Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Queenstown backpackers hostel
Hostel
171 followers|1,058,607 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5-11 Church St Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
5-11 Church StNZQueenstown9300
+64 3-441 3922nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Travel Agency
Nomads Queenstown is backpacking in style. This fantastic property opened in July 2009 and is regularly voted the best hostel in New Zealand. It has a fantastic location just metres away from the lake in central Queestown.

With large and small dorms with or without ensuite, family rooms, and amazing king rooms with sky tv and fridge, Nomads Queenstown will be sure to impress. All dorm rooms have lockers, hanging space and reading lights for every bed.

The property also has a fully equipped modern kitchen, cinema, Lounge with fire place, sauna, Internet, travel desk and ski storage.

Check out more pictures of Nomads Queenstown.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
171 people
Li Vicky's profile photo
Seoul City Tour's profile photo
Nomads Noosa Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Queenstown Wedding Association's profile photo
PK's Jungle Village's profile photo
iWHITSUNDAYS SAILING's profile photo
Ski Express's profile photo
LA Lindsay's profile photo
Fiona Farquhar's profile photo
Make a Reservation
5-star hotel
$96
Book at LateRooms.com
More
Booking links sponsored. $96 incl taxes & fees
Write a review
Review Summary
4.2
71 reviews
5 star
34 reviews
4 star
24 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
martin bootten
a week ago
I did enjoy the stay there and it reminder me of hostels used in europe so that was a plus. the room was very nice and well appointed. i did however not enjoy a couple having a rather long difference of opinion in the hallway outside my room at 4.00 am (they were in the neighbouring room ) so perhaps a reminder to those staying here to consider others on the inside door. otherwise as already said great and moreso when so close to the lake and the town centre.
Frank Landgraf's profile photo
Frank Landgraf
3 months ago
All perfect. Very friendly and helpful people there. Nice and clean rooms. Also Restrooms was mostly clean. Big kitchen for cooking. Nice athmosphere. I had a mixed 4 bed room. During my next stay i will book it again :-)
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. We hope the rest of your travels are going well and we hope to see you again the next time you are in Queenstown. Thanks again from the team at Nomads
Laura Santos
a month ago
Really good bedrooms with nice beds, balcony and clean toilet, kitchen was very clean, staff informative and was nice to have breakfast included! Perfect location, right in the center to go out clubbing/to pubs but quiet enough to be able to sleep when you want.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks for your review Laura, stoked you had a great stay with us!
L Mo
2 months ago
Free toast (with jam and margarine) for breakfast, free tea and coffee all day, and super cool receptionists. There is a "dinner" provided at 6pm. I haven't tried it as it runs out very quickly, but it looks more snack-sized than dinner sized. Free is still free though. I stayed in the female-only ensuite. An ensuite includes a toilet and a shower (in separate rooms) in your room, and a balcony. The lockers are pretty small, but could house your electronics. The hostel has a pool table, table soccer, two fireplaces to warm your toesies at, luggage storage, and a big kitchen. Wi-Fi is free in the reception area from 8a-8p. Super convenient location, so if you want a quiet place to stay, this is not for you because it's near all the night life. The Kiwi Experience books heaps of people through here, so if you like a party-goin crowd, this is for you.
• • •
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hey L, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our light breakfast is a hit with all the guests and a great way to start the day. Our staff take pride in their customer service and are so thankful for the mention :) Our location is perfect! Not to mention the views of the lake and the Remarkables. It also makes it super easy to get around the bustling town centre. Thanks again for leaving your feedback, we really appreciate it! We hope the rest of your travels are going well and we hope to see you again in the future.
Crystal Wiegand's profile photo
Crystal Wiegand
a month ago
Nice facility and good location. It was super full when we were there so the common areas definitely felt crowded and over filled. Bathrooms were not able to be kept super clean with such heavy use either. Aside from feeling over filled and a bit chaotic - it's a nice place. Does not offer free WiFi which is surprising for a place of it's capacity. Friendly staff.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hey Crystal, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time while you were with us. It has been a great summer and we have been very busy but we do try to keep the hostel clean at all times. We trialled our free internet during March and unfortunately it was a little too slow for the capacity of our hostel. We will be bringing it back once the high speed fibres have been installed in Queenstown over the next few months. Hope the rest of your travels are going well.
Kirsten Moore's profile photo
Kirsten Moore
a month ago
Overall, I enjoyed my time at Nomads Queenstown. It's centrally located. They offer free wifi in the lobby along with a activity/travel agent that came in helpful for booking things. They also offer dinner every night and have nightly activities around town.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our free evening meals and light breakfast are a crowd favorite! Our travel team are very knowledgeable with all things Queenstown and love helping out where they can. We hope the rest of your trip around our beautiful country is going well and we hope to see you on your return. Thanks again - the team at Nomads
Nathan Cramb
a week ago
As far as hostels go it was very clean and the facilities were possibly the best I've ever seen in a hostel. I wasn't a fan of the $4 fee for 24hrs of internet allthough it seems like this is fairly standard in NZ. The breakfast also wasn't as good as most breakfasts I've had at other hostels around the world.
Vicky La's profile photo
Vicky La
2 months ago
Once again had to stay at Nomads and again there were problems. At least this one was clean but no wifi in the rooms despite paying for a backpackers that advertises "free wifi". And the "24 hour free wifi" in the lounge begins at 8am and ends at 8 pm... stay somewhere else where the staff doesn't tell you off when you explain that customers expect to have things they've paid to receive.
Response from the owner - a month ago
Hi Vicky - thanks for your feedback however I think you must have us confused with another property sorry. We do not advertise that we have free wifi anywhere as this is something we just cannot offer right now without high speed fibre which will ensure high speed wifi access. We have Global Gossip wifi throughout the property which is 24 hours and $4 per day or $12 per week. I would really appreciate if indeed you did see "free wifi" advertised somewhere for Nomads Queenstown that you could please let us know where so we can fix this as it isn't something we will offer until Queenstown has high speed fibre installed. Our email is info@nomadsqueenstown.com. All the best for your future travels Vicki! Nomads Team :)

