Profile cover photo
Profile photo
The Pacific NW’s Premiere Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention.
The Pacific NW’s Premiere Science Fiction and Fantasy Convention.

Norwescon's posts

Post has attachment
The judges for the 2017 Philip K. Dick Award, to be awarded at next year's Norwescon 41, have been announced.

Post has attachment
Registration for Norwescon 41 is now open!

Just $55 for a full four-day membership to next year's convention, March 29-April 1, 2018, featuring Writer Guest of Honor Ken Liu, Artist Guest of Honor Wayne Barlowe, Science Guest of Honor Mathew Wedel, and Spotlight Publisher Green Ronin Publishing!

This rate is good through August of this year, and will increase as we get closer to the convention — so get yours before the price goes up this fall!

NWSFS members get a $5 discount. Children under 13 at the time of the convention are free, youth aged 13–17 at the time of the convention are $50.

Post has attachment
Hotel reservations for #nwc41 are now open!

$129/night (+$40/night for tower room upgrades), one night deposit taken at reservation and refundable until Jan. 13, 2018. See the Hotels page on our website for more information!

Recovered from Norwescon 40 yet? Have you started posting photos and memories of this year’s revelries anywhere? Make sure to tag them with #nwc40 so that we can see and share them! We love seeing how you all enjoyed yourselves each year!

Post has attachment
The winners of the Museum of Pop Culture's Write Out of this World contest, co-sponsored by Norwescon, have been announced! Head over to their website to read the winning entries, and our congratulations to all the winners!

Post has attachment
Congratulations to the winners of the Norwescon 40 Masquerade!

Best Workmanship:
Rising Star: Post-Apocalyptic Cyborg Pirate
Novice Class: Gilnean Priest, Level 2
Journeyman Class: Angel Dust
Master Class: Master Jedi, Luminara Undulin
Judges' Choice: Nightingale Present the Warrior Princess
Best in Show: An Evening Soiree with Monsieur J

Best Performance:
Rising Star: Post-Apocalyptic Cyborg Pirate
Novice Class: Sarah & Jareth
Journeyman Class: Married with Deadpool
Master Class: Master Jedi, Luminara Undulin
Judges' Choice: Don't You Wish You Were Me?
Best in Show: Vice-Admiral TED

Post has attachment
Well, Norwescon 40 is done — and what a great year this was! Thanks to all of our guests, attendees, and volunteers for making this year an excellent 40th anniversary celebration.

Of course, this means that Norwescon 41 is just shy of a year away! Head over to our blog for a quick peek at our announced Guests of Honor!

Post has attachment
Norwescon 40 is done, and we'd love to see your photos and feedback! We'll be tracking the #nwc40 hashtag wherever we can for photos, videos, and blog posts, and we hope to see yours! And, of course, Norwescon 41 is already less than a year away…we'll see you again March 29—April 1, 2018!

More info on our blog!

Post has attachment
In case you didn't make it in person (or if you did, and just want to see it again), you can watch this year's #PKDickAward ceremony from Friday of #nwc40 on our YouTube channel. Four of the six nominated authors were present to read from their work at the ceremony this year. Congratulations again to all the nominees, to Special Citation Award winner Susan DiRende, and to this year's Philip K. Dick Award winner, Claudia Casper!

Aww…are we done already? Looks like it! A huge thank you to our Guests of Honor Ian McDonald, Cory and Catska Ench, Ethan Siegel, Nancy Kress, and Angry Robot Books, our many attending pros, and all of our wonderful volunteers and attendees from all of us on the Norwescon 40 ConCom. We've had a blast, we hope you did too, and we'll see you again next year with Ken Liu, Wayne Barlowe, Mathew Wedel, Green Ronin Publishing, and more for Norwescon 41!
Wait while more posts are being loaded