Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Charles Gabus Ford
Ford Dealer
Today 8:00 am – 8:00 pm
45 followers|1,104,724 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Save $10 with our alignment special! http://bit.ly/1GLhIPd
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Check out what Consumer Reports had to say about the 2015 Ford Edge!
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Heading out on a road trip? Take advantage of our service offers to ensure your vehicle is in tip-top shape! http://bit.ly/1GLhIPd
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
The up and coming #FordGT is undeniably striking! 
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Shelby GT350 raises the bar significantly over the already very capable 2015 Mustang GT performance pack!
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
If you're going out to celebrate Cinco de Mayo today, make sure you designate a driver! 
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
45 people
Stephannie Sholar's profile photo
Brianna Shilling's profile photo
nunu nugraha's profile photo
Rob Vogel's profile photo
Shawn Hamilton's profile photo
elodie jovial's profile photo
360tuners's profile photo
Amy Johnson's profile photo
Luis Rosario's profile photo

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Arrive in style. #FordEdge 
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
The 2015 Fiesta is one of KBB's "10 Coolest Cars Under $18,000"!
For the second straight year, Ford Fiesta has been named to kbb.com’s list of its 10 Coolest Cars Under $18,000.
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Watch as Toby Keith meets the future of tough!
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
The 2016 Mustang was made with the fans in mind.
For the 2016 model year, Mustang fastback and convertible welcome the return of the iconic California Special Package and Pony Package —two iconic Mustang trim levels made popular in the 1960s.
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Enjoy the sunset. #FordMustang
1
Add a comment...

Charles Gabus Ford

Shared publicly  - 
 
Come to the dark side. #MayTheFourthBeWithYou 
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
4545 Merle Hay Rd Des Moines, IA 50310
4545 Merle Hay RoadUSIowaDes Moines50310
(515) 270-0707gabusford.com
Ford Dealer, Auto Parts Store
Ford Dealer
Auto Parts Store
Used Car Dealer
Car Rental
Truck Dealer
Truck Repair Shop
Auto Body Shop
Today 8:00 am – 8:00 pm
Monday 8:00 am – 8:00 pmTuesday 8:00 am – 8:00 pmWednesday 8:00 am – 8:00 pmThursday 8:00 am – 8:00 pmFriday 8:00 am – 6:00 pmSaturday 8:00 am – 6:00 pmSunday Closed
Charles Gabus Ford in Des Moines, IA, also serving near Urbandale, Clive, Waukee, Ankeny, West Des Moines, Altoona, Grimes and Johnston, IA is proud to be an automotive leader in our community. Since opening our doors over 60 years ago, Charles Gabus Ford has maintained our solid commitment to our customers, offering a wide selection of cars and trucks and ease of purchase.

Whether you are in the market to purchase a new or pre-owned vehicle, if you need financing options, we'll help you find a car loan that works for you! Even if you have bad credit, or are a first time car buyer, you can trust that Charles Gabus Ford will professionally fit you into the automobile of your choice.

Charles Gabus Ford has a professionally managed Service, Collision and Parts Departments open extended hours to accommodate our customers' busy schedules; and, as always, Charles Gabus Ford offers competitive pricing for your automotive maintenance needs. Please feel free to contact us at (800) 934-2287 if you have any questions or comments.

Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
45 people
Stephannie Sholar's profile photo
Brianna Shilling's profile photo
nunu nugraha's profile photo
Rob Vogel's profile photo
Shawn Hamilton's profile photo
elodie jovial's profile photo
360tuners's profile photo
Amy Johnson's profile photo
Luis Rosario's profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
74 reviews
5 star
51 reviews
4 star
5 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
12 reviews
"Good experience with my salesman and finance department."
5 reviewers
"I surprised myself and made the decision to purchase a new vehicle that day."
2 reviewers
"Helpful, respectful service advisors."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Roger Smith
in the last week
This was our second purchase from Charles Gabus Ford Our sales person, Austin Parks, actually listened to what our needs were. He was very helpful in finding the vehicle that would work for us. This is our second purchase at your location and I will definitely recommend Austin Parks to everyone. Brenda Bracewell in financing was a great help as well, she took the time to explain everything to us, unlike our first vehicle purchase. She made sure we understood what we were paying for. GREAT JOB to the BOTH of them! And a special Hello to Jim Bintner, if it wasn't for him, we wouldn't have purchased our first vehicle. He is a wonderful person. GREAT JOB TEAM!!!!
• • •
Jody Miller's profile photo
Jody Miller
2 months ago
My 1st New Vehicle was purchased from Charles Gabus Ford in 1994. I have since purchased 3 more vehicles over the years. My one now is a 2014 Ford Fiesta. I went from a Ford F-150 to this Fun-Loving, Economical, Great Car. (I've been a Ford Truck Lover for years!) For some reason? I wanted a car. It took me quite awhile to become accustomed to not hopping up in my Truck. I Do Miss it. But? .. Got to love my Ford Fiesta ! So far? So Good ! I traded in my Ford F-150 in July 2014 and I've already reached 7000 miles on my Fiesta. The Service Dept. is Wonderful. All Staff are the best! I've Never Felt Pressured in all my purchases and some people? Complain there is not a Sales Person around. Well? I kind of like that part. I Do research on Charles Gabus Fords Website before I am interested in another vehicle but with all to choose from? I Like being able to "Look Around" before I am approached. Although I give Jeff Turner a holler when I'm ready to make a decision. Thank You Charles Gabus for all these years of Excellent Service. Excellent Quality Vehicles, From Start to Finish. (Sales, Purchase, and Loan Dept.) Thank You for Quality Assurance!
• • •
Raena Gordon
2 months ago
Larry Bohall did a phenomenal job as our sales rep, and we had a very smooth experience in purchasing our truck from start to finish. Larry even went above and beyond by reaching out to us after the sale. We would highly recommend him.
John Wood
6 months ago
Good experience with my salesman and finance department. Everything went smoothly, and I got the vehicle I had my eye on for a decent price. Not exactly how much I wanted to pay but it was pretty close. Financing was easy, but I have good credit and they had everything ready to go when I took delivery.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
John, thank you for your kind words and congratulations on your new car! We are very happy to hear that it was a smooth process for you as we know buying a car takes time out of your day. Enjoy your new vehicle and make sure to follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook to get a hold of the latest deals. James Bintner - GM jbintner@charlesgabus.com 515-270-0707
Kristi Michelle
2 months ago
This review is about the Charles Gabus service department. I was in Des Moines for the weekend from Omaha when I had some car troubles - first my key was stuck in the ignition and second my power steering belt had slipped off. All this happened on a Sunday and the only repair place open Sunday couldn't get my car done that day so I decided to try CG on Monday. The first reason I was highly annoyed with CG is that it took SEVEN HOURS before they even looked at my car. I was there at 7 a.m. Monday morning and told them I really needed to get back to Omaha that day so was hopeful it would be done quickly. I have taken my car to Ford dealers and other mechanics in Omaha and have never had it take seven hours to get my car looked at. I realize they could have been busy but it seemed excessively long to me. So once they started working on my car it took about 2 hours to fix my belt. But when CG called to tell me about the belt they said that the reason my key wouldn't come out is because my gear shifter was bad and that I needed a new one for $350. I told them do not replace the gear shifter, just fix the belt so I can get back to Omaha. Doing a quick Google search you'll see keys getting stuck in the ignition of '06/'07 Fusions is pretty common and simply cleaning out gunk that may have built up in the console will fix the problem. So that's exactly what I did once I got back to Omaha, took off the center console panel, cleaned out the gunk, and problem fixed! It seems very dishonest for CG to tell me I need a $350 part when the fix is simple and seems pretty common. The last problem I have with CG is I was over-charged for a 1/2 worth of labor - I was charged for 2 1/2 hours of labor even though between the time they called to say they were going to start working on my car to the time they called to say my car was finished was 2 hours. I did question them on this while at the repair shop but they said the labor hours were correct and I needed to get back to Omaha so I didn't have much of a choice. When labor is in the area of $125 a hour that extra 1/2 hour charge for labor isn't negligible. Don't expect fast service. Don't expect honest service. Question everything they say you "need" fixed and trust Google over Charles Gabus service department. I'd recommend driving to Omaha and use Ford dealers here.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Kris, I would like to personally apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with our service department. It is unfortunate to hear that our team was running behind schedule with the automotive work performed on your vehicle. I can assure you that the negative details you’ve mentioned do not reflect our typical business practices nor do they live up to our professional standards. We hope to gain the opportunity to sincerely make it up to you. Please feel free to reach out to me personally. James Bintner - GM jbintner@charlesgabus.com 515-270-0707
