Profile cover photo
Profile photo
The Last Word
20 followers
20 followers
About
The Last Word's posts

Post has attachment
About the Book

“Cursed by the Candy “is an urban love tale. Toi’s existence revolved around the materials only a hustler could provide. Money, cars and status were a necessity in order to even approach her. Come correct or don’t come at all, that was her philosophy .The avenues she traveled, presented her with life learning experiences. The “candy” was sweet, however the consequences weren’t. Money was her motivation, but love took her soul. PJ introduced her to the game, but D is why she played it. Follow Toi’s journey down to “Candy” Land and ask yourself …was it worth it?

Book available on https://www.amazon.com/Cursed-Candy-Katoi-Love/dp/1532303491

About the Author

KaToi Love is a business owner and author of the highly anticipated novel "Cursed by the Candy, "published by Print House Books. KaToi was born in Washington DC, however was raised in Brockton Ma and Norfolk VA. She currently resides in Charlotte NC. KaToi, loves to empower women with her greeting card apparel company, Street Confessions words from the Soul. This Entrepreneur as had the opportunity of being a featured writer in several magazines and celebrity entertainment blogs.
For additional information, KaToi can be contacted via the following outlets.

Facebook-Cursed by the Candy
Twitter-@Katoilove
Instagram-Streetconfessionswords
Email- Mskatoilove@gmail.com
Publisher website- www.printhousebooks.com
* Check out her YouTube channel KaToi Love."

Post has attachment
Join us Saturday for a chance to win screening tickets and promotional items to +Disney's The BFG while supplies last! In theaters nationwide July 1st. #TheBFG   #charlotte #movies   #prescreening   

Post has attachment
Our first meeting!
FRIDAY,
June 17th @ 11am-12pm
Wonder
by R. J. Palacio

About the meetings:
Groups will meet to discuss their chosen book once a month and groups will be led by volunteer leaders from each age group. Volunteer leaders will lead the discussion and help the group select a new book for the next meeting. These groups will ideally be student-led (with help from us!), and it will be up to students to bring their own books. We have a cozy book club spot where kids can feel at home.

No matter whether kids have been able to read the selected book before the group meeting or not, ALL kids are welcome to come and be a part of the discussion and to help select the next book!

Post has attachment
Book Signing July 23rd 12-2pm
"52 Weeks of Self Reflection" & "Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom"
by Erika Dawkins

"52 Weeks of Self Reflection"

This reflective journal will provide the inspiration you need to ignite self-reflection through writing. Each week you will be introduced to a new topic that you will either reflect on immediately or incorporate throughout your week, and reflect at the close of the week. No matter your goal, you will have a clear, refreshing reflection of self at the completion of your 52 weeks.

"Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom"

Everyone has the ability to shape his or her personal growth. You do this by changing the way you think and look at life. Learning to let go of the negative things to chase after the things you want is substantial in seeing growth in your life. Your success and happiness are all dependent upon how determined you are to transform yourself. The author of Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities will introduce you to her struggles and a method of reflection that will help you look at your struggles differently and find ways to avoid letting them shape who you become. This will help you take your struggles and use them as opportunities to become a stronger, positive and more successful person. Keep your pencil and pen handy because you will have the opportunity to reflect on your very own struggles to find your opportunities for growth.

About the Author

Erika Dawkins is the author of Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom and 52 Weeks of Self Reflection. Erika’s writing focuses on self-help and development, while encouraging readers to look within themselves to create the lives they want and need.

Erika currently lives in Columbia, SC. With a bachelor’s degree in journalism and a master’s degree in media communications, Erika began writing professionally in 2008 and later started her business, It’s Only Write Communications, in 2009. Through her business she helps individuals and businesses build and grow themselves with her teachings of effective business communication and content.

Erika recently decided to focus her writing on a more specific group, women and mothers! This new focus is what lead Erika to write her first book. This book explores her challenges of life, struggle after struggle, while encouraging you to use situations that challenge you to make you stronger. In her most recent book, launched June 2016, Erika introduced a guided self-reflection journal, 52 Weeks of Self Reflection, which provides a year worth of reflection prompts for readers to focus on and develop.

