Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
The Right Step - Houston Central
Addiction Treatment Center
Today Open 24 hours
223 followers|468,048 views
AboutPostsPhotosYouTube

Stream

 
How To Deal With Drug and Alcohol Cravings http://vrl.ht/762B2 
As a recovering addict, not letting cravings have their way requires talking back to the big fat lies. Learn how to recognize the lies and how to fight back
1
Add a comment...
 
Sam drinks too much. Everyone knows it, surely even Sam. Last year during the holidays, your best friend was stumbling around, drunk, just about every time you saw him... but what happens after that? http://vrl.ht/748F1
Addiction is a deadly disease. With friends and family members in town for the holidays, this may be the best time for an intervention.
1
Add a comment...
 
What happens after completion of rehab is critical to successful, long-term recovery from a drug or alcohol addiction. As many as 40% to 60% of patients treated for alcohol or another chemical dependency go back to using their drug(s) of choice within a year after treatment. http://vrl.ht/71759
Aftercare is something you need to inquire about before you enter treatment in any program. Gain insights into the key ingredients for successful recovery
1
Add a comment...
 
Are you looking for therapies with a proven track record for helping people recover from drug and alcohol addiction? Are you unsure how to get them for yourself or for a loved one? http://vrl.ht/6CD13 
Today in part four of our series Finding Addiction Treatment That Works, we look at five therapies for treating addiction and dual diagnoses. Learn more
1
Add a comment...
 
"Some people do extremely well without opioids and some people don’t. One size does not fit all. I think we need to pause and question SAMHSA’s big push for medication-assisted treatment before swallowing it whole, pun intended.” http://vrl.ht/689D0
The medical establishment has for more than a decade hailed Suboxone and other medications like methadone as the “standard of care” for treating heroin
1
Add a comment...
 
Compared to their adult counterparts, teenagers have an almost 100 percent greater chance of getting addicted to marijuana/cannabis once they initiate use of the drug. http://vrl.ht/63DBB
1
Add a comment...
 
Happy New Year from all of us at Elements Behavioral Health! 
1
Add a comment...
 
Happy Holidays from everyone at Elements Behavioral Health! 
1
Add a comment...
 
Are you looking for therapies with a proven track record for helping people recover from drug and alcohol addiction? Are you unsure how to get them for yourself or for a loved one? http://vrl.ht/6FD19 
Today in part four of our series Finding Addiction Treatment That Works, we look at five therapies for treating addiction and dual diagnoses. Learn more
1
Add a comment...
 
Finding addiction treatment that works — “evidence-based treatment” — requires knowing what medical interventions you cannot do without. http://vrl.ht/6AB2E 
Finding addiction treatment that works — “evidence-based treatment” — requires knowing what medical interventions you cannot do without. Expert advice.
1
Add a comment...
 
The researchers concluded that more than 75 percent of the study participants had recently had sex without a condom. They also concluded that almost 50 percent of the participants had recently engaged in sex while using/misusing a prescription medication. http://vrl.ht/65A5F
Research indicates certain groups of young people have increased chances of participating in risky sexual behavior while abusing a prescription medication
1
Add a comment...
 
A comprehensive and individualized assessment, which is arguably the most critical part of getting treatment that works, should include the following elements, according to the CASA report: http://vrl.ht/628C1
“Comprehensive” and “individualized” are terms often used to describe the assessment and treatment of addictions. Finding addiction treatment that works
1
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
902 W Alabama St Houston, TX 77006
902 West Alabama StreetUSTexasHouston77006
(832) 917-0310rightstep.com
Addiction Treatment Center, Alcoholism Treatment Program
Addiction Treatment Center
Alcoholism Treatment Program
Drug Addiction Treatment Center
Today Open 24 hours
Thursday Open 24 hoursFriday Open 24 hoursSaturday Open 24 hoursSunday Open 24 hoursMonday Open 24 hoursTuesday Open 24 hoursWednesday Open 24 hours
Google+ URL

