Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Springhaven Village
Apartment Building
137,214 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
9210 S Hosmer St Tacoma, WA 98444
9210 South Hosmer StreetUSWashingtonTacoma98444
(253) 780-6099
Apartment Building
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
2.9
16 reviews
5 star
3 reviews
4 star
2 reviews
3 star
3 reviews
2 star
3 reviews
1 star
5 reviews
"I love Southwind Village!"
"We had black mold and they refused to do mold remediation."
"Poor communication and incompetence reigns in the leasing office."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Alia Jones's profile photo
Alia Jones
2 months ago
I am a current resident, Moved in July 2015 and have given my 60 day notice, worst place ever. The unit (model) we originally looked at was nothing like what they put us in. We looked at a remodeled place, left back home to the west cost and did the rest online, drove days, When we got there we did a few signatures and with key in hand was told the unit we looked at was already rented but they are giving us the same one in another building.... nope, we got something that was something else. Car was broken into robbed AND damaged 3 times since august 2015 im assuming by my downstairs neighbors as we were told after the 3rd time that the neighbor living below us stole a car from the garage and stole credit cards from other people in the building and they also had a criminal record including a felony and something about meth and drug charges (thats exactly what the office told us) they ALSO told us they were being evicted the next day and they would be gone by the end of the following day (Why am i just getting this info the day before they have to move out i asked, "so you can let the police know" she said.) Moving on..... Dryer caught on fire within the first few weeks of living there while my son and i were napping! (when they "cleaned" it out there was years of lint in the housing) and they told me to get the "campfire smell" out to run it for a few days till it was better! (um whos paying the electric bill..? oh yea me). My bathtub pipe burst also in Aug and we had a very bad leak that poured down into the living room. They came after a few days and fixed the leak but never fixed the ceiling where the paint is broken and falling down. There is mold EVERYWHERE (around the windows in the bathroom, and probably in the walls now where the leak was never cleaned and fixed properly). My son has an autoimmune disorder and ive had to send him away, im beyond upset again, I HAD TO SEND MY CHILD AWAY TO STAY WITH FAMILY FOR HIS HEALTH AND SAFTY. They've entered my unit multiple times without notice and times where i had asked to please give me a moment to dress myself (once while i was in the shower they came and i just about had a heart attack). After being sick constantly and them not fixing the issues i finally called the city inspector who came the next morning, they took pictures of the mold and water damage and also informed me that the windows and front door were not properly weather proofed as there are gaps in between big enough to see and push things through. Then i finally get a call a while later from the office asking me why i called the city on them.... i explained why and they said they were being bought out by a new company the next day and i could take it up with them. Now this week ive been traveling and trying to pay my rent online with my phone (like i already do every month) with no luck, i had my girlfriend go down to the office but office hours are changed and could not get anyone there before office closed so i figured its ok once im settled with WiFi i can pay with my computer....... but nope! there is no way to pay online via their new website.. I could go on and on and on with everything wrong with the property. I have never been so agitated with any property in my life. IF I COULD GIVE THIS PROPERTY NEGATIVE STARS I WOULD! WORST 7 MONTHS OF MY LIFE!
• • •
Allison Marie's profile photo
Allison Marie
4 months ago
I laid down a deposit 3 months in advance... This was a unit in which I thought I was under renovation. I hadn't even seen the unit itself, so I emailed them 1 month prior to my move-in date, stating that I was looking forward to the move and asking if I could see the unit prior... They had gotten back to me stating that there was a tenant in there until the 1st. I stated to them twice in two separate emails that I was confused and thought this was a unit under construction - beating around the bush with their answer - finally the third email, the manager, got back to me saying there was a short term leaser in there and the unit was renovated 6 months ago. Why couldn't they just tell me from the git-go? Why couldn't they answer that question in the first or SECOND email? Not only that, but I wouldn't have been able to even SEE the only until the day prior to move in. Ridiculous. I realize now you get what you pay for... What else are they being shady about? And the outside of these properties could definitely use some work... Not only that, but when I was walking around the grounds - there were dog turds everywhere. Maybe they should look into having people DNA test their dogs and fine them for not picking-up after them. I bailed and I'm at a much nicer, genuinely brand new complex now. Happy I didn't go through with moving here!
• • •
Lou D's profile photo
Lou D
10 months ago
Signed a year lease, and stayed a total of 9 months. Interior on these units is nice, exterior could use some attention. Sidewalks are usually littered with garbage and debris in the lawns is normal. I was also surprised at the fact for how expensive rent is, nothing else is included with the cost. The gym they built is nice , and is a convenient amenity they offer. Staff is nice and willing to help when they can. My recommendation would be look elsewhere for renting, you can get way more for your money somewhere else.
