Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Wyoming Anglers
Fishing Charter
Today 6AM–8PM
22 followers|137,596 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5625 CY Ave Casper, WY 82604
5625 CY AvenueUSWyomingCasper82604
(307) 267-5161wyominganglers.com
Fishing Charter, Fishing Club
Fishing Charter
Fishing Club
Fishing Store
Today 6AM–8PM
Saturday 6AM–8PMSunday 6AM–8PMMonday 6AM–8PMTuesday 6AM–8PMWednesday 6AM–8PMThursday 6AM–8PMFriday 6AM–8PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
5.0
36 reviews
5 star
36 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
No reviews
1 star
No reviews
"The cabins were also brand new and was a great location."
"This was, hands down, the best guided float experience I have ever had."
"Gave good instruction when needed, but generally let us fish and helped out."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Upload public photo
All reviews
Samuel McCracken's profile photo
Samuel McCracken
4 months ago
My brother and I enjoyed a wonderful half-day float down the North Platte with Wyoming Anglers. Our guide, Luke, was professional, friendly, down-to-earth, and found the fish for us! He kept us rigged up with the right flies and put us in the right spot on the river. He was a good coach and you could tell he not only knew his job well but loved it too. I was very pleased with my experience with Wyoming Anglers and highly recommend them for those who want a great float trip, with great fish, in a great spot, and with great people. Thanks!
• • •
Gordan Wells's profile photo
Gordan Wells
4 months ago
Just finished three boat trip to the Bighorn River. Luke, Rob, and Austin were great. I fished with Austin. He maneuvered us into prime positions and backrowed many times for repeat runs. What I really appreciated was his teaching the technique for streamer fishing and we were rewarded with a 20" brown. WOW! Rainbows were big and healthy. Great experience.
Brian Mehmen's profile photo
Brian Mehmen
5 months ago
I have had hunting and fishing guides all over the country and Wyoming Anglers has to be one of the hardest working guides I have ever used. His knowledge of the Mile and the Reef were outstanding and we were in fish from the time we got on the water till left the water.Thanks for a great experience Luke! Brian Spearfish Sd
Chester Shans's profile photo
Chester Shans
5 months ago
I booked a trip for myself and 3 friends with Wyoming Anglers in mid-August when the North Platte had very challenging fishing conditions. Due to the warmer weather and lower water flows, the river conditions were not optimal. Our day started with cool temperatures that were projected to rise to the low 90’s and to be honest I didn't have high expectations for this trip. Our boat was guided by Luke, the owner of Wyoming Anglers. Luke knows the North Platte like the back of his hand. As we floated, he positioned the boat close to the sections of the river offering the best chances for rewards. Throughout the day, Luke adjusted strike indicators, weights and flies to keep up with the changing conditions of the river. Mind you that both of our guides were doing this at the same time they were manning the oars. I have to admit that I was the "problem child" on our boat as I had multiple tangles and lost at least 3 entire weights, flies and tippet rigs. Luke very graciously untangled and/or or re-rigged my rod as he maintained his calm demeanor all the while offering, tips, advice and encouragement. Two of my fishing friends were in a boat guided by Rob and they reported that he is a great guide who, like Luke, knows the river well. He offered casting, knot tying and other fishing advice along with making the frequent adjustments to the fly fishing rigs. Rob is a very professional, friendly, competent, light hearted and hardworking guide. He was reported by one of my friends to be “Very patient with novice anglers (me!!!)”. He has an interesting background that includes holding 2 masters’ degrees and doing counselling for troubled kids. At the end of the day we all caught beautiful, very sizeable fish and agreed that we had learned a lot and had a great time. What’s not to like about Wyoming Anglers and these guides? We had a friendly rivalry between our two boats and I’m happy to report that “our” boat won. What was the payoff? A soft serve cone from the gas station in Medicine Bow on the way home, paid for by the losing boat team. If you are a rookie or a seasoned fly fisher and you want to float the North Platte, we all would recommend Wyoming Anglers as the shop to hire. We had an absolute blast!
• • •
Zachary Sudman's profile photo
Zachary Sudman
3 months ago
Best float trip I have been on! We caught loads of fish, and learned more in a day than I have in years. Luke worked his butt off changing weights and depths every hole, and back-rowing to hit the good ones over and over. He was even able to coach my buddy into catching fish after fish which was no simple task.
lplozada's profile photo
lplozada
7 months ago
I just got back from an excellent day on the North Platte River with Wyoming Anglers. I was gun-shy about booking a full day float after experiencing several underwhelming trips with other companies in other Western states. Accordingly, I initially booked just a half day trip, only to find the fishing so good that I asked if I could extend for a full day float. They were flexible and allowed me pay the difference to continue on for the remainder of the day without hesitation. The extended trip was worth it, as I continued hooking plenty of big rainbows (several in the 20" range). My guide, Austen, made all of the difference in ensuring a successful trip that resulted in 21 fish landed with just one angler (me) on the boat. He knew the fish and the flies they would take, tailoring our tackle and tactics perfectly. We had a steady catch rate all day despite extremely high and challenging (6,000+ cfs) flows. This was, hands down, the best guided float experience I have ever had. In short, I would absolutely recommend Wyoming Anglers if you really want a great time fishing the North Platte River.
• • •
James Morgan's profile photo
James Morgan
10 months ago
On 3-9-16 Luke guided myself and my brother in law down the Platte River starting at Grey Reef. I will recommend him and his business to everyone. My 40 years of fishing have been full of fun but this one tops them all. I lost count we caught so many fish. His patience is amazing, his teachings are incredible and his company was a blessing. What a great Godly Man. Thank you Luke!
Frank Lallas's profile photo
Frank Lallas
11 months ago
Having just spent two days floating the Grey Reef section of the North Platte and the fabled Miracle Mile with Luke of Wyoming Anglers I must say that any expectations I may have had about enjoying a quality trip were were totally blown away. Luke went out of the way to to make this a great trip. He not only acted as a first class guide with intimate knowledge of both areas, but was a great coach actively working to improve my technique and ability as a fly fisherman. The fishing itself was incredible when he says you will get into a lot of fish believe him. Beautiful big fat wild rainbows. I can't remember when I have had some much fun. Wyoming Anglers Thank you so much I can't wait to get up there again. Frank Lallas
• • •

