Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
South Seas Island Resort
Luxury Hotel
118 followers|7,564,941 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Take a look at this gorgeous 4K footage of ‪#‎SouthSeas‬ created by +Nick Adams Photography. We still have a beautiful beach and sparkling waters for guests to enjoy!
1
Add a comment...
 
Condé Nast Traveler's Reader's Choice Awards Survey is now live! If you feel the love for ‪#‎SouthSeas‬, tell the world for a chance to WIN the a trip to Europe.

How to vote:
Click the link below and select "Hotels & Resorts". Sign in through Facebook or create an account. When voting, enter "Captiva Island" and "South Seas Island Resort". Then tell us what you think. Thanks for voting, and good luck! http://hubs.ly/H02Z_Kn0

2
1
Add a comment...
 
Today's ‪#‎TravelTuesday‬ deal: For a limited time, save 25% OFF your stay in May or June. Don't put off your vacation any longer... Just Escape! http://hubs.ly/H02SRkR0
1
Add a comment...
 
Is #SnowStorm ‪#‎Ursula‬ putting a damper on your Spring?
Receive your 4th night FREE this Spring, plus receive an exclusive coupon book with more than $250 in savings at resort dining, activities, shopping and more.

Start planning your escape today: http://bit.ly/1UIp5xA
1
Add a comment...
 
#SouthSeas  Holiday Stroll starts this weekend.  Fridays & Saturdays, 6-9pm.  Tickets are just $10 per adult (13yo +) and each ticket is a chance to win a 5 night stay at South Seas Island Resort.  Tickets are available at South Seas Island Resort.
For Dec. 11-13: Holiday events galore (and more)
1
Add a comment...
 
Are you starting to think about a winter getaway?  Check out New York Resident magazine's feature on #SouthSeas  and #JustEscape   
Peace and Paradise at Captiva’s South Seas Island Resort By Pamela Jacobs   When it comes to travel, the word “luxury” is relative. For some people, it means beautiful scenery; for others, it’s pampering and relaxation. For many, though, regardless of the destination, luxury travel is all about an escape—an escape from home and from…
1
Add a comment...
 
Looking for something to do 4th of July Weekend? You can get your 4th night FREE, plus kids eat free breakfast and a coupon book with more than $250 in resort outlets savings, and at the same time, enjoy our robust activity calendar!

We're also giving away a 3 day/2 night stay to one lucky guest! Enter to win by posting your photos on Twitter and Instagram with ‪#‎SSIRJuly42016‬ and ‪#‎SouthSeas‬! The contest starts Friday, July 1 and ends Tuesday, July 5.

Book now: http://bit.ly/28WKlxv
Explore our celebrated events: http://bit.ly/28SE6fj
1
Add a comment...
 
Bridal party #SquadGoals at #SouthSeas! #WeddingWednesday

Bring your #Squad to South Seas Island Resort for your dream wedding: http://hubs.ly/H02SSxC0
1
Add a comment...
 
Enter the Fort Lauderdale Magazine ‪#‎SummerEscape Giveaway going on now! Follow the directions in the image below for your chance to ‪#‎WIN a 2-night stay at ‪#‎SouthSeas! ‪
#‎FLMagPhotoContest ‪#‎TakeMeToSouthSeas
1
Add a comment...
 
Save 25% off stays through February 29 on the Winter White Sale. #LoveFL
1
Add a comment...
 
Our friends at +Sanibel Sea School have added a Shelling Concierge program to their list of programs this winter.  On your next visit, learn all about the amazing #seashells  that wash ashore #CaptivaIsland  
The Shelling Concierge program at the South Seas Island Resort will offer weekly guided tours, helping guests locate and identify shells along the property's 2.5 miles of beach.
1
Add a comment...
 
