posting), only 74 of 550 (13%) freshwater tanks were empty. In fact we had received two large shipments of fish prior to that weekend. Most of the tanks that were empty when you visited, had fish in them days prior, and were restocked during the coming week. The fish you mentioned specifically were available and in-stock all weekend. 5 species of cory cats, 14 species of plecos, three types of tiger barbs as well as male and female Guppies. Not to mention about 400 Bettas of several varieties. We care a great deal about all our customers, and have put a great deal of time, effort and investment into our retail store since new ownership took over the business earlier this year. This has been a year of transition for us, and we are looking forward to what the future brings.
Luis Mercado's profile photo
Luis Mercado
6 months ago
Loved the place! They have a great selection of fish from Salt water, fresh water, and even pond. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. They were very helpful with what I needed. Thanks again.
Darren Kowlessar
2 months ago
DISAPPOINTED! I was looking for plants for my freshwater aquarium. Found this company online and was able to find the plants I needed, and equally important they had them in stock. I ordered the plants and paid an additional $13.99 for 2nd day shipping. After a few days of noticing that my order was 'pending fulfillment', I decided to send an inquiry on the website to check on my order. Received an email from Andrea next day that unfortunately the plants were not in stock and that I should call to discuss the order since my payment was via PayPal. I called and left a voicemail. No reply.. So I then sent an email to ask her to cancel the order and expressing my disappointment since the website indicated that the plants were IN STOCK at the time I placed the order. She responded with just an invoice with the cancellation order..not even an apology nor any response from her! I can accept that there may be errors in the system, but not the cold and impersonal attitude.. Won't be giving them my business in the future.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey Darren, sorry for your experience with us! Orders with Paypal can sometimes cause issues with the processing based on when aquatic livestock orders are handled. We could've handled the situation better as well - for sure - as you noted. I appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention and will address it with the parties concerned.
Paul Phan's profile photo
Paul Phan
3 months ago
Good price, variety of fish food, filter supply.Take 2* off because of the fishroom going downhill in my opinion. Not a single exotic fish(fresh water). Come on tfp-tpp, no arowana, no gar, not even parrot fish? All i see is common cichlids and a few different pleco. Big disappointed
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks for taking the time to post a review Paul! I will definitely pass your concerns along to our fish room in regards to bringing in more exotic species of Freshwater Fish.
Grace Staub's profile photo
Grace Staub
6 months ago
The place, to me, was awesome. The people there were nice and friendly, and I loved each I met. Petting the string rays was great, and I would love to come again! ...BUT, my sister got two goldfish there and they died in the first three days of having them. The first one died not even within a day, and the other died today, which was either the first or second day of having her. The man who got the fish were nice ( in my opinion, anyways; My Mum and sister didn't seem to like him and my Mum said he didn't handle with care, especially he put back a wounded fish into the tank that ' he wounded ' on her words. ) I was interested in a few pets there ( to be exact: a few of the Guniea Pigs and Moon Crabs ), but it certainly is questionable about how long the life span for others actually is due to that.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hey Grace. Thank you for taking the time to comment. We are pleased to hear that you thought our place is awesome, liked our stuff and would visit again. We would like to learn more about your concerns about the goldfish. We do care for and maintain all our fish, animals, and reptiles in individual areas of the store with equipment specific to the health needs and requirements of each individual animal. We would be happy to answer any specific questions you may have. Please free to contact us at your convenience. Again thank you for contacting us. We always evaluate our customer feedback to work harder to provide the optimum pet care and customer service. Thank you, Johannes Pichler Retail Store Manager 717 299 5691 x1256
Darren Brudecki
5 months ago
Kind of disappointing experience. I vacation in Lancaster so I'm able to visit there at least once a year for fish supplies and fish. A lot of the shelves and peg hooks were empty. Most of the stuff I had on my shopping list were not in stock. I found some of the prices on live fish a little on the high side. You definitely need to know your prices when shopping there. Also a little disappointed while in the fish room not a single employee asked if they could help me.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hi Darren, Thank you for commenting & I apologize for your experience. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and will use your feedback in our weekly retail planning meetings. In addition, I personally help coach and mentor our retail staff. I will certainly be discussing your post with our retail staff as opportunity to continue improving and providing better customer service. Thank you for taking the time to visit us while on your vacation, and We hope to see you again the next time you are in our area and will work to provide a better experience. Johannes Pichler Retail Manager 717 299 5691 x 1256