Cover photo
Verified local business
Dead Broke Farm
Horse Riding School
Today 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM
3 followers|751,682 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
6921 Wildlife Trail Raleigh, NC 27613
6921 Wildlife TrailUSNorth CarolinaRaleigh27613
Horse Riding School, Horseback Riding Service
Horse Riding School
Horseback Riding Service
Horse Rental Service
Today 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Sunday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMMonday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMTuesday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMWednesday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMThursday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMFriday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PMSaturday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM
Horseback Riding: guided trail rides, riding lessons, pony rides, summer camp, birthday parties, and overnight camping trips. More than 10 miles of wooded trails. Horses for sale. Open year-round.
Google+ URL
Have them in circles
3 people
Classic Equine Equipment's profile photo
Rebekah Moore's profile photo
Sarah Amaya's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
202 reviews
5 star
121 reviews
4 star
26 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
6 reviews
1 star
43 reviews
"Highly recommended for anyone who is interested in horseback riding."
"My 6-year old boy attended a 1-week summer camp there and really loved it."
"Totally not for a novice rider of someone who does not know how to ride a horse."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Robert Wiesendanger
3 weeks ago
My staying on the farm was excellent. I come from Switzerland and my reservation was a risk because I had no experience in horse riding and it was also not possible to verify the farm first. Nevertheless I got more than I have expected. I spent 3 days on the farm with a lot of horse riding on an easy to ride horse and I had also the opportunity to do some farm work. Many thanks to the whole team for my wonderful staying on the farm. For certain next spring I will come back!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Thanks, Robert, for being so kind as to post a review online about your recent experience at our farm. We look forward to riding with you again in the Spring!
Heather Hargrove
a month ago
"My daughter loved it she loved rideing on stormy and she liked the guide carla very much and she liked the other riders. :) she likes dead broke farm alot.
Brook Terran
4 weeks ago
We went to DBF for a special fall event and were incredibly disappointed. There was no organization or structure. We spent the first 30 minutes wandering around watching staff feed the animals - when we later asked when the pony rides would begin, the staff had to go find someone who knew. The answer ended up being... whenever the staff member who would be in charge showed up. At this point, we just left. No one was rude to us, but we paid for services that weren't delivered. If all activities weren't going to be available during the full 4 hours of the event, then they should have had a schedule for when the different activities would take place so people could plan accordingly.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Brook, my staff were aware of the schedule, and the event was organized. Food was served first to keep it hot. The bonfire was started before 7pm, and the handled rides began at that time and continued until all the little children had gone home. If you were disappointed, you should've directed your complain to a staff member so that your concerns could've been addressed real time. So we did deliver on everything that was committed to our customers. You just didn't stay long enough to enjoy it.
Andrea Derler's profile photo
Andrea Derler
4 months ago
My 6-year old boy attended a 1-week summer camp there and really loved it. The farm is in a beautiful area, the horses are very calm and the kids take hourly trips where they ride through the forest. The people who work there are caring and friendly, and we got a real "farm-feeling" there. They have mini-horses and large horses and kids learn how to behave around them and told us different "stories" of horses' character every day. If your child likes nature and animals - definitely recommend as a day-trip or a summer camp.
• • •
Neel Skye
a month ago
Word of caution. This place can be dangerous and could be a bad experience especially if you dont have experience in horseback riding. They sometimes put most inexperience riders and children on blind horses which is absolutely not advisable. The poor horses have only one eye and can barely see and have problems trusting a novice stranger and intermittently will be adamant and non responsive to your instructions because they don't trust you. They make horses follow each other and if the horse ahead of you decides to act up everyone in the back will get affected. There were 2 such accidents during my trail wherein the lead horse kicked a partially blind horse behind. In fact I felt bad about the horse and the way she was being treated. She could barely see with one eye and was being ridden by an inexperienced rider, struggling though make it through the narrow spaces between the trees and getting kicked by a draft horse in front of her. The rider was an inexperienced child and a scared. Totally not for a novice rider of someone who does not know how to ride a horse. If you should still visit this place avoid riding a blind horse.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Neel, we don't have ANY blind horses on our farm, but we do have 2 that have had to have one eye removed: one due to an injury and one due to an infection that was unresponsive to treatment. One of those horses, Stormy, is one of our very best, safest kids' horse, and the children argue over who will get to ride him at camp. Horses are herd animals much like deer or birds, which means they are very social so they "follow the leader", are flight animals, and have a hierarchical position in the herd. Just because they have been domesticated doesn't mean that they aren't still herd oriented. We train our horses to be as safe as humanly possible, but the rider does need to participate and at least attempt to give them some guidance. Otherwise, they will do what comes naturally. At the end of the day, we can't ride the horse for them. And if we could, it would be no different than the hobby horses at the carnival - mechanical and boring. My suggestion to you would be this: learn about about horses before trying to ride one. We provide riding instruction prior to the ride, but clearly we can't cover every possible scenario in 10 minutes. Lessons in a more controlled environment might also be a better strategy for the more timid riders. We are a trail riding outfit. We ride on wooded trails out in the open. It's much more scenic and interesting than ring riding, but I guess it's not for everyone.
Holly Frederick's profile photo
Holly Frederick
a month ago
I loved it! Carla gave me free ice cream and a free horse back ride. I'm sure none of y'all got ice cream. I am better thank you.😏🏇
Amy Correa's profile photo
Amy Correa
a week ago
If you want hands off riding, this may not be for you, but if you want to have some involvement with steering your horse it's perfect. The horses are well behaved but sometimes you need to help them stay clear of trees or not get too close to the others, slow down, etc. The guides are great too!
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thanks, Amy, for sharing your opinion online. We do offer private rides for riders who want a little more freedom and a more adventurous ride. On those rides, we can do some trotting and cantering as well. In other words, private rides allow us the flexibility to ride at your level without having to consider less experienced riders in a group setting. So if you return to ride with us again, you may want to opt for a private ride so you can feel the wind blowing through your hair as we canter through some of the straighter stretches of our trails where it is safe to go faster. Yee haw!
LPS M&M's profile photo
4 months ago
My 10 year old daughter had a great experience at DBHF summer camp. The staff is friendly and made her feel comfortable during her time there. She loved all the animals that are on the farm and learned quite a bit about riding and horse care. See you again next summer Dead Broke Farm!


Have them in circles
3 people
Classic Equine Equipment's profile photo
Rebekah Moore's profile photo
Sarah Amaya's profile photo

Dead Broke Farm hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.