Profile

Cover photo
Shakeel Mahate
Works at ABB Corporate Research
Attended University of Maryland Baltimore County
Lives in Raleigh NC
1,211 followers|1,857,609 views
AboutPostsCollectionsPhotosYouTube+1'sReviews

Stream

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
books.google.ca - National Best SellerAn illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a stunningly fresh look at plants tha...
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
The curse of the hyphenated citizens
Britain is my home. But some of my compatriots have trouble with that.
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
How _rsc Russ Cox fixes performance bugs, pretty neat
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
Black and white photos made under a microscope by Carl Strüwe reveal the wonder of organic life under optical lenses.
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
e^pi - pi
1
Have him in circles
1,211 people
Ed Jackson's profile photo
Noris Agramonte's profile photo
Ali Raza's profile photo
Jean Poget's profile photo
alber matrex's profile photo
Roe jones's profile photo
Shankar Prasad Adhikari's profile photo
Polinom Tansel's profile photo
paul sykes's profile photo

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
I have been playing around with Flutter and the programming experience is fantastic.
 
Over the past few weeks the Flutter team has been mostly focused on performance and testing.

💠‬

For performance, the first step of course is measurement. To this end, Yegor has started doing continuous automated testing on actual devices, so that we have a clear baseline against which to measure our progress. Of course to make that useful we have to have performance tests, so Viktor wrote a test with some complicated layouts. This immediately uncovered that my MixedViewport class was terrible, so Adam rewrote that as LazyBlock. And on it goes.

LazyBlock is pretty neat. Instead of just giving it a list of children, you give it a delegate that produces children on demand, and LazyBlock only asks it for the children that it needs. As you scroll, it throws away the earlier children, and asks for the next ones. If you go back up, it does the same thing backwards. Eventually we'll even make it guess the right child number if you jump scroll, so that you can jump around a huge list of children without ever having to pay the cost of drawing any children other than the ones on the screen.

One widget we don't yet have is a LazyTable. That's something I plan to add soon. I did implement DataTable recently, you can see the demo in our gallery app which exactly matches the sample in the Material Design specification. The next step though is a paginated version and a scrolling version, reusing the same delegate approach that Adam used for LazyBlock. (Tables are tricky because you have to figure out what size to make the columns; for DataTable, it actually measures every cell before laying out any rows, which is quite expensive. For LazyTable, we'll have to use either fixed width columns or flex-style sizing.)

Lots of other work on performance has been going on too. Eric and Devon hooked things up so that from the Atom editor you can now with one checkbox turn on and off our PerformanceOverlay widget and our "repaint rainbow" feature, live while your app is running. Hans has been working on improving the performance of our gallery app. Seth has been running lots of our demo apps tracking down any where we miss frames and filing bugs on them. We even had the help of a nine year old yesterday, who found a bunch of bugs for us!

You can see a screenshot of the checkbox on the PR: https://github.com/dart-atom/dartlang/pull/960

💠‬

The other big push recently has been on testing. As we like to say, "write test find bug". The problem is that writing tests for Flutter has been a bit difficult so far, because you can't see what you're testing.

Yegor has been working on a way to test on-device, using "flutter drive", and as part of that he redesigned our API for testing in a way that makes a lot more sense. (Flutter drive is what he used to do the continuous performance testing I mentioned earlier.) I've now picked that up and I'm taking it to its logical conclusion: make it so that even for our unit tests, you can actually see what's going on if you run them on a device. The hope is that this will really simplify writing tests for Flutter, which will mean we write more tests (and hopefully will mean people writing apps for Flutter can write more tests, since we use the same testing strategy for people writing Flutter apps as we do on Flutter itself), which will mean finding more bugs! 
View original post
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
Most of the diversity outlined on the new tree has been hiding in plain sight.
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
The Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author of Garbology explores the hidden and costly wonders of our buy-it-now, get-it-today world of transportation, revealing the sur...
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
 
The new method can store a zettabyte (~280 trillion mp3 audio files) of information using only 10 grams of polymer
Researchers in France are developing the DNA inspired data storage technology that Prof. George Church used to store millions of book copies in a single drop of liquid
1