Post has attachment
All toys and board games will be 20% OFF during the month of July. (Cannot be combined with any other offer or discount)

Post has attachment
Book Signing July 9th 2pm-4pm
The Ruin Season
by Kristopher Triana

About the Book:
Jake Leonard has more than his share of trouble.

He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things become even more complicated, and the limits of love and sanity get pushed to the breaking point.

The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a violent and heartless world. It is a story of unrequited love, rage, and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Larry Brown, Harry Crews, Daniel Woodrell, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Conner. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of insanity as well as the seedy underbelly of the American, backwoods suburbs.

About the Author:
Kristopher Triana is the author of the short story collection Growing Dark, which Rue Morgue Magazine called “a must-read”. His new novel The Ruin Season debuts this June and his second novel Body Art comes out later this year. His work has appeared in countless magazines and anthologies including D.O.A.II, The Ghost Is the Machine and Selfies from the End of the World. Recently Publisher’s Weekly praised his short story Dead End, hailing it as one of the highlights of the Comet Press collection Year’s Best Hardcore Horror. Some of his work has also been translated into Russian. He works as a professional dog trainer and lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Pick up a copy here: http://perpetualpublishing.com/product/the-ruin-season/

Website: http://kristophertriana.com/

Post has attachment
ADVANCE SCREENING: Money Monster starring George Clooney, Julia Roberts, and Jack O'Connell will be on Wednesday, May 11th 7:00PM @Regal Phillips Place Stadium 10 - (Please note that seating for this event is not guaranteed and is first come, first serve.) To redeem your pass please visit: http://www.sonyscreenings.com/Ncvwy13332
-
‪#‎MoneyMonster‬ ‪#‎AdvanceScreening‬ ‪#‎Prescreening‬ ‪#‎SonyScreenings

Post has attachment
St. Patty's Day Paint Party (BYOB)
3/17 from 7pm-8:30pm. Click for details!
https://www.eventbrite.com/e/st-pattys-paint-party-byob-tickets-22612504610

Post has attachment
February 20, 2016 11am – 2pm
Silken Tide, by Danielle E. Gauwain​
Bring your eReader devices!

About the Book:
Mark has it all: a great job, a posh apartment in New York’s Upper West Side, and an attractive girlfriend to hang on the arm of his expensive suits. But when Mark’s world of power and pretty things gets turned upside down, he has no choice but to return to his hometown of Silk Cove to live with the father that he has not seen in nearly twenty years.

An aspiring artist with dreams of opening her own gallery, it only took Jessica six months in a big city to realize that Silk Cove was where she belonged. Even though she earns a meager wage as a waitress at a local diner, her simple life in Silk Cove suits her well. She has everything she needs…everything but love.

When Jessica and Mark’s worlds collide, sparks fly. But their romance is challenged by a string of unexplained events and Mark’s creed, born of abandonment and mistrust. Mark’s set of principles is put to the test when he must face who, and what, he is. Jessica must decide if love is worth a second, or even third chance.

Silken Tide is a paranormal tale of the sea, the soul, and a love worth fighting for from paranormal and erotic romance author Danielle E. Gauwain.

About the Author:
"Entertaining, highly imaginative, and utterly arousing."  These are just some of the words used to describe Danielle's writing.  Inspired my music, magic and matters of the heart, Danielle is a multi-published author of erotic and paranormal romance.  Sometimes, her writing is dark.  Other times, whimsical.  But, she will always deliver a book that you can't put down. Danielle was born and raised in Albany, New York. She now resides in the foothills of North Carolina's Blue Ridge Mountains.

Post has attachment
Join us for a fun evening of finger painting. 1 Rule: No Brushes Allowed. All art supplies will be provided including large paper, aprons, and gloves (for people who don't want to use bare hands). There is also a Canvas option.

Bottled water will be provided, but you are encouraged to bring your own bottle of Hard drinks, Soft drinks, and Snacks. Participants will be seated on the floor. Please bring a pillow or seat cushion for more comfort. 

EARLY BIRD: $10 Paper Painting or $17 Canvas Painting

AT DOOR: $15 Paper Painting or $23 Canvas Painting

Must be 21 or older to attend.

ONLY 50 Spots available so get your tickets soon!

RSVP Link: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/finger-painting-grown-up-style-byob-tickets-21381699238
Wait while more posts are being loaded