It would be good if this were able to be disabled. This feature has the potential to be abused by Google, and — after all — I am in control of my phone (or at least, should be).
If I want to trash/brick/burn my phone by running malware, that's my responsibility to do/not do, and ultimately my choice.
The primary problem is that people at large are stupid, and rely on others to make decisions for them. (I work in tech support, and rather imaginably, have by and large lost my faith in humanity.) By not making such decisions, you force them to assume the driver seat and take responsibility.