Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Riner Rentals
Property Management Company
Today 9AM–5PM
631,507 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Please be careful out there in the weather! Heavier snow is on the way, so please be aware as you are on the roads. Hope everyone enjoys their snow day!  
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
This is great! Local Bike Shop Named One of America's Best http://ow.ly/AJiN0
One local bike retailer was just named one of America's best bike shops in America.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Get excited for the Vally 4th Run. 20% off first time 10k registrations today!
The Valley 4th RUN is the ONLY chipped timing race in the Shenandoah Valley that lets you pick your distance and pick your charity. Plus, it's a great opportunity to run/walk/roll through the streets of downtown Harrisonburg on the greatest holiday of the year.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
DON'T MISS YOUR CHANCE TO SAVE!
Early Bird Registration for RMUC.2014 is open!

Join us for the 2014 Rent Manager User Conference at the beautiful Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, October 13th–16th in San Diego, California.

REGISTER NOW to qualify for Early Bird pricing--the discount ends on June 1st: http://bit.ly/1qzySrr
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
#hburg , leading by example.   #farmersmarket   #goodfood  
Here's an appalling statistic: we waste 40 percent of our food in this country. I recently read a Grist article by Nathanael Johnson that addressed the abundance of food waste at farmers markets, and I wanted to see how our market in Harrisonburg compares. As it turns out, our community must be ...
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
What are some of you favorite hikes? #Hiking in #Virginia - #VirginiaIsForLovers http://ow.ly/x1i8F
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Don't miss out on @abowlofgood all you can eat breakfast buffet this morning! 8:30-11:30 at Port Republic #breakfast http://ow.ly/wV4sh
Tomorrow's All-You-Can/Should-Eat Breakfast Buffet ($8) at Port Republic Road (8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.) will be prepared by Jan and will include: Corned beef hash served with eggs on top Bourbon Chicken Waffles Biscuits and Tomato Gravy Sausage Eggs with asparagus and cheese Garden Spinach Salad Fruit Scones with Clotted Cream Hot Tea with lemon and honey the usual breads, pastries, granola and yogurt
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
20 people
Cat's Cradle's profile photo
No More Phone Tag's profile photo
American Insurances's profile photo
Housing Helpers's profile photo
Joshua Defnall's profile photo
The Breakers Resort's profile photo
Andreas Riha's profile photo
Global Gate Controls's profile photo
Riviera At The Breakers Resort's profile photo

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
We hope that everyone is staying dry today during the rain!  Hopefully clear skies and warmer weather will be back tomorrow...
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
All gave some, some gave all. #MemorialDay #remembrance
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some great tips!
 
Here's a great article to share with your residents as vacation season nears...
Before you go on vacation, you've got some things to take care of in your apartment. This list will keep you organized.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
Get creative when placing flowers in your outdoor space! Here's some great inspiration from Anna Lisemeyer of In Honor of Design. http://thd.co/1fK0YeH #SpringMadeSimple #StyleChallenge #FloralFriday
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Looking for some #summer fun? Check out the @VisitVirginia eNewsletter for June 2014 http://ow.ly/wV41j
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1587 Port Republic Rd #3 Harrisonburg, VA 22801
1587 Port Republic Road #3USVirginiaHarrisonburg22801
Property Management CompanyToday 9AM–5PM
Friday 9AM–5PMSaturday 9AM–1PMSunday ClosedMonday 9AM–5PMTuesday 9AM–5PMWednesday 9AM–5PMThursday 9AM–5PM
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.0
28 reviews
5 star
4 reviews
4 star
1 review
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
17 reviews
"They clearly made no effort to clean it and still tried to charge us a fee."
"Not a horrible rental service, but could be better."
"That isn't always the fault of the management company, though."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
20 people
Cat's Cradle's profile photo
No More Phone Tag's profile photo
American Insurances's profile photo
Housing Helpers's profile photo
Joshua Defnall's profile photo
The Breakers Resort's profile photo
Andreas Riha's profile photo
Global Gate Controls's profile photo
Riviera At The Breakers Resort's profile photo
All reviews
Samantha Crompton's profile photo
Samantha Crompton
a week ago
I have been living on my own since I was 15, and have never had an issue with a leasing company or landlord. I'm sorry to say it, but Riner is a bunch of crooks. They constantly try and charge you for things they are responsible for. They enter the home unannounced. I am never going to rent through them again. It was the worst experience I have had in Harrisonburg.
