Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Riner Rentals
Property Management Company
Today 9AM–5PM
25 followers|591,191 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Please be careful out there in the weather! Heavier snow is on the way, so please be aware as you are on the roads. Hope everyone enjoys their snow day!  
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
This is great! Local Bike Shop Named One of America's Best http://ow.ly/AJiN0
One local bike retailer was just named one of America's best bike shops in America.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Get excited for the Vally 4th Run. 20% off first time 10k registrations today!
The Valley 4th RUN is the ONLY chipped timing race in the Shenandoah Valley that lets you pick your distance and pick your charity. Plus, it's a great opportunity to run/walk/roll through the streets of downtown Harrisonburg on the greatest holiday of the year.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
DON'T MISS YOUR CHANCE TO SAVE!
Early Bird Registration for RMUC.2014 is open!

Join us for the 2014 Rent Manager User Conference at the beautiful Park Hyatt Aviara Resort, October 13th–16th in San Diego, California.

REGISTER NOW to qualify for Early Bird pricing--the discount ends on June 1st: http://bit.ly/1qzySrr
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
#hburg , leading by example.   #farmersmarket   #goodfood  
Here's an appalling statistic: we waste 40 percent of our food in this country. I recently read a Grist article by Nathanael Johnson that addressed the abundance of food waste at farmers markets, and I wanted to see how our market in Harrisonburg compares. As it turns out, our community must be ...
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
What are some of you favorite hikes? #Hiking in #Virginia - #VirginiaIsForLovers http://ow.ly/x1i8F
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Don't miss out on @abowlofgood all you can eat breakfast buffet this morning! 8:30-11:30 at Port Republic #breakfast http://ow.ly/wV4sh
Tomorrow's All-You-Can/Should-Eat Breakfast Buffet ($8) at Port Republic Road (8:30 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.) will be prepared by Jan and will include: Corned beef hash served with eggs on top Bourbon Chicken Waffles Biscuits and Tomato Gravy Sausage Eggs with asparagus and cheese Garden Spinach Salad Fruit Scones with Clotted Cream Hot Tea with lemon and honey the usual breads, pastries, granola and yogurt
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
25 people
Cat's Cradle's profile photo
Housing Helpers's profile photo
No More Phone Tag's profile photo
LandCentral's profile photo
Doug Moore's profile photo
Riviera At The Breakers Resort's profile photo
Joe Killinger's profile photo
Property Manager Websites, A Kohva Company's profile photo
Rent Manager's profile photo

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
We hope that everyone is staying dry today during the rain!  Hopefully clear skies and warmer weather will be back tomorrow...
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
All gave some, some gave all. #MemorialDay #remembrance
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Some great tips!
 
Here's a great article to share with your residents as vacation season nears...
Before you go on vacation, you've got some things to take care of in your apartment. This list will keep you organized.
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
 
Get creative when placing flowers in your outdoor space! Here's some great inspiration from Anna Lisemeyer of In Honor of Design. http://thd.co/1fK0YeH #SpringMadeSimple #StyleChallenge #FloralFriday
1
Add a comment...

