Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
South Seas Island Resort
Luxury Hotel
125 followers|8,447,031 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Take a look at this gorgeous 4K footage of ‪#‎SouthSeas‬ created by +Nick Adams Photography. We still have a beautiful beach and sparkling waters for guests to enjoy!
1
Add a comment...
 
Condé Nast Traveler's Reader's Choice Awards Survey is now live! If you feel the love for ‪#‎SouthSeas‬, tell the world for a chance to WIN the a trip to Europe.

How to vote:
Click the link below and select "Hotels & Resorts". Sign in through Facebook or create an account. When voting, enter "Captiva Island" and "South Seas Island Resort". Then tell us what you think. Thanks for voting, and good luck! http://hubs.ly/H02Z_Kn0

2
1
Add a comment...
 
Today's ‪#‎TravelTuesday‬ deal: For a limited time, save 25% OFF your stay in May or June. Don't put off your vacation any longer... Just Escape! http://hubs.ly/H02SRkR0
1
Add a comment...
 
Is #SnowStorm ‪#‎Ursula‬ putting a damper on your Spring?
Receive your 4th night FREE this Spring, plus receive an exclusive coupon book with more than $250 in savings at resort dining, activities, shopping and more.

Start planning your escape today: http://bit.ly/1UIp5xA
1
Add a comment...
 
#SouthSeas  Holiday Stroll starts this weekend.  Fridays & Saturdays, 6-9pm.  Tickets are just $10 per adult (13yo +) and each ticket is a chance to win a 5 night stay at South Seas Island Resort.  Tickets are available at South Seas Island Resort.
For Dec. 11-13: Holiday events galore (and more)
1
Add a comment...
 
Are you starting to think about a winter getaway?  Check out New York Resident magazine's feature on #SouthSeas  and #JustEscape   
Peace and Paradise at Captiva’s South Seas Island Resort By Pamela Jacobs   When it comes to travel, the word “luxury” is relative. For some people, it means beautiful scenery; for others, it’s pampering and relaxation. For many, though, regardless of the destination, luxury travel is all about an escape—an escape from home and from…
1
Add a comment...
 
Looking for something to do 4th of July Weekend? You can get your 4th night FREE, plus kids eat free breakfast and a coupon book with more than $250 in resort outlets savings, and at the same time, enjoy our robust activity calendar!

We're also giving away a 3 day/2 night stay to one lucky guest! Enter to win by posting your photos on Twitter and Instagram with ‪#‎SSIRJuly42016‬ and ‪#‎SouthSeas‬! The contest starts Friday, July 1 and ends Tuesday, July 5.

Book now: http://bit.ly/28WKlxv
Explore our celebrated events: http://bit.ly/28SE6fj
1
Add a comment...
 
Bridal party #SquadGoals at #SouthSeas! #WeddingWednesday

Bring your #Squad to South Seas Island Resort for your dream wedding: http://hubs.ly/H02SSxC0
1
Add a comment...
 
Enter the Fort Lauderdale Magazine ‪#‎SummerEscape Giveaway going on now! Follow the directions in the image below for your chance to ‪#‎WIN a 2-night stay at ‪#‎SouthSeas! ‪
#‎FLMagPhotoContest ‪#‎TakeMeToSouthSeas
1
Add a comment...
 
Save 25% off stays through February 29 on the Winter White Sale. #LoveFL
1
Add a comment...
 
Our friends at +Sanibel Sea School have added a Shelling Concierge program to their list of programs this winter.  On your next visit, learn all about the amazing #seashells  that wash ashore #CaptivaIsland  
The Shelling Concierge program at the South Seas Island Resort will offer weekly guided tours, helping guests locate and identify shells along the property's 2.5 miles of beach.
1
Add a comment...
 
