Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
(mt) Media Temple
Web Hosting Company
Today Open 24 hours
2,318 followers|2,086,523 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Minimalist Color #Palettes for those certain vibes.
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Hints, Tips & Tricks  - 
 
Matt Cromwell of @WordImpress shares some tips on #WordPress image management: http://bit.ly/1Ru8LOF
I wouldn’t be surprised if most WordPress users imagine their Media Library as being no different than a teenagers closet: A giant pile of disorganization, a haystack housing thousands of needles. You might have said, “Why doesn’t my Media Library use folders like everything else in my digital life?” There are many reasons, but properly adjusting yourself to use the Media Library will improve your workflow and make your website more searchable an...
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
What do you think #Design is really about?
A lot of designers believe that if there’s one true purpose that they see for the kind of work they do, it’s making their audience feel something. It’s drawing
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Oh hey, check out these free line icons: http://bit.ly/1YBN4Mc #design #icons #freeicons
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Hover over Button animations. The code is here for you: http://bit.ly/1O7Dgbd
1
Add a comment...
 
Matt Mullenweg’s State of the Word address in December covered some interesting stats. We created a graphic to give you the complete picture. ‪#‎WordPress‬ ‪#‎WCUS‬
11
4
Martin Cz's profile photoElvis Sherman's profile photo
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
2,318 people
Michael Jarvis's profile photo
jose almir carvalho morais's profile photo
Tom Arrigo's profile photo
kayla david's profile photo
Vinasia Group's profile photo
Petr Dospiva's profile photo
Jaleel Manns's profile photo
Joseph Naber's profile photo
Print EZ's profile photo

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Autoblogging. Heard of it? This is how to build one in #WordPress
1
1
Benjamin Mangold's profile photo
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some free code for #CSS quotation cards: http://bit.ly/1U59fZM
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some people come up with the coolest stuff: http://bit.ly/1OLxl8d
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Minimal. The way to go. Here are some free minimal #WordPress themes. http://bit.ly/1YzBO34
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
WP Inject. Find images to insert into your #WordPress post with only 3 clicks: http://bit.ly/1SZU0Dl
1
Add a comment...

