Profile

Cover photo
Verified local business
Nomads Queenstown backpackers hostel
Hostel
170 followers|1,021,893 views
AboutPostsPhotosVideos
Contact Information
Map of the business location
5-11 Church St Queenstown 9300 New Zealand
5-11 Church StNZQueenstown9300
+64 3-441 3922nomadsworld.com
Hostel, Travel Agency
Nomads Queenstown is backpacking in style. This fantastic property opened in July 2009 and is regularly voted the best hostel in New Zealand. It has a fantastic location just metres away from the lake in central Queestown.

With large and small dorms with or without ensuite, family rooms, and amazing king rooms with sky tv and fridge, Nomads Queenstown will be sure to impress. All dorm rooms have lockers, hanging space and reading lights for every bed.

The property also has a fully equipped modern kitchen, cinema, Lounge with fire place, sauna, Internet, travel desk and ski storage.

Check out more pictures of Nomads Queenstown.
Google+ URL
People
Have them in circles
170 people
Sam Johnson's profile photo
iWHITSUNDAYS SAILING's profile photo
Backpacker Passes's profile photo
Staysouth Queenstown's profile photo
Queenstown Rafting's profile photo
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Spiritof Enzo's profile photo
Flashworks Media's profile photo
Hotel Jodhpur Beds & Breakfast's profile photo
Make a Reservation
No prices available
Booking links sponsored.
Write a review
Review Summary
4.1
66 reviews
5 star
30 reviews
4 star
23 reviews
3 star
7 reviews
2 star
2 reviews
1 star
4 reviews
Photos
Scrapbook photo 2
Scrapbook photo 3
Scrapbook photo 4
Scrapbook photo 5
Scrapbook photo 6
Upload public photo
Your Activity
All reviews
Crystal Wiegand's profile photo
Crystal Wiegand
2 weeks ago
Nice facility and good location. It was super full when we were there so the common areas definitely felt crowded and over filled. Bathrooms were not able to be kept super clean with such heavy use either. Aside from feeling over filled and a bit chaotic - it's a nice place. Does not offer free WiFi which is surprising for a place of it's capacity. Friendly staff.
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hey Crystal, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time while you were with us. It has been a great summer and we have been very busy but we do try to keep the hostel clean at all times. We trialled our free internet during March and unfortunately it was a little too slow for the capacity of our hostel. We will be bringing it back once the high speed fibres have been installed in Queenstown over the next few months. Hope the rest of your travels are going well.
Vicky La's profile photo
Vicky La
a month ago
Once again had to stay at Nomads and again there were problems. At least this one was clean but no wifi in the rooms despite paying for a backpackers that advertises "free wifi". And the "24 hour free wifi" in the lounge begins at 8am and ends at 8 pm... stay somewhere else where the staff doesn't tell you off when you explain that customers expect to have things they've paid to receive.
Response from the owner - a week ago
Hi Vicky - thanks for your feedback however I think you must have us confused with another property sorry. We do not advertise that we have free wifi anywhere as this is something we just cannot offer right now without high speed fibre which will ensure high speed wifi access. We have Global Gossip wifi throughout the property which is 24 hours and $4 per day or $12 per week. I would really appreciate if indeed you did see "free wifi" advertised somewhere for Nomads Queenstown that you could please let us know where so we can fix this as it isn't something we will offer until Queenstown has high speed fibre installed. Our email is info@nomadsqueenstown.com. All the best for your future travels Vicki! Nomads Team :)
Don Read's profile photo
Don Read
a month ago
Nomads is the most upmarket hostel I've ever stayed in: more like a good hotel than a hostel. The location is in the centre of the action in town and close to the water. My wife and I had a small en-suite twin room with a large balcony overlooking the street. The room was clean and comfortable and the shower was great. The communal kitchen was huge and well-organized, with 'Hostel Helpers' making sure that the place was kept clean and tidy. Our only small complaint was about the initial difficulty we encountered getting WiFi access, but the staff were helpful and gave us each 24 hours of free WiFi. Nomads is a great place to stay regardless of your age.
• • •
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our staff take great pride in our hostel and are so grateful for the mention :) Queenstown is in the process of installing a high speed fiber network in town, meaning our internet access will be readily available for our guests at a high speed. We hope the rest of your travels around our wonderful county are going well. Thanks again from the team at Nomads Queenstown
Ronald Laver
a month ago
Stayed in one of the on-suite double rooms, very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Never did backpakking and a little to old for it now but this would seem to be an above standard of what you might expect and judging by the comments here and the youngsters we met I think most would agree. Enjoyed our stay
Response from the owner - a month ago
Thanks so much Ronald! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed your stay - enjoy the rest of your time in NZ :)
L Mo
4 weeks ago
Free toast (with jam and margarine) for breakfast, free tea and coffee all day, and super cool receptionists. There is a "dinner" provided at 6pm. I haven't tried it as it runs out very quickly, but it looks more snack-sized than dinner sized. Free is still free though. I stayed in the female-only ensuite. An ensuite includes a toilet and a shower (in separate rooms) in your room, and a balcony. The lockers are pretty small, but could house your electronics. The hostel has a pool table, table soccer, two fireplaces to warm your toesies at, luggage storage, and a big kitchen. Wi-Fi is free in the reception area from 8a-8p. Super convenient location, so if you want a quiet place to stay, this is not for you because it's near all the night life. The Kiwi Experience books heaps of people through here, so if you like a party-goin crowd, this is for you.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 weeks ago
Hey L, thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our light breakfast is a hit with all the guests and a great way to start the day. Our staff take pride in their customer service and are so thankful for the mention :) Our location is perfect! Not to mention the views of the lake and the Remarkables. It also makes it super easy to get around the bustling town centre. Thanks again for leaving your feedback, we really appreciate it! We hope the rest of your travels are going well and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kirsten Moore's profile photo
Kirsten Moore
in the last week
Overall, I enjoyed my time at Nomads Queenstown. It's centrally located. They offer free wifi in the lobby along with a activity/travel agent that came in helpful for booking things. They also offer dinner every night and have nightly activities around town.
Response from the owner - in the last week
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are so happy to hear you had a great time with us while you were in Queenstown. Our free evening meals and light breakfast are a crowd favorite! Our travel team are very knowledgeable with all things Queenstown and love helping out where they can. We hope the rest of your trip around our beautiful country is going well and we hope to see you on your return. Thanks again - the team at Nomads
Laura Santos
2 weeks ago
Really good bedrooms with nice beds, balcony and clean toilet, kitchen was very clean, staff informative and was nice to have breakfast included! Perfect location, right in the center to go out clubbing/to pubs but quiet enough to be able to sleep when you want.
Response from the owner - a week ago
Thanks for your review Laura, stoked you had a great stay with us!
Keli Chow's profile photo
Keli Chow
3 months ago
Stayed here for 4 nights, had to move around rooms 3 times but didn't mind it since each time was an opportunity to meet new people. All rooms were very clean with comfortable beds, and the bathrooms were generally very nice and almost hotel-like. The communal bathrooms were also very nice and plentiful so there was never a wait to use them. The place even has a lift, cinema room, big common room, pool tables, kitchen etc. Free breakfast and dinner was very appreciated, though dinner portions were extremely small. Since it was a dry hostel the people I stayed with did not party/drink in the room - I guess I was lucky - and sleeping even in a 6 bed dorm was easy. Overall I found it very pleasant and intimate and felt like I was on a school camp again. The only negative I would say was the lack of free wifi, and even after purchasing wifi, it barely worked in one of the rooms, and did not work at all in another room - fixed by going outside the room. Still slightly inconvenient.
• • •
Response from the owner - 2 months ago
Hi Keli, thanks for your feedback - we do our best to keep everyone in the same rooms as it saves both reception and housekeeping time however due to group bookings when guests extend day by day it isn't always possible to remain in the same room sadly. If guests book four nights in advance they will definitely be in the same room for their entire stay. Great to hear other than the lack of free wifi that you had a great time - we don't advertise that we do either free wifi or dinners anywhere as we don't like to over promise and under deliver so I'm sorry you were under this impression. Our global gossip wifi does have a new modem which has resolved the reach issue we had previously. All the best for your future travels!

