Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Miami Deep Sea Fishing Charters - aboard Old Hat
Fishing Charter
Today 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
90 followers|40,012 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos

Stream

 
Sunday morning our anglers really wanted to catch a Sailfish.  We had a double header, caught and released one, lost the other about 20' from the boat. "FISHIN' ACCOMPLISHED" (the sailfish flag upside down means we released it)
1
Add a comment...
 
Monday Apr. 14 we took a family of 4 fishing. The girls caught the big fish!
1
Add a comment...
 
Vanessa took David fishing for his birthday and she caught the Big Fish!
1
The Penguin Hotel South Beach's profile photo
 
Go Vanessa!
Add a comment...
 
This morning we caught a couple Bonitos and a Dolphin!
1
Add a comment...
 
This is the business end of a 385 lb. Mako Shark that was caught off the coast of Miami Beach today!
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
90 people
 
Today we caught a couple Bonitos and a Dolphin. The birthday girl caught her fish and we came in early.
2
Add a comment...
 
Sunday afternoon we caught a Dolphin, 2 Blackfin Tuna and 4 Wahoooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1
Add a comment...
 
Tuesday afternoon we caught Blackfin Tunas and this Dolphin.
3
2
The Penguin Hotel South Beach's profile photoThe President Hotel South Beach's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
The last 4 times out we've been catching Dolphin. We released a lot, less than the minimum 20 inches allowed.
2
The Penguin Hotel South Beach's profile photo
 
So fun!  Thanks for sharing.
Add a comment...
 
We went out for a few hours Sunday afternoon and caught these Wahoooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!
4
1
IDIAZ DIAZ's profile photoThe Penguin Hotel South Beach's profile photoMiami Deep Sea Fishing Charters - aboard Old Hat's profile photo
3 comments
 
I'd love to see the wahoo eating blackfin tunas!
Add a comment...
Contact Information
Map of the business location
10800 Collins Ave Miami Beach, FL 33154
10800 Collins AveUSFLMiami Beach33154
(305) 773-0700oldhat.com
Fishing CharterToday 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
Monday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmTuesday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmWednesday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmThursday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmFriday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmSaturday 7:00 am – 7:00 pmSunday 7:00 am – 7:00 pm
Old Hat Deep Sea Fishing Charters provides the cleanest air conditioned charter boat, a friendly and experienced crew, the finest sport fishing tackle and awesome memories!
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
90 people
Write a review
Review Summary
4.5
6 reviews
5 star
5 reviews
4 star
No reviews
3 star
No reviews
2 star
1 review
1 star
No reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
Reviews from around the web
All reviews
Stephanie Sweeney
reviewed 6 months ago
This was the best fishing trip ever for my husband and I. Capt. Paul and Charlie were the most professional, friendly and experienced fisherman!!!! We caught 14 dolphin fish and 3 wahoo...yum yum. The boat was clean and comfortable and Capt. Paul ordered us the most outstanding weather as well. If you want a really special adventure, Capt. Paul and Charlie are the crew you need!!!
Coleen Mitchell
reviewed 11 months ago
My organization chartered two boats for our Board of Director's eight spouses; one male & seven female! I went aboard the "Old Hat" with three others of my group. The other four took another boat. The morning was grey & gloomy, but as soon as we left the dock, the sun came out bright & we had the best time on the Old Hat. Captain Paul was friendly and fun, as well as his first mate, Charlie. They were extremely polite & patient, as some of the women did not know much about fishing. The water was fairly choppy, and we fished a little offshore, so we didn't bounce around & everyone on the boat caught good sized fish! We bought beautiful "Old Hat" T-Shirts in which to take photos, we had such a great experience! Capt. Paul was looking out for our best interest by not going into the deep blue water, as the other boat did, and they all got sea sick that day and did not catch any fish! We'll stick with the Old Hat every time! I totally recommend the experienced, & knowledgeable Captain & his first mate of the Old Hat Fishing Charters in Miami, Florida!!! Thank you!!
• • •
Ronaldo Zecchin Torres's profile photo
Ronaldo Zecchin Torres
reviewed 10 months ago
Awesome trip with Capt. Paul and Charlie! First experience with deep sea fishing and my father and I just loved it. We are definitely going to come back.
David Durkee
reviewed 9 months ago
Capt. Paul was great. My daughter caught this all by herself. Capt. Paul told me he would work hard to try and catch a fish. He and his mate worked all day until the fishing gods finally smiled on the Old Hat. A 20-25 pound Wahoo is a prize fish. Capt. Paul runs a very clean and safe operation. He and his mate have worked together for over 10 years. Teamwork like this is something that is hard to find. Capt. Paul is very personable and has tall tales both from the time he has worked as a fishing charter boat captain but also from the time he was a professional musician for bands and performers that you have actually heard of. A great time was had by all and I hope to fish with Capt. Paul again real soon.
• • •
Clay Dickerson's profile photo
Clay Dickerson
reviewed a year ago
I would definitely not recommend Old Hat Charters to anyone! First of all, the captain asked to charge my credit card before we started, including the gratuity tip! I requested half of the customary tip be charged, and I would pay the remaining amount in cash after the trip. This seemed to upset the captain, but I had no idea of what he would do next---He began the trip by asking me to pay cash for the live bait (even though the website said bait is included), then he talked and texted on his cell phone constantly. We spent an hour fishing for bait fish, only catching one or two herring. Then the rest of the time we only caught two more bait fish (mackerels)! The captain smoked and seemed nonchalant about not being able to "find the fish." So, we paid $675 to catch a few bait fish! Oh, and he didn't even use the live bait that he asked us to pay for!! Awful experience!
• • •
Response from the owner - a year ago
Fishing off the coast of Miami Beach is a fun thing to do except if you are Clay D.. Clay D. fished on the Old Hat October 5th, 2012. He's in the group on my facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/…, standing next to the man holding the Sailfish flag. His first experience aboard the Old Hat was so good he had to come back and go fishing again. Because we are located in Miami Beach we get a lot of credit cards that don't work for one reason or another, so we ask for the charter fee before we leave the dock to avoid any problems later. Some customers request putting the tip on the credit card, so we ask a credit card customer what they want to do. We had live bait in the well when Clay D. arrived so we stopped on the way out for about 15 to 20 minutes and caught a few more baits in case we needed to fish with them. It's better to have them if you need them but once offshore if the conditions are not right you may not use them! The use of the cell phone by the captain is how we communicate to the other boats. That day was extremely slow, everyone was struggling to find fish so we ended up going a little closer to shore and fishing for mackerel. We caught some! Upon returning to the dock Clay D. wanted money back because the fishing (catching) wasn't good. When I told him he wasn't getting any money back he wrote this slanderous review.
Jeremy Schnell
reviewed 11 months ago
I caught the biggest fish of my life aboard The Old Hat! The boat is nice and clean and the crew is very friendly.