Shakeel Mahate

Shared publicly  - 
You may not know him by name just yet, but he's one of the most powerful people alive. Google's new CEO Sundar Pichai wants to bring the internet to the rest of the world, all while winning back yo...
1
Shakeel's Collections
People
Have him in circles
1,211 people
Ed Jackson's profile photo
Noris Agramonte's profile photo
Ali Raza's profile photo
Jean Poget's profile photo
alber matrex's profile photo
Roe jones's profile photo
Shankar Prasad Adhikari's profile photo
Polinom Tansel's profile photo
paul sykes's profile photo
Work
Occupation
Software Researcher
Skills
Software Development, Cloud Computing, Mobile Computing
Employment
  • ABB Corporate Research
    Sr Software Researcher, 2007 - present
  • Wipro
    Consultant, 1988 - 1989
  • S3 Technologies
    Software Engineer, 1990 - 1992
  • RWD Technologies
    Software Engineer, 1993 - 1995
  • IBM
    Sr Software Engineer, 1995 - 2000
  • Avantsoft
    Sr Instructor, 2000 - 2001
  • Essential Computing Net
    CEO, 2001 - 2008
  • IBM
    Sr Consultant, 2004 - 2007
  • ABB Ltd
    Sr Software Engineer, 2002 - 2004
  • University of Maryland Baltimore County
    Adjunct Faculty, 1989 - 1995
  • North Carolina State University
    Instructor, 1997 - 1998
Places
Map of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has livedMap of the places this user has lived
Currently
Raleigh NC
Previously
Bombay India - Baltimore MD - Columbia MD - Huntsville Alabama - Bombay India
Story
Tagline
Software geek
Introduction
I try to learn one new thing everyday and remind myself to be a good human being. And I am thankful to my creator for all the innumerable blessings that I receive everyday.
Collections Shakeel is following
View all
Education
  • University of Maryland Baltimore County
    Computer Science, 1989 - 1990
  • University of Mumbai
    Computer Engineering, 1984 - 1988
  • St Xavier's College
    1982 - 1984
  • St Joseph's High School
    1972 - 1982
Basic Information
Gender
Male
Relationship
Married
Shakeel Mahate's +1's are the things they like, agree with, or want to recommend.
Statement on DMCA lawsuit
blog.cryptographyengineering.com

My name is Matthew Green. I am a professor of computer science and a researcher at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. I focus on compute

Regular expressions in lexing and parsing
commandcenter.blogspot.com

Comments extracted from a code review. I've been asked to disseminate them more widely. I should say something about regular expressions in

Five Key Mindsets that Separate Successful Programmers from Everyone Else
www.theeffectiveengineer.com

Dave Cutler, at age 74, still goes to his office at Microsoft every day to write code. I first heard of Cutler when he was honored as a Comp

Lab Girl - Hope Jahren - Google Books
books.google.ca

books.google.ca - National Best SellerAn illuminating debut memoir of a woman in science; a moving portrait of a longtime friendship; and a

Scientists Unveil New ‘Tree of Life’ - The New York Times
www.nytimes.com

Most of the diversity outlined on the new tree has been hiding in plain sight.

Oh, So Now I’m Bangladeshi? - The New York Times
www.nytimes.com

Britain is my home. But some of my compatriots have trouble with that.

Door to Door - Books on Google Play
market.android.com

The Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist and author of Garbology explores the hidden and costly wonders of our buy-it-now, get-it-today world o

all: kubernetes slower execution since Go 1.4.3 · Issue #14396 · golang/...
github.com

The Kubernetes team found that updating from Go 1.4.2 to Go 1.4.3 caused a performance regression for them, and also that Go 1.5.3 was bad a

Magnifying the World of Beauty That Lives Under a Microscope - The New Y...
www.nytimes.com

Black and white photos made under a microscope by Carl Strüwe reveal the wonder of organic life under optical lenses.

xkcd: e to the pi Minus pi
xkcd.com

Person: Hey, check it out: e^pi-pi is 19.999099979. That's weird. Hat Guy: Yeah. That's how I got kicked out of the ACM in college. Person:

Maths in Science - an interview with Don Knuth
authenticinquirymaths.blogspot.com

AN APOLOGY In March this year I published interviews with some very prominent scientists, asking them about their experience of maths educat

When Breath Becomes Air - Books on Google Play
market.android.com

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced

Before I go
stanmed.stanford.edu

Time warps for a young surgeon with metastatic lung cancer

On the Juniper backdoor
blog.cryptographyengineering.com

You might have heard that a few days ago, Juniper Systems announced the discovery of "unauthorized code" in the ScreenOS software that under

Only accepts cash. Fruits, chocolates and bread
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
Walking trails, boat rides and beautiful fall foliage
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
Nice outdoor sitting on the old city center, coffee and cakes
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
Walking distance to the Roman ruins in the city center and within driving distance to Heidelberg and other sites
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
22 reviews
Map
Map
Map
Elegant cuisine and fine dining, expensive but worth it
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago
Cheap fast and convenient
Public - 8 months ago
reviewed 8 months ago