Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Appliance Guru
Appliance Repair Service
Today 8AM–8PM
11 followers|36,511 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube
Contact Information
Map of the business location
New London, NH 03257
USNew HampshireNew London
(603) 290-5515applianceguru.com
Appliance Repair Service, Microwave Oven Repair Service
Appliance Repair Service
Microwave Oven Repair Service
Refrigerator Repair Service
Washer & Dryer Store
Today 8AM–8PM
Friday 8AM–8PMSaturday 8AM–8PMSunday 8AM–8PMMonday 8AM–8PMTuesday 8AM–8PMWednesday 8AM–8PMThursday 8AM–8PM
Expert, guaranteed major appliance repair service based in New London, New Hampshire, serving the Kearsarge-Lake Sunapee Region.  Fixed right, fixed right away!
Google+ URL
People
In their circles
1 person
Have them in circles
11 people
Thrifty Appliance Parts's profile photo
charles hesse's profile photo
Speedy Appliance Parts's profile photo
Able Appliance Repair's profile photo
Carol Townsend's profile photo
Ron Schroeder's profile photo
Able Appliance Repair's profile photo
Panama Appliance's profile photo
Scott Brown (The Appliance Guru)'s profile photo
Write a review
Review Summary
4.4
12 reviews
5 star
10 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
1 review
"Scott Brown and his son, Sam, were courteous, reliable, affordable and skillful."
"Scott came the day we called to assess the problem with our refrigerator."
"Without hesitation I will call them for any future appliance repairs."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
LeeAnn Brash's profile photo
LeeAnn Brash
3 weeks ago
I contacted Scott through his website to inquire about a repair for a family member who lives in his service area. I was planning to pay for the repair to a dishwasher to help out in a financially pinched situation. His replies were prompt, my family member was very happy with the repair, and Scott kept the costs to an absolute minimum. He was honest and highly knowledgeable, and there is no nonsense. I was very happy with his service and I wish he worked closer to my own neighborhood!
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Leanne, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure working with you and we’re happy we could get you fixed up quickly and cost-effectively.
John Milano's profile photo
John Milano
3 weeks ago
Susan, Scott, and Sam were great to work with and got the problem solved so my dryer now works again. We set up a time that worked for both of us, they came as scheduled, diagnosed the problem, and fixed it. The charge for their services was very reasonable. Without hesitation I will call them for any future appliance repairs. John Sunapee NH
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi John, Thanks so much for your review. We're glad that we were able to get you fixed up conveniently, and are happy to hear that you will call on us again if you have the need!
Townsend Thomas's profile photo
Townsend Thomas
a year ago
Wow - what great service! I posted a service request and received an email within an hour with a suggestion that ultimately resolved my problem! If I had been unable to resolve the problem, Scott was willing to make a service call on a Saturday to prevent me from going all weekend without a working refrigerator. We're lucky to have such a friendly and helpful appliance repair service right here in New London.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks for your kind words! We have lots of ways we can help our customers besides our expert service calls. If there are any possible ways the customer can resolve their appliance problem themselves, we let them know. We even have online help and parts available for those repairs that are appropriate for a do-it-yourselfer.
Beverly Chadwick's profile photo
Beverly Chadwick
a year ago
Very positive experience all around. Our call for help was answered promptly. Scott came the day we called to assess the problem with our refrigerator. He was very thorough & knowledgeable. We enjoyed having him in our home to help us resolve the issue with the refrigerator. We will definitely call The Appliance Guru for future needs.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks, Bev and Barb! It was a pleasure working for you and I'm glad to hear your refrigerator is still running great!
Todd W's profile photo
Todd W
a month ago
Communication:Good (some delays) Knowledge:Good Execution:Poor Company attitude:Poor Business practice/policy:Poor We contacted Susan in June 2016 to repair our appliances in a summer home that needed a stove repair. Her response was quick and professional. We provided the serial numbers for the appliances to be repaired, and they charged us to come and inspect the appliances to be repaired. They arrived when promised, and Susan told us what was needed to repair the appliances. We agreed, and the parts arrived in a timely manner. Susan then said she wanted to be paid for 100% of the repair up front even though we had already paid for 2/3's of the parts and labor to install. I asked Susan that we pay the final balance once the repair was completed. She said no because the homeowner wasn't going to be there (just our property manager), and said she would give us our money back (effectively holding us hostage to her business practice of wanting everything up front) if we didn't agree. Because we had no other choice, we agreed to pay the full amount. They came to repair the appliance and discovered that the parts were wrong because the serial number of the appliance was different than what they were provided (even though they had come to inspect and verify the appliance in person). Susan informed us that they couldn't repair the appliance and she would refund our money (leaving us 1 week to resolve the issue and after wasting 2 weeks of time on the wrong parts). We asked if she would order the correct parts and repair it (since she still possessed $400 of the $500 total toward the repair). She declined to do the repair altogether.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Hi Todd, thank you for your comments. When we saw how displeased you were, we reviewed our email communications with you, which reveal the following facts: 1. We clearly explained our business practices early on in our communications, and you did not object or even question them at that point. 2. We were prompt, courteous, and professional, and then quick to refund every penny of your money once we realized that we were not going to satisfy your requests. 3. At no net cost to you, you received professional diagnoses on two appliances and the information you needed to pursue a repair. 4. The needed part was on backorder this whole time, so zero time was in fact "wasted." Yet you gave us a 1-star review. What do you do to a business that actually rips you off or deceives you? Hire a hitman? We are glad that your review highlights one of our greatest strengths: we will quickly issue a 100% refund when it is clear that we are not the right company for someone or they are not completely satisfied. We've been living in New London for over 20 years and most folks know us around here. Anyone can find out all about us at our website. In the interest of "considering the source," people should know more about you, too: http://www.applianceguru.com/customer-review-todd-h-waller/
Jon Rodrick's profile photo
Jon Rodrick
a week ago
Very prompt and professional. Followed up with exactly what they said they would do. I have no problem referring them to friends and family and will call on Scott and Susan the next time I have an appliance issue.
Response from the owner - a week ago
We enjoyed working for you, Jon. Thanks so much for the review!
Dan holland's profile photo
Dan holland
a year ago
Our 18-year-old GE refrigerator began freezing food in the fresh food compartment. Unit located in our vacation condo which we use sporadically so difficult to monitor and measure on a continuous basis. I would have been glad to pay for a service call to diagnose cause but Susan telephonically walked me through several measurement steps over a two-day period resulting in a recommendation to buy a new refrigerator. Saved me the financial and time cost of a service call and cost them the revenue of the call but gained them the gratitude of a most appreciative person in the "Cloud". Am actually looking forward to the next appliance problem and hoping to meet the husband/son team who do the hands-on work!
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks for the kind words, Dan! We are definitely trying to build long-term relationships with customers and not just earn a service call fee, so when we can help people with phone advice, we do! We don't wish any appliance trouble on you, but it will be our pleasure to help you in the future if you need it.
Bonnie Wright's profile photo
Bonnie Wright
a year ago
I had a refrigerator problem which I ignored for as long as I could as I felt that calling an appliance repair person was on par with taking a car problem to a garage. I was pleasantly surprised when I called and explained the problem as best I could to Susan and she seemed to know what the problem was. The next day Scott and Sam showed up as agreed, put booties over their boots and proceeded to confirm the diagnosis and to fix said problem quickly and professionally. My bill was a bit over $300.00 but was, when compared to shopping for and buying a new refrigerator, a better deal. I would call them again for an appliance problem. Thank you, Susan, Scott, and Sam
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
We are very glad you appreciated our service, Bonnie! Thank you so much for calling on us, and for taking the time to write a review.

