Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Tadich Grill
Restaurant$$$
Today 11AM–9:30PM
5 followers|6,435,758 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
240 California St San Francisco, CA 94111
240 California StreetUSCaliforniaSan Francisco94111
(415) 391-1849tadichgrill.com
$$$Restaurant, Seafood Restaurant
Restaurant
Seafood Restaurant
Historical Landmark
American Restaurant
Bar & Grill
Today 11AM–9:30PM
Monday 11AM–9:30PMTuesday 11AM–9:30PMWednesday 11AM–9:30PMThursday 11AM–9:30PMFriday 11AM–9:30PMSaturday 11:30AM–9:30PMSunday Closed
Menu
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
4.0
440 reviews
5 star
165 reviews
4 star
168 reviews
3 star
73 reviews
2 star
20 reviews
1 star
14 reviews
Institution for fresh fish & classic cocktails with an old-school setting & a buzzy atmosphere.- Google
"My clam chowder creamy style was rich and thick with tons of clams."
"Oldschool and solid restaurant, good service."
Featured by Zagat
SF's Best Seafood Restaurants
, and 2 other lists
See more from Zagat
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
5 people
Justin Lindo's profile photo
Menu Stories's profile photo
Phillip Neri's profile photo
Hotel Fusion's profile photo
All reviews
Casey Swanton's profile photo
Casey Swanton
3 weeks ago
It's loud and crowded and fantastic. A true SF institution. Their steamed clams are classic and some of the best I've had... You can tell that their history in SF gets them first pick when it comes to their seafood. Giant clams and great fish. Their crab cakes are out of this world... Primarily crab and dressed with 2 amazing sauces.
Kyle Schiemo's profile photo
Kyle Schiemo
in the last week
Let me start by saying I had really high hopes for this place. I liked the décor, the menu looked amazing, and the drink I got while I waited was very good. But - I ordered a beer, so don't think that any expertise in bartending was involved in the highlights of my experience. FAR FROM IT. When my friend and I ordered drinks while we waited to be seated, no attempt was made to ask whether to split the check. Which on it it's own is a fine mistake, though a bit questionable given the supposed quality of this establishment. More oddly, when we asked to placed the drinks on our eventual tab, the bartender says "NO. We don't do that here." I thought this to be rather unaccommodating. But the incident that prompted my rage was when two seats at the bar opened up, and the same bartender who served our drinks loudly announced, "ROOM FOR TWO RIGHT HERE, ANY TWO WHO ARE WAITING, PLEASE SIT YOURSELF HERE!", all while looking at the two of us expectantly. But strangely enough, as my friend and I attempted to sit down, the very same bartender looked at us and said "No. You can't sit here." It wasn't until my poorly masked anger caught his attention that he said, "Ah! Let me explain something to you. THIS, is the bar area, where food is not et. OVER THERE, is where you must wait for a place for us to serve you." We finished our drinks and left.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Hi Kyle. I read your review and I wanted to apologize for how you were treated. We are a very busy restaurant and have rules that we follow regarding the bar/counter and it would seem that the person you are describing was just trying to do that. That being said, it certainly does not excuse how you were spoken to and, again, I apologize for that. Would you be kind enough to give me a call so I can discuss the details of your experience to help me address this with the proper person? I can be reached at 415-391-1849. I would appreciate your help. Truly, David Hanna, GM
Tony Miller's profile photo
Tony Miller
a month ago
I had heard some good things about Tadich Grill and read some more on their website. Sounded like my kind of place, a nice traditional (and historic) Seafood and Steakhouse restaurant. So I took a co-worker there for dinner. What a disappointment. We arrived just before the dinner rush (around 5:00PM) and were seated immediately. Our waiter was not what I would call the friendly or outgoing type. He spoke to us in very short phrases, offered no information on the menu or drinks available, and seemed disinterested in us throughout our meal. When he brought us our food, he reversed our orders and seemed almost annoyed when my co-worker and I started to switch our plates. He grabbed them from us, without a word, and then placed them in front of the proper person. That was odd to say the least. The food itself was completely lack luster. I ordered the New York Strip. I was surprised first of all to receive a steak that was less than an inch thick. At a steakhouse like this I would have expected a nice thick cut, especially on a NY Strip. The steak was cooked unevenly. I had ordered medium yet on one end it was done to a very well, in the middle it was about medium, and on the other end it was almost rare. The seasonings were OK but overall the flavor