Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Square One Insurance
Home Insurance Agency
Today 6:30AM–6:30PM
40 followers|475,497 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Check out this MoneySense article about false home insurance myths. How many do you follow?

http://www.moneysense.ca/spend/insurance/home-insurance/home-insurance-myths/
1
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Breaking your cell phone or smartwatch can be devastating, not to mention expensive. Do you know how insurance can help?

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/insuring-mobile-phones
1
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Is your home susceptible to winter weather damage?

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/winter-home-dangers/
Winter brings the potential for damage to our homes. Take some time to make yourself aware of possible winter hazards so you can make you & your home safer.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Buying gifts this Christmas? Thieves love expensive presents. Use these 18 tips to avoid becoming an easy target.

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/preventing-theft-during-the-christmas-holidays/
Christmas is a joyous time of year, but for thieves, it can be a prosperous time of year, given the volume of gifts being purchased, transported and stored.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Winter is coming. Here's a how-to guide for winterizing your home:

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/winterizing-your-home/
While we’re busy digging for the warmer clothes, it’s also time to think of things we can or should do to prepare our homes or apartments – for winter.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Are you prepared for a house fire? Make sure you've completed these 3 important steps:

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/a-home-fire-is-your-family-prepared/
If you do your best to prevent fire & prepare in the event that one occurs, there's a better chance you’ll cope well if a fire does break out in your home.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Square One is hiring telephone adjusters!

We're accepting applications for telephone adjusters who are committed to quality customer service and proper claims handling.

Apply here: https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/intermediate-telephone-claims-adjuster
1
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Are you leaving your home at risk when you travel?

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/snowbird-home-insurance-tips/
If you’re among the snowbird population, it’s important to prepare properly, & that includes reviewing your home insurance requirements. Read our tips here.
1
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Get any gifts over the holidays? Don't let your new property go unprotected, complete this checklist:

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/the-perfect-time-to-update-your-home-inventory-list/
Now is the time to create a home inventory list of all your belongings, a description of each item, its make, model, serial number, & the value of the item.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
Not looking forward to the cold temperatures? Don't fret, keep your home warm this winter by using these 11 tips.

https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/blog/keeping-your-home-warm-this-winter/
It's important to ensure that your homes & apartments are as toasty as possible with few drafts - see the many ways to save energy & lower our energy bills.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Sharmas home in Calgary recently suffered significant hail storm damage. Watch Rohit share their Square One claims experience.
1
Add a comment...

Square One Insurance

Shared publicly  - 
 
How would you react in a house fire? Here are 6 things you should do when evacuating:
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
650 W Georgia St #1218 Vancouver, BC V6B 4N8 Canada
650 West Georgia Street #1218CABritish ColumbiaVancouverV6B 4N8
(855) 331-6933squareoneinsurance.ca
Home Insurance Agency, Corporate Office
Home Insurance Agency
Corporate Office
Economy
Homes
Non Life Insurance Agency
Today 6:30AM–6:30PM
Monday 6:30AM–6:30PMTuesday 6:30AM–6:30PMWednesday 6:30AM–6:30PMThursday 6:30AM–6:30PMFriday 6:30AM–6:30PMSaturday 6:30AM–6:30PMSunday Closed
Google+ URL