Response from the owner - a week ago
Samantha, thanks for your thoughts. I would, however, like to point out a few of these items so that those reading your review have an understanding of the charges you and your roommates have been responsible for over the past year. I think this will shed some light on your frustration, but also the fact that Riner Rentals did not have anything to do with them being charged to your rental account. There have been two NSF fees for checks that we could not put through the bank. One has been paid, one remains outstanding. There was a fee for three unauthorized cats in the apartment, that has been acknowledged and paid. We have already waived one maintenance expense when a contractor came over to address a leak you called about and you would not let him into the room with the leak to take a look. There was a charge to send a contractor over to reset a tripped breaker, caused by an unauthorized space heater at the property, even though your apartment has central heat/AC. There is an outstanding charge for 7 days of electric service that remained in our name for one week following your move in at the property last summer. It was not in your name as of the start of the lease per the lease agreement. The latest charge, and probably the one that you are frustrate about currently, is a call that the AC was not working in your unit. Upon sending someone the SAME day of your call, it was found that the filter had not been changed at all, causing the unit to freeze up. This mistake was soon after acknowledged by one of your roommates by email who apologized for it happening. This does not include multiple noise complaints from neighbors about tenants and guests being very loud at 2am-3am in the morning, or the white paint that remains on our brick facade from the painting of something in front of the building, which was brought to our attention by a concerned neighbor who saw it happen. I believe that we have been very patient, very fair, and very responsive. All we ask is that you do the same. I believe Riner Rentals has acted kindly but firmly to address the above issues that have continued. If you would ever like to discuss any of these items further, please reach out to me personally at 540-438-8800 or email me directly at paul@rinerrentals,com. I'd be happy to meet with you and/or your roommates at any time if there is confusion about these charges. Thanks, and have a great day. Paul Riner, Owner, Riner Rentals
Ken Smith's profile photo
Ken Smith
4 weeks ago
I've rented from Riner Rentals for 14 months. I called for a couple of issues and they handled the issues promptly. To this point, they have been Great! I highly recommend Paul Riner and the Riner Rentals Team! Ken Smith
Response from the owner - 3 weeks ago
Ken, thanks for your review! We've enjoyed having you as a tenant, and I am personally happy to hear your experience with Riner Rentals had been a good one. Please let us know how we can continue to serve you! Paul Riner, Riner Rentals
Ryann Yeaman's profile photo
Ryann Yeaman
3 months ago
I knew that the first apartment I would ever live in by myself would not be the best, but I didn't expect it to be THIS bad. The first issue I had with Riner Rentals was before I even actually moved in. Upon signing my lease I was told I would receive one guest parking pass for visitors. A day or two before move-in day I called the office to acquire the parking pass as my boyfriend was helping me move and planned on staying the night. On the phone I was told that they did not offer parking passes for their West Port location, and that they had never said anything otherwise. The second problem I had was with the washing machine. It was broken and unusable from the day I moved in. The third and most upsetting problem came after I placed a request for maintenance to fix the machine. The people they hired to come to my apartment came to look at it, then told me it would have to be replaced entirely. I stayed at my boyfriend's apartment for the next couple of days since they told me they would come to replace it within that time. Coming back to my apartment afterwards I noticed something was off. The workers had left several beer caps on my floor. There have been several other maintenance issues since, but I have not called again. Being a 19 year old girl who lives alone, the idea of strange men, working and drinking in my apartment makes me extremely uncomfortable. The place was not properly cleaned before I moved in either, and I am still finding things the previous tenants left behind. The last issue I've had so far is the rent situation. Riner Rentals offers an online payment option for rent, which I have used every month, and which has failed every month. The system they use does not work, and even though I pay my rent on time every month, I get a five day late notice. Every. Month. I will absolutely not be renewing my lease for next semester.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
