Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Dead Broke Farm
Horse Riding School
Today 8AM–6PM
3 followers|800,992 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
6921 Wildlife Trail Raleigh, NC 27613
6921 Wildlife TrailUSNorth CarolinaRaleigh27613
Horse Riding School, Horseback Riding Service
Horse Riding School
Horseback Riding Service
Stable
Horse Rental Service
Today 8AM–6PM
Saturday 8AM–6PMSunday 8AM–6PMMonday 8AM–6PMTuesday 8AM–6PMWednesday 8AM–6PMThursday 8AM–6PMFriday 8AM–6PM
Horseback Riding: guided trail rides, riding lessons, pony rides, summer camp, birthday parties, and overnight camping trips. More than 10 miles of wooded trails. Horses for sale. Open year-round.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
3 people
Classic Equine Equipment's profile photo
Rebekah Moore's profile photo
Sarah Amaya's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
3.9
205 reviews
5 star
122 reviews
4 star
26 reviews
3 star
6 reviews
2 star
7 reviews
1 star
44 reviews
"It was the best Horse riding experience I have ever had!"
"My 6-year old boy attended a 1-week summer camp there and really loved it."
"I was given this beautiful, well taken care of draft horse named Amber."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Tamara Razai
3 weeks ago
I took my daughter to dead broke farms to ride recently. She immediately fell in love! The ride was great! Carla the owner was wonderful! She answered all of my daughters questions and made her feel so comfortable. All of the other staff was great too. They are all very knowledgeable about the horses. You can tell that they love what they do. My daughter now wants to volunteer there every weekend. She may even be going to go to camp there on track out. So if you are looking for a great place to go for a ride and have a little fun, Dead Broke Farms is the place. After reading some of these other reviews, I'm a little surprised! Our experience was wonderful!!!!! I guess you can't please everyone!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Thanks so much for bringing your daughter to ride and volunteer. She's a pleasure to work and ride with.
Robert Wiesendanger
3 months ago
My staying on the farm was excellent. I come from Switzerland and my reservation was a risk because I had no experience in horse riding and it was also not possible to verify the farm first. Nevertheless I got more than I have expected. I spent 3 days on the farm with a lot of horse riding on an easy to ride horse and I had also the opportunity to do some farm work. Many thanks to the whole team for my wonderful staying on the farm. For certain next spring I will come back!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Thanks, Robert, for being so kind as to post a review online about your recent experience at our farm. We look forward to riding with you again in the Spring!
Brook Terran
3 months ago
We went to DBF for a special fall event and were incredibly disappointed. There was no organization or structure. We spent the first 30 minutes wandering around watching staff feed the animals - when we later asked when the pony rides would begin, the staff had to go find someone who knew. The answer ended up being... whenever the staff member who would be in charge showed up. At this point, we just left. No one was rude to us, but we paid for services that weren't delivered. If all activities weren't going to be available during the full 4 hours of the event, then they should have had a schedule for when the different activities would take place so people could plan accordingly.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Brook, my staff were aware of the schedule, and the event was organized. Food was served first to keep it hot. The bonfire was started before 7pm, and the handled rides began at that time and continued until all the little children had gone home. If you were disappointed, you should've directed your complain to a staff member so that your concerns could've been addressed real time. So we did deliver on everything that was committed to our customers. You just didn't stay long enough to enjoy it.
Holly Frederick's profile photo
Holly Frederick
3 months ago
I loved it! Carla gave me free ice cream and a free horse back ride. I'm sure none of y'all got ice cream. I am better thank you.😏🏇
Bianca S
a month ago
My family had the opportunity to visit Dead Broke Farm last month for the first time. We had a great time and both my kids (ages 5 and 7) gave their experience a "high five." Neither one had ever been on a horse before, so I must admit, I was a bit anxious. The staff did a great job picking out the right horses for my kids. My daughter and husband signed up for the 1 hour trail ride. It was my husband who actually discovered Dead Broke Farm and took our entire family. He was very happy when he found out that Dead Broke Farm provides YGuide patches (an added bonus for all those who are part of the Yguide program). My husband made the reservations ahead of time to insure we would have a spot. My daughter even got to brush her horse before the ride and pet her horse (which she thought was really neat). I had opted to have my son