See inside

Panorama
Panorama
Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
65 reviews
5 star
49 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
1 review
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
12 reviews
"I loved the speedy, polite customer service, and unbeatable prices!"
"Easy to set up and the team answered all my questions quickly."
"A dishwasher broke causing water to get to the cupboards and floor."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Dani Bee's profile photo
Dani Bee
a month ago
Easy online process - sure - but no proof given when a claim is denied. Rain flooded in through our front door and garage door three days ago affecting the 2 rooms we have in our basement suite. We cleared the drainage pipe 2 days prior to the flood. Without any proof at all, they denied the hotel coverage I purchased AND raised (we may be temporarily homeless until everything is fixed, not sure what my family and I are going to do) saying it must be something underground (after telling me it was entering through a crack in the foundation somewhere, something he again couldn't prove, which wasn't the case as it came right in through the front and garage door - we know because WE SAW IT). Either a clay or plastic pipe clogged underground caused it, the adjuster said with no proof. Even though we have a sloped driveway, and neighbors who built their house up so much higher than ours that we now have their run off. Neither the adjuster nor customer service could explain what magical powers they used to give me that "definitive" answer. All they could say was that the adjuster must have experience and that he doesn't need proof. We flooded in 2014. If this was such a blockage, why would it have been dormant for 3 years? Luck? Or could it be the HEAVY RAINFALL that happened that evening? What a joke. He also took information from someone at the residence who not only did not live in the affected suite, but also was not the policy holder (a senior citizen who doesn't have the mental capacity to answer these questions with any knowledge.) You buy a policy to help your family and it ends up creating more upset and worry than before. Massive waste of time and money. Don't buy a policy here, find a more honest company who uses adjusters that take information from the people who have it, not just find the closest person to interrogate false information out of. I cancelled my policy today and plan to do the same. If I had read these reviews before I bought my policy I wouldn't have. Good luck to everyone.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dani, let me start by saying how very sorry I am that there has been water damage to your home. Unfortunately, water damage is one of the most complex things to handle from a home insurance perspective. That’s because several types of water damage simply aren’t covered by any home insurance policy, regardless of the company offering it. If a specific type of water damage isn’t covered, then any costs (including additional living expenses) associated with the damage aren’t covered. Dani, I want you to know that your file was reviewed by Square One’s claims manager this afternoon. She confirms that your claim was handled in accordance with your policy and our standards. Again, I’m sorry that you’ve suffered a loss that wasn’t covered by your policy. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
Alexander Slavin's profile photo
Alexander Slavin
4 months ago
This guys have convenient online portal to buy insurance and not bad rates. But when it comes to a claim they are terrible. It is a month passed after I submitted one and still no one from square one contacted me with any help. I have a property to rent out and losing money while waiting their verdict/fix.
Response from the owner - 4 months ago
Hi Alexander. I'm very sorry to learn that you are disappointed with your claim. I've reviewed your file and I believe that the handling adjuster has been in touch with you several times. In fact, our notes indicate that the claim was reported on August 10 at 4:30 pm and the adjuster called you by 5:00 pm. The adjuster also visited the property and met with you the next day. I can understand that you might be disappointed with the outcome of the adjuster's investigation, but I believe our claims team has been very responsive. If you would like to discuss your claim further, please feel free to email me at daniel@squareoneinsurance.ca. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
High standards's profile photo
High standards
10 months ago
Took minutes to get a quote, and still, months later, can't find a single company that can match the coverage and cost, let alone beat it! I learned at my relatives' knees to always, ALWAYS 'tender' (get more than one costing) and then compare costs vs. itemized details. Yet, even there, the closest anyone could come to matching (let alone beating) the coverage offered by Square One, was my *former* insurer, and at that, only by cutting coverage. Loyalty only goes so far. Customer service agents at Square One, never once took offence to my queries, or gave any indication that I was wasting their time with silly questions. I ended my call with full confidence and a new insurance company. Couldn't be happier!
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
Hi Shelley, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. I'm pleased to learn that you're happy with the price, coverage and service offered by Square One. We look forward to being your home insurance provider for many years. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
Cat Fondue's profile photo
Cat Fondue
10 months ago
I should have added some context to this. Basically don't bother if you have an older house. They wanted me to get all kinds of electrical and roofing work done on my perfectly functional but very old house which is already insured by another company. (I was shopping around for something cheaper) Going with square one would have been way more expensive if I factored in the cost of the work they wanted.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Cat Fondue. I'm really sorry to learn that you weren't satisfied with the service that you received. If you would be kind enough to let me know what happened, I would like to investigate. Please feel free to contact me directly at daniel@squareoneinsurance.ca or 1.855.331.6933 ext 100. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