Ryann, First and foremost, I am personally sorry that your experience has not been better with our company. I do want to assure you, however, that I have contacted the contractors who installed your washer/dryer and they were certainly NOT drinking on the job. One of them is my employee, and the other is someone we have used for many years. I am sorry that there were bottle caps there, but perhaps they came from under the old unit when moved? We hope that the new washer/dryer unit is still working correctly, and we always hate to have to replace appliances when they stop working correctly; but I do stand behind our contractors and the replacement that was made after you brought the issue to our attention. As far as the parking tag, we do grant each resident a parking tag for reserved parking. Because of the limited parking for residents, we do not offer guest passes for Westport Village. This is to ensure that all tenants have adequate parking at all times. This has been our guest parking policy for all of the time that we have managed the property, and I apologize if this was not conveyed clearly to you. In reference to the rental payment situation, we reviewed your account and found that the months during which you received a late fee, the rent was paid after the 5th of the month. In January, it was paid on the 8th, in February, on the 8th, and in March on the 7th. Rent is due on the first but not charged a late fee until the 6th. This is to provide a 5-day grace period to ensure that payment can be made. If you are having issues with the payment portal, attempting payment on the first, the rental due date, would allow time (5 days) for us to address any issues with you to ensure that a late fee is not charged. If we can discuss this item further, please let us know and we will be happy to meet with you at your apartment or at our office to determine if there is an ongoing issue. Payments on the portal post to your account in real time. As long as you pay by 11:59pm on the 5th of any month, you will be within the allowances of your lease without penalty. Again, if there id ever anything that we can do to alleviate your concerns, including accompanying our contractors to your unit to address any concerns, please let us know. We want you to have a great experience at Westport Village as well as with our company for the remainder of your time there. Thanks again for your review, Paul Riner, Owner Riner Rentals
Becky Galloway's profile photo
Becky Galloway
7 months ago
Horribly unprofessional company. They had the wrong zip code for the address of my apartment rental on the official lease document that I signed. I found this out later as I tried unsuccessfully to set up utilities in this property. They also did not notify me (although they had FULL knowledge) that the address of the apartment I was renting had a different apt # as listed with these utility companies. On top of that, when I called Riner again to determine what the apartment was listed under for these companies, they gave me the wrong number again and my roommate and I ended up paying the utility bills for our neighbors' apt while the bill in my account went unpaid.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Becky, Thanks for your review. While I can certainly understand your frustration with this utility situation, I also want to be sure that you know we too are frustrated. The utility company changed the way that each apartment in your house was coded in their system. They made this change without us knowing that they had done so. When the switch in utility bills occurred, we worked fast to contact the utility company providing electric service to sort it out. We have also spent countless hours trying to determine who should have been responsible for what utility bills, as well as remain in contact with the utility provider to rectify any mistakes that were made by them on our tenants' accounts. Again, I totally understand your frustration, but wanted you to be aware that we did not have control over the change at the utility company, and have had to unravel this issue ourselves after the changes you reference were made prior to your early move out from the property. We are still working to ensure that your former roommates have the bills figured out after your move from the property. Again, thanks for your review, but I hope that you will note that while mistake was made, it was one that Riner Rentals ALSO had no control over, and are working to solve ASAP. Feel free to contact me at any time if you would like to discuss this issue further. Paul Riner, Owner Riner Rentals
Tuck Conley's profile photo
Tuck Conley
in the last week
The agent I dealt with provided no info and they didn't even go over the lease with me. They sat me in a room to read over everything and asked for a check. However I still signed a lease with riner rentals 23 days ago and my girlfriends car was already towed from in front of our property due to the visitor pass being warped and falling off the rear view mirror. This cost us $160 and both being late to work and there was no effort whatsoever made from riner rental to accommodate any compensation at all and not even an apology. Very bad start to my first experience with them and their lack of efforts or concern is enough to make me recommend anyone I know to stay away from them and I will not be signing another lease with this company in the future. The apartment is great but I hope this is the last time I need to speak to riner until the day I turn my keys in next June because they are about as good as asking a gorilla for help.
