Cover photo
Verified local business
Volcano Rainforest Retreat
Bed & Breakfast
13 followers|924,422 views


#Kahaluu #Beach park on a beautiful day!
#sand   #sun   #hawaii   #beach   #beachlife   #vacation   #bigisland  
Add a comment...
Sunday is the free 'People and Lands of Kahuku' hike at the Volcanoes National Park. The beautiful guided tour explores the histories of the earliest Hawaiian people and the natural forces of the land.
More info here:
#hawaii #volcano #nps100 #naturelovers #hike #adventure #explore
Add a comment...
Incredible video of lava meeting the sea. Beautiful footage courtesy of Kalapana Cultural-Tours!
#lava #volcano #tour #naturetour #wonders #ocean #beach
Footage taken this morning on our 5am 9/27/16 Lava Boat Cruise... New breakouts on the eastern lava bench. The southern ocean entry has slowed but the...
Add a comment...
It's hard to take a bad picture of Kalapana's black sand beaches (especially at sunset)!
#sunset   #hawaii   #naturephotography   #romantic   #bedandbreakfast   #bigisland   #volcano   #sunsetlovers  
Add a comment...
Love this photograph of Onomea Falls in the Hawaii Tropical Botanical Garden. The valley is considered to be a 40-acre "natural greenhouse" and is a thriving ecosystem that supports over 2,000 tropical plants.
Learn more about this beautiful preserve here:
Add a comment...
We love the vegetarian fair at Cafe Ono in Volcano Village! Perfect for an afternoon meal in the jungle.
#freshfood #hawaiian #brunch #vacation #vegetarian #bigisland #retreat  
Add a comment...
Hawaiian culture and geology meet in the beautiful Jagger Museum. We highly recommend the insight from the exhibits, but the overlook is the true gem of the national park!
#museum #nps100 #hawaii #naturelovers #geology #science #adventure
Add a comment...
Looking to commune with nature? Check out Hawaii Magazine's recommended trails!
#hiking   #outdoors   #outdoorphotography   #nature   #hawaiian   #adventuretravel   #jungle   #volcano   #hawaii  
We’ve counted the votes from our latest HAWAII Magazine facebook ohana poll question: What’s your favorite scenic hiking trail (short or long) on the Big Island? The top vote-getters are on the pages ahead.
Add a comment...
Add a comment...
Hiking in the Niaulani forest? Here are some lovely resources courtesy of the Volcano Arts Center!
#nature   #hike   #rainforest   #ecology   #hawaii   #volcano  
Add a comment...
The Volcano Art Center is hosting a 'Soft Pastel Still Life Workshop' Saturday, September 24, from 9am -12 p.m.
Incredible Big Island artist and instructor Patti Pease Johnson will guide you through the artistic process and supply all materials for the seminar. It is sure to be a wonderful morning!
More Info here:…/
Add a comment...
The Nahuku Thurston Lava Tube is yet another natural beauty created by the Volcanoes!
#volcano   #nps100   #hawaii   #naturelovers   #rainforest   #getawaytogether  
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
11-3832 12th St Volcano, HI 96785
11-3832 12th StreetUSHawaiiVolcano96785
Bed & Breakfast, Hotel
Google+ URL