Stream

 
Take a look at these photo's and tell me you never want to travel !
The 27th annual National Geographic Traveler Photo Contest is underway and here are our favourites so far.
1
Add a comment...
 
That's why travelling is a Must, to discover these Amazing places! Do it!
1
Add a comment...
 
Cardrona is looking nice and Snowy! Grab your Skiis and Boards ready for the good times ahead
What a day for making snow :) Pic: @richie_johnston
1
Add a comment...
 
Heading to Indonesia ? Check out this awesome new Experience 'Balintro' has to offer. Ask our Mad Travel team for more info.
1
Add a comment...
 
Can't get enough of all these stunning photo's, but in person the landscape is on another level! Travelling NZ is a must do.
Beware: these photos will give you an overwhelming desire to book a one-way plane ticket.
1
Add a comment...
 
Amazing nature from around the world. Of course NZ is in there :)
1
Add a comment...
Beware: these photos will give you an overwhelming desire to book a one-way plane ticket.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
171 people
Li Vicky's profile photo
Seoul City Tour's profile photo
Nomads Noosa Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Queenstown Wedding Association's profile photo
PK's Jungle Village's profile photo
iWHITSUNDAYS SAILING's profile photo
Ski Express's profile photo
LA Lindsay's profile photo
Fiona Farquhar's profile photo
 
Unfortunately we say goodbye to one of our staff members today, it has been a blast! This is him making the ultimate Jump at 15000ft with +Skydive Wanaka  Good luck Ben with the rest of your travels.
1
Add a comment...
 
Words of Wisdom for the week :)
1
1
Rakesh Pal's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
More and more snow here everyday, who else cannot wait until the Mountains open ?! Ski or Snowboard?
1
Add a comment...
 
1
1
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Add a comment...