Well that's exceptionally misleading. In #Facebook under Settings -> Apps -> "Apps Others Use" there are checkboxes for what people's apps are allowed to see from your timeline. Firstly, it's a shame there's no distinction made between general client apps that people are using instead of the official facebook app, but more worryingly is the checkbox for "My status updates". That checkbox doesn't seem to do what you'd think. Facebook appears to allow apps to see your status updates regardless, unless they have location information. That's exceptionally misleading and I'm surprised they can get away with it. The other checkboxes appear ok. Don't believe me? Read https://www.facebook.com/help/186594574725685. It's particularly odd because if you deselect all checkboxes you can still see most status updates, but not ones where you've shared a link from someone else (that's the "My links" checkbox which works as you'd expect)

These options appear to be (a) misleading the public and (b) Making it harder for people to use facebook from third party apps, which often require far less privileges than the official one - something that seems to be becoming more of an issue at the moment ...
Shared publicly