Street View

Panorama
Write a review
Review Summary
3.5
31 reviews
5 star
15 reviews
4 star
3 reviews
3 star
1 review
2 star
5 reviews
1 star
7 reviews
"The staff is excellent and the Tuesday night parent support meeting is the best."
"Please look for a better facility...any facility is better than this place."
"Great food and very entertaining owner."
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
David Flanagan's profile photo
David Flanagan
2 months ago
As a parent of an adult under treatment there, I find the Saturday family sessions very enlightening. It certainly has opened my eyes more than before to understand it's a legacy illness (at least for this family) and start me on the road to reflecting on my own responsibilities. It's pretty much a well know fact that there is no 'magic bullet' , with the odds of long term success with most any program fairly low. My hope that by engagement as a family member I can boost the odds in my child's favor. Many thanks
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Thanks for sharing your experience and for your openness to learning about the disease of addiction and the critical role you play in your child’s recovery. You’re well on your way!
Christina Ureta's profile photo
Christina Ureta
2 weeks ago
I would not suggest this facility. Their staff is unprofessional and start romantic relationships with their patients. I couldn't understand why after treatment my child and I were cut off. Turns out the patient had been carrying on a relationship with a counselor there. Isn't their job to remain professional and help work through the family issues? Instead, help was given on a one sided spectrum to benefit the counselor's interests, while dismantling a family in the process. Just a warning, find another facility.
• • •
S V's profile photo
S V
a month ago
Facility is not that great. Some of the staff is terrible and unprofessional. There was one tech there named James that was great, listened to me and really seemed to care and offered really good guidance. If it wasn't for him I would give one star.
Response from the owner - a month ago
We’re disappointed to hear you had this experience with some of our staff. Because we use the Positive Recovery model of treatment, our team is specially trained to help people not just get sober but to learn to live a healthy, fulfilling life in recovery. We encourage you to reach out to us – we’d like to support your recovery in any way we can.
Sherry Fischer's profile photo
Sherry Fischer
8 months ago
I was in TRS in December 2013. I am thankful beyond words for this time. I had THE MOST awesome councilor in the world. CYNTHIA McCOULOUGH! I met awesome friends there that I am still in contact with. Recovery is a long hard road. Thanks to TRS for helping me take that first right step! Sherry Fischer "OLE MISS" ❤️
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Thank you for having the courage to do the tough work of recovery! We are thankful you chose The Right Step and hope you’ll stay connected with us.
Nathan Davidson's profile photo
Nathan Davidson
3 months ago
I am writing on behalf of my boyfriend who was there twice this year. Yes, it's mostly a part of what you take out of these places and your own recovery. We mainly chose this place for two reasons: insurance took it and it was local for us. However, it's really your typical rehab that probably does the best they can with most patients but they see a lot of repeat offenders. If you are in need of a HEAVY detox, got the the emergency room. If you need a lighter detox, it's a good place to start. What made me nervous is that even the nurses are "ex-addicts" and one even got fired for smelling like alcohol and driving irrationally to AA meetings. The girls and guys are separated which is great but there will be drama as you cannot stop that in most environments. There is an MD on staff but it mostly feels like you are being over medicated, there is some therapy but not much. It's really for a place to detox then move on. Their IOP is a joke (the one in Katy) and treatment plans in general are hard to follow as an addict as it is, they fall flat on this part. I went to a few meetings and they even allowed this "pimp" in on meetings to hang out with his "girlfriend" that was a patient. He was obnoxious, rude and disturbing. All that being said, my suggestion is Houston Behavioral Health Hospital for Inpatient treatment/detox for short term. Then try their intense PHP if you can, we are doing that right now and just hope for the best along with really hard work, their program is much more regimented and not so relaxed on rules.
• • •
Response from the owner - 3 months ago
We’re disappointed to hear that your boyfriend’s experience didn’t align with our high standards of care. We provide medical detox supervised by an experienced medical team that uses the latest evidence-based medications when appropriate. We appreciate your feedback and sincerely hope your boyfriend finds the right treatment for his needs.
Donna Read's profile photo
Donna Read
7 months ago
This was the first place to offer me a job upon my arrival to Houston. I was excited and eager to start. On my first day as a Recovery Advocate I saw at first hand how short staffed and ridiculous this place was. Most of the staff were nice and a few only there for a paycheck. People from the admissions office constantly asked me questions I did not know the answer to and expected a response immediately. They also expect you to stop what you're doing to go out of your way for them. I also noticed a lot of gossiping while I was not around which made me feel as if they were talking about me ( I don't care if they were). The supervisor Eled will try to work you to death and expect you to work overtime and pick up different shifts instead of hiring staff they desperately need. Definitely not worth the drive for little pay and outrageous benefits. I did not have a set shift there, although I was told they needed help on evenings but from the schedule they appeared short on almost every shift. The girl that trained me had a horrible attitude and would show me something once and expect me to know what to do instantly. Do not let this deter you from working in a drug rehabilitation facility, I'm sure there are better ones than this.
• • •
Response from the owner - 7 months ago
Employee recruitment, satisfaction and retention are very important to us. We take time to thoroughly train our employees, and those who complete training also have access to CEU events, outside trainings and tuition reimbursement as well as a company culture grounded in positive psychology. We’re sorry you’ve had this experience and appreciate your feedback – it will help guide our mission of continuous improvement.
David FP's profile photo
David FP
12 months ago
9/11/2012 I stumbled into this place, was put in detox for 5 days and attended aftercare for a few months. I am sitting here today typing this, SOBER, yes 3 plus years now. While it takes a lot of effort of my own, I really do not think I could have made that first step without help. This place treated me well and still treats me well to this day. And for the dude that said "not enough food, food was horrible" he's crazy. The food was incredible from a well known local restaurant, and there was more than enough of it.
• • •
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
Congratulations on your hard-won sobriety! We admire the courage it takes to reach out for help and hope you’ll stay connected with us as you move forward in your recovery.
Julia Moore's profile photo
Julia Moore
a year ago
They owe me a refund of $900.00. Three months have passed and multiple phone calls, I STILL DO NOT have my money. They are eager to get your money up front, but very laxed to give your money back. Poor business practice. Very upsetting.
Response from the owner - 11 months ago
It’s important to us to provide superior client care and issue refunds, where appropriate, as promptly as possible. Please call our financial advisor at (832) 303-7243 so we can talk about the specifics of your situation.