Thanks, +The Huffington Post and +Jeanenne Tornatore for including #SouthSeas  in your list of top family resorts!
Families looking for a classic resort experience with activities they can do together in a slow-paced, relaxing environment will find that there are still plenty of great choices.
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5400 Plantation Rd Captiva, FL 33924
5400 Plantation RoadUSFloridaCaptiva33924
(239) 472-5111southseas.com
Luxury Hotel, Hotel
Luxury Hotel
Hotel
Personal Services
Vacances
Wedding Venue
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
4-star hotel
$343
Book at Amoma.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $397 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
250 reviews
5 star
695 reviews
4 star
391 reviews
3 star
157 reviews
2 star
50 reviews
1 star
23 reviews
Oceanfront complex on 2.5 miles of white-sand beach with 3 pools, 6 restaurants & a marina.- Google
"Definitely a family friendly environment and we can't wait to return."
"Weekend trip, room was excellent, staff was excellent."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Will McCormack's profile photo
Will McCormack
2 weeks ago
Its was a very nice weekend. Visited for a wedding and had a great time. However when wedding events were not happening I found the resort very average. Nothing special, but nothing about the trip was bad. Just kinda average. We visited as a couple; and unfortunately a lot of kids were there. Family of our brought their children and seemed to have a very good time. Perhaps with kids, it would be worth trying again. But till then it wasn't for us. Pool was busy with noisy kids, and the pool bar was understaffed. Neither was a deal killer. 3/5 for couples looking for a romantic getaway. 4 or 5 for a family weekend (though it might get expensive with the whole family).
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Dear Will, It was a pleasure to host you, and we were honored to be a part of the wedding you were attending. Thank you for being our guest and sharing your feedback! We pride ourselves on offering fun activities for all ages, and we are pleased that you got to spend some time relaxing by the pool. We’re lucky to welcome many families with children, and we also have some great options for couples looking for some alone time, such as a kayaking tour, golf, Jet Skiing or a good tennis match. Come back again and we’re sure you’ll be impressed! Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
Brandon Harris's profile photo
Brandon Harris
3 months ago
The room was a little less than spectacular and the porches are all screened in so you can't take sunset pictures from your balcony. However the room was clean and the bed comfortable. Also the harbour side grill was the worst dining experience ever especiallyfor breakfast, the server brought one cup of coffee and I had to ask 3x for water and 3 separate people just get a straw. For 60 bucks for breakfast the service should be outstanding, but the worst I've ever experienced. The Starbucks that's associated with the resort has the most amazing service, kind courteous and willing to chat with local ideas for dinner and where everything was located. Overall a decent weekend for an anniversary get away.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Happy Anniversary from all of us at South Seas Island Resort. We truly thank you for spending this special time with us. Please know we take these comments to heart and have shared them with our team so we can improve our guest experience. We will be sure to share your special appreciation to our Starbucks team. Thank you again and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
nicole rogers's profile photo
nicole rogers
a month ago
I am absolutely in love with this place. The golf course is flat out gorgeous. Perfect beaches. The only negitive thing is when we arrived the elevator wasn't working and we had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. But other than that perfection!!!
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks for staying at South Seas Island Resort and sharing your expereince. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back. With warm regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort
Tyler Peters's profile photo
Tyler Peters
6 months ago
My wife and I had a spectacular week here. The staff was top notch. From check in, to the beach and back everyone working had a smile on their face and helped out. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. The pools were convenient and clean. Secluded but not too secluded. Family friendly but still cozy. I loved this place.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Mr. Peters, We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time spent on the island. South Seas Island Resort is truly a special place and so happy that you feel the same. We hope to welcome you back soon. With Warm Regards, Neil Swetz Dir of Guest Services, South Seas Island Resort nswetz@southseas.com
Dean Whaley's profile photo
Dean Whaley
3 weeks ago
All the reviews that I have read tell me that your property is fantastic with children. I would Love nothing more than to learn about your property but every time I go to your website and the pop up for 10% off keeps me from learning anything further. I would seriously suggest that you consider talking to your web developer about your website as soon as possible the pop-up makes it impossible to view your website via a mobile device. I apologize to put a false review on Google but I have no other way to contact you via your website as I cannot navigate your site at all. I hope this is something that you're able to resolve in the future.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Dear Dean, Thank you for letting us know about the trouble you experienced with the mobile version of our website. Upon receiving your review, we looked into the situation and it seems that the ad was too large for some devices. Thanks to you, we've requested to change the ad. Once it's been updated, you'll easily be able to close it out from your mobile device and book your reservation with us. We're confident your experience with us will earn a higher rating once you've visited our lovely property. We're looking forward to welcoming you and your family! Best regards, South Seas Island Resort
Mike Melody's profile photo
Mike Melody
3 weeks ago
Remote, at tip of island. Restaurants do not take reservations; lots of kids; long lines of unhappy kids and parents at dinner time. Understaffed bell desk. Captive market prices at restaurants and market. No nearbr supermarkets. Lovely bay and gulf beaches. Pleasant staff. Clean accommodations.
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Dear Mike, It was a pleasure to host you on your recent island getaway, and we thank you for sharing your feedback. Customer Service is one of our core values and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the hospitality of our team and the beautiful natural surroundings of the resort. We also appreciate your added suggestions and will review them in our next leadership meeting as part of our ongoing efforts to improve the guest experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon so that we may have another opportunity to impress you! Sincerely, South Seas Island Resort
Mr M's profile photo
Mr M
4 months ago
The resort is very nice and the people are very friendly. Truly a place to escape and relax. The reason I gave it a low grade is the quality of the food vs pricing and the rooms. Dining definitely needs to be analyzed by management. All six individuals at our table were disappointed I'm the quality of it. It appeared to be reheated or institution cooking. The rooms are nice but definitely showing their age and lack of cleaning/maintenance. Our room the toilet constantly ran and the shower walls had mold/mildew throughout. Others in our party complained about the age of the beds or dirty sheets, etc. This is supposed to be a high end resort but I think it needs a wake-up call from the owners to shake things up and make it a fantastic vacation getaway again.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Mr. M, thank you for visiting with us. Please know that we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Our hope is that we exceed each guests expectations and that they take in all that we offer. We do apologize that we did not deliver on this. We take this opportunity to share this with our teams so we can improve our resort setting for our guests. Thank you once again and we hope we have restored your faith in us.
Alec Strahl's profile photo
Alec Strahl
in the last week
Absolute worst experience our family has ever been involved in. The management is appalling, have continually postponed finishing our condo. Have continually lied about completion dates and we will be pressing charges very soon. Stay away from south seas if you are looking for a new place to buy property.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Dear Mr. Strahl, We’re terribly sorry to hear about your experience and appreciate you reaching out. Although we at South Seas Island Resort do not manage the renovations of privately owned condo units, we hope to assist you in contacting the correct party so that your concern can be addressed. Please contact me directly at sfarrell@southseas.com with the best time and number where you may be reached and we will work to assist you however we can. Sincerely, Shawn Farrell General Manager