Riner Rentals

Shared publicly  - 
 
Looking for some #summer fun? Check out the @VisitVirginia eNewsletter for June 2014 http://ow.ly/wV41j
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
1587 Port Republic Rd #3 Harrisonburg, VA 22801
1587 Port Republic Road #3USVirginiaHarrisonburg22801
Property Management CompanyToday 9AM–5PM
Thursday 9AM–5PMFriday 9AM–5PMSaturday 9AM–1PMSunday ClosedMonday 9AM–5PMTuesday 9AM–5PMWednesday 9AM–5PM
Don't hesitate to call Riner Rentals in Harrisonburg, VA. We are committed to your satisfaction. Call us today.
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Your Activity
Write a review
Review Summary
2.0
24 reviews
5 star
4 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
2 reviews
2 star
4 reviews
1 star
14 reviews
"They clearly made no effort to clean it and still tried to charge us a fee."
"Not a horrible rental service, but could be better."
"That isn't always the fault of the management company, though."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
People
Have them in circles
25 people
Cat's Cradle's profile photo
Housing Helpers's profile photo
No More Phone Tag's profile photo
LandCentral's profile photo
Doug Moore's profile photo
Riviera At The Breakers Resort's profile photo
Joe Killinger's profile photo
Property Manager Websites, A Kohva Company's profile photo
Rent Manager's profile photo
All reviews
Ryann Yeaman's profile photo
Ryann Yeaman
a month ago
I knew that the first apartment I would ever live in by myself would not be the best, but I didn't expect it to be THIS bad. The first issue I had with Riner Rentals was before I even actually moved in. Upon signing my lease I was told I would receive one guest parking pass for visitors. A day or two before move-in day I called the office to acquire the parking pass as my boyfriend was helping me move and planned on staying the night. On the phone I was told that they did not offer parking passes for their West Port location, and that they had never said anything otherwise. The second problem I had was with the washing machine. It was broken and unusable from the day I moved in. The third and most upsetting problem came after I placed a request for maintenance to fix the machine. The people they hired to come to my apartment came to look at it, then told me it would have to be replaced entirely. I stayed at my boyfriend's apartment for the next couple of days since they told me they would come to replace it within that time. Coming back to my apartment afterwards I noticed something was off. The workers had left several beer caps on my floor. There have been several other maintenance issues since, but I have not called again. Being a 19 year old girl who lives alone, the idea of strange men, working and drinking in my apartment makes me extremely uncomfortable. The place was not properly cleaned before I moved in either, and I am still finding things the previous tenants left behind. The last issue I've had so far is the rent situation. Riner Rentals offers an online payment option for rent, which I have used every month, and which has failed every month. The system they use does not work, and even though I pay my rent on time every month, I get a five day late notice. Every. Month. I will absolutely not be renewing my lease for next semester.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Ryann, First and foremost, I am personally sorry that your experience has not been better with our company. I do want to assure you, however, that I have contacted the contractors who installed your washer/dryer and they were certainly NOT drinking on the job. One of them is my employee, and the other is someone we have used for many years. I am sorry that there were bottle caps there, but perhaps they came from under the old unit when moved? We hope that the new washer/dryer unit is still working correctly, and we always hate to have to replace appliances when they stop working correctly; but I do stand behind our contractors and the replacement that was made after you brought the issue to our attention. As far as the parking tag, we do grant each resident a parking tag for reserved parking. Because of the limited parking for residents, we do not offer guest passes for Westport Village. This is to ensure that all tenants have adequate parking at all times. This has been our guest parking policy for all of the time that we have managed the property, and I apologize if this was not conveyed clearly to you. In reference to the rental payment situation, we reviewed your account and found that the months during which you received a late fee, the rent was paid after the 5th of the month. In January, it was paid on the 8th, in February, on the 8th, and in March on the 7th. Rent is due on the first but not charged a late fee until the 6th. This is to provide a 5-day grace period to ensure that payment can be made. If you are having issues with the payment portal, attempting payment on the first, the rental due date, would allow time (5 days) for us to address any issues with you to ensure that a late fee is not charged. If we can discuss this item further, please let us know and we will be happy to meet with you at your apartment or at our office to determine if there is an ongoing issue. Payments on the portal post to your account in real time. As long as you pay by 11:59pm on the 5th of any month, you will be within the allowances of your lease without penalty. Again, if there id ever anything that we can do to alleviate your concerns, including accompanying our contractors to your unit to address any concerns, please let us know. We want you to have a great experience at Westport Village as well as with our company for the remainder of your time there. Thanks again for your review, Paul Riner, Owner Riner Rentals
Google User's profile photo
Google User
6 months ago
