While what you say appears to be true on the surfce, +Marc Bradshaw
, about it lately
having been clear that "no content will be transferred", the main
argument and fact remains unchallenged:
When the Migration Tool was first announced (Oct 27 2011, "we expect this to be ready in a few weeks") it wasn't made clear that content would not
So basically you were given two options:
I) Continue using G+ Temp Account, wait for Migration Tool, (lose all social content upon migration, but we forgot to mention it)
II) Start using your newly available G+ Apps Account, re-circle everyone and have everyone re-circle you (and lose less content than, uh, what you have after, say, 8 months and 16 days later?)...
Many people - not just me - feel that neither of these options is satisfactory enough. And more importantly, many of us might've taken the one with less
content loss. Mainly because the content we're about to lose or be disconnected with/from, *is* our social currency
, if you will:
More to a random online person, but also for people who maybe know you from "offline world" also, social content does (accurately or not) define us and illustrate who we have been and what we perhaps are today.
Example; Find nothing on someone online, in a social media? "Who is this..."
Versus; Find or come accross posts, comments, +1s, etc... "Oooh, hey, this person actually seems quite <insert adjective>..."