(mt) Media Temple

Shared publicly  - 
 
Be awesome and improve your digital painting skills http://bit.ly/227JDRS
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
8520 National Blvd Culver City, CA 90232
8520 National BoulevardUSCaliforniaCulver City90232
(310) 841-5500mediatemple.net
Web Hosting Company, Internet Service ProviderToday Open 24 hours
Saturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hoursMonday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hoursThursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hours
All our web hosting plans are backed by our industry-leading, award-winning, 24/7/365 live support.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.8
27 reviews
5 star
11 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
13 reviews
"Overall, a great hosting company."
"I have used Godaddy and Justhost in the past with severe disappointment."
"It used to be a fantastic system with great, friendly customer support."
Photos
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
2,318 people
Michael Jarvis's profile photo
jose almir carvalho morais's profile photo
Tom Arrigo's profile photo
kayla david's profile photo
Vinasia Group's profile photo
Petr Dospiva's profile photo
Jaleel Manns's profile photo
Joseph Naber's profile photo
Print EZ's profile photo
All reviews
Erick Maynard's profile photo
Erick Maynard
a month ago
Things have really declined since they got bought out by Godaddy. It used to be a fantastic system with great, friendly customer support. I've used MT for 4+ years with a DV account and dozens of websites I manage, and I finally have to seriously consider whether or not it makes sense to move on, no matter how much of a pain it is. They got their server hacked and all of my sites that I manage were down for WEEKS. We then had to spend 40+ hours of our own time to make updates through command line because they wouldn't unblock just our IP address to make the necessary updates through the GUI. Then we got charged for SSL cert updates but they didn't go through on their end, so we had to get them AGAIN. And then wait another 24 hours for them to get approved through their system (they should be instant). Then we were informed that we couldn't update MySQL unless we upgraded to their newer platform and paid more money. Not only is this a security issue and a problem with the latest version of WP, but the whole point of the DV account was to have complete control over the server and allow us to make updates when we choose. We've been completely hosed the 2nd half of this year because of their issues, and it makes us look like idiots to our clients. Then their customer support just says "that's the way it is, sorry". No, that's not the way it should be, and we will find another company that does things right. The server goes down constantly. more than once a day even. We'll be working on something and the server just goes down. Or people will actually email us and ask us why the server is down again? Having to say "it's the server provider" is not a valid excuse for us. So we will have to go find something that is atleast somewhat reliable. UPDATE: The server was recently SSH brute forced by someone in China, and we had to pay $79 to get a back up. Sort of our fault because we should have been doing the back ups ourselves, but NOT our fault that the server was open to brute force attacks. That should be dealt with their default build for the dedicated virtual server. Then Plesk errors out and we can't access it anymore, and we can't upload to FTP either.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hey there Erick. Very sorry to see you've had a lot of frustrations. First thing I'd like to address is the claim that our servers were hacked, I can assure you this is not the case. If our servers were hacked it would actually be a huge problem affecting many of our customers - we take security very seriously and a company wide hack like that simply does not happen. Now, this is not an attempt to point blame elsewhere, looks like we failed you in a number of areas including a timely SSL cert update and our support team not being able to provide you with the answer or help you were looking for. I've looked into the correspondence you had with us and it looks like your issues are resolved for the time being. Please let me know if you ever experience an issue again and I will be sure to look into it and get the help you need.
Denis Svircic
3 months ago
Can't believe all the negativity I'm seeing in some of these reviews. Media Temple has been a cut above the rest when it comes to web hosts. Support is always on top of their game, and I've never hung up the phone feeling unsatisfied. I've been on their Grid for the past 3 years, and I have never found the need to look elsewhere. They keep my sites up, they don't give me the run around, and they have been consistent (which I can't say for a lot of hosting companies out there)
• • •
Barbara Valentine's profile photo
Barbara Valentine
5 months ago
For those who are looking for a reputable company to host your site- who has standards and integrity and the best interest of their clients at heart...You DEFINITELY do not want Media Temple. A few weeks after we began hosting with MT, we were hacked on their server and all of our files were infected. We called Media Temple to ask them if they knew how this could have happened and they totally turned their backs on us and took no responsibility for even alerting or notifying us that there was a problem. We had to shut the entire site down and re-build for the severity of the infections that got past their supposedly secure servers. They promise a lot when they want to sign you up for their programs, but beware. They are the worst on customer service who care nothing about their clients except for getting their money and if a client needs their help...they turn a deaf ear. It's all about the money with this company. They are also overpriced for what you don't receive! There are so many other hosting companies out there who want to work with their clients and help them to grow. Media Temple is not one of them. Buyer BEWARE!
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Wow Barbara, I am very sorry you feel that way, it's always disappointing to hear when a customer is upset. I reviewed the interaction you had with our support team and while I can't get into the specifics of your account publicly on Google+, I can say that our support team did everything they could. Media Temple takes security very seriously and this is not an issue with our servers being hacked (if they were, this would be an extremely serious problem affecting many customers, it simply doesn't happen). Media Temple can do everything they can to ensure our servers are secure, but when it comes to our customer's individual websites I'm afraid the responsibility falls on them. This is how it is at any hosting company. It's similar to the manager of an apartment building being responsible for the security of the building but can't force you to lock your doors. Again, I'm very sorry you had a bad experience, I do wish you the best and hope your website finds a good home wherever that may be.
John Silva
8 months ago
The worst hosting experience in over 10 years of managing websites. Their WP hosting is such a joke, a single Hello World post took more than 30 seconds to load! Customer service is another disappointment. Once I asked to cancel the service, I had to wait more than 10 minutes for an operator. The operator passed me to another operator for another 30 minutes wait. And when they see I still want to cancel the service, they ask me to fill in a form explaining why I want to get out of this nightmare..... I'm amazed how can such a disgrace of a company still be in business in 2015! Guess hosting is not such a competitive industry as I thought... Media Temple is not a NO. It's a NEVER, EVER.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
We're really disappointed to hear you had such a bad experience John. None of that sounds right, from the slow load times to the hassle of closing your account. First, load times like that are certainly not the norm, if that ever happens, let our support team know, most of the time they can find an explanation for why that's happening and help resolve it. Second, the 30+ minutes of waiting to close your account is extremely unsusual, I'd have to investigate further to see why that might have been the case for you, perhaps there were other factors with your account that slowed down the process. Nevetheless, I do apologize for that.
OC Ramps's profile photo
OC Ramps
3 months ago
Terrible service and experience. Signed up for a "premium" account that caused the site to load slowly and get errors. After 2 weeks of it being a disaster we decided to pull the plug and switch hosts. Although we told multiple people via phone, chat and email to cancel and refund our account, we didn't physically click to cancel our account in their system. That means $0 refund. We paid a full year for a god awful service that was used less than 3 weeks. Because of their terrible hosting and technicians- our website didn't even function properly for those 3 weeks. I would not recommend this company to anyone. They're great and nice over the phone-- all goes down hill after that.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hi there OC Ramps. I'm certainly sorry you feel as though you had such a negative experience. I looked into this issue and saw your communication with our support team. Unfortunately, just because a customer mentions on a support call that they may, or plan on possibly, cancelling their account ,we can't take that as official word to close everything. We require the account owner to physically go through the formal process. From time to time we get customers that state their intent to close their account and then find the solution to their issue and see that it was not a "Media Temple specific" problem - and then end up deciding to stay after all. Now, if we were to have closed their account without formal confirmation, we would have ended up deleting all their files. See how that would make for a messy situation? I apologize again for any inconvenience this may have caused, I see you have a call scheduled with a supervisor, I hope we can arrive at a place of understanding. Wish you the best.
Ante Kvartuc
3 months ago
Love the GRID hosting. Even though they may have their issues with downtime, name me a host that has never gone down. I've hosted my websites there for the past 5 years, and we've had nothing but great service. Their support team is 2nd to none, and the Grid has kept us up and running even with heavy traffic we experience in the summer months. Even when there is an issue, Media Temple's support team via Twitter will communicate with you immediately. The communication is always there and that is extremely important to our website and founding members.
• • •
Rita Lilly's profile photo
Rita Lilly
6 months ago
Highly recommend against using Media Temple's email. It's slow, limited in choices and generally very clunky to use. Trying to find specific help on the website is time-consuming. The product simply isn't good, especially when compared to a user-friendly email service like gmail.
Jay Cruz's profile photo
Jay Cruz
8 months ago
WORST HOSTING PROVIDER. UNRELIABLE. SHADY. Prior to cancelling my account I had been I had switched to a month to month service. When I cancelled they had the audacity to charge me $500 for a years service! Billing is terrible. WARNING! UNLESS YOU WANT TO JEPAORDIZE YOUR BUSINESS, DO NOT USE THEM!
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Hi Jay, After looking through your support requests, I can't seem to find what service you are referring to. We wouldn't go out of our way to over charge you. It's not good business, and it would do nothing but harm both of our businesses. If you could send over a valid support request number or account number to mlebo@mediatemple.net, I would be more than happy to go over this.