Shane Cherniss's profile photo
Shane Cherniss
6 months ago
This review is regarding the service department at Charles Gabus Ford. In May of 2014, I could not open my driver and passenger side door from the outside. I took my car to Charles Gabus Ford and they replaced my driver side and passenger side door latches and locking assemblies to resolve the issue. Less than five months later, I could no longer open my driver side door. I returned my vehicle to Charles Gabus Ford to determine why this problem had reoccurred. They informed me the reinforcement of the door had broken and I would have to pay $300+ ($50 part, $250 labor) to repair it. Here is a little background concerning the part know as the door reinforcement: The door reinforcement is prone to breaking as it is made out of cheap materials. This will be the fourth time I have had my door reinforcement replaced on my Ford. I am not the only Ford owner with this problem. This is a very common problem other owners are experiencing. Any time on any Ford websites will reveal this prevalent issue. As a top tier Ford Service shop, I'm surprised they did not recommend the replacement the door reinforcements at the time of service, which as I said are known to break. When I had questioned Robert Kritenbrink (Service Advisor) concerning this, Robert informed me they only repair what is broken and do not recommend any preventative care to eliminate any future issues. Upon elevating the issue to the Service Shop Manager, he refused to do the right by the customer and replace the part at cost. Had they decided to replace the part at the time of my service in May, life would be grand I wouldn't be here typing this review. I instead would continue to praise their service shop to my friends and family. However, with their vast knowledge of Fords they made no effort to remedy a potential future problem at the time of service. At the end of the day, I can not trust a service shop who is not looking out for the best interest of their customers. The expectation is a Ford Service Shop is knowledgeable on the make and models of Fords and will recommend preventative care for known issues before they occur.
• • •
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Shane, I sincerely apologize for the experience that you had at our dealership. Our goal is to provide exceptional service to every single customer. So I do thank you for taking the time to bring these issues to our attention. This will help us improve our procedures in any way that we can to provide better service going forward. I would like the opportunity to speak with you to work on resolving this issue. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. James Bintner - GM jbintner@charlesgabus.com 515-270-0707
Rob Rose's profile photo
Rob Rose
3 months ago
Really disappointed with the service department and policies. The staff isn't exactly rude, but they aren't nice and/or helpful. Charging someone 89.95 to run "Diagnostics" or "Plugging a machine in under the dash" shouldn't cost nearly $90. It's hard to deal with that with sub-par customer service. Every other place i've taken a car to in town will look your car over before charging you to look for an issue. I've taken my vehicle there for nearly 4 years because it was convenient, I may look for a different place for service. I will say the sales department is great, I'm just very disappointed in the service department. Tye sad part is you see the sales guy once every 6 years. You see service 3 times a year!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Rob, on behalf of our team here at Charles Gabus Ford, I sincerely apologize for your bad experience. I do, however, really appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. It is our goal to ensure that every customer leaves with a positive experience. And this feedback will help us improve our policies going forward. I would love the opportunity to speak with you to resolve this issue. Please email me at your earliest convenience. James Bintner - GM jbintner@charlesgabus.com 515-270-0707
Holly Hartling's profile photo
Holly Hartling
7 months ago
I bought a new Explorer from Ford, but had to pick a dealership. I randomly picked Chaz and it was a huge mistake. You get "free oil changes for life" but they neglect to mention that you need your tires rotated every time you're in there, or you get a paternalistic postcard reminding you that you didn't spend the $20 on the rotation. Then, it's a small thing, but hey don't wash your car when it's in for service or repair. It's a small thing, but it really bothers me that they got the sale of an overpriced vehicle without doing ANY work and they can't even throw that in? They did at my last dealer. DO NOT use them for body repair. I had a minor fender bender and it took a MONTH to fix it. Then, when I got the car back, it wasn't driving right, and it turns out that they hadn't fixed it all, and it was one of those things where if I hadn't noticed it, it could have resulted in a disaster. SO, I had to get ANOTHER rental car. Then the rental car they lent me smelled like an adult diaper of a homeless person who won a chili dog eating contest. 3 rental cars later and I realized I will NEVER go to Chaz willingly again. Also, their waiting room sucks, they always have some terrible show blasting and the restrooms are right there next to where you sit, and dirty. They never called me or sent update photos at ANY point while I was having the repairs done, I had to hound them for answers. All in all, Buy from Dewey and get your repairs done at FAUST.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Holly, I am concerned by your review and want you to know that the issues you highlighted will be addressed. Your satisfaction is extremely important to me and our company. In order to properly solve this, I will need to speak with you in greater detail about your visit so we can nail down all important details and solve them accordingly. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. Hope to hear from you soon. James Bintner - GM jbintner@charlesgabus.com 515-270-0707