KIAN FIT's profile photo
KIAN FIT
a month ago
If you looking for a good comprehensive insurance policy alongside the great costumer service NEVER pick this company the claims department manager even doesn't have a decency to give a call back after one week.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Kian. I'm sorry to learn that you''re disappointed with the claims process. The claim that you suffered is a bit unusual. As such, it is taking longer to resolve. Kian, I also see that you talked with members of our claims team several times. And, the claims manager spoke with you on November 28, during which time she explained the steps that need to be taken. I don't believe those steps have been taken, but I have requested that our claims manager call you to discuss further. Kian, we very much want to resolve this claim. It would be much appreciated if the required steps are taken to help with the resolution. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
Ketan Vohora's profile photo
Ketan Vohora
5 months ago
One of the worst customer service teams and managers I have ever dealt with. Had my insurance premium cancelled because I had my credit card replaced and did not give the updated card information in time (it had barely been a month!). They tried to charge me a $20 reinstatement fee and I had to argue my way to have this waived. After talking to two agents and the manager, they finally waived my fee. At the end of the day, the cost was insignificant and never truly mattered. The worst part was the way they handled the situation and even after waiving the fee, did not apologize or seem to care one bit. Not the best way to run a business.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Hi Ketan, I'm sorry to learn about your experience. I'm glad that your policy was reinstated and no reinstatement fee was charged. You have my commitment that I will listen to the calls and discuss with our team. That said; it's important to note that virtually all home insurance providers have the same cancellation provisions when it comes to missed payments and we did make several attempts to contact you. If your card is replaced again, please call us or send us a quick email and we'll make sure that this type of issue doesn't happen again. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
G. ThisSücks's profile photo
G. ThisSücks
a year ago
Hi Daniel, I don't' have an experience to review but have been reading quite a few of other's reviews. I have found that your customers have all been commenting on mostly the experience of your staff and how easy the online quote and application are. I have also read a few reviews regarding water damage in the kitchen due to broken dishwasher, burst pipe and so on. These users have all said pretty much the same thing. They make a claim and it is left for three weeks before someone is sent in and next thing they know the claim is being denied because of mold growth. Depending on what type of mold it is it can start to grow within 1-2 days or even up to 1 week. If something has been left for 3 weeks that is more than enough time for the mold spores to multiply exponentially. How can you deny a claim on this basis and how does one cover for this type of "Delay" in a claim? I am considering Square One as a provider and have experienced water damage from a leaking roof, in a recreation trailer I once had and the adjuster (from another insurance company) who was sent out did exactly what the others have been writing about. Waited to come out and when arrived found mold and the claim was denied due to previous leaking which is a false statement - it was left to long and mold grew plain as that. You're answer will assist in deterring my decision for purchase. Thank you in advance. Rob VL
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Hi Rob. Thanks for your message. You're right that many of our clients comment on their purchase experience as that's usually their first point of contact with Square One. That said; you can find reviews about the clients' claims experience with Square One on our website. Here's a link that will take you directly to the claims reviews: https://www.squareoneinsurance.ca/reviews?filter=claims#user-submitted-reviews. Rob, we are committed to handling claims both fairly and quickly. I would suggest that the review on Google+ is the exception, not the rule. I know past performance isn't always an indicate of future performance, but this team has a track record of outstanding claims service. Under my leadership, the insurance division of the local auto club was recognized by J.D. Power and Associates as having the highest in customer satisfaction among home insurance providers in Canada. And, it was recognized as having the highest claims satisfaction levels in British Columbia. Further to that, I am personally available to assist with, and review, claims as needed or requested by clients. Rob, I hope that answers your questions. If not, please feel free to contact me directly by email me at daniel@squareoneinsurance.ca. Regards, Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.
Mircea Ion's profile photo
Mircea Ion
a year ago
By far the simplest online process. I am really surprised of how simple everything is. Don't get me wrong, it's not a walk in the park, but compared with TD let's say it's definitely superior. Not to mention that we got the same price for a similar package at TD with some hefty group discounts. So far, so good, I hope I won't have problems with SOI down the road.
Response from the owner - a year ago
Thanks so much for the feedback. We work hard to make it easy for customers to do business with us and we'll be making even more enhancements in the future. I'm so glad to learn that you were pleased with the process and price. Thanks for choosing Square One! Daniel Mirkovic, President + CEO.