lacked any real character. The steak came with their house potatoes, basically broasted potato wedges. These had very little flavor at all, and in fact I had to dip them in steak sauce just to make them palatable. My Co-worker ordered the "Jumbo" Prawns which turned out to be anything but jumbo. Definitely not what you'd get if you went to any super market and bought a bag of shrimp labeled "Jumbo". He did express that despite being smaller than expected they were tasty. We both agreed this was a fairly negative experience and chose to pass on dessert, not even looking at the dessert menu. For all the build-up and the appearances presented, the experience was surprising and unfortunate. I must say that the food and service that I had at a different chain steakhouse earlier in the week was far more enjoyable than this day's dinner.
• • •
Tim K's profile photo
Tim K
3 weeks ago
This place is busy, be ready. No reservations and you'll only get a seat once your entire party has arrived. If you lollygag, you may miss your window. Get in there, look at the menu, be prepared to order your drinks and the food will come out quick. Sit there and chit chat, your server may get busy and it will then be a while and it may piss you off. They don't care. They're the longest lasting SF restaurant for a reason and they can do with mount your 1 star reviews. Bottom line, this place is awesome. Not cheap, but not wallet busting. It's a seafood restaurant, by their beef and lamb and pork chops are delicious as well. They do not have Chicken. You want to win, split a large salad, the clams w plenty of bread to dip and 1 entree between 2 people, you'll be happy. Those Clams kill the game.
• • •
William Gorman's profile photo
William Gorman
3 weeks ago
We had a delightful lunch at this restaurant with good service and delicious food. We began with our favorite cocktail prepared to perfection. The waiter took time to explain one of the dishes we ordered that made us change as what he described wasn't to our liking. This is where the menu description could have been clearer but the waiter from experience thought we'd prefer something different. This place remains on "must visit" whenever in San Francisco.
• • •
Josh Garrison's profile photo
Josh Garrison
a month ago
Food, ambiance and character all warrant 3 stars. Service warrants one. I came to Tadich to celebrate the upcoming departure of a friend from the Bay. We told the barman/host that we would be joined by a friend shortly and we're looking for drinks as we waited. He offered to seat us at a table. We accepted, and after ordering drinks were told quite rudely by our server that we MUST order food as they did not seat incomplete parties. The fact that they had JUST knowingly seated an incomplete party seemed lost on him. He would not let us order an appetizer and wait for our friend, nor a second round of drinks - but demanded we order food. We did. And when I relayed my dismay at our poor service to the manager, he haughtily informed me that his server was correct and that this rule had "been what made them successful for 167 years". This line he repeated twice, and literally told me he did not care that I had a bad experience. His words were "some people like it, some people don't". He's right. I don't appreciate poor or arrogant service hidden behind a facade of some ancient pedigree of excellence. I will never again patronize this establishment. Clearly they do not need folks like me to frequent their "great" restaurant.
• • •
Athena Chang's profile photo
Athena Chang
2 months ago
Finally had a chance to dine at this historic SF restaurant and I was not deterred by the slight wait during lunch hour. The crowd leaned toward older generation but it was not a surprise to me given the price and history of the venue. The menu is quite diverse although it seems heavy on seafood dishes. We started our meal with their soups. My clam chowder creamy style was rich and thick with tons of clams. For entree, I tried their famous Cioppino, which is a tomato wine broth based seafood mixture stew. It came with mussels, clams, sea scallops, shrimps and huge chunk of fish fillet. I was really full before the Cioppino even arrived! Nevertheless, I tasted it and the soup was savory and clean. Seafood inside was very fresh and there was no fishy smell. It also came with two heavily buttered toasted sour dough. Overall, I had a great experience here and loved their seafood dishes. I also saw people ordered steak and other things. I would definitely return for more!
• • •
Kurtis Malecha's profile photo
Kurtis Malecha
a week ago
So much history here. I felt like I was stepping back in time when dining here. Drinks are wonderful and so was the food and service.

Stream

Have them in circles
5 people
Justin Lindo's profile photo
Menu Stories's profile photo
Phillip Neri's profile photo
Hotel Fusion's profile photo

Tadich Grill hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.