Thanks, +The Huffington Post and +Jeanenne Tornatore for including #SouthSeas  in your list of top family resorts!
Families looking for a classic resort experience with activities they can do together in a slow-paced, relaxing environment will find that there are still plenty of great choices.
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5400 Plantation Rd Captiva, FL 33924
5400 Plantation RoadUSFloridaCaptiva33924
(239) 472-5111southseas.com
Luxury Hotel, Hotel
Luxury Hotel
Hotel
Wedding Venue
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$189
Book at South Seas Island Resort
Booking links sponsored. $210 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
195 reviews
5 star
610 reviews
4 star
395 reviews
3 star
144 reviews
2 star
47 reviews
1 star
24 reviews
Oceanfront complex on 2.5 miles of white-sand beach with 13 pools, 6 restaurants & a marina.- Google
"Definitely a family friendly environment and we can't wait to return."
"I would suggest that you can save your money and get better service at a Motel 6."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Tiffany Harris's profile photo
Tiffany Harris
3 weeks ago
I absolutely adore this place. Such a relaxing vacation getaway. You don't even have to pack tons of clothing u basically wear swim clothes all day! But there are very nice restaurants on the island where you can get fancy and have a great time. This will be our annual vacation destination! Don't forget to take the kiddos to Scullys they'll never get bored. Well small kids at least!
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Tiffany, we truly appreciate the great review! We look forward to becoming your annual vacation destination. Thank you for staying with us at South Seas Island Resort. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort nswetz@southeas.com
Mr M's profile photo
Mr M
2 weeks ago
The resort is very nice and the people are very friendly. Truly a place to escape and relax. The reason I gave it a low grade is the quality of the food vs pricing and the rooms. Dining definitely needs to be analyzed by management. All six individuals at our table were disappointed I'm the quality of it. It appeared to be reheated or institution cooking. The rooms are nice but definitely showing their age and lack of cleaning/maintenance. Our room the toilet constantly ran and the shower walls had mold/mildew throughout. Others in our party complained about the age of the beds or dirty sheets, etc. This is supposed to be a high end resort but I think it needs a wake-up call from the owners to shake things up and make it a fantastic vacation getaway again.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Mr. M, thank you for visiting with us. Please know that we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Our hope is that we exceed each guests expectations and that they take in all that we offer. We do apologize that we did not deliver on this. We take this opportunity to share this with our teams so we can improve our resort setting for our guests. Thank you once again and we hope we have restored your faith in us.
Alessandria Palmer's profile photo
Alessandria Palmer
2 months ago
Staying in the tennis villas, which are actually condo units. Nicely appointed and comfortable. Bathroom is tiny and doors/baseboards could use a paint job but overall it's great for a small family. Spent day at pool complex on North point and 2 yr old had a blast. Waterslides, beach style pool, tiki bar, etc. Renting a golf cart is a must, or need to use trolley system.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Alessandria, thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like your 2 year old had a wonderful time as well. We hope that we can welcome you and your family back to South Seas Island Resort. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort nswetz@southseas.com
Kara Powell's profile photo
Kara Powell
in the last week
Our house was adorable, clean, and accommodating. We had a private beach and a beautiful back porch. The property was well maintained and the view was absolutely stunning. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Ms. Powell, thank you for staying in one of our Homes of Distinction on property. South Seas Island Resort is truly a unique and special place and happy to know that you had enjoyed your visit. We hope that we can welcome you back again to the island. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort nswetz@southseas.com
Lynnette Cunningham's profile photo
Lynnette Cunningham
2 weeks ago
A little out dated. I had to reduce the stars to three stars from my initial review. They overcharged me during my stay but agreed to make it right, so I left happy. That was May, this is September, and that refund has still not arrived (despite numerous calls and e-mails). Beware of the bait and switch and the overcharging by these people. Even when they say they will make it right, they won't. I won't be back.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience.
G. Tyler Peters's profile photo
G. Tyler Peters
2 months ago
My wife and I had a spectacular week here. The staff was top notch. From check in, to the beach and back everyone working had a smile on their face and helped out. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The pools were convenient and clean. Secluded but not too secluded. Family friendly but still cozy. I loved this place.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Mr. Peters, We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time spent on the island. South Seas Island Resort is truly a special place and so happy that you feel the same. We hope to welcome you back soon. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort nswetz@southseas.com
Pearl Taylor's profile photo
Pearl Taylor
a month ago
We are staying with friends for a few nights. They have a 2 bedroom unit (#3223) with a loft. This is a wonderful unit with a.terrific view and beach access. This section of the resort has beach chairs and towels available and set up, at no additional charge. Although it has rained several days this week, the lanai and great view have ensured no one really minded. We live on the mainland here, about an hour from the resort. We are enjoying our stay-cation so much that we are planning to rent this unit again in another few months.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
We appreciate you taking the short drive to visit us at South Seas Island Resort. We truly appreciate your kind words and 5-Star review. We look forward to welcome you back in a few months for your next "staycation".
Kevin White's profile photo
Kevin White
2 weeks ago
Still good but not what it used to be. Seems like they are waiting for a new owner to come in and spend some money updating things and to catch up on maintenance. We stayed in the marina on our yacht and while this marina is probably in the top 25%, the boaters bathhouse is exactly the same as it was 25 years ago. The docks are nice but underneath crossmembers have rotted away. Many of the fire extinguisher stations on the docks were not lighted or lights were burned out. Throughout the resort I noticed many maintenance items that had been passed by such as burned out light at trolley stops and walkways. Also areas needing cleaning and paint. The asphalt roadway was terrible with cracks, potholes and other deterioration. They were doing some patching while we were there but what's needed is a new layer of asphalt. The beach had eroded a lot and given our access to beaches in Sarasota, Clearwater and the Florida panhandle we turned around and went off to some other activity. Renting a Golf cart to get around was 3 times more than renting a car so we rented an air conditioned car. Prices for water sports toys make a good cases for buying in Ft. Meyers and then giving it to a youth when you leave. We ate at the Pointe and it was the lowest quality meal during our trip. Fishy smelling grouper, warm salad and 25% higher price than everywhere else we ate. We ended up eating outside the resort several times and on our boat rather than spend more money on mediocre food. We will probably come back some day on a boaters rendezvous but really not worth a 100 mile boat trip on our own. I would probably feel the same car given there are so many resort alternatives.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Mr. White, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate your time spent on the island. Please know that we take these comments to heart and have shared it with our teams so we can remedy these concerns for you. We understand the importance of the concerns you mentioned and are working on remedying these areas. We truly thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again to the island.