Stream

Wyoming Anglers

Shared publicly  - 
 
Testing out our new drone~ stay tuned for more awesome videos!
2
PinchedBarb Fly Fishing's profile photo
 
Sweet!
Add a comment...

Wyoming Anglers

Shared publicly  - 
 
5 Tips for Successful Nymph Fishing, by Matt Haupt

The Grey Reef is known as a nymphing paradise. The bugs that fish eat spend the vast majority of their lives in the nymph stage (if they undergo incomplete metamorphosis) or as larva (if they undergo complete metamorphosis). Whether you are imitating mayflies, stoneflies, midges, or caddis, under the surface, this type of fly fishing is referred to as nymphing, and a fly meant to represent caddis larva may still be called a nymph, although not technically correct! 

The tips outlined in this post will apply mostly to the wade fisherman using the split shot and indicator rig, the most common way to nymph fish in the United States.

This should come as no surprise, but fish are feeding under the surface the majority of the time. Even if there is no hatch coming off and no fish smacking the surface, they are still feeding.

Although these bugs spend most of their lives underwater they are generally not very good swimmers. There are many reasons for immature insects to be loose in the current such as morning, evening, and pre-hatch migrations. A dislodged nymph may float vulnerably downstream for a very long while before making contact with the bottom again. It is very common for trout to see these bugs, and this is basically the feeding opportunity you want to exploit as a nymph fisherman.

1. Adjust your length
Adjust the length of your leader between strike indicator and weight based on the speed of the current as well as the water depth. Generally the faster the current, the longer the leader. And the deeper the water, the longer the leader. This does not mean fish shallow in a slow moving pool, that pool may be very deep!
The water along the bottom of the river flows slower than the water on top due to friction and turbulence caused by the interaction of the water and the bottom structure (rocks, logs, etc). Trout need to conserve energy by using this bottom structure and consequently slower current to shield them from faster moving water. For this reason, unless you observe fish higher in the water column actively feeding on emerging insects, you want to fish right along the bottom. The general rule of thumb is to set your leader distance at 1.5 to 2 times the depth of the water.

