Cover photo
Verified local business
Sorensen's Resort
3 followers|515,565 views
Contact Information
Map of the business location
14255 CA-88 Hope Valley, CA 96120
14255 California 88USCaliforniaHope Valley96120
Resort, Ski Resort
Ski Resort
Wedding Venue
Your all season resort in the Sierra Nevada. With or without kids, Sorensen’s Resort provides a perfect base to explore the gorgeous scenery in and around Hope Valley, located 45 minutes south of Lake Tahoe. Nestled in a grove of aspen trees, accommodations are simple but comfortable log cabins. Some have kitchen facilities and are large enough to accommodate four to six people (several are pet-friendly too). Best of all, the property has a casual restaurant with fantastic food – the perfect end to a day of this area’s wide variety of glorious outdoor activities.
Google+ URL

Street View

Have them in circles
3 people
Tahoe Paddle Yaks's profile photo
Annie Buck's profile photo
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
15 reviews
5 star
7 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
1 review
Cabins, cottages & homes in an alpine setting, plus a cafe & activities from fishing to sledding.- Google
"The food has always been hearty and satisfying."
"Honor and respect your environment, or lose those customers who do."
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Karen Kirkman
a week ago
Love Sorensen's. There are many cabins to choose from & something for everyone including some that allow dogs. The food is great. The folks working there nice & helpful. Everything is well maintained too!
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thank you, Karen, for the lovely review. We'll look forward to seeing you again! John and Patty
Charlie Noone
2 months ago
By far the least accommodating event venues ive ever been to. The owner john was abusive towards several members of the party going so far as to make the bride cry on her wedding day for all the wrong reasons. We rented the entire resort during the off season and were only made to feel like we were putting John out. There is no reason anyone should ever stop. Keep driving.
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
The recent wedding events at Sorensen’s Resort were accomplished as the bride and groom had wished. Our staff provided an amazing array of creative and carefully prepared feasts for both events on Friday and Saturday nights at one of our busiest times of the year. Sorensen’s is located at 7,000 feet in the high Sierra and like all of California has been affected by four years of drought. Unfortunately, certain members of the wedding party chose to ignore our resort-wide, no-smoking policy in high-fire season and chose to drink in excess on both nights, leading to obnoxious behavior and unsafe decisions. In addition, they also ignored the contract signed by the bride and groom agreeing to a 9:00 event closure on Friday and a10:00 p.m. end-time on Saturday. On the Saturday evening of the wedding reception, when (once again) guests were asked to comply with our policies, several in the wedding party hiked up our road leading to the rest of our 165-acre property in order to smoke, putting our historic inn in danger during this very dry season. In addition, on both occasions, they partied until all hours of the night until, finally, it was necessary to call the Alpine County Sheriff to deal with their bad behavior. Sorensen’s is a completely non-smoking property and has been for over 30 years. Each guest checking-in is asked to read, sign and agree to our no-smoking policy. Each were sent a Confirmation Letter reiterating this and other policies of the resort (like not over-packing the occupancy of the cabins, which they did) and leaving the cabins in disarray. At check-in guests are asked to sign/agree to the policies of the resort and if they choose not to agree they are notified they would be subject to a fee. Contrary to the writer to Google, as owners and stewards of the land, we completely acted within of our rights for the safety of our business and the security and safety of our guests. The folks who acted out did so in disregard of our business, our staff, and most importantly the bride and groom, who they were here to celebrate, but instead turned the weekend into a circus. Many guests in this wedding party observed what had occurred and thanked us for taking action. John and Patty Brissenden, Owners Teri Heim, Assistant Manager & Wedding Coordinator
kirk howell
a month ago
good food, cabins not very comfortable, no tv, bed agent the wall so must wake up partner to get out of bed? Stay in South shore next time?
Response from the owner - a month ago
Dear Kirk: We’re glad you enjoyed the food at Sorensen’s Country Café during your visit. You don’t say when you stayed with us, but we hope you took the time to peruse our website and/or our cabin rate sheet before your visit. Both of these resources describe our many accommodations, including the cabins with two double-beds in the same room with full kitchens and bathrooms with showers. On our website we also have photo examples of the variety of cabins located on Sorensen’s property. The cabins with two-double beds in the same room are stated clearly and a sample photo shows exactly what you described. There is also no description of t.v. being available and wifi or cell phones service is also not available in our area. Please, we ask in the future whether you’re a guest of Sorensen’s or another property, that you tell us of your concerns while you’re staying with us, giving us the opportunity to change or upgrade your accommodations while you are visiting. South Lake Tahoe certainly provides a host of activities and hotel/motel options. But, it’s not the unique experience of Sorensen’s Resort, a historic inn located along the Emigrant Trail, where miles and miles of land have been preserved in majestic open space. Truly a place and landscape our many guests enjoy and return to consistently over the years. John and Patty Brissenden, Owners
Adam Ruskin
2 years ago
First, the food is great - some of the best fajitas I've had. It is a unique atmosphere with a lot to do. The reason for the downgrade is the restaurant stinks like swamp gas. Every time the bathroom door opened, which was about every 30 seconds, you had to hold your breath and try not to have tears from the stench - they may have had a backed up septic system or something - but it did not make the dining experience pleasurable.
Marshall Lee's profile photo
Marshall Lee
in the last week
A treasure in the Sierras. Great food. Fun little cabins. Year round activities.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Good morning Marshall, We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review that we will share with staff and "treasure" ourselves!
Junior DelGiorno's profile photo
Junior DelGiorno
6 months ago
Love this place, great people, nice facilities that are close to good hiking, fly fishing, & more. John @ Sorensons always treats me and my family like we're old friends. Spent last Thanksgiving here and it turned into one of the most memorable holidays for us. We look forward to going back soon.
Bharat Singh's profile photo
Bharat Singh
in the last week
Great place to disconnect with electronics and connect with the outdoors
Response from the owner - in the last week
Good morning Bharat, Thank you for your thoughtful review and yes we recommend that our guests connect with 700 square miles of wonderful High Sierra landscapes that surround us here at Sorensen's Resort! We hope to see you again soon. Warmly, John and Patty Brissenden, Innkeeepers
Suzanne Rosevold's profile photo
Suzanne Rosevold
3 years ago
The locals - I for one - really enjoy this facility. So, many come from far and near. Sorenson's staff have worked hard to set each cabin as a theme a distance from each other, thus surrounding them in the woods and beautiful natural settings. Three local Chamber of Commerce groups held a combined members meeting there. The staff at Sorenson's worked hard to accommodate a large group and make sure each vacant cabin was open for viewing. Thus, I found the themed cabins to be extremely charming. Some of small and cozy and others hold a lot more people. They have a common room/restaurant. We have stopped by many times for a snack or meal. The food has always been hearty and satisfying. Each season has its charm. Spring time the weather is iffy, but the buds and trees and water effects are delightful. Summer is quite busy; but, the staff still is helpful with questions about fishing on the river that runs by or where local trailheads are. Fall is gorgeous. One outing I simply swang in the hammock under the most beautiful aspens, birches, oaks and maples in the Sorenson's garden. The light filtered through and it was quiet (ok, some birds). My husband had to keep me from falling asleep. Since I am not a winter person, I have not used their miles of cross country skiing. All in all, it is a delightful getaway within 1/2 to1 hour of Lake Tahoe, Nevada gaming and lots more beautiful nature.
• • •


Have them in circles
3 people
Tahoe Paddle Yaks's profile photo
Annie Buck's profile photo

Sorensen's Resort hasn't shared anything with you.

People are more likely to share with you if you add them to your circles.