Street View

Your Activity
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
14 reviews
5 star
12 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
1 review
Individually decorated cottages in the rainforest, with free WiFi & an outdoor Japanese soaking tub.- Google
"My husband really enjoyed this place and would give it 5 stars."
"Make sure to check out Ohelo cafe-great pizza, salads and all."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
All reviews
Jessica Chin's profile photo
Jessica Chin
in the last week
My husband really enjoyed this place and would give it 5 stars. I would actually give a 4 (only because 5 stars means this place was absolutely perfect). I really appreciated Lisa, she was very helpful, likable, and accommodating. We did a lot of what she said we should do on our vacation. We really loved the unique experience we felt at this B&B because it was in a rainforest and was truly a sight to behold every day. There were a few drawbacks, but it was worth the stay. I did not enjoy how the hot water in the shower kept turning cold and I just did not want to eat any of the food after the 2nd day (it was good, but I got sick of fruits and pastries). We did not have problems with bugs and the bed was super comfortable.
• • •
Julie Matheka's profile photo
Julie Matheka
6 months ago
What a beautiful spot. Very unique, relaxing and private. Breakfast just what we and it is a great added touch. Outside shower and hot tub are perfect!! Make sure to check out Ohelo cafe-great pizza, salads and all. We did Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour Eco-star. This is a must do. Seen lava in crater mouth! Fantastic get away. We'll recommend it to family and friends. Mark & Julie
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Mark & Julie, Happy you found our B & B, the Volcano Rainforest Retreat , a unique, relaxing and private place t stay. We enjoyed the outdoor shower! Please come back when you are on the Big Island! Kathleen & Peter
Lou Ann Bennett's profile photo
Lou Ann Bennett
7 months ago
Fabulous place to stay on the Big Island! We loved all the awesome touches aesthetically! Great customer service too! Clean, tidy and everywhere you look is beauty to behold! Handy to jet to & fro the National Park! Loved the meditative atmosphere the most!
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Aloha Lou Ann, Happy you enjoyed the aesthetic touches and the beauty of the physical and meditative atmosphere here in the native Hawaiian rain forest, adjacent to the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park. Please come back when you are traveling to the Big Island! Kathleen & Peter
Joe DiPilato's profile photo
Joe DiPilato
5 years ago
this place is amazing. if you want to spend time on the east coast, stay here.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Mahalo for tuning into the amazement!
Walter Leswick's profile photo
Walter Leswick
2 months ago
Rainforest Getaway .... Unique in Hawaii! Just when we thought we'd stayed in some amazing accommodation after extensively travelling the world, "Volcano Rainforest Retreat" was an unexpected gem located on the Big Island of Hawaii. With only 4 bungalow style private cottages nestled in a lush rainforest, we were able to explore the active Volcano and quaint village atmosphere from this unique location. Much to our surprise, the temperature in Volcano was quite cool in the evenings, we even had the chance to experience the fireplace. We would like to thank our gracious hosts Peter & Kathleen who welcomed us in true Hawaiian warmth and hospitality and were always available to offer advice on dining, tourist activities and making our stay a very special one. If you're looking for a relaxed cosy secluded "home away from home" whilst exploring the Volcano region on the Big Island, you won't be disappointed! Regina & Walter
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Aloha Regina and Walter, Peter and I both so appreciate your review, with such sensitivity to our lush rainforest environment and our love of sharing it with others like you two! Happy to hear you enjoyed the unique charm of Volcano Village. Our warmest aloha, Kathleen
Ellen Moore's profile photo
Ellen Moore
5 months ago
The worst experience we've ever had with a bed and breakfast, and we have been coming to Hawaii for 15 years. We paid up front for one of the guest rooms, but missed the fact that there was no shower in the room (our fault, but we thought it might be kind of fun). But then many of the reviews on other sites said that the outdoor shower was actually cold/lukewarm! That worried us, since the last thing one wants at 4000 ft is a cold outdoor shower. We posted on another site asking for feedback from the owners and heard nothing. I then emailed the owners (who had already taken the full amount for the stay in 2017) and heard back nothing. Not even a "thanks for your business, we received your question." When I finally wrote to cancel several days later after not hearing from the place that had taken hundreds of our dollars without even a polite response, we heard back, "sorry you had to cancel." When we pressed, the owners said that they had called a plumber to look into it and that's why a response took so long. Bottom line: show some Aloha. If you take people's hard-earned money and they ask a question, answer it in a timely fashion. If they cancel because you haven't even bothered to respond, do them the courtesy of refunding them the entire amount, even though your policy states otherwise. We'll be coming here for years, but would never stay at this place. Terrible customer service.
• • •
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Ellen, We are very sorry for your strong dissatisfaction with any lack of customer service on our part. We regret your understandable distress due to the delays which occurred in responding to your question. Of course we could have gotten right back to you, and we certainly understand your need for clarity about the warmth of outdoor shower. Additionally, we also apologize for any inconvenience and awkwardness around the cancellation. We certainly value mutual understanding and respectful consideration in these kind of situations, and would have liked to resolve this in a more satisfying way at the time. We are a small 4 cottage bed and breakfast with a small staff. While we do not follow closely postings on other sites, we do our best to respond to email that comes directly to us. Many guests have mentioned that they enjoy the outdoor shower and o'furo hot tub. Sometimes issues which need attention do occur and we do our best to resolve them as soon as possible, as with this one. We sincerely want our guests to have their needs met and be satisfied and delighted by their stay. For over 20 years, we have enjoyed sharing our home with travelers from all over the world. We feel regretful about any lingering dissatisfaction you have. We could have gotten back to you sooner about your concerns, especially related to the concerns of previous guests. We wish we had been more aware and more understanding of your concerns when you called to cancel. Please let us know if your are open to a dialogue now, because we are sincerely interested in creating more mutual understanding, and, a more satisfying resolution. We do care about you, and our customer service.
Evan Johnson's profile photo
Evan Johnson
5 years ago
This charming place is one-of-a-kind. Quaint and comfortable, it's a unique getaway. We stayed in the Sanctuary and loved it. The frog statues all around and the awesome Japanese soaking tub sealed the deal. An amazing place!
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Sharing the amazing wonder here!
A Google User
6 years ago
‪If you can overlook security, bugs, and germs...then you've found a great place to relax in a jungle setting. I stayed in the "sanctuary" which has no room key because there's no real door (just a sliding panel)'s not sealed, so bugs can walk right in...found roaches near the breakfast food that they leave for you each day. Bed sheets had stains, and the room is so cluttered with hippy meditation knick-knacks, it could never be fully cleaned.‬ The shower is not attached to the room - you go outside and shower in the open jungle. The owners are going for a distinctive feel here (meditative, Japanese, retreat), and they have done a great job with it despite the above flaws. Unfortunately, it was just not the place for me.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Very sorry you had such a distressing time. We will pay attention to these issues.