Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Marko Wenzel
Snooch to the nooch!
Snooch to the nooch!
About
Posts

Unmasked Recovery

Can someone explain the Recovery rules (p. 19) from Unmasked to me?

“While the damage tracks for a teen and their mask-form are discrete, their recovery rolls are not.” — That makes it sound like while Mask and Teen don’t share their Damage Tracks, they do share their Recovery Rolls per day.

“A mask must attempt a recovery roll any time a stat Pool hits 0 (a teen does not).” — Two issues with that sentence: (1) What do they mean with “attempt a recovery roll”? Can Recovery rolls fail? (2) What do they mean with “must attempt”? So Masks just absolutely must lay down for 10 hours during a car chase if they hit 0 points in a pool and have no other recovery rolls left?

“When any stat Pool hits 0 after the mask’s last recovery roll, the mask falls off and the prodigy collapses back into their normal teen-form.” — That makes it sound like the Mask has it’s own set of Recovery Rolls per day, contradicting the first sentence.

“Whatever rest time is needed to make that failed recovery roll is the amount of time they must wait before they can put the mask on again.” — What do they mean with “failed recovery roll”? How can a recovery roll fail?

Then follows an example that shows nothing of the above, only the normal, voluntary recovery rolls from the core rules.

I’m utterly confused.

I often find the meta game of the Fate Point economy breaks my players immersion, generally when they run out of Fate Points (and don’t have any free invocations left) at which point they get the feeling that (existing) aspects don’t matter anymore mechanically. This comes up especially with less dynamic aspects like COVER.

(I recognize that this might be due to the fact that my group is really bad at coming up with compels. But on the other hand, if the players always have enough FP, what’s the point of them?)

In an attempt to lessen the importance of Fate Points a bit (but not too much), I came up with the following mechanic and wanted to ask for feedback.

Passive Bonus for Aspects: Whoever has more situational aspects on their side, gets a free +2 (or better +1?) bonus on their roll. This is in addition to any (free) invocation of an aspect.

Example: Hardbeard the Barbarian has his opponent Lydia the Destroyer WRESTLED TO THE GROUND. In addition to his (free) invocations, he now gets +2 on all rolls which would be easier since Lydia is WRESTLED TO THE GROUND.

That’s pretty bad for Lydia, so she creates the advantage of PUSHING HER FINGERS IN HARDBEARDS EYES (an action that might not grant Hardbeard the free bonus from his aspect since it might even help Lydia to push her finger into his eyes). Now both Hardbeard an Lydia have an aspect on their side, so now no one gets a free bonus.

If Hardbeard or Lydia got other aspects that could help them, they’d get another +2 bonus. Note that they’d only get the bonus for having more aspects on their side, not a bonus per aspect. This also only applies to situational aspects and not character aspects (although I might be inclined to apply this rule to consequences, depending on how gritty I want the game to be.)

What do you think? Would this break anything? I guess it makes the numbers generally a bit higher, but since this happens to PCs and NPCs alike, this shouldn’t be a problem, right?

Non-attack actions in combat

I’m still reading everything I can about Risus and I play different situations in my head and think about how I’d handle this in Risus. I noticed one thing that made me think. In the rules as written, there is nothing about non-attack actions in combats. It just says that everyone takes turn and makes an attack.

In the rules as written, are the combat participants even supposed to do anything but attacking? Should everything the characters do be considered an attack, since it’s supposed to give you an advantage anyway, which is represented by the loss of dice through an attack.

Should things like taking cover simply happen, without it being an action during combats (think free actions)?

Question about actions in Combat

I just found Risus and find its lightness in Rules intriguing, but there’s one thing I sure I must miss.

How are non-attack actions that are meant to create some kind of advantage, but which are not directed against a foe, handled?

For example, say Brian, a Worn Down PI (3), wants to take cover, knowing that the Gang of Thugs with big Guns (5) will most likely beat him in any kind of attack situation.

How can the cover (mechanically) help Brian to withstand the inevitable attack of the Gang of Thugs? As far as I can tell, there’s not really such a thing as bonuses and penalties, right?

Thanks a lot!

Shove/Knock Down and Size

Quick question: When a Size 1/2 halfling shoves or knock down a Size 1 human, does he get 1 bane on his roll?

The rules say “for each point”, but since this is half a point and fractures are rounded down (p. 7) smaller creatures would never suffer a penalty against Size 1 creatures. In fact, they suffer the same penalties as Size 1 creatures, even against bigger creatures (≥2).

Is that right or does the rule mean “for every step”, with Sizes 1/4, 1/2, and 1 being three steps?

Fortune Points

Happy New Year!

Fortune Points have become much broader in terms of how they can be used, and how often they can be used, if one uses the optional Rules from Forbidden Rules. Even with the possible uses from the Core Rules, one could infer much more a Fortune Point can do simply by granting a negative of the options:

- Grant 2 boons to another creature – Inflict 2 banes to another creature.

- Change a d6 result to a 6 – Change a d6 result to a 1.

But: I actually like the rather narrow uses of the core rules. It means that Fortune is something that makes your (meaning the PCs) actions better, not the actions of other people (NPCs) worse. This way, they can only be used when the PCs are proactive, not as a passive help.

If every PC can only have Fortune or not (rather than having a pool), the Players are more likely to spend their Fortune.

I really like that Fortune thus encourages proactive play. And as a GM, I can use it as a form of encouragement and instant-rewards. You found a secret door because you took the time to actually listen to my description of the room? Here’s some Fortune for you!

But what do you think? Do you like your Fortune as a pool? Do you let your players use Fortune in a broader way than I do?

Core Rules Errata — Fight with Anything

All the errata has been incorporated into the Core Rules PDF, except for Fight with Anything. Is this an oversight or was this intentional?

Thanks!

One of the results on the Madness table is “Revelation”. It says you permanently gain a boon on all Will challenge rolls to resist gaining Insanity. If a character gains Revelation twice, are the effects cumulative? Do they get two boons then?

Thanks!

In the Audacious Fortune expansion, one possibility of expending Fortune is to change any d6 to a 1. When using this on banes, does this mean that I change one of the d6s I roll to a one, or does this mean that I can change the end result of the banes to a 1?

Example: I make a challenge roll with two banes. I roll a 11 on my d20 and a 3 and a 5 on my banes. I see two possibilities:

1) My end result is an 8. I change the 5 on my banes to a 1, leaving the 3 as my highest roll, which will be subtracted from my d20 result.

2) My end result is a 10. My banes show a 5, which I then change to a 1.

Thanks a lot!

Armor and Carrying Limit

Does armor count as one item (including all the other wearables) or as two items (as heavy clothing) in regards to the carrying limit of a character? Does it count in addition to all the other wearables (like clothing and rings and such) or are all those put together?

Thanks!
Wait while more posts are being loaded