Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Bed & Breakfast
13 followers|799,618 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
Finding peace at Volcano Rainforest Retreat
#naturelovers   #bedandbreakfast   #jungle   #travel   #hawaii  
1
Add a comment...
 
There's still time to sign up for Volcano Arts Center's hand building with clay workshop. The incredible course delves into pottery techniques before the typical wheel method. So rewarding and beautiful! #folkart   #hawaii   #vacation #pottery  
1
Add a comment...
 
Love this painting of 'Pineapples' on Kilauea Avenue!
#hawaii   #getawaytogether   #honeymoon  
1
Add a comment...
 
Hula practitioner Noe Noe Kekaualua and Ohana will be at the Hawai`i Volcanoes National Park tomorrow! If you cannot make it to this beautiful performance, be sure to check out the other Hula performance dates here:
1
Add a comment...
 
We love native flora and fauna!
(Great pic from Volcano Art Center)
#nature   #hawaii   #forest  
1
Add a comment...
 
We love to hear back from you! It makes our Monday to hear about your experience with us and on the Big Island.
1
Add a comment...
 
Just like all your friends (and favorite cat videos) we're on facebook! Like us for updates on the bed and breakfast and a look into island life.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
13 people
BedandBreakfast.com's profile photo
Bonville Lodge Pet Friendly Bed & Breakfast - Coffs Harbour's profile photo
Kathleen Golden's profile photo
Wes Faulk's profile photo
Victorian Inn Hotel's profile photo
Paula Stenberg's profile photo
Kathleen Golden's profile photo
Paula Contreras's profile photo
VI Restaurant's profile photo
 
Love this picture fog in Kīlauea Iki Crater - that's Halema‘uma‘u in the background!
1
Add a comment...
 
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is just minutes from our Volcano Bed and Breakfast. Hike, bike or drive along the crater rim of the active volcano, Kilauea, home of Pele, Hawaiian Goddess of Fire.
#dreamvacation   #getawaytogether   #nature   #naturephotography   #hawaii   #volcano  
1
Add a comment...
 
The 'Sanctuary' Not only boasts a tranquil atmosphere, but also a private bathhouse with outdoor shower and handcrafted o'furo (traditional Japanese hot tub). #relax   #vacationideas   #volcano   #hawaii   #getaway   #honeymoon  
1
Add a comment...
 
Two (of the many) incredible restaurants in Volcano Village! Perfect for an island evening
1
Add a comment...
 
Looking forward to the Volcano Arts Center First Annual Quilt Show this summer!
More info here:
http://volcanoartcenter.org/calling-all-quilters/
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
11-3832 12th St Volcano, HI 96785
11-3832 12th StreetUSHawaiiVolcano96785
(808) 985-8696volcanoretreat.com
Bed & Breakfast, Hotel
Aloha...

Volcano Rainforest Retreat Bed & Breakfast offers a casually elegant Big Island lodging getaway (Hawaii Island); four architecturally distinct private guest cottages handcrafted seamlessly into a native Hawaiian rain forest. Nestled under a lush canopy of giant tree ferns, each accommodation reflects deep respect for the wild natural beauty and emerges as a living part of the primal landscape.

Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
People
Have them in circles
13 people
BedandBreakfast.com's profile photo
Bonville Lodge Pet Friendly Bed & Breakfast - Coffs Harbour's profile photo
Kathleen Golden's profile photo
Wes Faulk's profile photo
Victorian Inn Hotel's profile photo
Paula Stenberg's profile photo
Kathleen Golden's profile photo
Paula Contreras's profile photo
VI Restaurant's profile photo
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
10 reviews
5 star
8 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
1 review
Individually decorated cottages in the rainforest, with free WiFi & an outdoor Japanese soaking tub.- Google
"Outside shower and hot tub are perfect!"
"Fabulous place to stay on the Big Island!"
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Ellen .Moore's profile photo
Ellen .Moore
a month ago
The worst experience we've ever had with a bed and breakfast, and we have been coming to Hawaii for 15 years. We paid up front for one of the guest rooms, but missed the fact that there was no shower in the room (our fault, but we thought it might be kind of fun). But then many of the reviews on other sites said that the outdoor shower was actually cold/lukewarm! That worried us, since the last thing one wants at 4000 ft is a cold outdoor shower. We posted on another site asking for feedback from the owners and heard nothing. I then emailed the owners (who had already taken the full amount for the stay in 2017) and heard back nothing. Not even a "thanks for your business, we received your question." When I finally wrote to cancel several days later after not hearing from the place that had taken hundreds of our dollars without even a polite response, we heard back, "sorry you had to cancel." When we pressed, the owners said that they had called a plumber to look into it and that's why a response took so long. Bottom line: show some Aloha. If you take people's hard-earned money and they ask a question, answer it in a timely fashion. If they cancel because you haven't even bothered to respond, do them the courtesy of refunding them the entire amount, even though your policy states otherwise. We'll be coming here for years, but would never stay at this place. Terrible customer service.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Ellen, We are very sorry for your strong dissatisfaction with any lack of customer service on our part. We regret your understandable distress due to the delays which occurred in responding to your question. Of course we could have gotten right back to you, and we certainly understand your need for clarity about the warmth of outdoor shower. Additionally, we also apologize for any inconvenience and awkwardness around the cancellation. We certainly value mutual understanding and respectful consideration in these kind of situations, and would have liked to resolve this in a more satisfying way at the time. We are a small 4 cottage bed and breakfast with a small staff. While we do not follow closely postings on other sites, we do our best to respond to email that comes directly to us. Many guests have mentioned that they enjoy the outdoor shower and o'furo hot tub. Sometimes issues which need attention do occur and we do our best to resolve them as soon as possible, as with this one. We sincerely want our guests to have their needs met and be satisfied and delighted by their stay. For over 20 years, we have enjoyed sharing our home with travelers from all over the world. We feel regretful about any lingering dissatisfaction you have. We could have gotten back to you sooner about your concerns, especially related to the concerns of previous guests. We wish we had been more aware and more understanding of your concerns when you called to cancel. Please let us know if your are open to a dialogue now, because we are sincerely interested in creating more mutual understanding, and, a more satisfying resolution. We do care about you, and our customer service.
Lou Ann Bennett's profile photo
Lou Ann Bennett
4 months ago
Fabulous place to stay on the Big Island! We loved all the awesome touches aesthetically! Great customer service too! Clean, tidy and everywhere you look is beauty to behold! Handy to jet to & fro the National Park! Loved the meditative atmosphere the most!
Joe DiPilato's profile photo
Joe DiPilato
5 years ago
this place is amazing. if you want to spend time on the east coast, stay here.
A Google User
4 years ago
amazing hideaway in lush landscape! seclusion so close to everything!
Julie Matheka's profile photo
Julie Matheka
2 months ago
What a beautiful spot. Very unique, relaxing and private. Breakfast just what we and it is a great added touch. Outside shower and hot tub are perfect!! Make sure to check out Ohelo cafe-great pizza, salads and all. We did Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour Eco-star. This is a must do. Seen lava in crater mouth! Fantastic get away. We'll recommend it to family and friends. Mark & Julie
Evan Johnson's profile photo
Evan Johnson
5 years ago
This charming place is one-of-a-kind. Quaint and comfortable, it's a unique getaway. We stayed in the Sanctuary and loved it. The frog statues all around and the awesome Japanese soaking tub sealed the deal. An amazing place!
A Google User
5 years ago
‪If you can overlook security, bugs, and germs...then you've found a great place to relax in a jungle setting. I stayed in the "sanctuary" which has no room key because there's no real door (just a sliding panel)...it's not sealed, so bugs can walk right in...found roaches near the breakfast food that they leave for you each day. Bed sheets had stains, and the room is so cluttered with hippy meditation knick-knacks, it could never be fully cleaned.‬ The shower is not attached to the room - you go outside and shower in the open jungle. The owners are going for a distinctive feel here (meditative, Japanese, retreat), and they have done a great job with it despite the above flaws. Unfortunately, it was just not the place for me.
• • •
A Google User
4 years ago
Such a serene setting and wonderful experience!