It feels like we have had an issue almost every month we have lived here (and many more during move in). The location was far from acceptable when we attempted to move in, and though the issues were fixed (slowly), it was a substantial inconvenience which the organization cared little to none about. If it is not a true emergency, Riner could really care less as to how quickly it is fixed for the paying customer. Live here if you have an "I'll just deal with that being broken" attitude and don't place value in the "conveniences" in your residence working or staying working. We have enjoyed the space and layout (at a decent price), but the neighborhood is much less pleasant to live in than it appeared during any of our 3 visits before renting (not Riner's fault, I don't think). Amended based service and the below response from Riner: Sense of urgency in repairs/service seems improved, though it seems to take a little prodding. Not a Ritz quality interior, but again more likely related to actual property owner than management (econo/old appliances, carpet, upkeep in general) and we feel comfortable living here.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
First of all, thanks for your review. As I always tell our residents, if there are ever specific issues that you are having in your rental unit, please let us know. In some instances, Riner Rentals can send a contractor right away to address your issue. In other cases, the owner of the property may request to be contacted with any maintenance items. When this happens, Riner Rentals contacts the owner with any concerns and lets them know that they need to be addressed. This may take a little bit longer, but is out of our control per our contract with the property owner. This does not remain the case in instances that involve health or safety. In these instances, we may send a contractor if a property owner does not or cannot respond immediately. We prefer to maintain control over all maintenance when possible, but some of our owners wish to maintain control of this function of the rental. We do strive to provide great rentals at a good value, and am glad to hear that you feel this is the case. As far as any neighborhood is concerned, Riner Rentals cannot have any control over those residents or tenants outside of our office's purview, but hope that your stay in the rental is a pleasant one moving forward. Please let me know personally if you have any further questions, or if there is anything else I can do to help at anytime. Paul Riner, Riner Rentals
Nick Pane's profile photo
Nick Pane
10 months ago
Not a horrible rental service. They were helpful in some aspects, but I also felt like they made up rules about how they charge you. I was told over the phone that if I had moved out by the end of the month, I would not be charged for my reserved parking space for the following month. I moved out by the end of May, and they proceeded to charge me for a parking space for the month of June. Their excuse was that the parking space (which I was no longer using) comes included as part of your apartment, and that it must be paid for until a new tenant is found (even though parking spaces are optional/independent of your lease, and this came AFTER they told me it would be dropped once I turned in my keys). They also charge cleaning costs out of your security deposit (not even allowed in most places - that is normal wear and tear, tenants shouldn't be charged for that). They tell you that it is not only a security deposit, but can also be used for cleaning costs - so they make their own rules about what a security deposit is (to cover the cost of damages) and what it isn't (to cover the cost of cleaning, i.e. the cost of doing business). In short, I lost about $100 of my security deposit for a charge I was told I wouldn't have to pay (parking space) and for cleaning costs that apparently double as damage costs (there was no damage to the apartment that I caused). I will say that they were good in finding a new tenant that took me off the hook for a couple of rent payments near the end of my lease after I had moved out of my apartment early. But these curious charges out of my security deposit that I believed I wouldn't be paying for rubbed me the wrong way. Not a horrible rental service, but could be better.
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
Nick, first of all, thanks for your well written and honest review of your experience with Riner Rentals. That being said, I need to apologize and make something right. You should not have paid for parking past your move out date. This is easily resolved. I will be sure that a check is sent today or tomorrow to you for the $35 owed. This should not have been responded to in the way that it was, and you are entitled to the one month of parking. As far as the cleaning charge, all items that are tied to the security deposit are included in your lease agreement at signing in two documents: the Vacating Checklist and the Damage Addendum. These outline the expectations upon move out, and we provide these up front to make tenants aware of them at that time. If you think that some of the charges were not outlined in these documents as a part of your lease, please let me know so that we can discuss and resolve them adequately. I am very glad to hear that we were able to find a new tenant and also save you a few months rent, and I hope if you are ever looking for a rental in the area again you will give us a call. Thanks again for your review, and keep an eye out for a check in the next few days, and again, apologies for the misinformation on our end. Paul Riner, Owner, Riner Rentals
BSR saltwater's profile photo
BSR saltwater
8 months ago
I'm in the process of finishing up my lease and moving away. After seeing the feedback from the people that moved out and friends that moved too, they all said they find stupid stuff just too keep your deposit. After I get the page where it shows what they feed you on. I'll tell everyone what it is. Thank goodness I kept my rental sheet that I filled out when I moved here so I can back anything they try and feeing me on.
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