go on the 30 minute guided trail ride since he is only 5. His guide was awesome. He was very patient with my son and explained exactly what would happen on his first ride. The guide got my son settled onto the horse and then took the reins and guided him down the trail. I got to walk along as well. It was a very fun and positive experience for my son. I was glad and surprised that he was not in the least afraid. When the ride was over, he wanted to go again. Luckily, my kids had talked me into bringing some apples with us for the horses. I was not sure if we would be allowed to give these to the horses, but my daughter's guide cut up the apples for us so the kids could give the horses their treat. Apparently, the horses really like their treats. I would highly recommend Dead Broke Farms to anyone with kids and beginner riders. You can't go wrong with any of the horses. If you tell the staff up front your riding experience (or lack thereof) they will assign you a horse that will fit your needs. The property seemed very large to me considering it is in the middle of Raleigh. Plenty of trails and places to ride. We are looking forward to going back.
• • •
Neel Skye
3 months ago
Word of caution. This place can be dangerous and could be a bad experience especially if you dont have experience in horseback riding. They sometimes put most inexperience riders and children on blind horses which is absolutely not advisable. The poor horses have only one eye and can barely see and have problems trusting a novice stranger and intermittently will be adamant and non responsive to your instructions because they don't trust you. They make horses follow each other and if the horse ahead of you decides to act up everyone in the back will get affected. There were 2 such accidents during my trail wherein the lead horse kicked a partially blind horse behind. In fact I felt bad about the horse and the way she was being treated. She could barely see with one eye and was being ridden by an inexperienced rider, struggling though make it through the narrow spaces between the trees and getting kicked by a draft horse in front of her. The rider was an inexperienced child and a scared. Totally not for a novice rider of someone who does not know how to ride a horse. If you should still visit this place avoid riding a blind horse.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Neel, we don't have ANY blind horses on our farm, but we do have 2 that have had to have one eye removed: one due to an injury and one due to an infection that was unresponsive to treatment. One of those horses, Stormy, is one of our very best, safest kids' horse, and the children argue over who will get to ride him at camp. Horses are herd animals much like deer or birds, which means they are very social so they "follow the leader", are flight animals, and have a hierarchical position in the herd. Just because they have been domesticated doesn't mean that they aren't still herd oriented. We train our horses to be as safe as humanly possible, but the rider does need to participate and at least attempt to give them some guidance. Otherwise, they will do what comes naturally. At the end of the day, we can't ride the horse for them. And if we could, it would be no different than the hobby horses at the carnival - mechanical and boring. My suggestion to you would be this: learn about about horses before trying to ride one. We provide riding instruction prior to the ride, but clearly we can't cover every possible scenario in 10 minutes. Lessons in a more controlled environment might also be a better strategy for the more timid riders. We are a trail riding outfit. We ride on wooded trails out in the open. It's much more scenic and interesting than ring riding, but I guess it's not for everyone.
Heather Hargrove
3 months ago
"My daughter loved it she loved rideing on stormy and she liked the guide carla very much and she liked the other riders. :) she likes dead broke farm alot.
Amy Correa's profile photo
Amy Correa
2 months ago
If you want hands off riding, this may not be for you, but if you want to have some involvement with steering your horse it's perfect. The horses are well behaved but sometimes you need to help them stay clear of trees or not get too close to the others, slow down, etc. The guides are great too!
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks, Amy, for sharing your opinion online. We do offer private rides for riders who want a little more freedom and a more adventurous ride. On those rides, we can do some trotting and cantering as well. In other words, private rides allow us the flexibility to ride at your level without having to consider less experienced riders in a group setting. So if you return to ride with us again, you may want to opt for a private ride so you can feel the wind blowing through your hair as we canter through some of the straighter stretches of our trails where it is safe to go faster. Yee haw!

Stream

Have them in circles
3 people
Classic Equine Equipment's profile photo
Rebekah Moore's profile photo
Sarah Amaya's profile photo

Dead Broke Farm hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.