• • •
Response from the owner - a week ago
Tuck, thank you for sharing your thoughts. I spoke with both Sarah and Brandie, staff members of mine who spoke with you today concerning this situation. When speaking with Sarah, she recommended to you to contact KAR Towing directly to inquire as to whether or not the parking hang tag was indeed found within the car. If it was, they are reasonable and may have been able to assist you. Also, we have visitor hang tags at Hillmont that have been issued for almost two years without any issue of being able to hang them from the rear view mirror due to warping. Additionally, Brandie apologized that this had happened to you when you came into our office, and replaced the hang tag without asking you to turn in the old tag because she wanted to be sure that you were able to park without further issue. Our typical policy is to require a tenant to turn in the old pass before re-issuing a new one. As far as compensation, we suggested that you call the towing company, KAR Towing, to inquire as to what could be done if the hang tag was indeed found within the vehicle. I am happy to call KAR myself to follow up if you'd like for me to. The towing company is only asked to tow vehicles that do not have a displayed hang tag, and so they did not do anything that was outside of what we ask of them. I fully support the responses of both Sarah and Brandie in this situation, but would also be happy to discuss with you in person or over the phone at any time. Again, if you'd like, I can contact KAR Towing to inquire as well. Please contact me if you would like for me to do so or if you'd like to meet at anytime. (540) 438-8800 or paul@rinerrentals.com. Thanks, Paul Riner, Owner, Riner Rentals
Natalie Burn's profile photo
Natalie Burn
2 weeks ago
Unprofessional. They come in without notice. And they did not clean the place when we moved in. We thought there was coffee spilt on every wall and door but turn out the erson before us smoked so much in the apartments that it was nicotine running down the walls. Horrible. I highly do not recommend them.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Natalie, first of all, I have read your review and am working to try and get all of the background information on your complaint. I cannot find your name in our system as a current or previous tenant. If you would please contact me by phone or at paul@rinerrentals.com directly, I would like to discuss the specifics concerning these issues with you so that I can understand what has upset you and work to remedy them. In order to do that, I would like to review your file so that I can be best informed when we speak. Thanks, and I hope to hear from you soon so that we can address these and any other issues you may have had/be having so as to get them corrected efficiently and completely. I look forward to hearing from you. Paul Riner, Owner, Riner Rentals
Mohammed Alrubaye's profile photo
Mohammed Alrubaye
a week ago
They made me pay more than 200 dollars over the deposit which was ...... Even the house was in a clean and hood condition. They refused to negotiate it and only gave me the option to pay the whole amount or make payments. I Told them it is unfair but they didnt care!
Response from the owner - a week ago
Mohammed, I am sorry that you chose to leave the review that you did about Riner Rentals. If you will recall, you were in the middle of a lease term when you contacted our office to let us know that you were stuck outside of the United States indefinitely. Upon learning of this, we ended your lease agreement WITHOUT PENALTY and allowed your family and friends access upon your instruction to retrieve your belongings. Upon your move out, however, there was cleaning, carpet cleaning, and painting that had to be done in order to re-rent the apartment. Perhaps if you had been available to do a walk through or to be present to clean or make repairs as noted on your Vacating Checklist, the bill to do that work would not have been needed. I believe that we were VERY fair in allowing you to end your lease without penalty based upon your unfortunate circumstances, and am sorry that you believe otherwise. If you do wish to discuss this further, I am available anytime to personally take your call or to meet with you to review the charges and the circumstances surrounding your early move out from the apartment. Thank you. Paul Riner, Owner
Google User's profile photo
Google User
8 months ago
It feels like we have had an issue almost every month we have lived here (and many more during move in). The location was far from acceptable when we attempted to move in, and though the issues were fixed (slowly), it was a substantial inconvenience which the organization cared little to none about. If it is not a true emergency, Riner could really care less as to how quickly it is fixed for the paying customer. Live here if you have an "I'll just deal with that being broken" attitude and don't place value in the "conveniences" in your residence working or staying working. We have enjoyed the space and layout (at a decent price), but the neighborhood is much less pleasant to live in than it appeared during any of our 3 visits before renting (not Riner's fault, I don't think). Amended based service and the below response from Riner: Sense of urgency in repairs/service seems improved, though it seems to take a little prodding. Not a Ritz quality interior, but again more likely related to actual property owner than management (econo/old appliances, carpet, upkeep in general) and we feel comfortable living here.
• • •
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
First of all, thanks for your review. As I always tell our residents, if there are ever specific issues that you are having in your rental unit, please let us know. In some instances, Riner Rentals can send a contractor right away to address your issue. In other cases, the owner of the property may request to be contacted with any maintenance items. When this happens, Riner Rentals contacts the owner with any concerns and lets them know that they need to be addressed. This may take a little bit longer, but is out of our control per our contract with the property owner. This does not remain the case in instances that involve health or safety. In these instances, we may send a contractor if a property owner does not or cannot respond immediately. We prefer to maintain control over all maintenance when possible, but some of our owners wish to maintain control of this function of the rental. We do strive to provide great rentals at a good value, and am glad to hear that you feel this is the case. As far as any neighborhood is concerned, Riner Rentals cannot have any control over those residents or tenants outside of our office's purview, but hope that your stay in the rental is a pleasant one moving forward. Please let me know personally if you have any further questions, or if there is anything else I can do to help at anytime. Paul Riner, Riner Rentals