2. Add too much weight
When youʼre first dialing in your rig for a certain spot, put your rig on the bottom by intentionally pinching on too many small pieces of weight. Then you can systematically remove weight just until you stop hitting the bottom constantly. You find the right depth faster this way as opposed to starting too light and adding weight until you are too heavy and then backing off from there!
The relationship between the length of your leader and the amount of weight you have on that leader is vital in nymph fishing. The current speed and depth along with where the fish are holding will dictate that perfect relationship. Experiment with a shorter,

heavier rig. Try a longer, lighter rig. Maybe you need to go shorter and lighter, or longer and heavier! Having fun yet?!

Fish hold in softer, slower water, too. Usually this is what is called a feeding lie and occurs when fish are, yep, feeding. When lots and lots of bugs are present in the water column it serves a trout to move into shallower, slower water such as outside seams and eddies where the main current meets softer edge type water. The current will often funnel insects into areas like this, and a fish can pick off many meals with minimal effort. Shallow water opens a fish to predation from above, but the ratio of energy gained vs energy lost is too positive to pass up. A troutʼs life is a series of potentially dangerous situations, and they must constantly weigh the hazards posed by biological imperatives such as feeding against other imperatives, such as living. A fish may be more skittish in this slack water, so be careful not to line them!

3. Get into position
You may have a beautiful, artful and accurate long distance cast, but you probably donʼt need it right now. Get as close as possible without spooking the fish. Often the most advantageous position for you to be in is off to the side and slightly below where you think a fish may be holding, not directly downstream of it. You have a high chance of putting your line right over a fish when you are directly downstream of it, which will remind them of predators, and by getting in closer you will not have so much line out that you cannot control your presentation.

4. Keep as much of your line off the water as your position will allow
“Drag” is created by the riverʼs currents, and is in a basic sense the enemy of nymph fishing. Remember how poorly a nymph can swim? Your flies should drift along at the same speed as everything else in the current, as if it were not attached to your tippet! You can mitigate the effect that conflicting currents have on your fly line by keeping as much line off the water as your position will allow. In especially close quarters you may be able to keep all of your line off the water by keeping your rod high and roughly parallel to the water. Donʼt lift too much too soon or you may drag your flies out of the correct depth and line youʼre trying to target.

Draw in slack as your indicator floats down closer to you, always pointing your rod tip in the direction of your indicator. As your indicator nears, you may need to throw an upstream mend to keep the current from forming a downstream belly in your line, and thus, creating drag. Keep following that indicator with your rod tip downstream, while also lowering your tip and reaching to extend your drift as much as possible. You can shake some of that slack through your rod tip back onto the water to further extend your dead drift. When your indicator starts to pull or swing your drag free drift is over, but donʼt recast yet! Let your indicator swing until it is fully downstream of you, which will lift your flies off the bottom and can mimic emerging insects. It is also easier to put out your next cast when the water has loaded your line beneath you.

5. Measure the water temperature
Knowing the temperature of the water can inform you on what water to fish. While some species of trout are better capable of dealing with lower oxygen levels than others, as a rule trout need cold, clean, oxygenated water to survive. As the temperature of water rises it loses itʼs capacity to carry oxygen. If warmer water delivers less oxygen to a fish it makes sense then that a fish may move to faster, steeper, more riffled and oxygenated water in this situation. Itʼs important to stop fishing when water temperatures approach 70 degrees, where a fish is stressed and using so much energy just trying to breath, let alone fighting and smiling for the camera! In very cold water approximately 40 degrees and below, a troutʼs metabolism slows down and you may find fish in deeper, slower water. Slow water means less energy lost fighting the current, and deep water means safety from dangers above.

Nymphing is not A River Runs Through It type of fishing. Sometimes itʼs even called chuck and duck fishing, but donʼt let so called dry fly purism get you down on this incredibly productive way to fish. Casting to risers is great, but ultimately what so many of us love about this sport is that we get schooled by the river, the bugs, and the fish, so adapt to the situation you are presented! Think about these tips the next time youʼre out on the river, hopefully they help you up your catch rate!

1
Add a comment...