Cover photo
Verified local business
Surplus Furniture and Mattress Warehouse
Furniture Store
Today 10AM–8PM
3 followers|775,405 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
21 Akerley Blvd Dartmouth, NS B3B 1J7 Canada
21 Akerley BoulevardCANova ScotiaDartmouthB3B 1J7
Furniture Store, Bedroom Furniture Store
Furniture Store
Bedroom Furniture Store
Business Service
Home Furnishings
Home Services
Office Furniture Store
Today 10AM–8PM
Tuesday 10AM–8PMWednesday 10AM–8PMThursday 10AM–8PMFriday 10AM–8PMSaturday 10AM–6PMSunday 12–5PMMonday 10AM–8PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Write a review
Review Summary
22 reviews
5 star
9 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
3 reviews
"Good prices on furniture; decent selection; helpful staff."
"I highly recommend shopping for good priced furniture here."
"The bed was delivered that night and she does enjoy it."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Dillon Spicer's profile photo
Dillon Spicer
2 months ago
Nice furniture, good prices, helpful staff but if your looking for something long term the furniture won't last. Bought a nice looking couch and love seat. Both the frames are made with cheap wood and the feet are plastic. We had to take the feet off because the first time we sat on it, it cracked. If you're looking for nice looking cheaply made furniture to tide you over until you can afford solid furniture, then it'll last a few years.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hello Dillon Spicer, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry to hear that you are having some challenges with your purchase. Please send your contact information to and we will review to see if there are any warranty options. Thank you for your patience in this situation.
Mike Theriault's profile photo
Mike Theriault
3 months ago
YOUR BULLSHIT AUTO GENERATED REPLY MESSAGE ISN'T FOOLING ANYONE!!!! I Bought a nice looking couche/chaise combo ... 7 months later and its falling apart. The wood in the couche was cheaply made and the springs have been unhooking themselves from the wood. Its also sagging in the middle now. My woman weighs 100lbs and im about 190lbs I will never buy a single piece of furniture from this place again.
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Hello Mike Theriault, we are sorry to hear that you are having some concerns with your purchase. I assure you, none of our responses are auto-generated. All customer concerns are addressed. We would like to help you with your concerns, so please call our toll free number at 1-800-746-2875 (ext 6) and leave your contact details. The district manager in that area, will call you right back. As an alternative, you can email your contact details to Again, we are sorry to hear that you have had some challenges with your furniture. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know.
Peter Miller's profile photo
Peter Miller
3 months ago
Good prices on furniture; decent selection; helpful staff. You aren't going to find a lot of solid wood pieces here, but that is where your savings are coming from.
Amanda Hughes's profile photo
Amanda Hughes
6 months ago
This place is fantastic. Great prices, very friendly staff and the boss (Mike) takes care of customers well if any issues come up.
Response from the owner - 6 months ago
Hello Amanda Hughes, thank you very much for taking the time to let us know about your poor experience at Surplus Furniture. We have notified the team in Dartmouth and wish to investigate this matter further. Please send more details to We appreciate your time and hope to turn this poor experience into a positive one.
Chris Merrill's profile photo
Chris Merrill
3 months ago
- Surplus eventually came through and replaced our coaches. It took much longer than it should have, but it was done. The replacements are nice and we're happy overall with how they handled it. We would buy from again - Currently waiting for a replacement set of new furniture after speaking with them again. Hopefully they come through for us. Rating will be adjusted if so. They delivered us a broken couch, and 8 months later we're still waiting for a replacement. They don't return any calls, and promise us every time we call that they will sort it out this time. Stay away. You've been warned.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
Hello Chris, we are sorry to hear that you are having a poor experience at Surplus Furniture and Mattress Warehouse. We are here to help. We trust that the store is helping to resolve this issue, however, if you are still not satisfied, please send us your contact information to and we will do our best to assist. Thank you very much for your patience and appreciate this opportunity to help.
Amy Clement's profile photo
Amy Clement
7 months ago
Had a great experience with the entire staff at surplus furniture and the delivery guys as well. We tried to have a couple of sectionals delivered, but they wouldn't fit down our stairs; manager did everything he could to help us get the right couch, even if it meant trying a few times. I highly recommend shopping for good priced furniture here.
Jen B's profile photo
Jen B
10 months ago
I bought a couch and love seat and when I got home I noticed a small flaw in 2 of the legs. I called the store spoke with Kirby and he offered to come over and fix it asap. He was able to put the correct part on, and put the legs on for us. It was the best customer serivce I have ever received!!! I would highly recommend Surplus Furniture!! I will definitely be going back :)
Liz Little's profile photo
Liz Little
a year ago
Chad and mike were such a great help with finding us a perfect fit for our small door! We were unable to get the couch we originally wanted but they searched high and low to find us another one! Thanks a million for the great customer service. Cheers