Great list of Wordpress Plugins to help with your SEO

I was poking around +Mark Traphagen's posts lately and saw that I had missed this one from my friend across the pond +Lee Smallwood - sorry I did not catch it until now ;-) --
O #seo #seotips #wordpress #worpressseo #wordpressplugins O
--
Wordpress Plugins

When I set up Wordpress sites for clients or my own sites there are plugins that I install to help me optimise the on-site content and on-page elements - so I thought I'd list them here - hope it helps :)

SEO Ultimate : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/seo-ultimate/ - all in one on-page SEO

Greg's High Performance SEO : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/gregs-high-performance-seo/ - an alternative to SEO Ultimate

Custom login screen : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/custom-login/ - removes the wordpress branding

PubSubHubBub : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/pubsubhubbub/ - claims the content you publish – helps prevent other people taking it as there own

Cool Author Box : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/cool-author-box/ - needed for Google+ publisher rank and author rank

Site performance and internal architecture
A good vid from +Matt Cutts at Google talking about latency, internal linking and social sharing
If you were an SEO of a large company, what would you include in your 2011 strategy?

Wordpress Plugins I use that address the 3 points Matt discusses in the video are:

SEO Smart Links : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/seo-automatic-links/ - for auto internal linking - NOTE read this post before using the plugin and if unsure DON'T install it and seek advice http://seobraintrust.com/seo-smart-links-penalty/ and don't just use the plugin as is ... Remember that moderation is key limit the number of links being created by the plugin - e.g. I limit it to 1 link per post [h/t +Craig Deakin for sharing the link]

WP Total Cache : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/w3-total-cache/ - can increase site speed by 10 x

Digg Digg : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/digg-digg/ - fully customisable and adds a floating bar on the side of the blog posts

Other things
Gravatar.com account needed for each author – same email must be used as the one they use for logging into the VF blog

Zemanta : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/zemanta/ - for finding external content to link to – (here's my latest blog on it http://leesmallwood.com/2012/04/27/important-relevant-outbound-links/ and +Mark Traphagen post on +Zemanta http://www.virante.com/blog/2012/04/24/zemanta-enhanced-linking-plugin-for-wordpress/

Social Metrics Pro : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/social-metrics/ - provides a dashboard of all the social activity taking place on the site

Google XML site maps generator http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/google-sitemap-generator/
If you have any Qs on the above leave a comment below let me know - happy to help :)

Other Plugins Suggested by G+ Community
Custom Contact Forms : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/custom-contact-forms/ suggested by +Holly Ares Snyder
Media Elements JS : http://wordpress.org/extend/plugins/media-element-html5-video-and-audio-player/ great HTML5 player - suggested by +Holly Ares Snyder

And if you have any plugins that you tried that should be added to the above - leave a comment below and link to the plugin and I'll add it to the post above :)

#wordpress #WordpressPlugins
Photo
Shared publiclyView activity