Profile cover photo
Profile photo
Vicky Sedgwick
I can't imagine a world without technology ...
I can't imagine a world without technology ...
About
Posts

Post has attachment
The school year has started (or is about to) and ​#csk8 chat is back. Please join us on Twitter this week on Wed, 9/5, at 5pm PT / 6pm MT / 7pm CT / 8pm ET for the first #csk8 chat of the 2018-19 school year. Let's Get This Year Started!
Photo

Post has attachment
Are you on Facebook? We are moving this community to a Facebook Group since not many people seem to be active on Google+ these days. Please join us at https://www.facebook.com/groups/217387318971955/

You will be required to answer two questions to join the group in order to verify that you have a connection to computer science education for 5-14 year old students.

Post has attachment
Our #csk8 Twitter chats will be starting up again in September. We would love your input on when we should hold these and what topics you would like to discuss. Please complete our survey! http://bit.ly/csk82018-19

Post has attachment
Did you miss our CS Summer Road Trip chat? You can check out the archives at http://bit.ly/csk820180606 and continue the conversation here!
#csk8 Chat 20180606.pdf
#csk8 Chat 20180606.pdf
drive.google.com

Post has attachment
As we wrap up the school year, let’s talk about some topics currently showing up in #CSEd blogs & tweets. Here’s what inspired us for this chat: http://bit.ly/csk820180516inspiration Join us tonight at 5pm PT/8pm ET on Twitter for #csk8 chat!
Photo

Post has attachment
Did you miss the Using Scratch to Teach K-8 Computer Science #csk8 chat on 5/2/2018? Check out the archive at http://wke.lt/w/s/Fjdda and continue the conversations here!

Post has attachment
Did you miss our #csk8 discussion on how can we help K-8 students correct common coding misconceptions. Check out the archive at http://bit.ly/csk820180418 and continue the discussion here.
Photo

Post has attachment
Did you miss our April 4th #csk8 Sliding For Home Chat? You can check out the archive at http://bit.ly/csk820180404 and continue the conversation here!
#csk8 Chat 20180404
#csk8 Chat 20180404
drive.google.com

Post has attachment
Did you miss our Common Misconceptions in K-8 Computer Science #csk8 chat on March 21st? Check out the archive at http://bit.ly/csk820180321
Photo

Post has attachment
Wednesday night we had a great discussion about how Debugging & Troubleshooting are Powerful Ideas! Yes, Bugs Are Good!! Did you miss it? Do you want to continue the conversation? Here were the questions:
Q1: How do your Ss react when their code does not do what they expected? How do you respond when Ss ask for help w bugs? Does it depend on age/grade?
Q2: “The computer has a bug” vs “I got it wrong”-- How do we help students to cultivate a “debugging mindset” and what are its necessary components?
Q3: If you help Ss develop strategies for debugging, please share some you use & the age/grade levels. If you know of good resources for teaching debugging, please share as well.
Q4: If you also work with robots, making, or computer hw, do your Ss notice analogies between hw troubleshooting & sw debugging? Eg, if robot turns in wrong direction, is that a software bug or mis-wired hw ports?
Q5: What sorts of resources might be helpful to you in the future for teaching students to debug?

An archive is available at https://goo.gl/pqXhj7 and we would like to thank our guest moderator, +Mark Miller!
Wait while more posts are being loaded