Stream

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
 
Keeping Track of Student Progress at the Master Samurai Tech Academy - http://mastr.tech/1ZExIYE
1
Add a comment...

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
 
Is Online Appliance Repair Training Right For You? - http://mastr.tech/1ZExvow
1
Add a comment...

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...
In their circles
1 person
Have them in circles
11 people
Thrifty Appliance Parts's profile photo
charles hesse's profile photo
Speedy Appliance Parts's profile photo
Able Appliance Repair's profile photo
Carol Townsend's profile photo
Ron Schroeder's profile photo
Able Appliance Repair's profile photo
Panama Appliance's profile photo
Scott Brown (The Appliance Guru)'s profile photo

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
1
Add a comment...

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
 
Understanding Gas Oven Hot Surface Ignition Systems - http://mastr.tech/1scLZ4L
1
Add a comment...

The Appliance Guru

Shared publicly  - 
 
Washer tip: Use good detergent! Unfortunately, the “eco-friendly” detergents are usually not very friendly for your machine. They are often lye-based, which can lead to faster deterioration of your washer components than normal. We recommend using a quality name brand like Woolite.
http://mastr.tech/1JeJK14
Here are our insider tips on things that you should know or check for to keep your appliance operating at peak performance. Many malfunctions can be remedied by proper maintenance or other simple actions. Check this list before contacting us in case you can fix the problem yourself!
1
1
Panama Appliance's profile photo
 
Great post! 
Add a comment...