• • •
brigitte johnson's profile photo
brigitte johnson
a year ago
Filled out our applications yesterday...hopefully we can move in Immediately!! Brianna Wenck gave us a tour, she was friendly, answered all our questions, yet wasn't pushy, she really did an awesome job!
Em Meyer's profile photo
Em Meyer
3 months ago
We had black mold and they refused to do mold remediation. They kept denying it was mold even after the mold test was positive. We had been to the doctor to verify mold induced respiratory problems and other chronic health issues due to the mold.(we have many photos of it growing all over the southwest wall of the apartment, including video of how rotted the wall was, I could push my finger right through the sheet-rock) We ended up leaving mid lease after begging them to remedy the situation from September to January. We left our furniture behind as it was mold damaged. We went to stay at a hotel and withheld rent. They went into our unit and emptied it out, never served us with eviction and never attempted to solve the mold issue. They never contacted us to let us know where our possessions were being stored pursuant to MN law 504B.271, and they no longer have them. They are now reporting unpaid rent to the credit burrows. Needless to say, they will be facing a lawsuit if the "debt" is not relieved.
• • •
Josette Nichole's profile photo
Josette Nichole
6 months ago
I love Southwind Village! I'd been searching the Twin Cities area for pet friendly apartments and every place I visited either smelled, had crazy restrictions or was over-priced. Not Southwind. The apartments are beautiful, inside and out. The grounds are clean and perfect for taking a walk or having a picnic. The apartments are gorgeous! Wood floors, stainless steel appliances AND washer/drier in unit! I'm actually living in a studio (which I never thought I could) but Southwind studios can hardly be considered studios. They're bigger than any 1-bedroom I've rented anywhere else. I love that we get underground parking AND don't have to share long hallways with a bunch of other residents! The staff is great. They're very easy to get a hold of. The office is open 6 days a week so you can just pop in with questions. Everyone has been incredibly nice and helpful. AND they host a bunch of events through the year!
• • •
Alexandra Huelsman's profile photo
Alexandra Huelsman
a year ago
What a rip off. The models look nothing like the actual apartments. Within the 6 months we lived there, we had stuff stolen out of the SECURED UNDERCOVER GARAGE twice. We witnessed several drug deals in the parking lot and reported it to management who simply said that Burnsville PD patrolled the area, but I never ONCE saw a squad car in our parking lot or in our area. The landscaping was terrible and never finished, despite the beautiful landscaping around the leasing office and model homes. The lights on the stairs to our apartment were burned out the entire time we lived there, despite several reports to management to fix them because the stairs were pitch black at night (a serious hazard). The pool was heated only by the sun, and poorly taken care of and was usable for about two months before it was shut down again or out for "repairs". As for the apartment itself, the "remodel" job done so poorly it was a nightmare. There were paint spills on the floor, sections of the wall that they just forgot to paint, and dents and patch jobs were terribly covered. Our washing machine overflowed after 5 months of living there, and flooded our neighbors light fixtures, to which they replied that they would cut out part of the ceiling and replace it, meaning they wouldn't even begin to attack the mold problem that probably exists there now. The mail area where our mail box was had a HUGE hole punched in the wall the was NEVER repaired, and was littered with trash all the time. I had to call the police once for a screaming party going on next door, to which management replied that they had to receive 3 warnings from police before being kicked out. Despite the fact that we told several people in the leasing office of our move out date, the manager still had no idea when we went to move out. Poor communication and incompetence reigns in the leasing office. Especially for the money they charge for this place, don't waste your money. Go elsewhere. The apartments are terrible and the management is terrible.
• • •
Kimber Anderson's profile photo
Kimber Anderson
2 years ago
I have lived here for three years. After moving in, I noticed the ceiling in the laundry room of my apt. leaked water. Upon notification, they attempted to fix it - with duct tape. Repeated complaints were completely ignored. Phone calls during the day went straight to the voice messaging service and were NEVER once returned. So much water will come down that the air purifier on the floor's electrical component was fried and is irreparable. Management couldn't care less. A year ago, management changed. And while the office staff are more plentiful, quick to get back to you, and nice, maintenance is still a blatant red sore on this place's reputation. They have never once painted, and the front of my apartment has long garish strips of paint literally hanging down. The grass has never been taken care of and in the summer is completely dead. I have watched all of the white people move out; there are now only Mexicans and Somalis. Great location, great design, but an aging set of buildings that were never properly maintained that are so unsightly you would be humiliated for your friends to see.
• • •

Stream

Springhaven Village hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.