Stream

 
Another reason to jump on that plane before it's too late :)GO !
1
Add a comment...
 
Start your adventure!!
1
Add a comment...
 
All part of the Travelling fun :) 
1
1
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Add a comment...
 
And in New Zealand, go crazy on the Fergburger!
Everyone knows that the best part of traveling is the food.
1
Add a comment...
Have them in circles
170 people
Sam Johnson's profile photo
iWHITSUNDAYS SAILING's profile photo
Backpacker Passes's profile photo
Staysouth Queenstown's profile photo
Queenstown Rafting's profile photo
Nomads Cairns Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Spiritof Enzo's profile photo
Flashworks Media's profile photo
Hotel Jodhpur Beds & Breakfast's profile photo
 
Does it get any better ?! New Zealand is a top destination which should not be missed.
Fancy skydiving before breakfast, bungy jumping after lunch, and climbing a mountain in the afternoon? Totally possible in New Zealand.
3
Add a comment...
 
Australia definitely has a lot more to offer and we book all of it ! See our MAD Travel Guru's for the best advice on where to go to get the most out of your travels !
Bondi is nothing compared to the beauty you can find inland.
1
Add a comment...
 
Yeah New Zealand is pretty EPIC! 
New Zealand is synonymous with geographic diversity of fairytale proportions.
1
Add a comment...
 
Every day is perfect in Queenstown!!
1
Add a comment...
 
Welcome Back Snow on the Mountains :) AMAZING.
1
Add a comment...
 
Take The Quiz!
Are you a planner? An adventurer? Or perhaps a cultural explorer? Find out in our latest personality quiz.
1
1
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel's profile photo
Add a comment...