We'll be happy to review and answer any questions you may have, but I would also ask you to reserve opinion until you have gone through the move out and security deposit process before assuming that you will be charged for anything that should not be your responsibility. At that time, if you still believe their to be issues or items that need clarification, we're happy to review with you if you will contact us. Thanks! Paul Riner, Riner Rentals
Becky Galloway's profile photo
Becky Galloway
5 months ago
Horribly unprofessional company. They had the wrong zip code for the address of my apartment rental on the official lease document that I signed. I found this out later as I tried unsuccessfully to set up utilities in this property. They also did not notify me (although they had FULL knowledge) that the address of the apartment I was renting had a different apt # as listed with these utility companies. On top of that, when I called Riner again to determine what the apartment was listed under for these companies, they gave me the wrong number again and my roommate and I ended up paying the utility bills for our neighbors' apt while the bill in my account went unpaid.
• • •
Response from the owner - 5 months ago
Becky, Thanks for your review. While I can certainly understand your frustration with this utility situation, I also want to be sure that you know we too are frustrated. The utility company changed the way that each apartment in your house was coded in their system. They made this change without us knowing that they had done so. When the switch in utility bills occurred, we worked fast to contact the utility company providing electric service to sort it out. We have also spent countless hours trying to determine who should have been responsible for what utility bills, as well as remain in contact with the utility provider to rectify any mistakes that were made by them on our tenants' accounts. Again, I totally understand your frustration, but wanted you to be aware that we did not have control over the change at the utility company, and have had to unravel this issue ourselves after the changes you reference were made prior to your early move out from the property. We are still working to ensure that your former roommates have the bills figured out after your move from the property. Again, thanks for your review, but I hope that you will note that while mistake was made, it was one that Riner Rentals ALSO had no control over, and are working to solve ASAP. Feel free to contact me at any time if you would like to discuss this issue further. Paul Riner, Owner Riner Rentals
Casey Kroll's profile photo
Casey Kroll
9 months ago
I have been a Riner tenant for two years at two of their properties. After I moved to the second property, my roommate and I immediately noticed various things wrong with the property (including no A/C... In July...). We came in and spoke to Paul about our issues. Within a few hours there was a team of contractors at our property fixing everything we had discussed. Paul was even there himself overseeing the repairs. I was not only impressed with the timeliness of their response, but also appreciated how Paul took a personal interest in our satisfaction. Would rent from again.
• • •
Response from the owner - 9 months ago
Casey, glad to hear that you've had a good experience with Riner Rentals so far. If you ever need anything, we're a phone call or email away. Thanks again for your review, and we hope you enjoy the new apartment! Paul Riner, Owner
Davileet T's profile photo
Davileet T
8 months ago
Riner Rentals was good enough while we rented with them, maintenance was quick enough. However, upon moving out we were charged excessively in order for them to unjustly keep a majority of our rental deposit. We are clean people and cleaned the unit quite excessively before leaving. Unfortunately we felt we were price gouged due to small holes to hang pictures, and a having a dirty dishwasher? I would not rent from them again because of what they did with our deposit. As a property manager you should want people to take care of your property, and the ones that do take care of your property still get screwed over by these people.
• • •
Response from the owner - 8 months ago
I'm sorry that you feel your security deposit was not handled to the standard you expected. If you would like to discuss the entire return, or simply discuss the few items you outlined in your review, I would be happy to speak with you anytime that is convenient. Thanks, and I hope to be able to work this out sometime in the near future. Paul Riner, Riner Rentals
Kadar Anwar's profile photo
Kadar Anwar
10 months ago
I read many bad things about Riner Rentals in the past but I've been a tenant for over a year now and have had nothing but an absolutely pleasant experience. As long as you approach problems in an adult manner, they will treat you like any other adult. Any and every maintenance issue I've had living in my current complex has been answered with astounding speed and I've never had a follow-up issue with any repairs. The management staff has been very kind and friendly any time I've had to call them, and I've never ran into any problems. Essentially, if you act like an adult, you'll be treated like an adult. Even if you're dependent on your parents for financial support (which is completely fine), as long as you handle a problem or complaint with respect and understanding, you'll receive the same in return. I imagine that people who have negative things to say about Riner might live in complexes that aren't in the best shape, or may have had some issues with damage that they, or their guests, caused. That isn't always the fault of the management company, though. Overall, I've already recommended friends to Riner Rentals and will continue to do so in the future.
• • •
Response from the owner - 10 months ago
Kadar, thanks for your review! We are glad your experience has been a positive one, and we will strive to ensure that it continues to be as long as you are one of our tenants. We appreciate you reviewing Riner Rentals, and please let us know how we can continue to provide you with excellent service moving forward. Paul Riner