Shared publicly  - 
 
So cool.. #googleplustips  
 
Google+ lets you control email after you've sent it!

Sure, you could send regular email, but why? 

As a sender of email, Google+ gives you control over the message. 

Let’s say you use Google+ to send email to your boss in the evening. You sleep on it, and wish you had added a few additional comments. 

Because you sent via Google+, you can!

Just open the post and make your changes. When your boss gets around to reading your email, it will show the edited version, not the original. You can edit as often as you like. 

You can edit email even after the recipient has read it. 

You can also delete emails after you’ve sent them. 

When the recipient opens the e-mail after you’ve deleted it, they can see the first few words. But if they use Gmail, the body of the email becomes “This post no longer exists.” 

If they’re not using Gmail, they get a link to a Google+ page that says “This post could not be found.”

There are services that let you delete messages after sending. For example, a site called Burn Note ( https://burnnote.com ) allows you to write a note to someone on their site. They get a link to that note in their email. 

Once the recipient starts reading the message, a timer starts and the message is deleted when the timer runs out. Messages can be read only once. 

Burn Note is nice, but you have to decide in advance that your message is going to be deleted and choose in advance to use Burn Note. 

If you send email via Google+, you can decide to delete the whole conversation after the fact. And you can do it without the pressure of a timer. Just delete it when you want to delete it.

Neither you nor the recipient nor anyone else will have access to the email conversation after you’ve deleted it. 

One caveat, though. If you send an email via Google+ to someone who does not have a Google+ account, they will not be able to comment on the message. (Even they create an account, they won’t be able to, because the message was not addressed to their new Gmail account. You can, however, tell them in their email that by clicking on your name and going to your profile, they’ll be able to send you an email from there if they’re logged in.) 

To send an email to a Google+ user, just use a + mention in the body of the post. That will trigger Gmail to send them an email version.

To send an email to a non-Google+ user, or to any non-Gmail address, just + mention the whole email address in the body of the post. 

Sure, you can send regular email. But why not take advantage of the total control Google+ gives you?

(Pic props to Paramount Pictures)
1
Add a comment...